
 Arizona Form 
2013 Resident Personal Income Tax Return 140 

For information or help, call one of the numbers listed: 

Phoenix                                                                                                                                                                                                                     (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free          (800) 352-4090 

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information 

If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax 
information, go to the department’s Internet home page at 
www.azdor.gov. 

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings 

These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax 
procedures and rulings for more information.  To view or 
print these, go to our home page and click on Legal 
Research then click on Procedures or Rulings and select a 
tax type from the drop down menu. 

Publications and Brochures 

To view or print the department’s publications and 
brochures, go to our home page and click on Publications. 

 

Leave the Paper Behind - e-file! 

 Quick Refunds 
 Accurate 
 Proof of Acceptance 
 Free ** 

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays if you e-file! 

Get your refund quicker with direct deposit. 

e-file today, pay by April 15, 2014, to avoid penalties and 
interest. 

e-file through an authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or by 
using your personal computer and the Internet.  

Visit our web site at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved  
e-file providers and on-line filing sources. 

** For free e-file requirements, check out our web site at 
www.azdor.gov. 

Who Must Use Form 140? 
You (and your spouse, if married filing a joint return) may 
file Form 140 only if you are full year residents of Arizona. 

You must use Form 140 rather than Form 140A or Form 140EZ 
to file for 2013 if any of the following apply to you. 

 Your Arizona taxable income is $50,000 or more, 
regardless of filing status. 

 You are making adjustments to income. 

 You itemize deductions. 

 You claim tax credits other than the family income tax 
credit, the credit for increased excise taxes, or the 
property tax credit. 

 You are claiming estimated payments. 

Do You Have to File? 
Arizona Filing Requirements

These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers. 

You must file if 
you are: 

and your Arizona 
adjusted gross 
income is at least: 

or your gross 
income is at least: 

 Single $  5,500 $15,000
 Married filing 

joint $11,000 $15,000 

 Married filing 
separate $  5,500 $15,000 

 Head of 
household $  5,500 $15,000 

If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income from 
all sources. This includes out-of-state income.  

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the same 
as you would figure your gross income for federal income 
tax purposes. Then, you should exclude income Arizona law 
does not tax. 
Income Arizona law does not tax includes: 
 Interest from U.S. Government obligations 
 Social security retirement benefits received under Title 

II of the Social Security Act 
 Benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act 
 Active duty military pay 
 Pay received for active service as a reservist or a National 

Guard member
You can find your Arizona adjusted gross income on line 17 
of Arizona Form 140.  

NOTE: Even if you are not required to file, you must still 
file a return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax 
withheld. 

Do You Have to File if You Are an 
American Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all the following apply to you. 
 You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe. 
 You live on the reservation established for that tribe. 
 You earned all of your income on that reservation. 

The department has issued a ruling on the Arizona tax 
treatment of American Indians.  This ruling is ITR 96-4.  

Do You Have to File if You Are the Spouse 
of an American Indian and You Are Not an 
Enrolled Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements. The 
department has issued a ruling on the tax treatment of 
spouses of American Indians.  This ruling is ITR 96-4.  

Do You Have to File if You Are in the 
Military? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all of the following apply to you. 
 You are an active duty member of the United States 

armed forces. 
 Your only income for the taxable year is pay received 

for active duty military service. 
 There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active 

duty military pay. 
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If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military 
pay, you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any 
refund you may be due from that withholding. 
You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have 
any other income besides pay received for active duty 
military service. 
If you are an Arizona resident and you have to file an 
Arizona return, you should file using Form 140. If you were 
an Arizona resident when you entered the service, you 
remain an Arizona resident, no matter where stationed, until 
you establish a new domicile. As an Arizona resident, you 
must report all of your income to Arizona, no matter where 
stationed. You must include your military pay, but using 
Form 140, you may subtract all pay received for active duty 
military service; to the extent it is included in your federal 
adjusted gross income. 
If you are not an Arizona resident, but stationed in Arizona, 
the following applies to you. 
 You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your 

military pay. 
 You must report any other income you earn in Arizona. 

Use Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income Tax 
Return, to report this income. 

To find out more, see our brochure, Pub 704, Taxpayers in 
the Military.  

If You Included Your Child's Unearned 
Income on Your Federal Return, Does Your 
Child Have to File an Arizona Return? 
No. In this case, the child should not file an Arizona return. 
The parent must include that same income in his or her 
Arizona taxable income. 

Residency Status 

If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state 
income tax purposes, we may be able to help. The 
department has issued a procedure on determining residency 
status.  This procedure is ITP 92-1.  

Residents 
You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona. 
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home. 
It is where you intend to return if you are living or working 
temporarily in another state or country. If you leave Arizona 
for a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while 
gone. A resident is subject to tax on all income no matter 
where the income is earned. 

Part-Year Residents 
If you are a part-year resident, you must file Form 140PY, 
Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return. 

You are a part-year resident if you did either of the 
following during 2013. 

 You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a 
resident. 

 You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up 
your Arizona residency. 

Nonresidents 
If you are a nonresident, you must file Form 140NR, 
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return. 

What if a Taxpayer Died? 
If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2013, the 
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may have to file 
and sign a return for that taxpayer.  A personal representative 
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in 
charge of the deceased taxpayer’s property.  

If the deceased taxpayer did not have to file a return but had 
tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund. 

The person who files the return should use the form the 
taxpayer would have used. If the department mailed the 
taxpayer a booklet, do not use the label. The person who 
files the return should print the word "deceased" after the 
decedent's name in the address section of the form. Also 
enter the date of death after the decedent's name.  

If your spouse died in 2013 and you did not remarry in 2013, 
or if your spouse died in 2014 before filing a return for 2013, 
you may file a joint return. If your spouse died in 2013, the 
joint return should show your spouse's 2013 income before 
death and your income for all of 2013. If your spouse died in 
2014, before filing the 2013 return, the joint return should 
show all of your income and all of your spouse's income for 
2013. Print "Filing as surviving spouse" in the area where 
you sign the return. If someone else is the personal 
representative, he or she must also sign the return. 

Are Any Other Returns Required? 
You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return 
(Form 141AZ). For details about filing a fiduciary income 
tax return, call the department at (602) 255-3381. 

Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer 
If you are claiming a refund for a deceased taxpayer, you 
must complete Form 131, Claim for Refund on Behalf of 
Deceased Taxpayer.   Attach the completed Form 131 to the 
front of the return. 

What are the Filing Dates and Penalties? 

When Should You File? 
Your 2013 calendar year tax return is due no later than 
midnight, April 15, 2014. File your return as soon as you can 
after January 1, but no later than April 15, 2014. If you are a 
fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th day of the 
fourth month following the close of your fiscal tax year. 

What if You Cannot File on Time? 
You may request an extension if you know you will not be 
able to file on time. 

    Find an authorized e-file  provider  

An authorized e-file provider can take 
the guesswork out of filing taxes. 

To find an 
 authorized e-file  
provider near you  

visit 
www.azdor.gov 
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NOTE: An extension does not extend the time to pay your income 
tax. For details, see the instructions for Arizona Form 204. 

To get a filing extension, you can either: 
1. Apply for a state extension (Form 204). To apply for a state 

extension, file Arizona Form 204 by April 15. See 
Form 204 for details. You do not have to attach a copy of 
the extension to your return when you file, but make 
sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of the return. If 
you must make a payment, use Arizona Form 204, or visit 
www.aztaxes.gov to make an electronic payment. 

2. Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868). File 
your Arizona return by the same due date. You do not 
have to attach a copy of your federal extension to your 
return, but make sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of 
the return. 

When Should You File if You Are a Nonresident 
Alien? 
The due date for your Arizona return is not the same as the 
due date for your federal return. Your Arizona return is due by 
April 15 even though your federal return is due on June 15. 
If you want to file your Arizona return after April 15, you 
must ask for a filing extension.  You must file this request by 
April 15.  Arizona will allow up to a 6-month extension. 
This will allow you to file your return by October 15, 
2014. See Form 204 for extension filing details.   

If you have a federal 6-month extension, you can file your 
Arizona return under that extension.  If you file using your 
federal extension, Arizona will also allow you an extra 6 
months.  Because we will allow only 6 months, the due date 
for your Arizona return is not the same as the due date for 
your federal return.  In this case, your Arizona return will be 
due by October 15 even though your federal return will not 
be due until December 15.  If you file your 2013 Arizona 
calendar year return after October 15, 2014, your return will 
be late.   

If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th 
day of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal year. 

What if You File or Pay Late? 
If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and 
penalties on the amount you owe. If the U.S. Post Office 
postmarks your 2013 calendar year return by April 15, 2014, 
your return will not be late. You may also use certain private 
delivery services designated by the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule. 

Late Filing Penalty 
If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This 
penalty is 4½% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the 
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is 
late. This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found 
to be remaining due. 

Late Payment Penalty 
If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the amount shown 
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the 
failure continues.  

 

We charge this penalty from the original due date of the 
return until the date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot 
exceed a total of 10% (.10) of the unpaid tax. 

Extension Underpayment Penalty 
If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90% 
(.90) of the tax shown on your return by the return's original 
due date. If you do not pay this amount, we will charge you a 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for 
each 30 day period or fraction of a 30 day period. We charge 
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the 
date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of 
the unpaid tax.  If we charge you the extension underpayment 
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty 
under Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-1125(D). 

NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the above 
penalties, the total cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax. 

Interest 
We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. We 
will charge you interest even if you have an extension. If you 
have an extension, we will charge you interest from the 
original due date until the date you pay the tax. The Arizona 
interest rate is the same as the federal rate. 

When Should You Amend a Return? 
If you need to make changes to your return once you have 
filed, you should file Form 140X, Individual Amended 
Income Tax Return. You should file your amended return 
after your original return has processed. Do not file a new 
return for the year you are correcting. Generally, you have 
four years to amend a return to claim a refund. 

If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also 
file an Arizona Form 140X for that year. You must file the 
Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of the IRS.  

