2011 Credit for Increased Excise Taxes

Arizona Form
140ET

Phone Numbers

If you need help, please call one of these numbers.
Phoenix (602) 255-3381
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free  (800) 352-4090

Hearing impaired TDD user
Phoenix (602) 542-4021

From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free  (800) 397-0256

You may also visit our web site at: www.azdor.gov
Who Can Use Form 140ET?

: NOTE: Do not file Form 140ET if you are filing an income :
' tax return using Form 140, Form 140A, Form 140EZ, or :
i Form 140PY. You may claim this credit on those forms by
: completing the worksheet in the instructions for those forms. :

File Form 140ET only if you meet the following.

1. You are not required to file an income tax return and you do
not qualify for the property tax credit on Form 140PTC.

2. You were an Arizona resident during 2011.

3. You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer.

4. You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2011 to a
county, state or federal prison.

5. Your federal adjusted gross income is:

$25,000 or less if you are married filing a joint claim;

e  $25,000 or less if you are filing as head of household;

e  $12,500 or less if single;

e  $12,500 or less if married filing separately.

Your federal adjusted gross income is income that you must
report on your federal income tax return less adjustments to
income allowed on the federal income tax return. If you are
not sure if your federal adjusted gross income meets the
limit, you may want to complete a federal income tax return.

If you meet all of 1 through 5 above, you may claim a credit
for increased excise taxes paid. Complete Form 140ET to
figure your credit.

“ NOTE: The credit cannot exceed $100 per household. Do :
' not file form 140ET if someone else in your household has !
i already claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your !
+ household has filed Form 140ET claiming less than $100,
i you may file Form 140ET. The total of all credit claims filed !

: from your household cannot be more than $100.

How do | Know if | Must File an Income Tax
Return?

You must file an Arizona income tax return if:

e Your gross income is $15,000 or more. Figure your
gross income the same as you would figure your gross
income for federal income tax purposes.

e Your Arizona adjusted gross income is $11,000 or
more if married filing a joint return.

e Your Arizona adjusted gross income is $5,500 or more if
single, head of household, or married filing a separate return.

Your Arizona adjusted gross income is your federal adjusted

gross income modified by additions and subtractions allowed

under Arizona law. If you are not sure if your Arizona

adjusted gross income meets this limit, you may want to
complete an Arizona income tax return.

How do | Know if | Qualify for the Property Tax
Credit?

You may take the property tax credit using Form 140PTC if
you meet all the following.

e You were either 65 or older in 2011 or, if under age 65,
you were receiving SSI Title 16 income from the Social
Security Administration.

e You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2011.

e You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2011.
You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or
you did a combination of both.

e If you lived alone, your total household income was
under $3,751. If you lived with others, the total
household income was under $5,501. To see what
income is included in household income, see the Form
140PTC instructions.

Do not file Form 140ET if you are filing Form 140PTC.
You may claim this credit on Form 140PTC.

When Should You File?

You should file this form by April 17, 2012. You may
request an extension using Form 204,

How to File Form 140ET
Complete Form 140ET and mail the completed Form 140ET to:

Arizona Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 52138
Phoenix AZ 85072-2138

What if a Claimant Died?

If a claimant died before filing a claim for 2011, the
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may file and
sign a Form 140ET for that person. A personal
representative can be an executor, administrator, or anyone
who is in charge of the deceased taxpayer’s property.

Enter the word "deceased" after the decedent's name in the
address section of the form. Also enter the date of death
after the decedent's name.

You must also complete Form 131, Claim for Refund on
Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer. Attach this form to the front
of Form 140ET.

How do | Amend a Claim?

For 2011, if you need to make changes to your claim once
you have filed, you should file a corrected Form 140ET. Be
sure to check box 95 at the top of the return.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Taxpayer Identification Number

Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a
penalty if you fail to include your SSN. It will take longer to
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or
unclear.



Form 140ET

If you are filing a joint claim, enter your SSNs in the same
order as your names. If your name appears first on Form
140ET, make sure your SSN is the first number listed.

ID Numbers for Paid Preparers

If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person

must also include an ID number where asked. A paid

preparer may use any of the following.

e hisor her SSN

e hisorher PTIN

e the EIN for the business

A paid preparer who fails to include the proper numbers

may also be subject to a penalty.

Line 1 -

Type or print your name in black ink. Include your first

name, middle initial, and last name. Enter your SSN in the

space provided. If a joint claim, also enter your spouse’s

name and SSN.

Line 2 -

Print or type your current address. Include your house or

building number and street or rural route. Include your

apartment number if you live in an apartment. Include your

mobile home lot number if you live in a mobile home.

Line 3 -

Print or type the name of your city, town, or post office.

Also include your state and zip code.

Filing Status Lines 4 through 7 -

Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the

correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140ET.

Line 4 - Married Filing a Joint Claim

You may file a joint claim if you were married as of

December 31, 2011. You may also file a joint claim if your

spouse died in 2011 and you did not remarry in 2011.

Line 5 - Head of Household

You may use the head of household status, only if one of the

following applies.

e You qualify to file as head of household for federal
income tax purposes.

e You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower
for federal income tax purposes.

For federal income tax purposes, you may be able to file as head

of household if you meet all of the following requirements.

1. You are unmarried or considered unmarried on the last
day of the year.

2. You paid more than half the cost of keeping up a home
for the year.

3. A qualifying person must live with you in the home for

more than half the year (except for temporary absences,
such as school).

To find out more about being a head of household or a
qualifying widow or widower, see federal publication 501.

