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2010 Resident Personal Income Tax Return 140

Special Notice for 2009 Returns

Avrizona did not fully conform to federal tax law changes for
2009. This means that you may have to file an amended
return for 2009. Look at items 1 through 5 below. See if any
of those items apply to you. If any of those items apply to
you, this will affect your 2009 return. If you have already
filed your 2009 return, you must file an amended return to
properly report those items. If you were a full year resident
during 2009 and you filed Form 140, 140A or 140EZ, you
may use Form 140X-NC to correct your 2009 return. If you
file Form 140X-NC and pay the entire tax due by October 17,
2011, we will not charge you any penalty or interest on that
tax.

The following is the list of items that affect your 2009 return.

1. You received unemployment income during 2009.
You excluded up to $2,400 of that income on your
2009 federal return.

2. You claimed an itemized deduction for both the sales
tax on a new motor vehicle and state income taxes on
your 2009 federal return.

3. You made a cash gift during 2010 to aid Haiti
earthquake victims.  You claimed an itemized
deduction for that gift on your 2009 federal return.

4. You elected to exclude discharge of indebtedness
(DOI) income from the reacquisition of a business
debt instrument on your 2009 federal return.

5. You excluded original issue discount (OID) on a debt
instrument described in number 4 above from income
on your 2009 federal return.

If any of items 1 through 5 above apply to you, you must
correct your 2009 Arizona return.

To get Form 140X-NC or for more news on this topic, visit
our web site at www.azdor.gov.

€ | cavethe Paper Behind - e-File!

®Quick Refunds
®Accurate

opProof of Acceptance
®Free **

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays when
you e-File!

Refunds in as little as 7 to 10 days with direct deposit
option.

e-File today, pay by April 18, 2011, to avoid penalties
and interest.

e-File through an Authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or
by using your Personal Computer and the Internet. Visit
our web site at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved
e-file providers and on-line filing sources.

** For free e-file requirements, check out our web site at
www.azdor.gov.
Who Must Use Form 1407

You (and your spouse if married filing a joint return) may
file Form 140 only if you are full year residents of Arizona.

You must use Form 140 rather than Form 140A or Form 140EZ
to file for 2010 if any of the following apply to you.

e Your Arizona taxable income is $50,000 or more,
regardless of filing status.

You are making adjustments to income.
You itemize deductions.

e You claim tax credits other than the family income tax
credit, the credit for increased excise taxes, the property
tax credit, or the Clean Elections Fund tax credit.

e You are claiming estimated payments.

Do You Have to File?
Arizona Filing Requirements
These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers.

You must file if | and your or your gross
you are: Arizona adjusted | income is at
gross income is | least:
at least:
Single $ 5,500 $15,000
Married $11,000 $15,000
filing jointly
e Married $ 5,500 $15,000
filing
separately
e Head of $ 5,500 $15,000
household

If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income
from all sources. This includes out-of-state income.

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the
same as you would figure your gross income for federal
income tax purposes. Then, you should exclude income
Arizona law does not tax.

Income Arizona law does not tax includes:

o Interest from U.S. Government obligations

e Social security retirement benefits received under
Title Il of the Social Security Act

e  Benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act

e  Active duty military pay

e Pay received for active service as a reservist or a
National Guard member

You can find your Arizona adjusted gross income on

line 16 of Arizona Form 140.

- NOTE: Even if you do not have to file, you must still file a
. return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax withheld.

Do You Have to File if You are an American
Indian?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements
unless all the following apply to you.

e You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe.

e You live on the reservation established for that tribe.

e You earned all of your income on that reservation.

The department has issued a ruling on the Arizona tax
treatment of American Indians. This ruling is ITR 96-4. To

see this ruling, visit our web site at www.azdor.gov and
click on legal research and then click on rulings.

Do You Have to File if You are the Spouse
of an American Indian and You are Not an
Enrolled Indian?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements. The
department has issued a ruling on the tax treatment of
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spouses of American Indians. This ruling is ITR 96-4. To
see this ruling, visit our web site at www.azdor.gov and
click on legal research and then click on rulings.

Do You Have to File if You are in the Military?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements
unless all the following apply to you.

e You are an active duty member of the United States
armed forces.

e Your only income for the taxable year is pay received
for active duty military service.

e There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active
duty military pay.

If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military

pay, you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any

refund you may be due from that withholding.

You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have
any other income besides pay received for active duty
military service.

If you are an Arizona resident and you have to file an
Arizona return, you should file using Form 140. If you were
an Arizona resident when you entered the service, you
remain an Arizona resident, no matter where stationed, until
you establish a new domicile. As an Arizona resident, you
must report all of your income, no matter where stationed.
You must include your military pay, but using Form 140,
you may subtract all pay received for active duty military
service, to the extent it is included in your federal adjusted
gross income.

If you are not an Arizona resident, but stationed in Arizona,

the following applies to you.

e You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your
military pay.

e You must report any other income you earn in Arizona.
Use Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income Tax
Return, to report this income.

To find out more, see Arizona Department of Revenue
brochure, Pub 704, Taxpayers in the Military.

If You Included Your Child's Unearned
Income on Your Federal Return, Does Your
Child have to File an Arizona Return?

No. In this case, the child should not file an Arizona return.

The parent must include that same income in his or her
Avrizona taxable income.

Find an Authorized E-File Provider

An authorized E-File provider can
take the guesswork out of filing taxes.

To Find an

Authorized e-File Authorized
Provider near you
log on Provider

www.azdor.gov

Residency Status

If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state
income tax purposes, we may be able to help. The
department has issued a procedure on determining residency
status. This procedure is ITP 92-1. To see this procedure,
visit our web site at www.azdor.gov and click on legal
research and then click on procedures.

Residents

You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona.
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home. It
is where you intend to return if you are living or working
temporarily in another state or country. If you leave Arizona
for a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while
gone. A resident is subject to tax on all income no matter
where the resident earns the income.

Part-Year Residents

If you are a part-year resident, you must file Form 140PY,
Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return.

You are a part-year resident if you did either of the
following during 2010.

e You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a
resident.

e You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up
your Arizona residency.

Nonresidents

If you are a nonresident, you must file Form 140NR,
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return.

What if a Taxpayer Died?

If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2010, the
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may have to file
and sign a return for that taxpayer. If the deceased taxpayer
did not have to file a return but had tax withheld, a return
must be filed to get a refund.

The person who files the return should use the form the
taxpayer would have used. If the department mailed the
taxpayer a booklet, do not use the label. The person who
files the return should print the word "deceased" after the
decedent's name in the address section of the form. Also
enter the date of death after the decedent's name.

If your spouse died in 2010 and you did not remarry in 2010,
or if your spouse died in 2011 before filing a return for
2010, you may file a joint return. If your spouse died in
2010, the joint return should show your spouse's 2010
income before death, and your income for all of 2010. If
your spouse died in 2011, before filing the 2010 return, the
joint return should show all of your income and all of your
spouse’s income for 2010. Print "Filing as surviving spouse”
in the area where you sign the return. If someone else is the
personal representative, he or she must also sign the return.

Are Any Other Returns Required?

You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return. For
details about filing a fiduciary income tax return, call the
department at (602) 255-3381.

Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer
If you are claiming a refund, you must complete Form 131,
Claim for Refund on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer. Attach
this form to the front of the return.



Form 140

What are the Filing Dates and Penalties?

When Should You File?

You have extra time to file and pay for 2010 because April
15, 2011 is a legal holiday in Washington DC. This means
that your 2010 calendar year tax return is due no later than
midnight, April 18, 2011. File your return as soon as you
can after January 1, but no later than April 18, 2011. If you
are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th day of the
fourth month following the close of your fiscal year.

What if You Cannot File on Time?

You may request an extension if you know you will not be
able to file on time.

: NOTE: An extension does not extend the time to pay your income :

- tax. For details, see the instructions for Arizona Form 204.

To get afiling extension, you can either:

1. Apply for a state extension (Form 204). To apply for a state
extension, file Arizona Form 204 by April 18. See
Form 204 for details. You do not have to attach a copy of
the extension to your return when you file, but make
sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of the return. If
you must make a payment, use Arizona Form 204, or visit
www.aztaxes.gov to make an electronic payment.

2. Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868). File your
Avrizona return by the same due date. You do not have to
attach a copy of your federal extension to your return, but
make sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of the return.

When Should You File if You are a
Nonresident Alien?

The due date for your Arizona return is not the same as the
due date for your federal return. Your Arizona return is due
by April 18 even though your federal return is due on June
15. If you want to file your Arizona return after April 18,
you must ask for a filing extension. You must file this
request by April 18. Arizona will allow up to a 6-month
extension. This will allow you to file your return by
October 17, 2011. See Form 204 for extension filing
details.

If you have a federal 6-month extension, you can file
your Arizona return under that extension. If you file
using your federal extension, Arizona will also allow
you an extra 6 months. Because we will allow only 6
months, the due date for your Arizona return is not the
same as the due date for your federal return. In this
case, your Arizona return will be due by October 17
even though your federal return will not be due until
December 15. If you file your 2010 Arizona calendar
return after October 17, 2011, your return will be late.

If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th
day of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal year.

What if You File or Pay Late?

If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and
penalties on the amount you owe. If the U.S. Post Office
postmarks your 2010 calendar year return by April 18, 2011,
your return will not be late. You may also use certain private
delivery services designated by the IRS to meet the “timely
mailing as timely filed” rule.

Late Filing Penalty

If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This
penalty is 4%2% of the tax required to be shown on the return

for each month or fraction of a month the return is late. This
penalty cannot exceed 25% of the tax found to be remaining
due.

Late Payment Penalty

If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment
penalty. This penalty is %2 of 1% (.005) of the amount shown
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the
failure continues. We charge this penalty from the original
due date of the return until the date you pay the tax. This
penalty cannot exceed a total of 10%.

Extension Underpayment Penalty

If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90%
of the tax shown on your return by the return's original due
date. If you do not pay this amount, we will charge you a
penalty. This penalty is ¥z of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for
each 30 day period or fraction of a 30 day period. We charge
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the
date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the
unpaid tax. If we charge you the extension underpayment
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty
under Arizona Revised Statutes section 42-1125.D.

- NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the above :
© penalties, the total cannot exceed 25%. :

Interest

We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. We
will charge you interest even if you have an extension. If you
have an extension, we will charge you interest from the
original due date until the date you pay the tax. The Arizona
interest rate is the same as the federal rate.

When Should You Amend a Return?

If you need to make changes to your return once you have
filed, you should file Form 140X, Individual Amended
Return. You should file your amended return after your
original return has processed. Do not file a new return for the
year you are correcting. Generally, you have four years to
amend a return to claim a refund.

If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also
file an Arizona Form 140X for that year. You must file the
Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of the IRS.

If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for
any year, you must report that change to Arizona. You may
use one of the following two options to report this change.

Option 1
You may file a Form 140X for that year. If you choose this
option, you must amend your Arizona return within 90 days

of the final determination of the IRS. Attach a complete copy
of the federal notice to your Form 140X.

Option 2

You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the
department within 90 days of the final determination of the
IRS. If you choose this option, you must include a statement
in which you must:

1. Request that the department recompute your tax; and
2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice.

If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also
include any documents that show why you do not agree.

If you choose option 2, mail the federal notice and any other
documents to:
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Arizona Department of Revenue
1600 W. Monroe, Attention: Individual Income Audit
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2650

Do You Need to Make Estimated Payments
in 20117

You must make Arizona estimated income tax payments
during 2011 if:

Your filing status is: AND AND

Your Arizona gross Your Arizona gross

income for2010 income for2011 is

was greater than: greater than:
Married Filing Joint $150,000 $150,000
Single $75,000 $75,000
Head of Household $75,000 $75,000
Married Filing $75,000 $75,000
Separately

If you met the income threshold for 2010, you must make
estimated payments during 2011 unless you are sure you will
not meet the threshold for 2011.

As a full year resident, your Arizona gross income is your
federal adjusted gross income. This amount is on line 12 of
the 2010 Form 140.

See the worksheet for Form 140ES to figure how much your
payments should be.

What if You Make Your
Payments Late?
We will charge you a penalty if you fail to make any

required payments. We will charge you a penalty if you
make any of your required payments late.

Estimated

For details, see Arizona Form 221.

Can You Make Estimated Payments Even if
You Do Not Have To?

If you do not have to make Arizona estimated income tax
payments, you may still choose to make them.