If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for 
any year, you must report that change to Arizona. You may 
use one of the following two options to report this change.  

Option 1 

You may file a Form 140X for that year. If you choose this 
option, you must amend your Arizona return within 90 days 
of the final determination of the IRS. Attach a complete copy 
of the federal notice to your Form 140X. 

Option 2 

You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the 
department within 90 days of the final determination of the 
IRS. If you choose this option, you must include a statement 
in which you must: 

1. Request that the department recompute your tax; and 
2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice. 

If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also 
include any documents that show why you do not agree. 

If you choose option 2, mail the federal notice and any other 
documents to: 

Arizona Department of Revenue  
Individual Income Audit  
PO Box 29084 
Phoenix, AZ  85038-9084 
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Do You Need to Make Estimated Payments in 
2014? 
You must make Arizona estimated income tax payments 
during 2014 if: 
Your filing status 
is: 

AND 
Your Arizona 

gross income for 
2013 was greater 

than: 

AND
Your Arizona 

gross income for 
2014 is greater 

than:
Married Filing 
Joint  

$150,000 $150,000

Single $75,000 $75,000
Head of 
Household 

$75,000 $75,000

Married Filing 
Separate  

$75,000 $75,000

If you met the income threshold for 2013, you must make 
estimated payments during 2014 unless you are sure you will 
not meet the threshold for 2014. 
As a full year resident, your Arizona gross income is your 
federal adjusted gross income. This amount is on line 12 of 
the 2013 Form 140.  

See the worksheet for Arizona Form 140ES to figure how much 
your payments should be. 
For more information about making estimated payments, see 
the department’s brochure (012), Arizona Individual 
Estimated Income Tax Payments. 

What if You Make Your Estimated Payments 
Late? 
We will charge you a penalty if you fail to make any 
required payments. We will charge you a penalty if you 
make any of your required payments late.  For details, see 
Arizona Form 221.   

Can You Make Estimated Payments Even if 
You Do Not Have To? 
If you do not have to make Arizona estimated income tax 
payments, you may still choose to make them.  For details, 
see Arizona Form 140ES. 

Line-by-Line Instructions 

Tips for Preparing Your Return 
 Make sure that you write your social security number 

(SSN) on your return. 
 Complete your return using black ink. 
 You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole 

dollar. If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar. 
If less than 50 cents, round down. Do not enter cents. 

 When asked to provide your own schedule, attach a separate 
sheet with your name and SSN at the top. Attach your own 
schedules to your return.  Attach these schedules behind 
page 2 of your return and behind your Schedules A, if 
itemizing. 

 You must complete your federal return before you can 
start your Arizona return. 

 Make sure you include your daytime telephone number.  
 If filing a fiscal year return, fill in the period covered in 

the space provided at the top of the form. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN 

Lines 1, 2, and 3 -  
NOTE: Make sure that you write your SSN on the 
appropriate line. 

If your booklet has a peel-off label, use that label if all the 
information is correct. If any of the information on the label 
is incorrect, do not use the label. Attach the label after you 
finish your return. If you do not have a peel-off label, print 
or type your name, address, and SSN in the space provided.  

If you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in the same 
order as your names. If your name appears first on the 
return, make sure your SSN is the first number listed. 

If you are married filing separately, enter your name and 
SSN on the first line 1.  Then enter your spouse’s name and 
SSN on the second line 1. 

If you are a nonresident of the United States or a resident 
alien who does not have an SSN use the individual taxpayer 
identification number (ITIN) the IRS issued to you. 

Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure 
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a 
penalty if you fail to include your SSN. It will take longer to 
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear. 

NOTE: Make sure your SSN is correct. If you are filing a 
joint return, also make sure you enter your SSNs in the same 
order every year. 

For a deceased taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions. 
Use your current home address. The department will send 
your refund to or correspond with you at that address. 

Foreign Addresses 
If you have a foreign address, enter the information in the 
following order:  city, province or state, and country.  Follow 
the country’s practice for entering the postal code.   Do not 
abbreviate the country name. 

Last Names Used in Prior Years 
If the last name that you or your spouse are using on this 
return is not the same as the last name you or your spouse 
used on returns filed for the last 4 years, enter any other last 
name(s) that you or your spouse used when filing your 
return during the last 4 years. 

DO YOU HAVE A COMPLICATED RETURN?

e-file makes filing a 
complex return 
simple! 

e-file software offers:
 easy step-by-step 

instructions 
 error detection before 

filing 

For a list of 
approved software 
visit  www.azdor.gov 
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ID Numbers for Paid Preparers 
If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person 
must also include an ID number where requested. 
A paid preparer may use any of the following. 
 his or her PTIN 
 his or her SSN 
 the EIN for the business 
A paid preparer who fails to include the proper number may 
also be subject to a penalty. 

Determining Your Filing Status 
The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be 
different from that used on your federal return. 
Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the 
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140. 

Line 4 (Box) - Married Filing Joint Return 
If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4. 
You may file a joint return if you were married as of 
December 31, 2013. It does not matter whether or not you 
were living with your spouse. You may file a joint return, 
even if you and your spouse filed separate federal returns. 
You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2013 
and you did not remarry in 2013. See page 2 of these 
instructions for details. 
The Arizona Form 140 is for full year residents only. You 
may not file a joint Arizona income tax return on Form 140 
if any of the following apply. 
1. Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living 

in another country). 
2. Your spouse is a resident of another state. 
3. Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident. 
If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you must file 
a joint return using Form 140NR. See Form 140NR instructions. 
If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse, you 
must file a joint return using Form 140PY. See Form 140PY 
instructions. 
The department has issued a ruling on filing a joint tax return 
with your part-year resident or nonresident spouse.  This ruling is 
ITR 95-2.   

Line 5 (Box) - Head of Household Return 
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5.  You 
may file as head of household on your Arizona return, only 
if one of the following applies. 
 You qualify to file as head of household on your federal 

return. 
 You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on 

your federal return. 

Line 6 (Box) - Married Filing Separate Return 
If you are filing a separate return, check box 6 and enter 
your spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1.  
If you were married as of December 31, 2013, you may choose 
to file a separate return.  You may file a separate return, even if 
you and your spouse filed a joint federal return. 
Arizona is a community property state. If you file a separate 
return, you must figure how much income to report using 
community property laws. Under these laws, a separate 
return must reflect one-half of the community income from 
all sources plus any separate income. 

When you file separate returns, you must account for 
community deductions and credits on the same basis as 
community income. Both you and your spouse must either 
itemize or not itemize. If one of you itemizes, you both must 
itemize. If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both 
must take a standard deduction. One of you may not claim a 
standard deduction while the other itemizes.  
If you and your spouse support a dependent child from 
community income, either you or your spouse may claim the 
dependent. Both of you cannot claim the same dependent on 
both returns. 
The department has issued tax rulings on filing a separate 
return.  These rulings are ITR 93-18 and ITR 93-19.   

NOTE:  In some cases you may treat community income as 
separate income. The department has issued a ruling, ITR 
93-22, on when you may treat community income as 
separate income.   

If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other 
special rules may apply when filing a separate return.  The 
department has issued a ruling on how to report income in 
this case.  This ruling is ITR 93-20.   

Line 7 (Box) - Single Return 
If you are filing as single, check box 7. 

Use this filing status if you were single on December 31, 
2013. You are single if any of the following apply to you. 
 You have never been married. 
 You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or 

of separate maintenance. 
 You were widowed before January 1, 2013, and you did 

not remarry in 2013, and you do not qualify to file as a 
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children 
on your federal return. 

Exemptions 
Write the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8, 
9, 10, and 11. Do not put a check mark. You may lose the 
exemption if you put a checkmark in these boxes. You may 
lose the dependent exemption if you do not complete Part A, 
lines A1 through A3 on page 2. You may lose the exemption 
for qualifying parents or grandparents if you do not complete 
Part A, lines A4 and A5, on page 2. 

Line 8 (Box) - Age 65 or Over 
Write "1" in box 8 if you or your spouse were 65 or older in 
2013. Write "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse were 
65 or older in 2013. 

Line 9 (Box) - Blind 
Write "1" in box 9 if you or your spouse is totally or partially 
blind. Write "2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally 
or partially blind.  
If you or your spouse were partially blind as of December 31, 
2013, you must get a statement certified by your eye doctor 
or registered optometrist that: 
1. You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with 

glasses or contact lenses; or 

2. Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 
If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the 
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by 
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect instead.  
You must keep the statement for your records.  
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Line 10 (Box) - Dependents 
You must complete Part A, lines A1 through A3b, on page 2 of 
your return before you can total your dependent exemptions. 
You may claim only the following as a dependent. 
 A person that qualifies as your dependent on your federal 

return. 

NOTE:  If you do not claim a dependent exemption for a 
student on your federal return in order to allow the student 
to claim a federal education credit on the student’s federal 
return, you may still claim the exemption on your Arizona 
return. For more information, see Arizona Individual 
Income Tax Ruling ITR 05-2. 
 A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not) 

that does not qualify as your dependent on your federal 
return, but one of the following applies. 

1. In 2013, you paid more than one-fourth of the cost 
of keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care 
institution, an Arizona residential care institution, 
or an Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost 
must be more than $800. 

2. In 2013, you paid more than $800 for either 
Arizona home health care or other medical costs for 
the person. 

 A stillborn child if the following apply. 
1. The stillbirth occurred during 2013. 
2. You received a certificate of birth resulting in 

stillbirth from the Arizona Department of Health 
Services.  

3. The child would have otherwise been a member of 
your household. 

Part A:  Dependents, Qualifying Parents 
and Grandparents (page 2 of the return) 

Completing Line(s) A1 

NOTE: If a person who qualifies as your dependent is also a 
qualifying parent or grandparent, you may claim that person 
as a dependent on line A2, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent on line A5. You may not 
claim that same person on both line A2 and line A5. Do not 
list the same person on line A1 that you listed on line A4. 