Line 6 - Married Filing Separately
You may use this filing status if married as of December 31,
2011, and you elect to file a separate claim.

If you are filing a separate claim, check the box on line 6
and enter your spouse's name and SSN on the second box 1.

Line 7 - Single

File a single claim if you were single on December 31, 2011.
You are single if any of the following apply to you.

e You have never been married.

e You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or
of separate maintenance.

e You were widowed before January 1, 2011, and you did
not remarry in 2011, and you do not qualify to file as a
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children
for federal income tax purposes.

Line 8 -

Read the information under the heading “Who Can Use Form
140ET?” and answer the question on line 8.

Line 9 - Dependents

You may claim this credit for dependents that are residents of
Avrizona. You cannot claim this credit for a dependent that is
an Arizona nonresident. List only those people that qualify as
your dependent for federal income tax purposes. Except do not
list any dependent that is not an Arizona resident.

On lines 9A1 through 9A3, enter each dependent's name and
SSN.

For federal income tax purposes, a dependent is either a
qualifying child or a qualifying relative. A qualifying child
or relative must be a U.S. citizen or resident alien, or a resident
of Canada or Mexico. There is an exception for certain adopted
children.

To claim a qualifying child as a dependent for federal
purposes, you must meet the following 5 tests:

1. Relationship test. The child must be your son,
daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, half
brother, half sister, stepbrother, stepsister, or a
descendant of any of them.

2. Age test. The child must be under age 19 at the end of
the year and younger than you, or under age 24 at the
end of 2011 if a full-time student (and younger than
you), or any age if permanently and totally disabled.

3. Domicile test. The child must live with you for more
than half of the year. Temporary absences for special
circumstances, such as for school, vacation, medical
care, military service, or detention in a juvenile facility
count as time lived at home.

4. Support test. The child must not have provided over
half of his or her own support during the year.

5. Joint Return Test. If the child is married, the child is
not filing a joint federal return for the year, unless that
joint return is filed only as a claim for refund.

To claim a qualifying relative as a dependent for federal
purposes, you must meet the following 4 tests:

1. Relationship Test. The person must be either your
relative or have lived in your home as a family member
all year. The person cannot be a qualifying child.

2. Joint Return Test. If the person is married, he or she
cannot file a joint federal return. But the person can file
a joint federal return if the return is filed only as a claim
for refund.
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3. Income Test. The person’s gross income must be less
than $3,700.

4. Support Test. You must have provided over half of the
person’s total support in 2011.

To learn more about who may be a dependent, see federal
publication 501.

Lines 10 through 14 -
Complete lines 10 through 14 as instructed on the form.
Direct Deposit of Refund

Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly
deposit the amount shown on line 14 into your account at a
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund,
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending you a check.

- NOTE: Check the box on line 14A if the direct deposit will :
! ultimately be placed in a foreign account. If you check box !
i 14A, do not enter your routing or account numbers. If this :
' box is checked, we will not direct deposit your refund. We will !

- send you a check instead.

Why Use Direct Deposit?

You get your refund fast!

Payment is more secure, there is no check to get lost.
More convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit your check.
Saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less
than a check.

: NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter :
+ the wrong account information. Check with your financial
1 institution to get the correct routing and account numbers !

- and to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted.

Routing Number

MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT
ROUTING NUMBER.

The routing number must be 9 digits. The first 2 digits must
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead. On the
following sample check, the routing number is 250250025.

Your check may state that it is payable through a financial
institution different from the one at which you have your
checking account. If so, do not use the routing number on
that check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the
correct routing number to enter here.

Account Number

MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT
ACCOUNT NUMBER.

The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers
and letters). DO NOT include hyphens, spaces or special
symbols. Enter the number from left to right and leave any
unused boxes blank. On the sample check below, the account
number is 20202086. Be sure not to include the check number.

- NOTE: If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will be sent

. instead.

Sample Check

JOHN DOE OR JANE DOE 1234
123 First Street 10-00004000
Sometown, AZ 00000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF K3

DOLLARS

Do not include

Sometown, AZ 00000
the check number.

THIS BANK Routing Account
For

| @so2so025] (Foz0207 8Ly .123u &
Note: The routing and account numbers may be in different places on your check.

Instructions for Amending

Use this form to correct your credit if Form 140ET is the
only form that you have filed.

If amending, check box 95 on the top of Form 140ET.

Use the following lines to correct an already filed 2011
Form 140ET.

Line 15 -

Use the following worksheet to figure the amount to enter
on this line.

1. Enter the total credit you received
from vyour original 2011 Form
140ET. 1.

2. If this is not your first amended
claim, enter any additional credit
received from previously filed
amended 2011 140ET claims.

w|r

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total.

4. If this is not your first amended
claim, enter any amount of credit
you repaid with previously filed
amended 2011 140ET claims. 4.

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. Enter the

result here and on Form 140ET, line 15. | 5.

Line 16 -
If line 14 is larger than line 15, subtract line 15 from line 14.
Enter the result.

This is the amount of additional credit you will receive as a
refund if you owe no other taxes.

Line 17 -

If line 14 is less than line 15, subtract line 14 from line 15.
Enter the result.

This is the amount of the credit that you must repay to the
state.

Make checks payable to: Arizona Department of Revenue.
Write your SSN on the check. Attach your check to the
front of Form 140ET in the upper left hand corner.

Before Filing

Check to make sure that your math is correct.

Sign your claim in the space provided on the bottom of the
form.

Mail your claim to the address listed on page 1 of these
instructions.

If amending a claim for a year before 2011, call one of the
numbers listed on page 1 of these instructions.