For details, see Arizona Form 140ES.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Tips for Preparing Your Return:

e  Make sure that you write your SSN on your return.
e Complete your return using black ink.

e You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole
dollar. If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar.
If less than 50 cents, round down. Do not enter cents.

e When asked to provide your own schedule, attach a separate
sheet with your name and SSN at the top. Attach your own
schedules to your return. Attach these schedules behind
page 2 of your return and behind your Schedules A if
itemizing.

e You must complete your federal return before you can
start your Arizona return.

e Make sure you include your home telephone number. If
your daytime number is not the same as your home number,
make sure you include a daytime telephone number.

o If filing a fiscal year return, fill in the period covered in
the space provided at the top of the form.

/Do YOU HAVE A COMPLICATED RETURN?

E-File Software Offers:

= Easy step-by-step instructions
* Error detection before filing

= Easy form selection

* Maximum deductions

E-File makes filing
a complex return
simple!

For a list of
approved software
visit our website at
www.azdor.gov

Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN
Lines 1, 2,and 3 -

- NOTE: Make sure that you write your SSN on the :
. appropriate line. :

If your booklet has a peel-off label, use that label if all the
information is correct. If any of the information on the label
is incorrect, do not use the label. Attach the label after you
finish your return. If you do not have a peel-off label, print
or type your name, address, and SSN in the space provided.
If you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in the same
order as your names. If your name appears first on the
return, make sure your SSN is the first number listed.

If you are married filing separately, enter your name and
SSN on the first line 1. Then enter your spouse’s name and
SSN on second line 1.

If you are a nonresident of the United States or a resident
alien who does not have an SSN use the identification
number (ITIN) the IRS issued to you.

For a deceased taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions.

Use your current home address. The department will send
your refund to or correspond with you at that address.

: NOTE: Make sure your SSN is correct. If you are filing a :
1 joint return, also make sure you list your SSNs in the same :
- order every year.

Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a
penalty if you fail to include your SSN. It will take longer to
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear.

ID Numbers for Paid Preparers

If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person
must also include an ID number where requested.

A paid preparer may use any of the following.
e hisor her SSN

e hisor her PTIN

e the EIN for the business

A paid preparer who fails to include the proper numbers may
also be subject to a penalty.
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Determining Your Filing Status

The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be
different from that used on your federal return.

Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140.

Line 4 Box - Married Filing a Joint Return
If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4.

You may file a joint return if you were married as of
December 31, 2010. It does not matter whether or not you
were living with your spouse. You may file a joint return,
even if you and your spouse filed separate federal returns.

You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2010
and you did not remarry in 2010. See page 2 of these
instructions for details.

The Arizona Form 140 is for full year residents only. You
may not file a joint Arizona income tax return on Form 140
if any of the following apply.

1. Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living
in another country).

2. Your spouse is a resident of another state.
3. Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident.

If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you may file
a joint return using Form 140NR. See Form 140NR instructions.

If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse, you
may file a joint return using Form 140PY. See Form 140PY
instructions.

The department has issued a ruling on filing a joint return
with your part-year resident or nonresident spouse. This
ruling is ITR 95-2. To see this ruling, visit our web site at
www.azdor.gov and click on legal research and then click on
rulings.

Line 5 Box - Head of Household
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5.

You may file as head of household on your Arizona return,
only if one of the following applies.

e You qualify to file as head of household on your federal
return.

e You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on
your federal return.

Line 6 Box - Married Filing Separately

If you are filing a separate return, check box 6 and enter
your spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1.

If you were married as of December 31, 2010, you may choose
to file a separate return. You may file a separate return, even if
you and your spouse filed a joint federal return.

Arizona is a community property state. If you file a separate
return, you must figure how much income to report using
community property laws. Under these laws, a separate
return must reflect one-half of the community income from
all sources plus any separate income.

When you file separate returns, you must account for
community deductions and credits on the same basis as
community income. Both you and your spouse must either
itemize or not itemize. If one of you itemizes, you both must
itemize. If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both
must take a standard deduction. One of you may not claim a
standard deduction while the other itemizes.

If you and your spouse support a dependent child from
community income, either you or your spouse may claim the
dependent. Both of you cannot claim the same dependent on
both returns.

The department has issued tax rulings on filing a separate
return. These rulings are ITR 93-18 and ITR 93-19. To see
these rulings, visit our web site at www.azdor.gov and click
on legal research and then click on rulings.

- NOTE: In some cases you may treat community income as -
separate income. The department has issued a ruling on !
when you may treat community income as separate income. |
© This ruling is ITR 93-22. To see this ruling, visit our web site
i at www.azdor.gov and click on legal research and then click |
- on rulings. :

If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other
special rules may apply when filing a separate return. The
department has issued a ruling on how to report income in
this case. This ruling is ITR 93-20. To see this ruling, visit
our web site at www.azdor.gov and click on legal research
and then click on rulings.

Line 7 Box - Single
If you are filing as single, check box 7.

Use this filing status if you were single on December 31,

2010. You are single if any of the following apply to you.

e You have never been married.

e You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or
of separate maintenance.

e You were widowed before January 1, 2010, and you did
not remarry in 2010, and you do not qualify to file as a
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children
on your federal return.

Exemptions

Write the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8,
9, 10, and 11. Do not put a checkmark. You may lose the
exemption if you put a checkmark in these boxes. You may
lose the dependent exemption if you do not complete Part A,
lines Al through A3 on page 2. You may lose the exemption
for qualifying parents or ancestors if you do not complete
Part A, lines A4 and A5, on page 2.

Line 8 Box - Age 65 and Over

Write "1" in box 8 if you or your spouse were 65 or older in
2010. Write "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse were
65 or older in 2010.

Line 9 Box - Blind

Write "1" in box 9 if you or your spouse are totally or partially
blind. Write "2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally
or partially blind.

If you or your spouse were partially blind as of December 31,
2010, you must get a statement certified by your eye doctor
or registered optometrist that:

1. You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with

glasses or contact lenses or

2. Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less.

If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect instead.

You must keep the statement for your records.
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FOR PEACE OF MIND...E-FILE

Ask your tax professional for E-File
or

Line 10 Box - Dependents

You must complete Part A, lines Al through A3b, on page 2 of
your return before you can total your dependent exemptions.
You may claim only the following as a dependent.

e A person that qualifies as your dependent on your federal
return.

- NOTE:

i return. For more information,
. Income Tax Ruling ITR 05-02.

e A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not)
that does not qualify as your dependent on your federal
return, but one of the following applies.

1. In 2010, you paid more than one-fourth of the cost
of keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care
institution, an Arizona residential care institution,
or an Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost
must be more than $800.

2. In 2010, you paid more than $800 for either
Arizona home health care or other medical costs for
the person.

e Astillborn child if the following apply:
1. The stillbirth occurred during 2010.

You received a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth
from the Arizona Department of Health Services.

3. The child would have otherwise been a member of your
household.

Completing Line(s) Al

- NOTE: If a person who qualifies as your dependent is also |
i a qualifying parent or ancestor of your parent, you may claim |
i that person as a dependent on line A2, or you may claim that |
. person as a qualifying parent or ancestor of your parent on !
i line A5. You may not claim that same person on both line A2 :
i and line A5. Do not list the same person on line Al that you !

* listed on line A4.

Enter the following on line(s) Al.

1. The dependent's name. If you are claiming an
exemption for a stillborn child and the child was not
named, enter “stillborn child” in place of a name.

2. The dependent's SSN. If you are claiming an exemption
for a stillborn child enter the certificate number from the
certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth.

3. The dependent's relationship to you.

If you do not claim a dependent exemption for a :
1 student on your federal return in order to allow the student !
! to claim a federal education credit on the student’s federal !
1 return, you may still claim the exemption on your Arizona |
see Arizona Individual |

4. The number of months the dependent lived in your home
during 2010. If you are claiming an exemption for a stillborn
child, enter the date of birth resulting in the stillbirth.

You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this
information.

Line A2 - Total Dependents

Enter the total number of persons listed on line(s) Al. Enter
the same number on the front of the return in box 10.

Lines A3a and A3b - Persons You Did Not
Take as Dependents on Your Federal
Return

On line A3a, enter the following.

1. The names of any dependents age 65 or over listed on
line(s) Al that you cannot take as a dependent on your
federal return.

2. The name of any stillborn child listed on line(s) Al, if
the stillborn child was named. If the stillborn child was
not named, enter “stillborn child” on line A3a. Also
enter the date of birth resulting in the stillbirth.

On line A3b, enter the name of any student listed on line(s) Al
that you did not claim as an exemption on your federal return
in order to allow that student to claim a federal education
credit on the student’s federal return.

Line 11 Box - Qualifying Parents and

Ancestors of Your Parents

A qualifying parent or ancestor of your parent may be any

one of the following.

e Your parent or your parent’s ancestor. Your parent’s
ancestor is your grand parent, great grand parent, great
great grand parent, etc.

o If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent or
an ancestor of your spouse’s parent.

You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply.

1. The parent or ancestor of your parent lived in your
principal residence for the entire taxable year.

2. You paid more than one-half of the support and
maintenance costs of the parent or ancestor of your
parent during the taxable year.

3. The parent or ancestor of your parent was 65 years old
or older during 2010.

4. The parent or ancestor of your parent required assistance
with activities of daily living, like getting in and out of
bed or chairs, walking around, going outdoors, using the
toilet, bathing, shaving, brushing teeth, combing hair,
dressing, medicating or feeding.

You must complete Part A, lines A4 and A5, on page 2 of
your return before you can total your exemptions for
qualifying parents and ancestors of your parents.

: NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or ancestor of :

1 your parent also qualifies as your dependent, you may claim
1 that person as a dependent on line A2, or you may claim that
i person as a qualifying parent or ancestor of your parent on
line A5. You may not claim that same person on both line A2

i and line A5. Do not list the same person on line A4 that you |

* listed on line Al.
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Completing Line(s) A4

Enter the following on line(s) A4.

1. The name of the qualifying parent or ancestor of your parent.

2. The SSN of the qualifying parent or ancestor of your
parent.

3. The qualifying parent’s or ancestor’s relationship to
you, or your spouse if filing a joint return.

4. The number of months the qualifying parent or ancestor
of your parent lived in your home during 2010.

You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this information.
Line A5 - Total Qualifying Parents or
Ancestors of Your Parents

Enter the total number of persons listed on line(s) A4. Enter
the same number on the front of the return in box 11.

Additions to Income

Line B6 - Non-Arizona Municipal Interest

Enter the amount of interest income from non-Arizona
municipal bonds that you did not include as income on your
federal return.

You may exclude any expenses incurred to purchase or carry the
obligation. Reduce the interest income by the amount of those
expenses that you could not deduct on your federal return.

If you received tax exempt interest from municipal bonds,
attach a schedule listing the payors and the amount received
from each payor. You may also want to attach supporting
documents for amounts received from Arizona municipal
bonds that are exempt from Arizona income tax. These may
be items such as bank statements, brokerage statements, etc.

Line B7 - Ordinary Income Portion of
Lump-Sum Distributions Excluded on Your
Federal Return

Use line B7 if you use federal averaging for lump-sum
distributions from your pension or profit-sharing plan.

Arizona law does not provide for averaging. Enter the
amount of the distribution that you treated as ordinary
income on your federal return. If you choose to treat the
capital gain portion of the distribution as ordinary income,
you must also include that amount.

For details, see Arizona Department of Revenue Income Tax
Ruling ITR 93-5.

Line B8 - Total Federal Depreciation

Enter the total amount of depreciation deducted on the
federal return. If you make an entry here, you should also take
a subtraction on line C22. To figure how much you should
subtract, see the instructions for line C22.

Line B9 - Medical Savings Account (MSA)
Distributions

For information on Arizona's MSA provisions, see the
department's MSA brochure, Pub 542.

You must add amounts received from an MSA here if any of
the following apply.

1 - You Withdrew Funds from Your MSA for Other
Than Qualified Expenses

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. You withdrew money from your MSA during 2010.

2. You did not use the amount withdrawn to pay qualified
medical expenses.

3. You did not have to include the withdrawal as income
on your federal income tax return.

Enter the amount withdrawn.

2 - Deceased Account Holder Where the Named

Beneficiary is Not the Decedent's Surviving Spouse

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. The account holder died during the year.

2. You are the named beneficiary of the decedent's MSA.

3. You are not the decedent's surviving spouse.

4.

You did not have to include the value of the MSA as
income on your federal income tax return.

In this case, the MSA ceased to be an MSA. Enter the fair
market value of the MSA as of the date of death, less the amount
of MSA funds used within one year of the date of death, to pay
the decedent's qualified medical expenses. You can reduce the
fair market value by only those expenses paid from the MSA. If
you pay additional medical expenses for the decedent from the
MSA after you file, you may file an amended return to further
reduce the fair market value of the MSA.