Enter the following on line(s) A1. 
1. The dependent's name. If you are claiming an 

exemption for a stillborn child and the child was not 
named, enter “stillborn child” in place of a name. 

2. The dependent's SSN. If you are claiming an exemption 
for a stillborn child enter the certificate number from the 
certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth. 

3. The dependent's relationship to you. 
4. The number of months the dependent lived in your home 

during 2013. If you are claiming an exemption for a stillborn 
child, enter the date of birth resulting in the stillbirth. 

You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this 
information. 

Line A2 - Total Dependents 
Enter the total number of persons listed on line(s) A1. Enter 
the same number on the front of the return in box 10. 

Lines A3a and A3b - Persons You Did Not Take 
as Dependents on Your Federal Return 
On line A3a, enter the following. 
1. The names of any dependents age 65 or over listed on 

line(s) A1 that you cannot take as a dependent on your 
federal return. 

2. The name of any stillborn child listed on line(s) A1, if 
the stillborn child was named. If the stillborn child was 
not named, enter “stillborn child” on line A3a. Also 
enter the date of birth resulting in the stillbirth. 

On line A3b, enter the name of any student listed on line(s) A1 
that you did not claim as an exemption on your federal return 
in order to allow that student to claim a federal education 
credit on the student’s federal return. 

Line 11 (Box) - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 
A qualifying parent or grandparent may be any one of the 
following. 
 Your parent or your grandparent. This can be your 

grandparent, great grandparent, etc. 
 If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent, 

grandparent, or great grandparent, etc. 
You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply. 
1. The parent or grandparent lived in your principal 

residence for the entire taxable year. 
2. You paid more than one-half of the support and 

maintenance costs of the parent or grandparent during 
the taxable year. 

3. The parent or grandparent was 65 years old or older 
during 2013. 

4. The parent or grandparent required assistance with 
activities of daily living, like getting in and out of bed or 
chairs, walking around, going outdoors, using the toilet, 
bathing, shaving, brushing teeth, combing hair, 
dressing, medicating or feeding. 

You must complete Part A, lines A4 and A5, on page 2 of 
your return before you can total your exemptions for 
qualifying parents and grandparents.  

NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or 
grandparent also qualifies as your dependent, you may 
claim that person as a dependent on line A2, or you may 
claim that person as a qualifying parent or grandparent on 
line A5. You may not claim that same person on both line A2 
and line A5. Do not list the same person on line A4 that you 
listed on line A1. 

Completing Line(s) A4 
Enter the following on line(s) A4. 
1. The name of the qualifying parent or grandparent. 
2. The SSN of the qualifying parent or grandparent. 
3. The qualifying parent’s or grandparent’s relationship to 

you, or your spouse if filing a joint return. 
4. The number of months the qualifying parent or 

grandparent lived in your home during 2013. 
You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this 
information. 

Line A5 - Total Qualifying Parents or 
Grandparents  
Enter the total number of persons listed on line(s) A4. Enter 
the same number on the front of the return in box 11. 



Arizona Form 140 
 

  
7 

Part B:  Additions to Income 

Line B6 - Non-Arizona Municipal Interest 
Enter the amount of interest income from non-Arizona 
municipal bonds that you did not include as income on your 
federal return. 
You may exclude any expenses incurred to purchase or carry the 
obligation. Reduce the interest income by the amount of those 
expenses that you could not deduct on your federal return. 
If you received tax exempt interest from municipal bonds, 
attach a schedule listing the payors and the amount received 
from each payor. You may also want to attach supporting 
documents for amounts received from Arizona municipal 
bonds that are exempt from Arizona income tax. These may 
be items such as bank statements, brokerage statements, etc. 

Line B7 - Ordinary Income Portion of Lump-
Sum Distributions Excluded on Your Federal 
Return 
Use line B7 if you use federal averaging for lump-sum 
distributions from your pension or profit-sharing plan. 
Arizona law does not provide for averaging. Enter the 
amount of the distribution that you treated as ordinary 
income on your federal return. If you choose to treat the 
capital gain portion of the distribution as ordinary income, 
you must also include that amount. 
For more information, see the department’s Income Tax 
Ruling ITR 93-5. 

Line B8 - Total Federal Depreciation 
Enter the total amount of depreciation deducted on the 
federal return. If you make an entry here, you should also take 
a subtraction on line C22.  To figure how much you should 
subtract, see the instructions for line C22. 

Line B9 - Medical Savings Account (MSA) 
Distributions 
For information on Arizona's MSA provisions, see the 
department's brochure, Pub 542, Medical Savings Accounts.   
You must add amounts received from an MSA here if any of 
the following apply. 
1 - You Withdrew Funds From Your MSA for Other 
Than Qualified Expenses 

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. You withdrew money from your MSA during 2013. 
2. You did not use the amount withdrawn to pay qualified 

medical expenses. 
3. You did not have to include the withdrawal as income on 

your federal income tax return. 
Enter the amount withdrawn. 
2 - Deceased Account Holder Where the Named 
Beneficiary is Not the Decedent's Surviving Spouse 

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. The account holder died during the year. 
2. You are the named beneficiary of the decedent's MSA. 
3. You are not the decedent's surviving spouse. 
4. You did not have to include the value of the MSA as 

income on your federal income tax return. 
In this case, the MSA ceased to be an MSA. Enter the fair 
market value of the MSA as of the date of death, less the 

amount of MSA funds used within one year of the date of 
death, to pay the decedent's qualified medical expenses. You 
can reduce the fair market value by only those expenses paid 
from the MSA. If you pay additional medical expenses for 
the decedent from the MSA after you file, you may file an 
amended return to further reduce the fair market value of the 
MSA. 

3 - Decedent's Final Return and No Named MSA 
Beneficiary 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. The account holder died during the year. 
2. There is no named MSA beneficiary. 
3. This is the decedent's final return. 
4.  The value of the MSA did not have to be included on the 

decedent's final federal income tax return. 
In this case, the MSA ceased to be an MSA. Enter the fair 
market value of the MSA as of the date of death. This rule 
applies in all cases in which there is no named beneficiary, 
even if the surviving spouse ultimately obtains the right to 
the MSA assets. 
The following are not withdrawals. Do not enter any of the 
following: 
 Amounts from the MSA used to pay qualified 

medical expenses. 
 A qualified return of excess contributions. 
 A qualified rollover. 
 The fair market value of an MSA received by a surviving 

spouse who was the deceased account holder's named 
beneficiary. 

For more information about the above items, see the 
department's brochure, Pub 542. 

Line B10 - Reserved 
This line has been reserved for future use.  Do not enter any 
amount on line B10. 

Line B11 - Other Additions to Income 
Use line B11 if any of the special circumstances below apply. 
Attach your own schedule to the back of your return 
explaining any amounts entered here. 
You may either add or subtract items B through D below on 
line B11 or C29, respectively, depending on your situation. 

A. Pensions (First Payment Received Prior to 1979)  

Prior to 1979, Arizona treated pension income differently 
than the IRS.  For federal purposes, you could have excluded 
a portion of the cost of the pension from the pension 
payment included on your federal return.  For Arizona 
purposes, the payments were excluded from Arizona gross 
income until you recovered the cost.  After recovering the 
cost, you must include the rest of the payments in Arizona 
gross income.   

If you received the first payment prior to December 31, 
1978, you may have to make an addition to income.  
Complete the following worksheet to figure your addition.  
The addition is equal to the total payments received during 
the taxable year that are more than the cost. 
Complete the worksheet only if both of the following apply. 
1. Arizona taxed your pension for years before 1979. 
2. You reported that pension on your federal return using 

the percentage exclusion method. 



Arizona Form 140 
 

  
8 

Do not complete the worksheet if either of the following applies. 
1. You reported your pension income as fully taxable on 

your federal return. 
2. You reported your pension income on your federal 

return under the "three-year-rule". 

Pension Adjustment Worksheet - Line B11 

(Keep this worksheet for your records). 
1. Your contribution to the pension. 1. 
2. Pension amount received in prior 

years. 
 
2. 

3. Remainder of cost (line 1 minus 
line 2 but not less than zero). 

 
3. 

4. Pension amount received this year. 4. 
5. Subtract line 3 from line 4 (but not 

less than zero). 
 
5. 

6. Enter the pension amount taxable 
on your federal return. 

 
6. 

7. Subtract line 6 from line 5. 7. 
If line 7 is more than zero, enter the amount on line 7 as an 
addition to income. Enter the addition on line B11. 

B. Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 
If you file a separate Arizona return, you must report the 
following income on that return. 
 One-half of the community income from all sources. 
 All of your separate income. 
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but separate 
Arizona returns, you must make sure that each separate return 
reflects the correct income. If you begin your Arizona return 
with only the income that you earned during the year, you 
will have to adjust this income. 

If you file separate federal returns, each of your federal returns 
should already reflect the correct income. Since your separate 
Arizona returns will begin with the federal adjusted gross 
income, you will not have to adjust your income. 

If you have to adjust your income, attach a schedule showing 
how you figured your adjustment. 
C. Partnership Income 

Use this adjustment if your Arizona Form 165, Schedule K-1, 
shows a difference between federal and state distributable income. 

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165, 
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that difference as 
an addition. Enter the addition on line B11. 

If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165, 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference as 
a subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29. 

D. Fiduciary Adjustment 

A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, to report to you 
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, shows your share of 
the fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the 
amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ, 
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that amount as an 
addition. Enter the addition on line B11. 

If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ, 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that amount as a 
subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29. 

E. Net Operating Losses 

Arizona does not have specific provisions for calculating the 
net operating loss of an individual.  Generally, the amount of 
net operating loss deduction included in your federal 
adjusted gross income is the amount allowable for Arizona 
purposes. However, there are instances when the amount 
allowable for Arizona purposes may be different. 

You must adjust the amount of net operating loss deduction 
included in your federal adjusted gross income if you have 
already deducted any amount of the net operating loss 
included in your federal adjusted gross income for Arizona 
purposes.  In this case, enter on line B11, the amount of net 
operating loss included in your federal adjusted gross income 
which you previously deducted for Arizona purposes. 

Usually, Arizona conforms to the federal net operating loss 
provisions, including the carryback provisions.  However, 
Arizona did not conform to the special federal net operating 
loss rules for 2008 and 2009.  Under the special rules for 
2008 and 2009, you could have elected to carry the net 
operating loss back for 3, 4 or 5 years, instead of the normal 
2 years.  This election would have been allowed under IRC § 
172(b)(1)(H) as amended by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the Worker, Homeownership, 
and Business Assistance Act of 2009.   If you deducted a 
federal net operating loss carryback under the federal 
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the 
federal Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance 
Act of 2009, see the instructions for line C28.   

For information on deducting a net operating loss carryback 
in cases where you did not make an election under IRC § 
172(b)(1)(H), see the department’s Income Tax Procedure 
ITP 99-1 . 

F. Items Previously Deducted for Arizona Purposes 

Arizona statutes prohibit a taxpayer from deducting items more 
than once. However, under the operation of former Arizona law 
(1989 and prior), you could deduct certain items in greater 
amounts for Arizona purposes than for federal purposes. 

Investment interest and passive activity losses were such 
items. In some cases, you could have deducted such amounts 
in their entirety on the Arizona return. For federal purposes, 
the deduction for these items was limited, with the unused 
portions being carried forward and deducted in future years. 
Your Arizona return may include these previously deducted 
items because of the difference between the federal and 
former Arizona treatment. If your Arizona taxable income 
includes items previously deducted for Arizona purposes, 
you must add such amounts to your Arizona gross income. 

G. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid 
in 2013 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. During 2013, you were required to repay amounts held 

under a claim of right. 
2. The amount required to be repaid during 2013 was more 

than $3,000. 
3. You took a deduction for the amount repaid on your 2013 

federal income tax return. 
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If the above apply, enter the amount deducted on your federal 
income tax return here.  For more information on the Arizona 
claim of right provisions, see the department’s Individual 
Income Tax Procedure ITP 95-1. 
H. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid 
in Prior Taxable Years 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. During a year prior to 2013 you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
2. You computed your tax for that prior year under 

Arizona's claim of right provisions. 
3. A net operating loss or capital loss was established due 

to the repayment made in the prior year. 
4. You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2013 
Arizona taxable income. 

5. The amount of the loss carryover included in your 
federal income is more than the amount allowed to be 
taken into account for Arizona purposes. 

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover included in 
your federal adjusted gross income is more than the amount 
allowed for the taxable year under Arizona law. 

I. Addition to S Corporation Income Due to Credits 
Claimed 
Shareholders of an S corporation who claim a credit passed 
through from an S corporation must make an addition to 
income for the amount of expenses disallowed by reason of 
claiming the credit. 
An S corporation that passes the following credits through to 
its shareholders must notify each shareholder of his or her 
pro rata share of the adjustment. You must enter an amount 
on this line when claiming any of the following credits. 
 Agricultural water conservation system credit (Form 312)  
 Environmental technology facility credit (Form 305) 
 Pollution control credit (Form 315) 
 Credit for solar hot water heater plumbing stub outs and 

electric vehicle recharge outlets (Form 319) 
 Credit for employment of TANF recipients (Form 320) 
 Agricultural pollution control equipment credit (Form 325) 
 Motion picture credits (Form 334) 

J. Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and 
Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlet Expenses 
If you claim a credit for installing solar hot water heater 
plumbing stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in a 
dwelling you constructed on AZ Form 319, you cannot 
deduct any expenses for which you claim the credit. If you 
take this credit, enter the amount of such expenses that you 
deducted on your federal return. 

K. Wage Expense for Employers of TANF Recipients 

If you claim a credit for employing TANF recipients on AZ 
Form 320, you cannot deduct any wage expense for which 
you claim the credit. If you take this credit, enter the amount 
of such expenses that you deducted on your federal return. 

L. Motion Picture Expenses 

If you claim a motion picture credit on AZ Form 334, you 
cannot deduct any expenses deducted on your federal return 
related to the production or related to a transferred credit. 

Enter the amount of any such expenses that were deducted in 
computing federal adjusted gross income for which you 
claimed a credit. 

M. Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit 
If you claim an agricultural water conservation system credit on 
AZ Form 312, you cannot deduct any expenses for which you 
claim the credit. If you take this credit, enter the amount of such 
expenses that you deducted on your federal return. 

N. Adjusted Basis in Property for Which You Have 
Claimed a Credit for Investment in Qualified Small 
Businesses 
If you claim a credit for an investment in a qualified small 
business on AZ Form 338, you must adjust your basis in the 
investment by the amount of the credit claimed. You must 
report this difference in basis on the Arizona return that you 
file for the taxable year in which you sell or otherwise 
dispose of the investment. If you sold or otherwise disposed 
of the investment during the 2013 taxable year, on line B11, 
enter the amount by which the adjusted basis computed under 
the IRC with respect to that property exceeds the adjusted 
basis of the property computed under A.R.S. § 43-1074.02. 

O. Depreciation or Amortization for a Water 
Conservation System  
If you claimed a water conservation system credit on AZ 
Form 339, you may not deduct any depreciation or 
amortization for that system on your Arizona return. Enter 
the amount of depreciation or amortization claimed on your 
federal return for the water conservation system for which 
you have claimed a credit. 

P. Nonqualified Withdrawals From 529 College 
Savings Plans 
You must make an addition to income if both of the 
following apply to you. 
1. You received a nonqualified withdrawal from a 529 

college savings plan.  
2. You did not include the amount of the withdrawal in 

your federal adjusted gross income. 
The amount that you must add is the amount withdrawn, but 
no more than the difference between the amount of 
contributions subtracted in prior years and the amount added 
in any prior years. 
A nonqualified withdrawal is a withdrawal other than any of 
the following: 
1. A qualified withdrawal. A qualified withdrawal is a 

withdrawal from an account to pay the qualified higher 
education expenses of the designated beneficiary of the 
account. 

2. A withdrawal made as the result of the death or 
disability of the designated beneficiary of an account. 

3. A withdrawal that is made on the account of a 
scholarship, or the allowance or payment described in 
IRC § 135(d)(1)(B) or (C) , and that is received by the 
designated beneficiary, but only to the extent of the 
amount of this scholarship, allowance or payment. 

4. A rollover or change of designated beneficiary. 

Q. Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition 
of Debt Instrument 
For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special election 
to defer discharge of indebtedness (DOI) income under IRC § 
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108(i) (for 2009 or 2010), the taxpayer was not allowed to take 
a deduction with respect to the portion of any OID that accrued 
with respect to that DOI income, during the income deferral 
period.  In this case, the taxpayer had to deduct the aggregate 
amount of the OID deductions disallowed ratably over a 5 year 
period, beginning with the period in which the income was 
includible in federal adjusted gross income. 
Arizona did not adopt the federal provisions requiring a 
taxpayer to defer the OID deduction in cases where the 
taxpayer federally deferred the DOI income.  For Arizona 
purposes, you had to report the DOI income from a debt 
reacquisition in the year in which you reacquired the debt, and 
you were allowed to subtract any OID related to that DOI 
income in the year the OID accrued.  If your federal adjusted 
gross income includes a deduction for any accrued OID that 
you have already subtracted for Arizona purposes, you must 
make an addition to Arizona income for the amount of 
deferred OID deducted on your federal return.  Generally, this 
addition will not apply until taxable year 2014 through 2018.  
However, if you were required to accelerate reporting of the 
DOI income for federal purposes and were allowed to deduct 
accrued OID attributable to that income on a return filed for a 
year prior to 2014; this addition may apply to an earlier year.  
On line B11, enter the amount of any previously deferred OID 
that you deducted in computing your 2013 federal adjusted 
gross income, to the extent that the amount was previously 
subtracted from Arizona gross income. 

R. Early Withdrawal of Arizona, County, City, or 
School Retirement System Contributions 
If you meet all of the following, you must enter an amount 
here. 
1. You left your job with the State of Arizona or an 

Arizona county, city, or school district for reasons other 
than retirement. 

2. When you left, you took out the contributions you had 
made to the retirement system while employed. 

3. You deducted these contributions on your Arizona 
income tax returns that you filed for prior years. 

4. You did not include these contributions in your federal 
adjusted gross income this year. 

If you meet all these tests, you must report as income those 
contributions previously deducted on your prior years' 
Arizona tax returns. 
For details, see the Income Tax Ruling ITR 93-7. 

S.  Qualified Health Insurance Plans 
If you claimed a credit on AZ Form 347, you may not deduct 
any expenses for which you claim the credit.  If you take this 
credit, enter the amount of such expenses that you deducted 
on your federal return.  

  T.  AZ Long-Term Health Care Savings Accounts 
(AZLTHSA) Withdrawals 

You must add amounts withdrawn from your AZLTHSA if 
you withdrew money for purposes other than paying for 
qualified long-term health care expenses. 

U. Sole Proprietorship Loss of an Arizona 
Nonprofit Medical Marijuana Dispensary included 
in Federal Adjusted Gross Income 

If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with 
the Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this 
state as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you are 
required to add the amount of the loss from the dispensary 

that is included in the computation of your federal adjusted 
gross income.  Include the amount of the loss on line B11. 

NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana 
dispensary is registered with the Arizona Department of 
Health Services as anything other than a sole 
proprietorship, this addition does not apply. 

V. Other Adjustments 
Other special adjustments may be necessary. You may need 
to make an addition for depreciation or amortization. You 
may also need to make an addition if you claimed certain tax 
credits. Call one of the numbers listed on the back cover if 
any of the following apply. 
 You are a qualified defense contractor that elected to 

amortize under A.R.S.  section 43-1024. 
 You sold or disposed of property that was held for the 

production of income and your basis was computed 
under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954.  

 You claimed the environmental technology facility credit. 

 You claimed the pollution control credit. 

 You claimed the recycling equipment credit. 