3 - Decedent's Final Return and No Named MSA
Beneficiary

Make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. The account holder died during the year.

2. There is no named MSA beneficiary.

3. This is the decedent's final return.

4, The value of the MSA did not have to be included on
the decedent's final federal income tax return.

In this case, the MSA ceases to be an MSA. Enter the fair
market value of the MSA as of the date of death. This rule
applies in all cases in which there is no named beneficiary,
even if the surviving spouse ultimately obtains the right to
the MSA assets.

- NOTE: The following are not withdrawals. Do not enter

i any of the following:

. o Amounts from the MSA used to pay qualified medical
expenses.

A qualified return of excess contributions.

i o Aqualified rollover.

The fair market value of an MSA received by a surviving |

spouse who was the deceased account holder's named

beneficiary.

For more information about the above items, see thef

: department's MSA brochure, Pub 542,

Line B10 - I.LR.C. 8 179 Expense in Excess
of Allowable Amount

Enter the amount of IRC § 179 expense deducted on the
federal return that exceeds $25,000. If you make an entry
here, you should also take a subtraction on line C29 for a
portion of the amount entered here. To figure how much you
should subtract, see the instructions for line C29.

Line B11 - Other Additions to Income
Use line B11 if any of the special circumstances below apply.
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Attach your own schedule to the back of your return
explaining any amounts entered here.

You may either add or subtract items A through D below
(line B11 or C29, respectively) depending on your situation.

A. Pension Adjustments
Use this adjustment if both of the following apply.

1. Arizona taxed your pension for years before 1979.
2. You reported that pension on your federal return using
the percentage exclusion method.

Do not use this adjustment if either of the following apply.

1. You reported your pension income as fully taxable on
your federal return.

2. You reported your pension income on your federal
return under the “three-year-rule™.

Pension Adjustment Worksheet - Line B11
Follow these steps to figure the adjustment.
(Keep this worksheet for your records.)
Your contribution to annuity. 1.
Pension amount received in prior
years.
Remainder of cost (line 1 minus
line 2 but not less than zero).
Pension amount received this year.

Subtract line 3 from line 4 (but not
less than zero).

Enter the pension amount taxable
on your federal return.

7. Subtract line 6 from line 5.

o GO K W N
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7.

If line 7 is more than zero, enter the amount on line 7 as an
addition to income. Enter the addition on line B11.

If line 6 is more than line 5, enter the difference as a
subtraction from income. Enter the subtraction on line C29.

B. Married Persons Filing Separate Returns

If you file a separate Arizona return, you must report the
following income on that return.

e one-half of the community income from all sources.
e all of your separate income.

If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but separate
Arizona returns, you must make sure that each separate return
reflects the correct income. If you begin your Arizona return
with only the income that you earned during the year, you
will have to adjust this income.

If you file separate federal returns, each of your federal returns
should already reflect the correct income. Since your separate
Arizona returns will begin with the federal adjusted gross
income, you will not have to adjust your income.

If you have to adjust your income, attach a schedule showing
how you figured your adjustment.

C. Partnership Income

Use this adjustment if your Arizona Form 165, Schedule K-1,
shows a difference between federal and state distributable income.

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165,
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that difference as
an addition. Enter the addition on line B11.

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165,
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference as
a subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29.

D. Fiduciary Adjustment

A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, to report to you
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.

Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, shows your share of
the fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the
amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ,
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that amount as an
addition. Enter the addition on line B11.

If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ,
Schedule K-1, is a negative humber, enter that amount as a
subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29.

E. Net Operating Losses

Arizona does not have specific provisions for calculating the
net operating loss of an individual. Generally, the amount of
net operating loss deduction included in your federal
adjusted gross income is the amount allowable for Arizona
purposes. However, there are instances when the amount
allowable for Arizona purposes may be different.

You must adjust the amount of net operating loss deduction
included in your federal adjusted gross income if you have
already deducted any amount of the net operating loss
included in your federal adjusted gross income for Arizona
purposes. In this case, enter on line B11, the amount of net
operating loss included in your federal adjusted gross income
which you previously deducted for Arizona purposes.

Usually, Arizona conforms to the federal net operating loss
provisions, including the carryback provisions. However,
Avrizona did not conform to the special federal net operating
loss rules for 2008 and 2009. Under the special rules for
2008 and 2009, you could have elected to carry the net
operating loss back for 3, 4 or 5 years, instead of the normal
2 years. This election would have been allowed under I.R.C.
8 172(b)(1)(h) as amended by the American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the Worker, Homeownership,
and Business Assistance Act of 2009. If you deducted a
federal net operating loss carryback under the federal
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the
federal Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance
Act of 2009, see the instructions for line C28.

For information on deducting a net operating loss carryback in
cases where you did not make an election under I.R.C. 8
172(b)(1)(h), see Arizona Department of Revenue Income Tax
Procedure ITP 99-1.

F. Items Previously Deducted for Arizona Purposes

Avrizona statutes prohibit a taxpayer from deducting items more
than once. However, under the operation of former Arizona law
(1989 and prior), you could deduct certain items in greater
amounts for Arizona purposes than for federal purposes.

Investment interest and passive activity losses were such
items. In some cases, you could have deducted such amounts
in their entirety on the Arizona return. For federal purposes,
the deduction for these items was limited, with the unused
portions being carried forward and deducted in future years.
Your Arizona return may include these previously deducted
items because of the difference between the federal and
former Arizona treatment. If your Arizona taxable income
includes items previously deducted for Arizona purposes,
you must add such amounts to your Arizona gross income.

G. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid
in 2010

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. During 2010, you were required to repay amounts held
under a claim of right.
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2. The amount required to be repaid during 2010 was more
than $3,000.

3. You took a deduction for the amount repaid on your 2010
federal income tax return.

If the above apply, enter the amount deducted on your federal
income tax return here.

For more information on the Arizona claim of right provisions,
see Arizona Department of Revenue Individual Income Tax
Procedure ITP 95-1.

H. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid
in Prior Taxable Years

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. During a year prior to 2010 you were required to repay
amounts held under a claim of right.

2. You computed your tax for that prior year under
Arizona's claim of right provisions.

3. A net operating loss or capital loss was established due
to the repayment made in the prior year.

4. You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital
loss carryover into account when computing your 2010
Avrizona taxable income.

5. The amount of the loss carryover included in your
federal income is more than the amount allowed to be
taken into account for Arizona purposes.

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover included in
your federal adjusted gross income is more than the amount
allowed for the taxable year under Arizona law.

I. Addition to S Corporation Income Due to Credits
Claimed

Shareholders of an S corporation who claim a credit passed
through from an S corporation must make an addition to
income for the amount of expenses disallowed by reason of
claiming the credit.

An S corporation that passes the following credits through to its
shareholders must notify each shareholder of his or her pro rata
share of the adjustment. You must enter an amount on this line
when claiming any of the following credits.

Agricultural water conservation system credit
Environmental technology facility credit

Pollution control credit

Credit for solar hot water heater plumbing stub outs and
electric vehicle recharge outlets

Credit for employment of TANF recipients

Agricultural pollution control equipment credit

Motion picture credits

J. Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and
Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlet Expenses

If you take a credit for installing solar hot water heater plumbing
stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in a dwelling you
constructed (Form 319), you cannot deduct any expenses for
which you claim the credit. If you take this credit, enter the amount
of such expenses that you deducted on your federal return.

K. Wage Expense for Employers of TANF Recipients
If you take a credit for employing TANF recipients (Form
320), you cannot deduct any wage expense for which you
claim the credit. If you take this credit, enter the amount of
such expenses that you deducted on your federal return.

L. Motion Picture Expenses

If you take a motion picture credit on Form 334, you cannot
deduct any expenses deducted on your federal return related

to the production, the infrastructure project or related to a
transferred credit. Enter the amount of any such expenses
that were deducted in computing federal adjusted gross
income for which you claimed a credit.

M. Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit

If you take this credit (Form 312), you cannot deduct any
expenses for which you claim the credit. If you take this credit,
enter the amount of such expenses that you deducted on your
federal return.

N. Adjusted Basis in Property for Which You Have
Claimed a Credit for Investment in Qualified Small
Businesses

If you claim a credit for an investment in a qualified small
business on Arizona Form 338, you must adjust your basis in
the investment by the amount of the credit claimed. You must
report this difference in basis on the Arizona return that you
file for the taxable year in which you sell or otherwise
dispose of the investment. If you sold or otherwise disposed
of the investment during the 2010 taxable year, on line B11,
enter the amount by which the adjusted basis computed under
the internal revenue code with respect to that property
exceeds the adjusted basis of the property computed under
Avrizona Revised Statutes section 43-1074.02.

O. Depreciation or Amortization for a Water
Conservation System

If you claimed a water conservation system credit on
Arizona Form 339, you may not deduct any depreciation or
amortization for that system on your Arizona return. Enter
the amount of depreciation or amortization claimed on your
federal return for the water conservation system for which
you have claimed a credit.

P. Nonqualified Withdrawals from 529 College
Savings Plans

You must make an addition to income if you received a
nonqualified withdrawal from a 529 college savings plan.
You must make an addition if the withdrawal was not
included in your federal adjusted gross income. The amount
that you must add is the amount withdrawn, but no more
than the difference between the amount of contributions
subtracted in prior years and the amount added in any prior
years.

A nonqualified withdrawal is a withdrawal other than any of
the following:

1. A qualified withdrawal. A qualified withdrawal is a
withdrawal from an account to pay the qualified higher
education expenses of the designated beneficiary of the
account.

2. A withdrawal made as the result of the death or
disability of the designated beneficiary of an account.

3. A withdrawal that is made on the account of a
scholarship, or the allowance or payment described in
section 135(d)(1)(B) or (C) of the internal revenue code,
and that is received by the designated beneficiary, but
only to the extent of the amount of this scholarship,
allowance or payment.

4. Arrollover or change of designated beneficiary.

Q. 2010 Discharge of Indebtedness (DOI) Income

Generally, when a loan is settled for less than the amount
owed, DOI income is realized by the debtor and usually must
be included in the debtor’s gross income. The amount of
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DOI income is generally equal to the amount of loan
forgiveness. DOI income also occurs when a debtor
repurchases his or her own debt at a discount (a price lower
than the adjusted basis issue price of the debt instrument).
In debt repurchase transactions, the amount of DOI income
is generally equal to the difference between the adjusted
issue price and the price paid for the debt instrument.

For federal purposes, a taxpayer may have made a special
election for taxable years 2009 or 2010 to include DOI
income in connection with the reacquisition of a business
debt instrument, ratably over a 5 year period. A taxpayer
that made this election will generally include this income in
federal adjusted gross income beginning with the 2014
taxable year. A taxpayer would have made the federal
election under 1.R.C. § 108(i) as added by the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Arizona did not adopt the special federal DOI income
deferral provisions for the 2009 or 2010 taxable year. For
Arizona purposes, if you made the federal election to defer
the inclusion of DOI income under I.R.C. 8 108(i), you must
make an entry here. On line B11, enter the amount of DOI
income that you deferred and excluded from the
computation of your 2010 federal adjusted gross income
under 1.R.C. § 108(i). Even though you must include that
DOI income on your 2010 Arizona return, Arizona will not
tax that income again in the future years when you include
the income in your federal adjusted gross income. If you
make an entry here, also see the instructions for “Other
Subtractions from Income” even though this subtraction will
not apply until the year in which you include the income in
your federal adjusted gross income.

R. Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition
of Debt Instrument

For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special
election to defer DOI income under I.R.C. § 108(i) (see letter
“Q” above), the taxpayer was not allowed to take a deduction
with respect to the portion of any OID that accrued with respect
to that DOI income, during the income deferral period. In this
case, the taxpayer had to deduct the aggregate amount of the
OID deductions disallowed ratably over a 5 year period,
beginning with the period in which the income was includible
in federal adjusted gross income.

Arizona did not adopt the federal provisions requiring a
taxpayer to defer the OID deduction in cases where the
taxpayer federally deferred the DOI income. For Arizona
purposes, you had to report the DOI income from a debt
reacquisition in the year in which you reacquired the debt,
and you were allowed to subtract any OID related to that
DOI income in the year the OID accrued. (See the
instructions for “Other Subtractions from Income.”) If your
federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for any
accrued OID that you have already subtracted for Arizona
purposes, you must make an addition to Arizona income for
the amount of deferred OID deducted on your federal return.
Generally, this addition will not apply until taxable year
2014 through 2018. However, if you were required to
accelerate reporting of the DOI income for federal purposes
and were allowed to deduct accrued OID attributable to that
income on a return filed for a year prior to 2014, this
addition may apply to an earlier year. On line B11, enter the
amount of any previously deferred OID that you deducted in
computing your 2010 federal adjusted gross income, to the
extent that the amount was previously subtracted from
Arizona gross income.
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S. Early Withdrawal of Arizona, County, City, or
School Retirement System Contributions

If you meet all of the following, you must enter an amount here.

1. You left your job with the State of Arizona or an
Arizona county, city, or school district for reasons other
than retirement.

2. When you left, you took out the contributions you had
made to the retirement system while employed.

3. You deducted these contributions on your Arizona
income tax returns that you filed for prior years.

4. You did not include these contributions in your federal
adjusted gross income this year.

If you meet all these tests, you must report as income those
contributions previously deducted on your prior years'
Arizona tax returns.

For details, see Arizona Department of Revenue Income Tax
Ruling ITR 93-7.

T. Other Adjustments

Other special adjustments may be necessary. You may need
to make an addition for depreciation or amortization. You
may also need to make an addition if you claimed certain tax
credits. Call one of the numbers listed on the back cover if
any of the following apply.

e You are a qualified defense contractor that elected to
amortize under Arizona Revised Statutes section 43-1024.

e You sold or disposed of property that was held for the

production of income and your basis was computed

under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954,

You claimed the environmental technology facility credit.

You claimed the pollution control credit.

You claimed the recycling equipment credit.

You claimed the agricultural pollution

equipment credit.

e You elected to amortize the basis of a pollution control
device or the cost of a child care facility under Arizona
law in effect before 1990. You are still deducting
amortization or depreciation for that device or facility
on your federal income tax return.

Line B12 - Total Additions

Add lines B6 through B11. Enter the total on line B12 and
on the front of your return on line 13.

Subtractions From Income

You may only subtract those items for which statutory authority
exists. Without such authority you cannot take a subtraction.
If you have any questions concerning subtractions from
income, call one of the numbers listed on the back cover.

control

- NOTE: You may not subtract any amount that is allocable :
- to income excluded from your Arizona taxable income. :

Line C13 - Exemption: Age 65 or Over
Multiply the number in box 8 on the front of your return by
$2,100 and enter the result.

Line C14 - Exemption: Blind

Multiply the number in box 9 on the front of your return by
$1,500 and enter the result.

Line C15 - Exemption: Dependents
Multiply the number in box 10 on the front of your return by
$2,300 and enter the result.
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Line C16 - Exemption: Qualifying Parents
and Ancestors of Your Parents

Multiply the number in box 11 on the front of your return by
$10,000 and enter the result.

Line C17 - Total
Add lines C13 through C16 and enter the total. If you have

no other subtractions from income, skip lines C18 through
C30 and enter this total on Form 140, page 1, line 15.

Line C18 - Interest on U.S. Obligations

Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Government
obligations included as income on your federal return. U.S.
Government obligations include obligations such as savings
bonds and treasury bills. You cannot deduct any interest or other
related expenses incurred to purchase or carry the obligations. If
such expenses are included in your Arizona gross income,
you must reduce the subtraction by such expenses. If you are
itemizing deductions on your Arizona return, you must
exclude such expenses from the amount deducted.

- NOTE: Do not subtract interest earned on FNMA or GNMA :
: bonds since this interest is taxable by Arizona. For details, see :

: the department's income tax ruling, ITR 06-1.

Do not subtract any amount received from a qualified pension
plan that invests in U.S. Government obligations. Do not
subtract any amount received from an IRA that invests in
U.S. Government obligations. These amounts are not interest
income. For details, see Arizona Department of Revenue
Income Tax Rulings ITR 96-2 and ITR 96-3.

Line C19 - Exclusion for U.S. Government,
Arizona State or Local Government Pensions

If you receive pension income from any of the sources listed
below, subtract the amount you received or $2,500, whichever
is less. Include only the amount you reported as income on
your federal return. If both you and your spouse receive such
pension income, each spouse may subtract the amount
received or $2,500, whichever is less.

Public pensions from the following
sources qualify for this subtraction.

e The United States Government Service Retirement and
Disability Fund

e The United States Foreign Service Retirement and
Disability System

e Retired or retainer pay of the uniformed services of the
United States

e Any other retirement system or plan established by
federal law

“NOTE: This applies only to those retirement plans :
i authorized and enacted into the U.S. Code. This does not |
. apply to a retirement plan that is only regulated by federal !
. law (i.e., plans which must meet certain federal criteria to be !

- qualified plans).

The Arizona State Retirement System

The Arizona State Retirement Plan

The Corrections Officer Retirement Plan

The Public Safety Personnel Retirement System

The Elected Officials' Retirement Plan

A retirement plan established for employees of a county,
city, or town in Arizona
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e Anoptional retirement program established by the Arizona
Board of Regents under Arizona Revised Statutes

e An optional retirement program established by an
Arizona community college district.

: NOTE: Public retirement pensions from states other than :
. Arizona do not qualify for this subtraction. :

Line C20 - Arizona Lottery Winnings

You may subtract up to $5,000 of winnings received in 2010
for Arizona lottery prizes.

If you subtract Arizona lottery winnings here, you may have
to adjust the amount of gambling losses claimed as an
itemized deduction. See instructions for Form 140 Schedule A,
Itemized Deduction Adjustments.

Line C21 - U.S. Social Security Benefits or
Railroad Retirement Benefits

Arizona does not tax social security benefits received under
Title 11 of the Social Security Act. Arizona does not tax railroad
retirement benefits received from the Railroad Retirement
Board under the Railroad Retirement Act. If you included
such social security or railroad retirement benefits as income
on your federal return, use line C21 to subtract this income.

....................................................................

: NOTE: Enter only the taxable amount (the amount that was :
i subject to federal tax). Do not include any amount that was !
: not subject to federal income tax. :

See Arizona Department of Revenue Income Tax Ruling ITR 96-1
for more information about railroad retirement benefits.

Line C22 - Recalculated Arizona Depreciation

Enter the total amount of depreciation allowable pursuant to
IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year calculated as if you had
elected not to claim bonus depreciation for eligible
properties for federal purposes.

Line C23 - Certain Wages of American Indians

Enrolled members of American Indian tribes may subtract
wages earned while living and working on their tribe's
reservation. The federal government must recognize these
tribes.

For more information, see Arizona Department of Revenue
Income Tax Ruling ITR 96-4.

Line C24 - Income Tax Refund from Other
States

You may subtract income tax refunds received from other
states if both of the following apply.

1. You reported the refund as income on your federal return.

2. You did not deduct the taxes paid to the other state as an
itemized deduction on a prior year Arizona return.

Line C25 - Deposits and Employer
Contributions Into MSAs
Deposits Made Into Your MSA
If you have a medical savings account (MSA), you may be

able to subtract deposits made into that MSA. Make an entry
here if all of the following apply.

1. You have an MSA that qualifies as an MSA under
Avrizona law, but not federal law.

2. Either you or your employer made deposits into that
MSA during the tax year.
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3. You had to include the deposits in income on your
federal income tax return.

Enter the amount of the MSA deposits that you had to
include in your federal adjusted gross income.

Employer Contributions Made to Employee MSAs

If you are an employer, you may subtract the amount
contributed to your employees' MSAs that are established
under Arizona law. You can subtract these contributions
only to the extent not deductible for federal income tax
purposes. Enter these contributions here.

Line C26 - Construction of an Energy
Efficient Residence

For taxable years beginning from and after December 31, 2001,
through December 31, 2010, Arizona law allows a subtraction
for an energy efficient residence. The subtraction is allowed for
selling one or more new energy efficient residences located in
Avrizona. The subtraction is equal to 5% of the sales price
excluding commissions, taxes, interest, points, and other
brokerage, finance and escrow charges. The subtraction cannot
exceed $5,000 for each new qualifying residence.

The taxpayer that builds the new residence may claim the
subtraction when the taxpayer first sells the residence.
However, the seller may elect to transfer the subtraction to
the buyer.

For more information, see Arizona Department of Revenue
Income Tax Procedure ITP 02-1.

Enter the number of residences for which you are claiming a
subtraction on line C26a, then enter the amount of the
subtraction on line C26. Also enter the number on line C26a
on Form 140, page 1, line 151.

Line C27 - Pay Received for Active Service
as a Member of the Reserves, National
Guard or the U.S. Armed Forces

Starting with 2006, members of the U.S. armed forces may
subtract pay received for active duty military service. On line
C27, enter the amount of that income included in your
federal adjusted gross income.

Starting with 2007, members of the reserves or the National
Guard may subtract pay received for active service as a
reservist or as a National Guard member. This includes
pay received for weekend or two-week training periods. On
line C27, enter the amount of that income included in your
federal adjusted gross income.

: NOTE: You may not subtract pay received for active duty :
' service as a member of the U.S. Public Health Service or :
i+ NOAA. The department has issued a ruling on this issue. :
v This ruling is ITR 10-1. To see this ruling, visit our web site
i at www.azdor.gov and click on legal research and then click |

. on rulings.

: NOTE: This subtraction applies to only those individuals ;
r who made an election under the special federal net :
1 operating loss rules for 2008 and 2009. Under the special
+ rules for 2008 and 2009, you could have elected to carry the !

net operating loss back for 3, 4 or 5 years, instead of the
: normal 2 years.

: Homeownership, and Business Assistance Act of 2009.

This election would have been allowed |
under I.LR.C. § 172(b)(1)(h) as amended by the American !
i Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the Worker, :
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Arizona did not adopt the special federal net operating loss
rules for losses incurred during 2008 or 2009. For Arizona
purposes, you must deduct a net operating loss as if the loss
was computed under I.R.C. 8 172 in effect prior to the
enactment of those special rules. If you made an election to
deduct your 2008 or 2009 federal net operating loss under
I.R.C. § 172(b)(1)(h), you may have to enter an amount
here. Figure how much of the net operating loss carry
forward would have been allowed as a deduction on your
2010 federal income tax return, if the election described in
I.R.C. § 172(b)(1)(h) had not been made in the year of the
loss. On line C28, enter the amount that exceeds the actual
net operating loss carry forward that was deducted in
arriving at federal adjusted gross income.

Line C29 - Other Subtractions from Income

Use line C29 if any of the following special circumstances
apply. Attach your own schedule to the back of your return
explaining any amounts entered here.

A. Previously Reported Gain on Decedent's

Installment Sale

Prior Arizona law required acceleration of any unrecognized
installment sale gain upon the death of a taxpayer. However,
this acceleration could have been avoided by the posting of a
bond. If acceleration was required, your federal adjusted gross
income may include installment sale amounts already
recognized on a decedent's final Arizona return. If your federal
adjusted gross income includes such amounts, you may
subtract that portion of the gain included on your federal return.

B. Fiduciary Adjustment

A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 to report to you
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.

Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 shows your share of
the fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the
amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ,
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that amount as a
subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29.

If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ,
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that amount as an
addition. Enter the addition on line B11.

C. Partnership Income

Use this adjustment if your Arizona Form 165, Schedule K-1,
shows a difference between federal and state distributable income.

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165,
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference as
a subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29.

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165,
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that difference as
an addition. Enter the addition on line B11.

D. Federally Taxable Arizona Municipal Interest

Enter the amount of any interest income received on obligations
of the State of Arizona, or any political subdivisions of
Arizona, that is included in your Arizona gross income. Do
not enter any Arizona municipal interest that is exempt from
federal taxation and not included in your federal adjusted
gross income.

E. Adoption Expenses

You may take this subtraction only in the year the final
adoption order is granted. Enter the lesser of the total of the
following adoption expenses or $3,000. When figuring your
subtraction, you may include expenses incurred in prior years.
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The following expenses are qualified adoption expenses.
1. Nonreimbursed medical and hospital costs.

2. Adoption counseling.

3. Legal and agency fees.

4. Other nonrecurring costs of adoption.

If filing separately, you may take the entire subtraction, or
you may divide the subtraction with your spouse. However,
the total subtraction taken by both you and your spouse
cannot exceed $3,000.

F. Qualified Wood Stove, Wood Fireplace, or Gas
Fired Fireplace

Avrizona law provides a subtraction for converting an existing
fireplace to a qualified wood stove, qualified wood fireplace, or
gas fired fireplace and non-optional equipment directly related
to its operation. You may subtract up to $500 of the costs
incurred for converting an existing fireplace to a qualified wood
stove, qualified wood fireplace, or gas fired fireplace on your
property located in Arizona. When you figure your subtraction,
do not include taxes, interest, or other finance charges.