 You claimed the agricultural pollution control equipment 
credit. 

 You elected to amortize the basis of a pollution control 
device or the cost of a child care facility under Arizona 
law in effect before 1990. You are still deducting 
amortization or depreciation for that device or facility 
on your federal income tax return. 

Line B12 - Total Additions 
Add lines B6 through B11. Enter the total on line B12 and 
on the front of your return on line 13. 

Part C:  Subtractions from Income 
You may only subtract those items for which statutory authority 
exists. You cannot take a subtraction  without such authority. 
If you have any questions concerning subtractions from 
income, call one of the numbers listed on the back cover. 

NOTE: You may not subtract any amount that is allocable 
to income excluded from your Arizona taxable income. 

Line C13 - Exemption: Age 65 or Over 
Multiply the number in box 8 on the front of your return by 
$2,100 and enter the result. 
Line C14 - Exemption: Blind 
Multiply the number in box 9 on the front of your return by 
$1,500 and enter the result. 

Line C15 - Exemption: Dependents 
Multiply the number in box 10 on the front of your return by 
$2,300 and enter the result. 

Line C16 - Exemption: Qualifying Parents and 
Grandparents 
Multiply the number in box 11 on the front of your return by 
$10,000 and enter the result. 

Line C17 - Total Exemptions 
Add lines C13 through C16 and enter the total. If you have 
no other subtractions from income, skip lines C18 through 
C30 and enter this total on Form 140, page 1, line 15. 
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Line C18 - Interest on U.S. Obligations 
Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Government 
obligations included as income on your federal return. U.S. 
Government obligations include obligations such as savings 
bonds and treasury bills. You cannot deduct any interest or 
other related expenses incurred to purchase or carry the 
obligations. If such expenses are included in your Arizona 
gross income, you must reduce the subtraction by such 
expenses. If you are itemizing deductions on your Arizona 
return, you must exclude such expenses from the amount 
deducted. 

NOTE: Do not subtract interest earned on FNMA or GNMA 
bonds since this interest is taxable by Arizona. For details, see 
the department's Income Tax Ruling, ITR 06-1. 

Do not subtract any amount received from a qualified pension 
plan that invests in U.S. Government obligations. Do not 
subtract any amount received from an IRA that invests in 
U.S. Government obligations. These amounts are not interest 
income. For details, see the department’s Income Tax 
Rulings ITR 96-2 and ITR 96-3. 

Line C19 - Exclusion for U.S. Government, 
Arizona State or Local Government Pensions 
If you receive pension income from any of the sources listed 
below, subtract the amount you received or $2,500, whichever 
is less. Include only the amount you reported as income on 
your federal return. If both you and your spouse receive such 
pension income, each spouse may subtract the amount 
received or $2,500, whichever is less. 

Public pensions from the following sources 
qualify for this subtraction. 
 The United States Government Service Retirement and 

Disability Fund 
 The United States Foreign Service Retirement and 

Disability System 
 Retired or retainer pay of the uniformed services of the 

United States 
 Any other retirement system or plan established by 

federal law 

NOTE: This applies only to those retirement plans 
authorized and enacted into the U.S. Code. This does not 
apply to a retirement plan that is only regulated by federal 
law (i.e., plans which must meet certain federal criteria to be 
qualified plans). 
 The Arizona State Retirement System 
 The Arizona State Retirement Plan 
 The Corrections Officer Retirement Plan 
 The Public Safety Personnel Retirement System 
 The Elected Officials' Retirement Plan 
 A retirement plan established for employees of a 

county, city, or town in Arizona 
 An optional retirement program established by the Arizona 

Board of Regents under Arizona Revised Statutes 
 An optional retirement program established by an 

Arizona community college district 

NOTE: Public retirement pensions from states other than 
Arizona do not qualify for this subtraction. 

Line C20 - Arizona Lottery Winnings 
You may subtract up to $5,000 of winnings received in 2013 
for Arizona lottery prizes. 

If you subtract Arizona lottery winnings here, you may have 
to adjust the amount of gambling losses claimed as an 
itemized deduction. See instructions for Form 140; Schedule 
A, Itemized Deduction Adjustments. 

Line C21 - U.S. Social Security Benefits or 
Railroad Retirement Benefits 
Arizona does not tax social security benefits received under 
Title II of the Social Security Act. Arizona does not tax 
railroad retirement benefits received from the Railroad 
Retirement Board under the Railroad Retirement Act. If you 
included such social security or railroad retirement benefits 
as income on your federal return, use line C21 to subtract 
this income. 

NOTE: Enter only the taxable amount (the amount that was 
subject to federal income tax). Do not include any amount 
that was not subject to federal income tax. 

See the department’s Income Tax Ruling, ITR 96-1, for 
more information about railroad retirement benefits. 

Line C22 - Recalculated Arizona Depreciation 
Enter the total amount of depreciation allowable pursuant to 
IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year calculated as if you had 
elected not to claim bonus depreciation for eligible 
properties for federal purposes.  

Line C23 - Certain Wages of American Indians 
Enrolled members of American Indian tribes may subtract wages 
earned while living and working on their tribe's reservation. 
The federal government must recognize these tribes. 
For more information, see the department’s Income Tax 
Ruling, ITR 96-4.  

Line C24 - Income Tax Refund From Other 
States  
You may subtract income tax refunds received from other 
states if both of the following apply. 
1. You reported the refund as income on your federal return. 

2. You did not deduct the taxes paid to the other state as an 
itemized deduction on a prior year Arizona return. 

Line C25 - Deposits and Employer Contributions 
into MSAs 
Deposits Made Into Your MSA 
If you have an MSA, you may be able to subtract deposits 
made into that MSA. Make an entry here if all of the 
following apply. 
1. You have an MSA that qualifies as an MSA under 

Arizona law, but not federal law. 
2. Either you or your employer made deposits into that 

MSA during the tax year. 
3. You had to include the deposits in income on your 

federal income tax return. 
Enter the amount of the MSA deposits that you had to 
include in your federal adjusted gross income. 
Employer Contributions Made to Employee MSAs 
If you are an employer, you may subtract the amount 
contributed to your employees' MSAs that are established 
under Arizona law. You can subtract these contributions 
only to the extent not deductible for federal income tax 
purposes. Enter these contributions here. 
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Line C26 - Adjustment for IRC § 179 Expense 
not Allowed in Prior Years 
If you made an addition for IRC § 179 expense on your 
2009, 2010, 2011, and/or 2012 return, enter 20% of the 
amount added for 2009, 2010, 2011  and/or 2012. 
Line C27 - Pay Received for Active Service as a 
Member of the Reserves, National Guard or the 
U.S. Armed Forces 
Members of the U.S. armed forces may subtract pay received 
for active duty military service.  On line C27, enter the amount 
of that income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

Members of the reserves or the National Guard may subtract 
pay received for active service as a reservist or as a National 
Guard member.  This includes pay received for weekend or 
two-week training periods. On line C27, enter the amount of 
that income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

Military Technician (dual status) 

You may not subtract any income you received for full-time 
civil service employment as a “military technician (dual 
status)”.  Compensation received by a “military technician 
(dual status)” for federal civil service employment for the 
National Guard or for the United States Reserves, is not 
income received for active service as a National Guard 
member for a Reserve member even though the employee 
may be required to wear a military uniform while at work.  

For more information, see the department’s Income Tax 
Ruling ITR 12-2.   

NOTE:  You may not subtract pay received for active duty 
service as a member of the U.S. Public Health Service or 
NOAA.  For more information, see the department’s Income 
Tax Ruling ITR 10-1.   

Line C28 - Net Operating Loss Adjustment 
NOTE:  This subtraction applies to only those individuals 
who made an election under the special federal net 
operating loss rules for 2008 and 2009.  Under the special 
rules for 2008 and 2009, you could have elected to carry the 
net operating loss back for 3, 4 or 5 years, instead of the 
normal 2 years.  This election would have been allowed 
under IRC § 172(b)(1)(H) as amended by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the Worker, 
Homeownership, and Business Assistance Act of 2009. 

Arizona did not adopt the special federal net operating loss 
rules for losses incurred during 2008 or 2009.  For Arizona 
purposes, you must deduct a net operating loss as if the loss 
was computed under IRC § 172 in effect prior to the 
enactment of those special rules.  If you made an election to 
deduct your 2008 or 2009 federal net operating loss under 
IRC § 172(b)(1)(H), you may have to enter an amount here.  
Figure how much of the net operating loss carry forward 
would have been allowed as a deduction on your 2013 
federal income tax return, if the election described in IRC § 
172(b)(1)(H) had not been made in the year of the loss.  On 
line C28, enter the amount that exceeds the actual net 
operating loss carry forward that was deducted in arriving at 
federal adjusted gross income. 

Line C29 - Other Subtractions From Income 
Use line C29 if any of the following special circumstances 
apply. Attach your own schedule to the back of your return 
explaining any amounts entered here. 

A. Previously Reported Gain on Decedent's 
Installment Sale 

Prior Arizona law required acceleration of any unrecognized 
installment sale gain upon the death of a taxpayer. However, 
this acceleration could have been avoided by the posting of a 
bond. If acceleration was required, your federal adjusted 
gross income may include installment sale amounts already 
recognized on a decedent's final Arizona return. If your 
federal adjusted gross income includes such amounts, you 
may subtract that portion of the gain included on your 
federal return. 

B. Fiduciary Adjustment 
A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 to report to you 
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 shows your share of 
the fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the 
amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ, 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that amount as a 
subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29. 
If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ, 
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that amount as an 
addition. Enter the addition on line B11. 

C. Partnership Income 
Use this adjustment if your Arizona Form 165, Schedule K-1, 
shows a difference between federal and state distributable income. 
If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165, 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference as 
a subtraction. Enter the subtraction on line C29. 
If the difference reported on your Arizona Form 165, 
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that difference as 
an addition. Enter the addition on line B11. 