A qualified wood stove or a qualified wood fireplace is a
residential wood heater that was manufactured on or after
July 1, 1990, or sold at retail on or after July 1, 1992. The
residential wood heater must also meet the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency's July 1990 particulate emissions standards.

A qualified gas fired fireplace is any device that burns
natural or liquefied petroleum gas as its fuel through a
burner system that is permanently installed in the fireplace.
The conversion of an existing wood burning fireplace to
noncombustible gas logs that are permanently installed in
the fireplace also qualifies as a gas fired fireplace.

G. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid
in Prior Taxable Years

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply.

1. During a year prior to 2010 you were required to repay
amounts held under a claim of right.

2. You computed your tax for that prior year under
Arizona's claim of right provisions.

3. A net operating loss or capital loss was established due
to the repayment made in the prior year.

4. You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital
loss carryover into account when computing your 2010
Avrizona taxable income.

5. The amount of the loss carryover allowed to be taken
into account for Arizona purposes is more than the
amount included in your federal income.

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover allowed for

the taxable year under Arizona law is more than the amount

included in your federal adjusted gross income.

H. Certain Expenses Not Allowed for Federal Purposes

You may subtract some expenses that you cannot deduct on

your federal return when you claim certain federal tax credits.

These federal tax credits are:

e  The federal work opportunity credit

e The empowerment zone employment credit

e The credit for employer-paid social security taxes on
employee cash tips

e The Indian employment credit

If you received any of the above federal tax credits for 2010,

enter the portion of wages or salaries you paid or incurred

during the taxable year equal to the amount of those federal

tax credits you received.
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I. Qualified State Tuition Program Distributions

If you are a beneficiary of a qualified state tuition program, you
may subtract some of the amount distributed from the program
for qualified education expenses. Enter the amount of the
distribution that you had to include in your federal adjusted
gross income. A qualified state tuition program is a program
that meets the requirements of I.R.C. § 529.

J. Subtraction for World War Il Victims

You may subtract distributions made to you for your
persecution or the persecution of your ancestors by Nazi
Germany or any other Axis regime for racial, religious or
political reasons. If you are the first recipient of such
distributions, enter the amount of the distributions that you
had to include in your federal adjusted gross income.

You may also subtract items of income that are attributable to,
derived from or related to assets that were stolen or hidden
from or lost to you if you were persecuted by Nazi Germany or
any other Axis regime for racial, religious or political reasons
before, during or immediately after World War I1. If you are
the first recipient of such income, enter the amount of income
that you had to include in your federal adjusted gross income.

K. Installment Sale Income from Another State
Taxed by the Other State in a Prior Taxable Year

You may subtract income from an installment sale if both of

the following apply:

1. The income from the sale is subject to Arizona income tax
in 2010; and

2. You paid income tax to another state on that income in a
prior tax year.

Enter the amount of such income that you included in your
Avrizona gross income for 2010.

Do not enter any amount that is subject to tax by both Arizona
and another state in 2010. In this case, you may be eligible for a
tax credit. See Form 309 for details.

L. Agricultural Crops Given to Arizona Charities

Avrizona law allows a subtraction for qualified crop gifts made
during 2010 to one or more charitable organizations. To take
this subtraction, you must be engaged in the business of
farming or processing agricultural crops. The crop must be
grown in Arizona. You must make your gift to a charitable
organization located in Arizona that is exempt from Arizona
income tax.

The subtraction is the larger of 80% of the wholesale market
price or 80% of the most recent sale price for the contributed
crop.

To determine if your crop gift qualifies for this subtraction, see
Avrizona Department of Revenue Income Tax Procedure ITP 93-2.

M. Basis Adjustment for Property Sold or
Otherwise Disposed of During the Taxable Year

With respect to property that is sold or otherwise disposed of
during the taxable year by a taxpayer who has complied with
the requirement to add back all depreciation with respect to
that property on tax returns for all taxable years beginning
from and after December 31, 1999, enter the amount of
depreciation that has been allowed pursuant to I.R.C. §
167(a) to the extent that the amount has not already reduced
Arizona taxable income in the current or prior years. (Note:
The practical effect of this is to allow a subtraction for the
difference in basis for any asset for which bonus depreciation
has been claimed on the federal return.)
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N. Adjustment for IRC § 179 Expense Not Allowed

Enter 20% of the amount entered on line B10. This same
amount can also be subtracted in each of the following four
taxable years, effectively amortizing the difference in
treatment over five years. If you made an addition for IRC §
179 expense on your, 2006, 2007, 2008 and/or 2009 return,
also enter 20% of the amount added for 2006, 2007, 2008
and/or 2009.

O. Contributions to 529 College Savings Plans

For taxable years 2008 through 2012, you may subtract
amounts you contribute to 529 college savings plans during
the taxable year. You may subtract the amount you
contributed during the year up to a total of $750 ($1,500 for
a married couple filing a joint return). If you are married
filing separate returns, either you or your spouse may take
the subtraction, or you may divide it between you, but the
total taken by both of you cannot be more than $1,500.

If you contribute more than $750 ($1,500 if married) during
the year, your total subtraction is still limited to $750
(%$1,500 if you are married). For example, Jorge and Kate are
married and have two children. During 2010, Jorge and
Kate, contributed $1,500 to a 529 plan for Child 1 and
$1,500 to a 529 plan for Child 2. Even though Jorge and
Kate contributed a total of $3,000 during 2010, they may
subtract only $1,500 on their 2010 return.

You may take a subtraction for a contribution that you made
during 2010, to a plan that existed before 2010. You may
take a subtraction for a contribution that you made during
2010, to a plan established in another state. You may take a
subtraction for a contribution that you made in 2010, to any
529 college savings plan. This could be a plan established
for a child, grandchild, niece, nephew, or any other person
for whom a plan has been established.

You cannot take a subtraction for an amount transferred
from one college savings plan to a different college savings
plan (a rollover).

P. Previously Deferred Discharge of Indebtedness
(DOI) Income Adjustment

Generally, when a loan is settled for less than the amount
owed, DOI income is realized by the debtor and usually
must be included in the debtor’s gross income. The amount
of DOI income is generally equal to the amount of loan
forgiveness. DOI income also occurs when a debtor
repurchases his or her own debt at a discount (a price lower
than the adjusted basis issue price of the debt instrument).
In debt repurchase transactions, the amount of DOI income
is generally equal to the difference between the adjusted
issue price and the price paid for the debt instrument.

For federal purposes, a taxpayer may have made a special
election for taxable years 2009 or 2010 to include DOI
income in connection with the reacquisition of a business
debt instrument, ratably over a 5 year period. A taxpayer
that made this election will generally include this income in
federal adjusted gross income beginning with the 2014
taxable year. A taxpayer would have made the federal
election under I.R.C. § 108(i) as added by the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Arizona did not adopt the special federal DOI income
deferral provisions for the 2009 or 2010 taxable year. For
Arizona purposes, if you made the federal election to defer
the inclusion of DOI income under I.R.C. § 108(i), you were
required to add the amount of deferred DOI income to
Arizona income for the year for which you made the
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election. (See the instructions for “Other Additions to
Income.”) If you made the required addition to Arizona
income on the Arizona return filed for the year in which you
reacquired the debt instrument (2009 or 2010), Arizona will
not tax that DOI income twice. In the year in which you
include that deferred DOI income in you federal adjusted
gross income, you may take a subtraction for the amount
included for that year. Usually this subtraction will apply to
taxable years 2014 through 2018. However, if you had to
accelerate the deferral for federal purposes, this subtraction
may apply to a taxable year prior to 2014. On line C29,
enter the amount of previously deferred DOI income that
you included in your federal adjusted gross income for the
current taxable year to the extent that the amount was
previously added to your Arizona income.

Q. Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition
of Debt Instrument

For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special
election to defer DOI income under I.R.C. § 108(i) (see letter
“P” above), the taxpayer was not allowed to take a deduction
with respect to the portion of any OID that accrued with respect
to that DOI income, during the income deferral period. In this
case, the taxpayer must deduct the aggregate amount of the
OID deductions disallowed ratably over a 5 year period,
beginning with the period in which the income is includible in
federal adjusted gross income.

Arizona did not adopt the federal provisions requiring a
taxpayer to defer the OID deduction in cases where the
taxpayer federally deferred the DOI income under I.R.C. §
108(i). For Arizona purposes, you were required to add the
amount of deferred DOI income to Arizona income on the
return filed for the year in which you reacquired the debt
instrument. Since Arizona is taxing the federally deferred
DOl income for 2009 or 2010 on your 2009 or 2010 Arizona
return, you may subtract the amount of OID that accrued
during the taxable year with respect to that DOI income. On
line C29, enter the amount of any OID that was deferred and
not allowed to be deducted in computing your federal adjusted
gross income for 2010 under I.R.C. § 108(i).

R. Other Adjustments

Other special adjustments may be necessary. Call one of the
numbers listed on the back cover if any of the following apply.

e You are a qualified defense contractor that elected to
amortize under Arizona Revised Statutes section 43-1024.

e You sold or disposed of property that was held for the
production of income and your basis was computed
under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954.

e You were an Arizona resident before December 31, 1975,
and you are receiving IRA distributions from your IRA
account to which you made contributions before
December 31, 1975.

e You were an Arizona resident before December 31, 1975,
and you are receiving distributions from your qualified
self-employment retirement plan to which you made
contributions before December 31, 1975.

e You deferred exploration expenses determined under
Internal Revenue Code section 617 in a taxable year
ending before January 1, 1990, and you have not
previously taken a subtraction for those expenses.

Line C30 - Total Subtractions

Add lines C17 through C29. Enter the total here and on the
front of your return on line 15.
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Line D31 - Last Name(s) Used in Prior
Years

Use line D31 if the last name that you are using on this
return is not the same as the last name you used on returns
filed for the last 4 years. On line D31, enter any other last
name(s) that you used when filing your return during the
last 4 years.

Totaling Your Income

Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income

You must complete your federal return before you enter an
amount on line 12. You must complete a 2010 federal return
to determine your federal adjusted gross income even if not
filing a federal return.

Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting
point to determine Arizona taxable income. Your federal
adjusted gross income is your Arizona gross income.

“ NOTE: Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross income :

. and not your federal taxable income.

If the amount on line 12 is more than $75,000 ($150,000 if filing a
joint return), you may need to make estimated payments. See "Do
You Need to Make Estimated Payments" instructions on page 4.

Line 13 - Additions to Income
Enter the amount from line B12, page 2, of your return.

Line 15 - Subtractions From Income
Enter the amount from page 2, line C17 or line C30.

Arizona E-File

For Yourself
For Your Family

ARl ZOMNA
=2+ flle
For Peace of Mind...

www.azdor.gov

Figuring Your Tax

Line 17 - Itemized or Standard Deductions

You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or
to itemize your deductions. Your Arizona income tax will be
less if you take the larger of your standard deduction or your
itemized deductions.

@» \When you e-File, the software completes
the math for you.

Your Standard Deduction

If you take the standard deduction, check box 17S.

If your filing status is: Your standard deduction is:
e Single $4,677
e Married filing separately $4,677
e Married filing jointly $9,354
e Head of household $9,354

Your Itemized Deductions

You may claim itemized deductions on your Arizona return
even if you take a standard deduction on your federal return.
For the most part, you may claim those deductions allowable
as itemized deductions under the Internal Revenue Code. In
some cases, the amount allowed for some deductions may not
be the same as the amount allowable for federal purposes.
You may have to adjust the amounts shown on your
completed federal Form 1040, Schedule A. See Form 140
Schedule A, Itemized Deduction Adjustments to figure if you
have to make any adjustments.

To figure your itemized deductions, you must complete a
federal Form 1040, Schedule A. Then, if required, complete
Form 140 Schedule A, Itemized Deduction Adjustments. If you do
not have to complete Form 140 Schedule A, Itemized Deduction
Adjustments, enter the amount from federal Form 1040,
Schedule A, on Form 140, line 17.

- NOTE: If you itemize, you must attach a copy of the :
. completed federal Schedule A to your Arizona return. If :
. itemizing, check box 171. :

Line 18 - Personal Exemptions

The amount you may claim as a personal exemption depends
on your filing status. If married, the amount you may claim as a
personal exemption also depends on whether you or your
spouse claim dependents. You may use the chart below to
figure your personal exemption. If married, you may also use
Form 202 to figure your personal exemption.

Personal Exemption Chart
If you checked filing status: Enter:

e Single (Box 7) $2,100

e Married filing joint return (Box 4)[ $4,200
and claiming no dependents
(Box 10)

e Married filing joint return (Box 4)| $6,300
and claiming at least one
dependent (Box 10 excluding
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a)

e Head of household and you are| $4,200
not married (Box 5)

e Head of household and you are a| $3,150, Or
married person who qualifies to| Complete Form 202
file as head of household (Box 5) | Personal Exemption
Allocation Election.
e Married filing separately (Box 6)| $2,100, Or
with neither spouse claiming any| Complete Form 202
dependents (Box 10) Personal Exemption
Allocation Election.
e Married filing separately (Box 6)| $3,150, Or
with one spouse claiming at leastf Complete Form 202
one dependent (Box 10 excluding| Personal Exemption
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a)[ Allocation Election.

A married couple who does not claim any dependents may take
one personal exemption of $4,200. If the husband and wife file
separate returns, either spouse may take the entire $4,200
exemption, or the spouses may divide the $4,200 between them.
You and your spouse must complete Form 202 if either you or
your spouse claim a personal exemption of more than $2,100. If
you and your spouse do not complete Form 202, you may take
an exemption of only $2,100 (one-half of the total $4,200).
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A married couple who claims at least one dependent may take
one personal exemption of $6,300. If the husband and wife file
separate returns, either spouse may take the entire $6,300
exemption, or the spouses may divide the $6,300 between them.
You and your spouse must complete Form 202 if either you or
your spouse claim a personal exemption of more than $3,150. If
you and your spouse do not complete Form 202, you may take
an exemption of only $3,150 (one-half of the total $6,300).

If you are a married person who qualifies to file as a head of
household, you may take the entire $6,300 personal exemption
or you may divide the exemption with your spouse. You and
your spouse must complete Form 202 if either you or your
spouse claim a personal exemption of more than $3,150. If
you and your spouse do not complete Form 202 you may take
an exemption of only $3,150 (one-half of the total $6,300).

The spouse who claims more than one-half of the total
personal exemption must attach the original Form 202 to his
or her return. The spouse who claims less than one-half of
the total personal exemption must attach a copy of the
completed Form 202 to his or her return.

Line 19 - Taxable Income

Subtract lines 17 and 18 from line 16 and enter the result. Use
this amount to calculate your tax using Tax Table X or Y or
the Optional Tax Tables.

Line 20 - Tax Amount

Enter the tax from either Tax Table X or Y or the Optional
Tax Tables. If your taxable income is less than $50,000, use
the Optional Tax Table. If your taxable income is $50,000 or
more, use Tax Table X or Y.

Line 21 - Tax From Recapture of Credits
From Arizona Form 301

Enter the amount of tax due from recapture of the credits
from Form 301, Part 11, line 31.

Line 22 - Subtotal of Tax
Add lines 20 and 21.

Lines 23 and 24 - Clean Elections Fund
Tax Reduction

You may designate $5 of your tax go to the Clean Elections
Fund and may also reduce your tax by up to $5. If you are
married filing a joint return, both you and your spouse may
make this designation and also reduce your tax by up to $10.

Single Taxpayers, Heads of Household, and Married
Taxpayers Filing a Joint Return With Only One Spouse
Making a Designation

To make this designation, Check box 231 marked yourself.

If you checked box 231 and the amount on Form 140, page 1,
line 22 is $10 or more, enter $5 on line 24. If the amount on
line 22 is less than $10, complete the following worksheet.

Married Taxpayers Filing a Joint Return With Both
Spouses Making a Designation

If both spouses want to make this designation, one spouse should
check box 231, and the other spouse should check box 232.

If you checked both box 231 and box 232 and the amount on
Form 140, page 1, line 22 is $20 or more, enter $10 on line 24.
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If the amount on line 22 is less than $20, complete the
following worksheet.

Clean Elections Fund Tax Reduction Worksheet

1. Enter the amount of tax from Form 140,
page 1, line 22.

2. If you checked box 231, enter $5. If a joint
return and your spouse also checked box
232, enter $10.

3. Balance of tax eligible for tax reduction.
Subtract line 2 from line 1. If less than
zero, enter zero “0”.

4. If you checked box 231, enter $5. If a joint
return and your spouse also checked box
232, enter $10.

5. Tax reduction. Enter the lesser of line 3 or
line 4. Also enter this amount on Form 140,
page 1, line 24.

Line 25 - Reduced Tax
Subtract line 24 from line 22. Enter the result.

Line 26 - Family Income Tax Credit

e-File software will let you know if you are
eligible and will figure the credit for you.
You may take this credit if your income does not exceed the
maximum income allowed for your filing status.
o  Complete steps 1, 2, and 3 to see if you qualify for this credit.
o If you qualify to take this credit, complete Worksheet 11
in step 4.

Step 1
Complete Worksheet | below.

Worksheet |
1. Enter the amount from Form 140,
page 1, line 16.
2. Enter the amount from Form 140,
page 2, line C17.
3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the result.

Step 2
Look at the following tables. Find your filing status.
e Use Table I if married filing a joint return.

e Use Table Il if head of household.

e Use Table Il if single or married filing a separate
return.

Step 3

e Look at column (a) labeled "number of dependents™ and find
the number of dependents you are claiming (Form 140, page
1, box 10 excluding persons listed on Page 2, line A3a).

e Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the
number of dependents you are claiming.

e  Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the
income listed in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 3.

If the amount entered in step 1 on Worksheet I, line 3 is
equal to or less than the maximum income allowed for the
number of dependents you are claiming on Form 140, page
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1, box 10, excluding persons listed on Page 2, line A3a, you
qualify to take this credit. To figure your credit, complete
step 4.

Table I
Married Filing a Joint Return
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are claiming | Maximum
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding | Income
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a.
e Oorl $20,000
o 2 $23,600
e 3 $27,300
e 4ormore $31,000
Table 11
Head of Household
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are claiming | Maximum
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding | Income
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a.
e Qorl $20,000
o« 2 $20,135
e 3 $23,800
o 4 $25,200
e 5ormore $26,575
Table 111
Single Or Married Filing Separately
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are claiming | Maximum
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding | Income
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a.
e 0ormore $10,000
Step 4
If you qualify to take the credit, complete Worksheet I1.
Worksheet I
You must complete Steps 1 through 3 before you
complete Worksheet II.
1. Enter the number of dependents
you entered on Form 140, page 1,
box 10, excluding persons listed
on Page 2, line A3a.
2. Number of personal exemptions.
If you checked filing status 4,
enter the number 2 here. If you
checked filing status 5, 6, or 7,
enter the number 1 here.
3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the result.
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by
$40. Enter the result.
5. If you checked filing status 4 or 5,
enter $240 here. If you checked
filing status 6 or 7, enter $120 here.
6. Family income tax credit. Enter the
lesser of line 4 or line 5. Also enter
this on Form 140, page 1, line 26.

© NOTE: The family income tax credit will only reduce your
: tax and cannot be refunded.
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Line 27 - Nonrefundable Credits From
Arizona Form 301 or Forms 310, 321, 322,
and 323 if Form 301 is not Required

Complete line 27 if you can take any of the following credits.
Also make sure that you attach the Arizona Form 301 if you
are required to complete Form 301 and the appropriate credit
form or forms to your return.

1. Defense Contracting Credits. Your unused defense
contracting credit carryover may be carried forward as a
credit against subsequent taxable years’ tax liability through
tax year 2011. See Form 302 for details.

2. Enterprise Zone Credit. You may qualify for this credit
if your business in an Arizona enterprise zone had net
increases in qualified employment positions. Use Form 304
to figure this credit.

3. Environmental Technology Facility Credit. You may
qualify for this credit if your business incurred expenses in
constructing a qualified environmental technology
manufacturing facility. Use Form 305 to figure this credit.

4. Military Reuse Zone Credit. You may qualify for this
credit if you have qualifying net increases in full-time
employment within a military reuse zone. Use Form 306 to
figure this credit.

5. Recycling Equipment Credit. The recycling equipment
credit allowable to individuals has been repealed. You may
not take this credit for taxable years beginning January 1,
2003 or later. However, the repeal did not affect any credit
carryover that accrued prior to the repeal. Use Form 307 to
figure any allowable credit carryover.

6. Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals.
You may qualify for this credit if you incurred qualified
research expenses for research conducted in Arizona. Use
Form 308-I to figure this credit.

7. Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State or Country.
You may qualify for this credit if you paid tax to Arizona and
another state or country on the same income. Use Form 309 to
figure your credit.

8. Credit for Solar Energy Devices. You may qualify for this
credit if you installed a solar energy device in your residence
located in Arizona. Use Form 310 to figure this credit.

9. Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit. You
may qualify for this credit if you incurred expenses to
purchase and install an agricultural water conservation
system in Arizona. Use Form 312 to figure this credit.

10. Pollution Control Credit. You may qualify for this credit if
you purchased depreciable property used in a trade or business to
reduce or prevent pollution. Use Form 315 to figure this credit.
11. Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub
Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. You may
qualify for this credit if you install solar hot water heater
plumbing stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in
houses or dwelling units you construct. The taxpayer that
constructed the dwelling may also transfer the credit to a
purchaser. Use Form 319 to figure this credit.

12. Credit for Employment of TANF Recipients. You may
qualify for this credit if you employed TANF recipients during
the taxable year. Use Form 320 to figure this credit.

13. Credit for Contributions to Charities That Provide
Assistance to the Working Poor. You may qualify for this
credit if you made contributions to certain charities that provide
help to the working poor. Use Form 321 to figure this credit.
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14. Credit for Contributions Made or Fees Paid to Public
Schools. You may qualify for this credit if you made
contributions or paid certain fees to public schools in Arizona.
Use Form 322 to figure this credit.

15. Credit for Contributions to Private School Tuition
Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if you made
contributions to a school tuition organization that provides
scholarships or grants to qualified schools. Use Form 323 to
figure this credit.

16. Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit.
You may qualify for this credit if you are involved in
commercial agriculture and incur expenses to purchase
tangible personal property that is primarily used in your trade
or business to control or prevent pollution. Use Form 325 to
figure this credit.

17. Credit for Donation of School Site. You may qualify for
this credit if you donated real property and improvements to
a school district or a charter school for use as a school or as
a site for the construction of a school. Use Form 331 to
figure this credit.

18. Credit for Healthy Forest Enterprises. You may qualify
for this credit if you had net increases in qualified employment
positions as a healthy forest enterprise. Use Form 332 to figure
this credit.

19. Credit for Employing National Guard Members. You
may qualify for this credit if you are an employer who has an
employee that is a member of the Arizona National Guard if
the employee is placed on active duty. Use Form 333 to
figure this credit.

20. Motion Picture Credits. A credit is available to motion
picture production companies that produce motion pictures,
commercials, music videos, or television series completely
or partially in Arizona. A tax credit for investments in motion
picture infrastructure projects in Arizona is also available. Use
Form 334 to figure this credit.

21. Credit for Solar Energy Devices - Commercial and
Industrial Applications. This credit is available to
taxpayers that install solar energy devices for commercial,
industrial, or other nonresidential applications located in
Arizona. Use Form 336 to figure this credit.

22. Credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses. You
may qualify for this credit if you made an investment in a
qualified small business. Use Form 338 to figure this credit.

23. Credit for Water Conservation Systems. You may qualify
for this credit if you installed a qualifying water
conservation system in your residence located in Arizona.
Use Form 339 to figure this credit.

24. Credit for Donations to the Military Family Relief Fund.
You may qualify for this credit if you made a cash contribution
to the Arizona Military Family Relief Fund during the
taxable year. Use Form 340 to figure this credit.

Compute your credit on the appropriate form. Then, if required,
complete Form 301 and enter the amount from Form 301,
line 59. The credits on line 27 cannot reduce your tax below
zero. These credits are not refundable credits.

Attach Arizona Form 301, along with any supporting
documents, to your return.
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Line 28 - Credit Type

If you entered an amount on line 27, write the form

number of each credit claimed.