D. Federally Taxable Arizona Municipal Interest as 
Evidenced by Bonds 
Enter the amount of any interest income received on 
obligations of the State of Arizona, or any political 
subdivisions of Arizona, as evidenced by bonds, and is 
included in your Arizona gross income. Do not enter any 
Arizona municipal interest that is exempt from federal 
taxation and not included in your federal adjusted gross 
income. 

E. Adoption Expenses 
You may take this subtraction only in the year the final 
adoption order is granted. Enter the lesser of the total of the 
following adoption expenses or $3,000. When figuring your 
subtraction, you may include expenses incurred in prior 
years. 
The following expenses are qualified adoption expenses. 
1. Nonreimbursed medical and hospital costs 
2. Adoption counseling 
3. Legal and agency fees 
4. Other nonrecurring costs of adoption 
If filing separately, you may take the entire subtraction, or 
you may divide the subtraction with your spouse. However, 
the total subtraction taken by both you and your spouse 
cannot exceed $3,000. 

F. Qualified Wood Stove, Wood Fireplace, or Gas 
Fired Fireplace 
Arizona law provides a subtraction for converting an existing 
fireplace to one of the following. 
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 a qualified wood stove 
 a qualified wood fireplace 
 a gas fired fireplace and non-optional equipment 

directly related to its operation. 
You may subtract up to $500 of the costs incurred for 
converting an existing fireplace on your property located in 
Arizona.  When you figure your subtraction, do not include 
taxes, interest, or other finance charges. 
A qualified wood stove or a qualified wood fireplace is a 
residential wood heater that was manufactured on or after 
July 1, 1990, or sold at retail on or after July 1, 1992. The 
residential wood heater must also meet the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency's July 1990 particulate emissions 
standards. 
A qualified gas fired fireplace is any device that burns 
natural or liquefied petroleum gas as its fuel through a 
burner system that is permanently installed in the fireplace. 
The conversion of an existing wood burning fireplace to 
noncombustible gas logs that are permanently installed in 
the fireplace also qualifies as a gas fired fireplace. 

G. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid 
in Prior Taxable Years 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply. 
1. During a year prior to 2013 you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
2. You computed your tax for that prior year under 

Arizona's claim of right provisions. 
3. A net operating loss or capital loss was established due 

to the repayment made in the prior year. 
4. You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2013 
Arizona taxable income. 

5. The amount of the loss carryover allowed to be taken 
into account for Arizona purposes is more than the 
amount included in your federal income. 

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover allowed for 
the taxable year under Arizona law is more than the amount 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

H. Certain Expenses Not Allowed for Federal Purposes 
You may subtract some expenses that you cannot deduct on 
your federal return when you claim certain federal tax credits. 
These federal tax credits include the following. 
 The federal work opportunity credit 
 The empowerment zone employment credit 
 The credit for employer-paid social security taxes on 

employee cash tips 
 The Indian employment credit 
If you received any of the above federal tax credits for 2013, 
enter the portion of wages or salaries you paid or incurred 
during the taxable year equal to the amount of those federal 
tax credits you received. 

I. Qualified State Tuition Program Distributions 
If you are a beneficiary of a qualified state tuition program, 
you may subtract some of the amount distributed from the 
program for qualified education expenses. Enter the amount 
of the distribution that you had to include in your federal 
adjusted gross income. A qualified state tuition program is a 
program that meets the requirements of IRC § 529. 

J. Subtraction for World War II Victims 
You may subtract distributions made to you for your 
persecution or the persecution of your ancestors by Nazi 

Germany or any other Axis regime for racial, religious or 
political reasons. If you are the first recipient of such 
distributions, enter the amount of the distributions that you 
had to include in your federal adjusted gross income. 
You may also subtract items of income that are attributable to, 
derived from or related to assets that were stolen or hidden from 
or lost to you if you were persecuted by Nazi Germany or any 
other Axis regime for racial, religious or political reasons 
before, during or immediately after World War II. If you are the 
first recipient of such income, enter the amount of income that 
you had to include in your federal adjusted gross income. 

K. Installment Sale Income From Another State 
Taxed by the Other State in a Prior Taxable Year 
You may subtract income from an installment sale if both of 
the following apply: 
1. The income from the sale is subject to Arizona income tax 

in 2013; and 
2. You paid income tax to another state on that income in a 

prior tax year. 
Enter the amount of such income that you included in your 
Arizona gross income for 2013. 
Do not enter any amount that is subject to tax by both Arizona 
and another state in 2013. In this case, you may be eligible for a 
tax credit. See AZ Form 309 for details. 

L. Agricultural Crops Given to Arizona Charities 
Arizona law allows a subtraction for qualified crop gifts made 
during 2013 to one or more charitable organizations. To take 
this subtraction, all of the following must apply. 
1. You must be engaged in the business of farming or 

processing agricultural crops.  
2. The crop must be grown in Arizona. 
3. You made your gift to a charitable organization located 

in Arizona that is exempt from Arizona income tax. 
The subtraction is the larger of the wholesale market price or 
the most recent sale price for the contributed crop.  The 
amount of the subtraction cannot include any amount 
deducted pursuant to IRC § 170 with respect to crop 
contribution that exceeds the cost of producing the 
contributed crop.  To determine if your crop gift qualifies for 
this subtraction, see the department’s Income Tax Procedure 
ITP 12-1. 

M. Basis Adjustment for Property Sold or 
Otherwise Disposed of During the Taxable Year 
With respect to property that is sold or otherwise disposed of 
during the taxable year by a taxpayer who has complied with 
the requirement to add back all depreciation with respect to 
that property on tax returns for all taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 1999, enter the amount of 
depreciation that has been allowed pursuant to IRC § 167(a) 
to the extent that the amount has not already reduced 
Arizona taxable income in the current or prior years. (Note: 
The practical effect of this is to allow a subtraction for the 
difference in basis for any asset for which bonus 
depreciation has been claimed on the federal return.) 

N. Contributions to 529 College Savings Plans 

You may subtract amounts you contribute to 529 college 
savings plans during the taxable year. You may subtract the 
amount you contributed during the year up to a total of 
$2,000 ($4,000 for a married couple filing a joint return). If 
you are married filing separate returns, either you or your 
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spouse may take the subtraction, or you may divide it 
between you, but the total subtraction taken by both of you 
cannot be more than $4,000. 

If you contribute more than $2,000 ($4,000 if married) 
during the year, your total subtraction is still limited to 
$2,000 ($4,000 if married). For example, Jorge and Kate are 
married and have two children. During 2013, Jorge and Kate 
contributed $2,500 to a 529 plan for Child 1 and $2,500 to a 
529 plan for Child 2. Even though Jorge and Kate 
contributed a total of $5,000 during 2013, they may subtract 
only $4,000 on their 2013 return. 

You may take a subtraction for a contribution that you made 
during 2013, to a plan that existed before 2013. You may 
take a subtraction for a contribution that you made during 
2013, to a plan established in another state. You may take a 
subtraction for a contribution that you made in 2013, to any 
529 college savings plan. This could be a plan established 
for a child, grandchild, niece, nephew, or any other person 
for whom a plan has been established. 

You cannot take a subtraction for an amount transferred 
from one college savings plan to a different college savings 
plan (a rollover). 

O. Previously Deferred Discharge of Indebtedness 
(DOI) Income Adjustment 

Generally, when a loan is settled for less than the amount 
owed, DOI income is realized by the debtor and usually 
must be included in the debtor’s gross income.  The amount 
of DOI income is generally equal to the amount of loan 
forgiveness.  DOI income also occurs when a debtor 
repurchases his or her own debt at a discount (a price lower 
than the adjusted basis issue price of the debt instrument).  
In debt repurchase transactions, the amount of DOI income 
is generally equal to the difference between the adjusted 
issue price and the price paid for the debt instrument.   

For federal purposes, a taxpayer may have made a special 
election for taxable years 2009 or 2010 to include DOI 
income in connection with the reacquisition of a business 
debt instrument, ratably over a 5 year period.  A taxpayer 
that made this election will generally include this income in 
federal adjusted gross income beginning with the 2014 
taxable year.  A taxpayer would have made the federal 
election under IRC § 108(i) as added by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. 

Arizona did not adopt the special federal DOI income 
deferral provisions for the 2009 or 2010 taxable year.  For 
Arizona purposes, if you made the federal election to defer 
the inclusion of DOI income under IRC § 108(i), you were 
required to add the amount of deferred DOI income to 
Arizona income for the year for which you made the 
election.  If you made the required addition to Arizona 
income on the Arizona return filed for the year in which you 
reacquired the debt instrument (2009 or 2010), Arizona will 
not tax that DOI income twice.  In the year in which you 
include that deferred DOI income in your federal adjusted 
gross income, you may take a subtraction for the amount 
included for that year.  Usually this subtraction will apply to 
taxable years 2014 through 2018.  However, if you had to 
accelerate the deferral for federal purposes, this subtraction 
may apply to a taxable year prior to 2014.  On line C29, 

enter the amount of previously deferred DOI income that 
you included in your federal adjusted gross income for the 
current taxable year to the extent that the amount was 
previously added to your Arizona income. 

P. Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition 
of Business Debt Instrument 

For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special election 
to defer DOI income under IRC § 108(i), the taxpayer was not 
allowed to take a deduction with respect to the portion of any 
OID that accrued with respect to that DOI income, during the 
income deferral period.  In this case, the taxpayer must deduct 
the aggregate amount of the OID deductions disallowed ratably 
over a 5 year period, beginning with the period in which the 
income is includible in federal adjusted gross income. 

Arizona did not adopt the federal provisions requiring a 
taxpayer to defer the OID deduction in cases where the 
taxpayer federally deferred the DOI income under IRC  
§ 108(i).  For Arizona purposes, you were required to add the 
amount of deferred DOI income to Arizona income on the 
return filed for the year in which you reacquired the debt 
instrument.  Since Arizona taxed the federally deferred DOI 
income for 2009 or 2010 on your 2009 or 2010 Arizona 
return, you may subtract the amount of OID that accrued 
during the taxable year with respect to that DOI income.  On 
line C29, enter the amount of any OID that was deferred and 
not allowed to be deducted in computing your federal adjusted 
gross income for 2013 under IRC § 108(i). 