If you are claiming: Write form

number:

1. Defense Contracting Credits 302

2. Enterprise Zone Credit 304

3. Environmental Technology Facility 305
Credit

4. Military Reuse Zone Credit 306

5. Recycling Equipment Credit 307

6. Credit for Increased Research 308
Activities - Individuals

7. Credit for Taxes Paid to Another 309
State or Country

8. Credit for Solar Energy Devices 310

9. Agricultural Water Conservation 312
System Credit

10. Pollution Control Credit 315

11. Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater 319
Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric
Vehicle Recharge Outlets

12. Credit for Employment of TANF 320
Recipients

13. Credit for Contributions to Charities 321
That Provide Assistance to the
Working Poor

14. Credit for Contributions Made or 322
Fees Paid to Public Schools

15. Credit for Contributions to Private 323
School Tuition Organizations

16. Agricultural Pollution Control 325
Equipment Credit

17. Credit for Donation of School Site 331

18. Credit for Healthy Forest Enterprises 332

19. Credit for Employing National Guard 333
Members

20. Motion Picture Credits 334

21. Credit for Solar Energy Devices - 336
Commercial and Industrial
Applications

22. Credit for Investment in Qualified Small 338
Businesses

23. Credit for Water Conservation Systems 339

24. Credit for Donations to the Military 340
Family Relief Fund

Line 29 - Clean Elections Fund Tax Credit

- NOTE: An amount entered on Form 140, page 1, line 24 :
. does not qualify for the credit. Do not include that amount |
: here. For the purpose of this credit, that amount is not a !
: donation. :

If you made a donation to the Citizens Clean Elections Fund,
you may take a credit for that gift.

For 2010, you may claim a credit for:
e Donations made directly to the fund during 2010.

e A donation made to the fund on your 2009 income tax
return that you filed in 2010.
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You may not claim a credit on the 2010 return for a donation
made to the fund on your 2010 return. If you make a donation
to the fund with your 2010 return, that you file in 2011, you
may claim a credit for that donation on your 2011 return.
Complete the following worksheet to figure your credit.
Worksheet for Calculating the 2010 Clean Elections
Fund Tax Credit
1. Enter the amount donated directly to the
fund during 2010.
2. Enter the amount donated to the fund
with your 2009 tax form.
3. Add line 1 and line 2. Enter the total.
4. Enter the amount from Form 140, page 1,
line 25.
5. Enter the amount from Form 140, page 1,
line 26.
6. Enter the amount from Form 140, page 1,
line 27.
Add line 5 and line 6. Enter the total
Subtract line 7 from line 4.
Multiply line 8 by 20% (.20).
Enter $640 if single, head of household,
or married filing separately. Enter
$1,280 if married filing joint.
Enter the larger of line 9 or line 10.
Enter the smaller of line 3, line 8, or
line 11 here and also on Form 140,
page 1, line 29.
NOTE: This credit will only reduce your tax and cannot be
refunded. You may not carry forward any amount of unused credit.

Line 30 - Balance of Tax

Subtract lines 26, 27 and 29 from line 25. If the sum of
lines 26, 27 and 29 is more than line 25, enter zero.

O|©|®o|N

11.
12.

Totaling Payments and Credits

Line 31 - Arizona Income Tax Withheld

Enter the Arizona income tax withheld shown on the
Form(s) W-2 from your employer(s). Also enter the Arizona
income tax withheld shown on your Form(s) 1099-R
(distributions from pensions, annuities, etc.). Do not include
any income tax withheld for another state. Attach the
Form(s) W-2 and 1099-R after the last page of your return.

- NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than ;
1 January 31. If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you thmk
: your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer.

Line 32- Arizona Estimated Tax Payments for
2010 and Amount Applied From 2009 Return

Use this line if you did one of the following.
1. Made estimated income tax payments to Arizona for 2010.

2. Applied any of your refund from your 2009 Arizona
return to 2010 estimated taxes for Arizona.

Enter the total amount paid and/or applied to 2010 taxes.

: NOTE: If you made joint Arizona estimated payments for 2010, :
i but are filing separate 2010 Arizona income tax returns, see
- Arizona Department of Revenue Income Tax Ruling ITR 02-3.
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Line 33 - 2010 Arizona Extension Payment
(Form 204)

Use this line to report the payment you sent with your
extension request, or the electronic extension payment you
made using www.aztaxes.gov.

Line 34 - Increased Excise Tax Credit

You may take this credit if you meet all of the following:

1. You meet the income threshold for your filing status.

2. You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer.

3. You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2010 to a
county, state or federal prison.

If you are married filing a joint return, or a head of household,
you may take this credit if the amount on Form 140, page 1,
line 12, is $25,000 or less. If you are single or married filing
a separate return, you may take this credit if the amount on
Form 140, page 1, line 12 is $12,500 or less.

To figure your credit, complete the following worksheet.

- NOTE: Do not complete the following worksheet if you are :
' claiming the property tax credit on Form 140PTC. Use
 Form 140PTC to figure both the credit for increased excise
» taxes and the property tax credit. If you are claiming both the !
i credit for increased excise taxes and the property tax credit,
i enter the increased excise tax credit from Form 140PTC, !
» page 1, line 17, here and enter the property tax credit from ;
- Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15, on line 35.

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet
Check one
Yes No

If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is the
amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12,
$25,000 or less?

If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is the

amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12,

$125000rkess? " | |

If you checked no, STOP. You do not qualify for

this credit. If you checked yes, complete the rest of

this worksheet.

1. Enter the number of dependents
you entered on Form 140, page 1,
box 10, excluding persons listed
on Page 2, line A3a. Also exclude
any dependent that is not an
Arizona resident.

2. Number of personal exemptions.
If you checked filing status 4,
enter the number 2 here. If you
checked filing status 5, 6, or 7,
enter the number 1 here.

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the result.

4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by
$25. Enter the result.

5.  Maximum credit. $

6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5
here and also on Form 140, page 1,
line 34.

: NOTE: The credit cannot exceed $100 per household. Do not :
i claim this credit if someone else in your household has already |
i claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your household has |
: claimed less than $100, you may claim the credit as long as all |

- credit claims filed from your household do not exceed $100.

00




Form 140

Line 35 - Property Tax Credit
You may take the property tax credit if you meet all the following.

1. You were either 65 or older in 2010 or receiving SSI
Title 16 income from the Social Security Administration.

2. You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2010.

3. You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2010.
You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or
you did a combination of both.

4. If you lived alone, your income from all sources was
under $3,751. If you lived with others, the household
income was under $5,501.

Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit. Enter the

amount from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15.

Attach Form 140PTC to your return.

- Tax Tip: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your :
i claim or extension request by April 18, 2011. You cannot
: claim this credit on an amended return if you file the

- amended return after the due date of your return.

Line 36 - Other Refundable Credits

Enter the total of refundable credits you are claiming from
Form 308-l, Credit for Increased Research Activities -
Individuals, or Form 342, Credit for Renewable Energy
Industry.

If you enter an amount on this line, be sure you check the
box or boxes to show which credits you are claiming. Also
be sure to attach the credit claim form (308-1 or 342) to your
return when you file.

Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals
(Form 308-1)

You may qualify for the refundable increased research
activities credit if you incurred qualified research expenses
for research conducted in Arizona. For more information
about this credit, and to see whether you may claim a refund
of this credit, see Arizona Form 308-I.

If you are claiming a refund of the increased research

activities credit from Form 308-I, enter the amount from
Form 308-I, Part 1V, line 23, here.

Renewable Energy Industry Credit (Form 342)

You may qualify for the refundable renewable energy
industry credit if you expanded or located a qualified
renewable energy operation in Arizona. For more
information about this credit, see Arizona Form 342.

If you are claiming the renewable energy industry credit,
from Form 342, enter the amount from Form 342, Part IV,
line 12, here.

- NOTE: If you are claiming a refundable credit from both :
i Form 308-1 and Form 342, add the amount from Form 308-
i1, part 1V, line 23 to the amount from Form 342, Part 1V, |

- line 12 and enter the total on Form 140, page 1, line 36.

Line 37 - Total Payments and Refundable
Credits

Add lines 31 through 36. Enter the total.

Also, do the following if you computed your 2010 tax under
Arizona's claim of right provisions.
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1. Write "ARS § 43-1029" and the amount of the prior
year tax reduction in the space to the left of your total
payment amount.

2. Include the credit for the prior year tax reduction in the
total entered on line 37.

3. Attach a schedule explaining the amounts repaid and the
computation of the prior year tax reduction.

For more information on Arizona's claim of right provisions,
see Individual Income Tax Procedure ITP 95-1.

Figuring Your Overpayment or Tax Due

Line 38 - Tax Due

If line 30 is more than line 37, you have tax due. Subtract
line 37 from line 30. Skip lines 39, 40 and 41.

Line 39 - Overpayment

If line 37 is more than line 30, subtract line 30 from line 37.
Complete lines 40 and 41.

Line 40 - Amount of Line 39 to Apply to
2011 Estimated Tax

If you want all or part of your refund applied to next year's
estimated taxes, enter that amount.

: NOTE: If you apply any of the amount shown on line 39 to -
» 2011, you cannot use that amount to pay any tax that is later |
i found to be due for 2010. You also may not claim a refund |
. for that amount until you file your 2011 return. :

Line 41 - Balance of Overpayment

Subtract line 40 from line 39 to determine your overpayment
balance before voluntary gifts and any estimated payment penalty.

Making Voluntary Gifts

You can make voluntary gifts to each of the funds shown
below. A gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount
due with your return.

* NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of :
- that gift later on an amended return. :

Line 42 - Aid To Education Fund

Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund. The
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money in this
fund to school districts.

- CAUTION: If you make a contribution to the Aid to :
» Education Fund, you must contribute your entire refund. ;
: You may not give more than or less than your entire refund.

Line 43 - Arizona Wildlife Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona
Wildlife Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund.

Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife
in the state. Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout and
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund.
Gifts are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife
statewide.

Line 44 - Citizens Clean Elections Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Citizens
Clean Elections Fund. You may also send in additional
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money with your return. If you send in additional money
with your return, include that amount on line 58. Enter the
amount you want to donate on line 44.

If you make a donation to the fund with your 2010 return
that you file in 2011, you may claim a credit for that
donation on your 2011 return.

The Citizens Clean Elections Fund provides funding to each
participating candidate who qualifies for campaign funding.

Line 45 - Child Abuse Prevention Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona
Child Abuse Prevention Fund. You may also give more than
your entire refund.

Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund. This
fund provides financial aid to community agencies for child
abuse prevention programs.

Line 46 - Domestic Violence Shelter Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the domestic
violence shelter fund. You may also give more than your
entire refund.

Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Shelter Fund. This fund
provides financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic
violence.

Line 47 - 1 Didn’t Pay Enough Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the | Didn’t Pay
Enough Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund.

Gifts that you make to the | Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid
the state by going to the Arizona general fund.

Line 48 - National Guard Relief Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the National
Guard Relief fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund.

Gifts go to the National Guard Relief Fund. This fund
provides financial aid to families of Arizona National Guard
members when the National Guard member is placed on
active duty and is serving in a combat zone.

Line 49 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors
Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors
Helping Neighbors Fund. You may also give more than your
entire refund.

Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund. This fund
provides eligible recipients with emergency aid in paying
energy utility bills and conserving energy.

Line 50 - Special Olympics Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Special Olympics
Fund. You may also give more than your entire refund.

Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund. This fund helps provide
programs of the Arizona Special Olympics.

Line 51 - Veterans’ Donations Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’
Donations Fund. You may also give more than your entire refund.

Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be used
for veterans in Arizona.

Line 52 - Political Gift
Gifts go to one of the following political parties:
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Democratic

Green

Libertarian

e Republican

You may give some or all of your refund to a political party.
You may also give more than your entire refund.

Line 53 - Political Party

Check the box for the political party to which you wish to
give. Select only one party. If you do not select a political
party, the department will return the amount on line 52.

Line 54 - Estimated Payment Penalty and
MSA Withdrawal Penalty

Estimated Payment Penalty

: NOTE: Do not complete Form 221, Underpayment of :
Estimated Tax by Individuals, if the amount on Form 140,
page 1, line 31, is more than the amount on Form 140, page 1, |
' line 30. If the amount on Form 140, page 1, line 31, is more
i than the amount on Form 140, page 1, line 30, skip line 54, |
- unless you must report an MSA penalty. :

You must have made Arizona estimated income tax
payments during 2010 if:
Your filing status is: AND AND
Your Arizona gross | Your Arizona gross
income for 2009 income for 2010
was greater than: was greater than:
Married Filing Joint $150,000 $150,000
Single $75,000 $75,000
Head of Household $75,000 $75,000
Married Filing $75,000 $75,000
Separately

If you report as a farmer or fisherman for federal purposes,
you were not required to make estimated payments during
2010 if the following apply.

1. You are a calendar year filer. You file your Arizona
return by March 1, 2011. You pay in full the amount
stated on your return as owed.

2. You are a fiscal year filer. You file your Arizona return
by the first day of the third month after the end of your
fiscal year. You pay in full the amount stated on your
return as owed.

If the above applies, check Box 2 on line 55 and do not
complete Form 221.