Q. Sole Proprietorship Income of an Arizona 
Nonprofit Medical Marijuana Dispensary included 
in Federal Adjusted Gross Income 

If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with 
the Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this 
state as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you may 
subtract the amount of the income from the dispensary that 
is included in the computation of your federal adjusted gross 
income.  Include the amount of the income on line C29. 

NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana 
dispensary is registered with the Arizona Department of 
Health Services as anything other than a sole 
proprietorship, this subtraction does not apply. 

R.   Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 

Beginning 2013, you may subtract the amount of premium 
costs for long-term care insurance for qualified long-term 
care services.  Qualified long-term care services are 
necessary diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, curing, 
treating, mitigating, rehabilitative services, and maintenance 
and personal care services 

You may take this subtraction only if you are not claiming 
itemized deductions for the taxable year.   Include the 
allowable subtraction on line C29. 

An individual, who claims itemized deductions, may not 
take this subtraction.    

S.   Long-Term Health Care Savings Accounts 
Beginning 2013, you may subtract amounts you paid into a 
long-term health care savings account established under 
Arizona law.  An individual may establish a long-term 
health care savings account with an account Administrator 
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who will manage the account.  For more information 
regarding the subtraction for contributions made to a long-
term health care savings account, see A.R.S. § 43-1032. 

The total amount you may subtract is equal to the amount of 
your contributions that are included in your federal adjusted 
gross income.  Include the amount of the allowable 
subtraction on line C29. 

Do not include on line C29 any amounts already excluded in 
the computation of your federal adjusted gross income. 

T. Other Adjustments 

Other special adjustments may be necessary. Call one of the 
numbers listed on the back cover if any of the following apply. 
 You are a qualified defense contractor that elected to 

amortize under A.R.S.  § 43-1024. 

 You sold or disposed of property that was held for the 
production of income and your basis was computed 
under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954.  

 You were an Arizona resident before December 31, 1975, 
and you are receiving IRA distributions from your IRA 
account to which you made contributions before 
December 31, 1975. 

 You were an Arizona resident before December 31, 1975, 
and you are receiving distributions from your qualified 
self-employment retirement plan to which you made 
contributions before December 31, 1975. 

 You deferred exploration expenses determined under 
IRC § 617 in a taxable year ending before January 1, 
1990, and you have not previously taken a subtraction 
for those expenses. 

Line C30 - Subtractions from Income 
Add lines C17 through C29. Enter the total here and on the 
front of your return on line 15. 

Part D:  Net Long-Term Capital Gain 
Subtraction from Income for Assets Acquired 
After December 31, 2011. 

Note:  If you reported a net capital gain or (loss) on your 
federal tax return, you must enter that amount on page 1, 
line 16, box 16A.  See the instructions for line 16. 

If you entered an amount in box 16A, you must complete 
lines D31 and D32.  If you are taking a subtraction for any 
net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011, you must also complete lines D33 and 
D34.  If you do not complete Part D, you cannot take the 
subtraction. 

Beginning in 2013, a subtraction is allowed for a percentage 
of any net long-term capital gain included in your federal 
adjusted gross income that is derived from an investment in 
an asset acquired after December 31, 2011.  For 2013, the 
percentage is 10% (.10). 
Use the worksheet at the end of these instructions, 
Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction for 
Assets Acquired after December 31, 2011, to determine the 
allowable subtraction.  Keep the worksheet for your records. 

Line D31 -- Total Net Short-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the total amount of net short-term capital gain or (loss) 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

Line D32 -- Total Net Long-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the amount from the worksheet on page 27, line 12, 
column (b). 

Line D33 -- Net Long-Term Capital Gain From 
Assets Acquired After December 31, 2011 
Enter the amount from the worksheet, line 12, column (d). 

Line D34 --  Net Long-Term Capital Gain 
Subtraction From Income 
Multiply the amount on line D33 by 10% (.10) and enter the 
result here and on page 1, line 16. 

Totaling Your Income 

Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
You must complete your federal return before you enter an 
amount on line 12. You must complete a 2013 federal return 
to determine your federal adjusted gross income, even if you 
are not filing a federal return. 

Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting 
point to determine Arizona taxable income. Your federal 
adjusted gross income is your Arizona gross income. 

NOTE:  Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross income 
and not your federal taxable income. 

If the amount on line 12 is more than $75,000 ($150,000 if 
filing a joint return), you may need to make estimated 
payments. See "Do You Need to Make Estimated Payments 
in 2014?" instructions on page 4. 

Line 13 - Additions to Income 
Enter the amount from page 2, line B12. 

Line 14 - 
Add lines 12 and 13 and enter the total. 

Line 15 - Subtractions From Income  
Enter the amount from page 2, line C17 or line C30. 

Line 16 - Net Capital Gain or (Loss) and Net 
Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction 
Box 16A - Net Capital Gain or (loss) 

 If you reported a net capital gain or (loss) on your 
federal tax return, enter that amount in box 16A. 

 If you entered an amount in box 16A, you must 
complete page 2, Part D, lines D31 and D32. 

Line 16 - Subtraction for net long-term capital gain from 
assets acquired after December 31, 2011 

You must complete page 2, Part D, to take this subtraction.  
If you do not complete Part D, you cannot take the 
subtraction. Enter the amount from page 2, line D34.   

Line 17 - Arizona Adjusted Gross Income 
Subtract lines 15 and 16 from line 14 and enter the 
difference.  You may also complete the following worksheet 
to figure your Arizona adjusted gross income. 
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Arizona Adjusted Gross Income Worksheet  

1.  Enter amount from Form 140, page 1, line 15    00 

2.  Enter amount from Form 140, page 1, line 16.    00 

3.  Add lines 1 and 2.  Enter the total.    00  

4.  Enter amount from Form 140, page 1, line 14.    00

5.  Subtract the amount on line 4 from the 
amount on line 3.  Enter the difference here 
and also on Form 140, page 1, line 17.    

  

00  

Figuring Your Tax 

Line 18 - Itemized or Standard Deductions 
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or 
to itemize your deductions. Your Arizona income tax will be 
less if you take the larger of your standard deduction or your 
itemized deductions.  

When you e-file, the software completes 
the math for you. 

Your Standard Deduction 

If you take the standard deduction, check box 18S. 

If your filing status is: Your standard deduction is:
 Single $4,945 
 Married filing separately $4,945 
 Married filing jointly $9,883 
 Head of household $9,883 

Your Itemized Deductions 
You may claim itemized deductions on your Arizona return 
even if you take a standard deduction on your federal return. 
For the most part, you may claim those deductions allowable 
as itemized deductions under the IRC. In some cases, the 
amount allowed for some deductions may not be the same as 
the amount allowable for federal purposes.  
You may have to adjust the amounts shown on your 
completed federal Form 1040, Schedule A. See Form 140 
Schedule A, Itemized Deduction Adjustments to figure if you 
have to make any adjustments. 
To figure your itemized deductions, you must complete 
a federal Form 1040, Schedule A. Then, if required, 
complete Form 140, Schedule A, Itemized Deduction 
Adjustments. If you do not have to complete Form 140, 
Schedule A, Itemized Deduction Adjustments, enter the 
amount from federal Form 1040, Schedule A, on Form 140, 
line 18. 

NOTE: If you itemize, you must attach a copy of the 
completed federal Schedule A to your Arizona return. If 
itemizing, check box 18I. 

Line 19 - Personal Exemptions 
The amount you may claim as a personal exemption depends 
on your filing status. If married, the amount you may claim 
as a personal exemption also depends on whether you or 
your spouse claim dependents. You may use the following 
chart below to figure your personal exemption. If married, 

you may also use Form 202, Personal Exemption Allocation 
Election, to figure your personal exemption. 

Personal Exemption Chart 
If you checked filing status: Enter:

 Single (Box 7) $2,100

 Married filing joint return (Box 4) and 
claiming no dependents (Box 10) 

$4,200

 Married filing joint return (Box 4) and 
claiming at least one dependent (Box 10 
excluding persons listed on Page 2, line A3a)

$6,300

 Head of household and you are not
married (Box 5) 

$4,200

 Head of household and you are a married 
person who qualifies to file as head of 
household (Box 5)

$3,150,    or
Complete 
Form 202 

 Married filing separate return (Box 6) with 
neither spouse claiming any dependents 
(Box 10)

$2,100,   or
Complete 
Form 202 

 Married filing separate return (Box 6) with 
one spouse claiming at least one 
dependent (Box 10 excluding persons listed 
on Page 2, line A3a)

$3,150,   or 
Complete 
Form 202 

A married couple who does not claim any dependents may 
take one personal exemption of $4,200. If the husband and 
wife file separate returns, either spouse may take the entire 
$4,200 exemption, or the spouses may divide the $4,200 
between them. You and your spouse must complete Form 
202 if either you or your spouse claim a personal exemption 
of more than $2,100. If you and your spouse do not complete 
Form 202, you may take an exemption of only $2,100 (one-
half of the total $4,200). 
A married couple who claims at least one dependent may 
take one personal exemption of $6,300. If the husband and 
wife file separate returns, either spouse may take the entire 
$6,300 exemption, or the spouses may divide the $6,300 
between them. You and your spouse must complete Form 
202 if either you or your spouse claim a personal exemption 
of more than $3,150. If you and your spouse do not complete 
Form 202, you may take an exemption of only $3,150 (one-
half of the total $6,300). 
If you are a married person who qualifies to file as a head of 
household, you may take the entire $6,300 personal 
exemption or you may divide the exemption with your 
spouse. You and your spouse must complete Form 202 if 
either you or your spouse claim a personal exemption of 
more than $3,150. If you and your spouse do not complete 
Form 202 you may take an exemption of only $3,150 (one-
half of the total $6,300). 
The spouse who claims more than one-half of the total 
personal exemption must attach the original Form 202 to his 
or her return. The spouse who claims less than one-half of 
the total personal exemption must attach a copy of the 
completed Form 202 to his or her return. 