An individual who fails to make the required estimated
payments is subject to penalty on any estimated tax payment
that is late or underpaid.

Complete and attach Form 221, Underpayment of Estimated

Tax by Individuals, to determine if any penalty is due. Enter
the total penalty from Form 221.

MSA Withdrawal Penalty

You must pay a withdrawal penalty if you made an MSA
withdrawal during 2010 and all of the following apply.

1. You used the amount withdrawn for purposes other than
to pay for qualified medical expenses.

2. You made the withdrawal on a day other than the last
business day of the year.

3. The withdrawal is not subject to the federal withdrawal

penalty.
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The penalty is equal to 10% of the withdrawal. The
withdrawal penalty is not subject to abatement. You must
remit this penalty with your income tax return filed for the
year in which you made the withdrawal.

Multiply the amount of your withdrawal subject to penalty
by 10%. Enter the result.

The following withdrawals are not subject to the penalty.

1. Any withdrawal subject to the federal withdrawal penalty.

2. Withdrawals made from your MSA on the last business
day of the tax year.

3. Any withdrawal made by an account holder who is at
least age 59 1/2 when he or she makes the withdrawal.

- NOTE: The following are not withdrawals. Do not enter a :
i penalty for any of the following. '

e Amounts from the MSA used to pay qualified medical |
expenses !
e A qualified return of excess contributions 5

i o A qualified rollover ;
1 o The fair market value of an MSA received by a surviving

spouse who was the deceased account holder's named !
beneficiary |

| For more information about the above items, see the |
. department's MSA brochure, Pub 542. -

Line 55 -
Box 1 - Check box 1 if any of the following applies to you:
1. You checked the box on line 1 of Form 221.

2. You completed the annualized income worksheet on
Form 221.

3. You elected to be treated as a nonresident alien on your
federal income tax return. You made three estimated
payment installments. Your first installment equaled 50
percent of the total of all of your required installments.

Box 2 - If you are an individual who for federal purposes
reports as a farmer or fisherman, check box 2.

Box 3 - If you completed and attached Form 221, check box 3.
Box 4 - If you included an MSA penalty on line 54, check box 4.

Figuring Your Refund or Tax Due

Line 57 - Refund

@ You can get your refund in as little as 7 to
10 days when you e-File and use direct

deposit.
Subtract line 56 from line 41. Enter your refund on line 57
and skip line 58.

If you owe money to any state agency and certain federal
agencies, your refund may go to pay some of the debt. If so,
the department will let you know by letter.

. Tax Tip: If you change your address before you get your :
i refund, let the department know. Write to: Refund Desk,
i Arizona Department of Revenue, 1600 W Monroe, Phoenix AZ

- 85007. Include your SSN in your letter.

Direct Deposit of Refund

Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly
deposit the amount shown on line 57 into your account at a
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund,
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending you a check.
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: NOTE: Check the box on line 57A if the direct deposit will :
i ultimately be placed in a foreign account. If you check box |
1 57A, do not enter your routing or account numbers. If this box :
i is checked, we will not direct deposit your refund. We will

: send you a check instead.

Why Use Direct Deposit?

You will get your refund fast — even faster if you e-file!
Payment is more secure since there is no check to get lost.
It is more convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit
your check.

e  Saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less
to process than a check.

* NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter :

i the wrong account information. Check with your financial

» institution to get the correct routing and account numbers !
1 and to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted. If the

- direct deposit is rejected, a check will be sent instead.

Routing Number

The routing number must be 9 digits. The first 2 digits must
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead. On the
following sample check, the routing number is 250250025.

Your check may state that it is payable through a financial
institution different from the one at which you have your
checking account. If so, do not use the routing number on
that check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the
correct routing number to enter here.

Account Number

The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers
and letters). DO NOT include hyphens, spaces or special symbols.
Enter the number from left to right and leave any unused boxes
blank. On the sample check that follows the account number is
20202086. Be sure not to include the check number.

Sample Check

JOHN DOE OR JANE DOE
123 First Street
Sometown, AZ 00000

1234

10-00008000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

|'s

DOLLARS

TR Routing Account
THIS BANK N b r N b
Sometown, AZ 00000 umbe umber
For

| (850250025) (Go2pz07raLy-123vd
Note: The routing and account numbers may be in different places on your check.

Line 58 - Amount Owed

Add lines 38 and 56. Enter the amount you owe on line 58. If
you are making voluntary donations on lines 43 through 52 in
excess of your overpayment, enter the difference on line 58. You
may pay only with a check, electronic check, money order, or
credit card.

Check or money order

Do not include
the check number.

: NOTE: Attach your check to the front of your return in the :
. upper left hand corner where indicated. Please do not send cash. :

Make your check payable to Arizona Department of
Revenue. Write your SSN on the front of your check or
money order.
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The department cannot accept checks or money orders in
foreign currency. You must make payment in U.S. dollars.

Electronic payment from your checking or savings
account

You can make an electronic payment from your checking or
savings account to pay your balance due for 2010. There is
no fee to use this method. To make an electronic payment,
go to www.aztaxes.gov click on the “Make a Payment” link.
The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-down
box will debit the amount from the checking or savings
account that you specify. If you make an electronic payment
from your checking or savings account, you will receive a
confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation
number as proof of payment.

- NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your :
i checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be |
i coming from a foreign account. In this case, you must pay by !
. check or money order. :

Credit card payment

You can pay with your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or
American Express credit card. Go to www.aztaxes.gov click
on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit card
option. This will take you to a third party vendor site. The
provider will charge you a convenience fee based on the
amount of your tax payment. The service provider will tell you
what the fee is during the transaction; you will have the option
to continue or cancel the transaction. If you complete the
credit card transaction, you will receive a confirmation
number. Please keep this confirmation number as proof of
payment.

Installment Payments

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 58 when you
file, you may ask to make monthly installment payments. To
make this request, complete Arizona Form 140-1A and mail
the completed form to the address on the Form 140-1A. Do
not mail Form 140-1A with your income tax return. You
may obtain Arizona Form 140-1A from our web site at
www.azdor.gov.

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 58, you will
be charged interest and may be charged a late payment
penalty on the tax not paid by April 18, 2011. To limit the
interest and penalty charges, pay as much of the tax as
possible when you file.

Sign Your Return

You must sign your return. If married filing a joint return,
both you and your spouse must sign even if only one had
income. Form 140 is not considered a valid return unless
you sign it. The department cannot send a refund check
without proper signatures on the return.

Instructions Before Mailing

Make sure your SSN is on your return.
Be sure you enter your home telephone number in the
space provided on the front of your return. If your
daytime telephone number is not the same as your home
number, also enter a daytime number.

e Check to make sure that your math is correct. A math
error can cause delays in processing your return.

e Make sure your NAME is on the return. If you received
your return in the mail, use the preprinted label. If the
label is not correct, do not use it.

e If claiming dependent exemptions, write the number of
dependents claimed on the front of the return. On page 2

23

of the return, also write each dependent's name,
relationship, SSN, and the number of months that he or
she lived in your home.

e If claiming exemptions for qualifying parents or
ancestors, write the number of qualifying parents or
ancestors claimed on the front of the return. On page 2
of the return, also write each parent’s or ancestor's
name, relationship, SSN, and the number of months that
he or she lived in your home.

Check the boxes to make sure you filled in all required boxes.
If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you
check box 82F on page 1 of the return.

Sign your return and have your spouse sign if filing jointly.
Write your SSN on the front of your check. Attach your
check to the front of your return in the upper left hand
corner where indicated.

The Department of Revenue may charge you $25 for a check

returned unpaid by your financial institution.

e Attach all required documents. Place these documents
to the back of your return. Use just one staple to attach
your documents where shown on page 1 of the return.
Please do not use tape. Documents you must attach
include those items listed in numbers 1 through 6 below.

1. Attach Form(s) W-2 after the last page of your return. Also
attach Form(s) 1099-R after the last page of your return if
you had Arizona tax withheld from your pension or
annuity.

2. Attach Arizona Form 301, applicable credit forms, and
your own schedules after page 2 of your return. If
itemizing, attach these forms after your Arizona
Schedule A and your federal Schedule A.

3. If claiming a credit for taxes paid to another state or country,
attach a copy of the other state's or country's filed return.

4. If you itemize, be sure to attach a copy of the federal
Schedule A. Attach the Arizona Schedule A and the
federal Schedule A directly after page 2 of your return.
Attach other forms and schedules behind the Schedules A.

5. If you are claiming a property tax credit, attach a
completed Form 140PTC and all required documents.

6. If you have tax exempt interest income, be sure to attach
a schedule listing the payors and the amount received
from each payor.

e Do not send correspondence with your return.
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See the light of day.
from the comfort of
your home with E-File
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www.azdor.gov

Filing Your Return

Before you mail your return, make a copy of your return.
Also make a copy of any schedules that you are sending in
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with your return. Keep the copies for your records. Be sure
that you file the original and not a copy.

To mail your return, use an envelope that came in your booklet.
To avoid delays, please use separate envelopes for each return.

Where Should | Mail My Return?

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax but are
not sending a payment, use the yellow address label attached to
the envelope. If the envelope or label is missing, send the return
to: Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 52138, Phoenix
AZ 85072-2138.

If you are sending a payment with this return, use the white
address label attached to the envelope. If the envelope or
label is missing, send the return to: Arizona Department of
Revenue, PO Box 52016, Phoenix AZ 85072-2016.

Put enough postage on the envelope.

The U.S. Post Office must postmark your return or extension
request by midnight April 18. A postage meter postmark will
not qualify as a timely postmark. Only a postmark from the
U.S. Post Office will qualify. You may also use certain
private delivery services designated by the IRS to meet the
“timely mailing as timely filed” rule.

How Long To Keep Your Return

You must keep your records as long as they may be needed
for the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law.
Generally, this means you must keep records that support
items shown on your return until the period of limitations for
that return runs out.

The period of limitations is the period of time in which you can
amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the department
can assess additional tax. A period of limitations is the limited
time after which no legal action can be brought. Usually, this is
four years from the date the return was due or filed.

In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years.
The period is six years from when you file a return if you
underreport the income shown on that return by more than
25%. The department can bring an action at any time if a return
is false or fraudulent, or you do not file a return. To find out
more about what records you should keep, get federal
Publication 552.

Where’s My Refund?

If you e-filed, you can expect your refund within 2 weeks of the
date you filed. If you filed a paper return, you can expect your
refund within 12 weeks of the date you filed. You can check on
your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov and clicking on
“Where’s my refund?” If you have not received your refund
within the noted time frames, you may call one of the numbers
listed on the back cover. Before you call, be sure to have a copy
of your 2010 tax return on hand. You will need to know your
SSN, your filing status and your 5-digit zip code.

Calling the Department

Your tax information on file with the department is confidential.
If you want the department to discuss your tax matters with
someone other than yourself, you must authorize the department
to release confidential information to that person. You may use
Form 285 to authorize the department to release confidential
information to your appointee. See Form 285 for details.

HOW MUCH INCOME CAN YOU HAVE AND PAY NO TAXES?
You still have to file a return, but you pay no taxes if your income is less than the levels shown in the chart below. For purposes
of this chart, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption claimed (Form 140, page 1, line 16
plus the amount on Form 140, page 2, line C15; or Form 140A, page 1, line 18, plus the amount on Form 140A, page 1, line 15, or
Form 140EZ, page 1, line 6). To rely on this chart, you must claim the family income tax credit if you are qualified.

FILING STATUS

UNMARRIED
NUMBER OF MARRIED FILING HEAD OF MARRIED FILING
DEPENDENTS SINGLE SEPARATE HOUSEHOLD JOINT
0 $ 8,326 $ 8,326 N/A $ 16,653
1 (A) 10,000 10,146 18,953 20,000
2 11,396 12,446 20,135 23,600
3 13,696 14,746 23,800 27,300
4 15,996 17,046 25,200 (C) 31,000
5 18,296 19,346 (B) 26,575 31,000
EXAMPLES
(A) single, $10,000 (B) unmarried head of (C) married filing joint, $31,000
income*, one household, $26,575 income*, four dependents
dependent income*, five
dependents
Income* $ 10,000 $ 26,575 $ 31,000
less: Dependent exemption -2,300 -11,500 -9,200
Standard deduction -4,677 -9,354 -9,354
Personal exemption -2,100 -4,200 -6,300
Net taxable income $ 923 $ 1,521 $ 6,146
Tax (optional tax table) $24 $39 $ 159
less: Family tax credit -80 -240 -240
Tax owed $0 $ 0 $ 0

*For purposes of these examples, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption amount claimed.
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