Line 20 - Arizona Taxable Income 
Subtract lines 18 and 19 from line 17 and enter the difference. 
If less than zero, enter “0”.  Use this amount to calculate your 
tax using Tax Table X or Y or the Optional Tax Tables. 
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Line 21 - Tax Amount 
Enter the tax from either Tax Table X or Y or the Optional 
Tax Tables. If your taxable income is less than $50,000, use 
the Optional Tax Table. If your taxable income is $50,000 or 
more, use Tax Table X or Y. 

Line 22 - Tax From Recapture of Credits From 
Arizona Form 301 
Enter the amount of tax due from recapture of the credits 
from Form 301, Part II, line 36. 

Line 23 - Subtotal of Tax 
Add lines 21 and 22. 

e-file software will let you know if you are 
eligible and will figure the credit for you. 

Line 24 - Family Income Tax Credit 
You may take this credit if your income does not exceed the 
maximum income allowed for your filing status. 

 Complete Steps 1, 2, and 3 to see if you qualify for this 
credit. 

 If you qualify to take this credit, complete Worksheet II 
in Step 4. 

Step 1 
Complete Worksheet I below. 

Worksheet I 
1. Enter the amount from Form 140, 

page 1, line 17.  
2. Enter the amount from Form 140, 

page 2, line C17.  

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total.  

Step 2 
Look at the following tables. Find your filing status. 
 Use Table I if married filing a joint return. 
 Use Table II if head of household. 
 Use Table III if single or married filing a separate return. 

Step 3 
 Look at column (a) labeled "number of dependents" and 

find the number of dependents you are claiming (Form 
140, page 1, box 10 excluding persons listed on Page 2, 
line A3a). 

 Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the 
number of dependents you are claiming.  

 Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the 
income listed in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 3. 

If the amount entered in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 3 is 
equal to or less than the maximum income allowed for the 
number of dependents you are claiming on Form 140, page 
1, box 10, excluding persons listed on Page 2, line A3a, you 
qualify to take this credit. To figure your credit, complete 
Step 4. 

 

 

Table I 
Married Filing Joint Return
Column (a) Column (b)

Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding 
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a. 

Maximum 
Income 

 0 or 1 $20,000
 2 $23,600
 3 $27,300
 4 or more $31,000

Table II 
Head of Household 

Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding 
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a. 

Maximum 
Income 

 0 or 1 $20,000
 2 $20,135
 3 $23,800
 4 $25,200
 5 or more $26,575

Table III 
Single or Married Filing Separate Return

Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding 
persons listed on Page 2, line A3a. 

Maximum 
Income 

 0 or more $10,000

Step 4 
If you qualify to take the credit, complete Worksheet II. 

Worksheet II 
You must complete Steps 1 through 3  

before you complete Worksheet II.
1. Enter the number of dependents 

you entered on Form 140, page 
1, box 10, excluding persons 
listed on Page 2, line A3a. 

 

2. Number of personal exemptions. 
If you checked filing status 4, 
enter the number 2 here. If you 
checked filing status 5, 6, or 7, 
enter the number 1 here. 

 

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total.  
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by 

$40. Enter the result. 
 

5. If you checked filing status 4 or 5, 
enter $240 here. If you checked 
filing status 6 or 7, enter $120 
here.

 

6. Family income tax credit. Enter the 
lesser of line 4 or line 5. Also enter 
this amount on Form 140, page 1, 
line 24.

 

NOTE:  The family income tax credit will only reduce your 
tax and cannot be refunded. 
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Line 25 - Nonrefundable Credits From Arizona 
Form 301 or Forms 310, 321, 322, and 323, if 
Form 301 Is Not Required 
Complete line 25 if you take any of the following credits. 
Also make sure that you attach Arizona Form 301 if you are 
required to complete Form 301 and the appropriate credit 
form or forms to your return. 

1. Enterprise Zone Credit. Taxpayers located in a former 
enterprise zone prior to June 30, 2011, may qualify to claim 
a third year credit for qualified employment positions.  See 
Form 304 for more information. 

2. Environmental Technology Facility Credit. You may 
qualify for this credit if your business incurred expenses in 
constructing a qualified environmental technology 
manufacturing facility. Use Form 305 to figure this credit. 

3. Military Reuse Zone Credit. You may qualify for this 
credit if you have qualifying net increases in full-time 
employment within a military reuse zone. Use Form 306 to 
figure this credit.  

4. Recycling Equipment Credit. The recycling equipment 
credit allowable to individuals has been repealed. You may 
not take this credit for taxable years beginning January 1, 
2003 or later. However, the repeal did not affect any credit 
carryover that accrued prior to the repeal. Use Form 307 to 
figure any allowable credit carryover. 

5. Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals. 
You may qualify for this credit if you incurred qualified 
research expenses for research conducted in Arizona. Be 
sure to include only the nonrefundable portion on line 25.  
Use Form 308-I to figure this credit. 

6. Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State or Country. 
You may qualify for this credit if you paid tax to Arizona 
and another state or country on the same income. Use Form 
309 to figure your credit.  

7. Credit for Solar Energy Devices. You may qualify for 
this credit if you installed a solar energy device in your 
residence located in Arizona. Use Form 310 to figure this 
credit. 

8. Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit. You 
may qualify for this credit if you incurred expenses to 
purchase and install an agricultural water conservation 
system in Arizona. Use Form 312 to figure this credit. 

9. Pollution Control Credit. You may qualify for this credit 
if you purchased depreciable property used in a trade or 
business to reduce or prevent pollution. Use Form 315 to 
figure this credit. 

10. Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub 
Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. You may 
qualify for this credit if you installed solar hot water heater 
plumbing stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in 
houses or dwelling units you constructed.  

The taxpayer that constructed the dwelling may also transfer 
the credit to a purchaser. Use Form 319 to figure this credit. 

11. Credit for Employment of TANF Recipients. You 
may qualify for this credit if you employed TANF recipients 
during the taxable year. Use Form 320 to figure this credit. 

12. Credit for Contributions to Qualifying Charitable 
Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to qualifying charitable organizations. Use 
Form 321 to figure this credit. 

13. Credit for Contributions Made or Fees Paid to Public 
Schools. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions or paid certain fees to public schools in 
Arizona. Use Form 322 to figure this credit. 

14. Credit for Contributions to Private School Tuition 
Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to a school tuition organization that provides 
scholarships or grants to qualified schools. Use Form 323 to 
figure this credit. 

15. Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit. 
You may qualify for this credit if you are involved in 
commercial agriculture and incurred expenses to purchase 
tangible personal property that is primarily used in your 
trade or business to control or prevent pollution. Use Form 
325 to figure this credit. 

16. Credit for Donation of School Site. You may qualify 
for this credit if you donated real property and improvements 
to a school district or a charter school for use as a school or 
as a site for the construction of a school. Use Form 331 to 
figure this credit. 

17. Credits for Healthy Forest Enterprises. You may 
qualify for these credits if you had net increases in qualified 
employment positions in a healthy forest enterprise and net 
training and certifying costs. Use Form 332 to figure these 
credits. 

18. Credit for Employing National Guard Members. You 
may qualify for this credit if you are an employer who has 
an employee that is a member of the Arizona National Guard 
if the employee is placed on active duty. Use Form 333 to 
figure this credit. 

19. Motion Picture Credits. Motion picture production 
companies that produce motion pictures, commercials, 
music videos, or television series completely or partially in 
Arizona may claim a transferable income tax credit for 
production costs.  To qualify, productions must have been 
preapproved by the Arizona Commerce Authority by 
December 31, 2010.  See Form 334 for more information. 

20. Credit for Solar Energy Devices - Commercial and 
Industrial Applications. This credit is available to 
taxpayers that installed solar energy devices for commercial, 
industrial, or other nonresidential applications located in 
Arizona. Use Form 336 to figure this credit. 

21. Credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses. 
You may qualify for this credit if you made an investment in 
a qualified small business. Use Form 338 to figure this 
credit. 
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22. Credit for Water Conservation Systems. For calendar 
year filers, 2011 was the last year to establish a new credit 
for a water conservation system.   

Fiscal year filers with an ending date after December 31, 
2011, could not establish a new credit in 2011.   

Carryovers will be allowed for no more than 5 succeeding 
taxable years. Use Form 339 to figure this credit.  

23. Credit for Donations to the Military Family Relief 
Fund. You may qualify for this credit if you made a cash 
contribution to the Arizona Military Family Relief Fund 
during the taxable year. Use Form 340 to figure this credit. 

24. Renewable Energy Production Tax Credit. You may 
qualify for this credit if you produced electricity using a 
qualified energy resource. Use Form 343 to figure this 
credit. 

25. Solar Liquid Fuel Credit. You may qualify for this 
credit if you incurred expenses for research and development 
costs associated with solar liquid fuel. Use Form 344 to 
figure this credit. 

26. Credit for New Employment.  For taxable years 
beginning from and after June 30, 2011, you may qualify for 
this credit if your business had a net increase in qualified 
employment positions.  Use Form 345 to figure this credit. 

27.  Additional Credit for Increased Research Activities 
for Basic Research Payments.   You may qualify for this 
credit for qualified basic research payments for research 
conducted in Arizona.   

Approval by the Department of Revenue is required prior to 
claiming this credit.  Use Form 346 to figure this credit. 

28. Credit for Qualified Health Insurance Plans.   You 
may qualify for this credit if your business provided 
qualified health insurance plans or made contributions to 
health savings accounts (HSA) for its employees who are 
Arizona residents.  Use Form 347 to figure this credit. 

29.  Credit for Contributions to Certified School Tuition 
Organization (for the amounts that exceed the allowable 
credit on AZ Form 323).  You many qualify for this credit 
if you made contributions to school tuition organization(s) 
that exceed the allowable credit amount on AZ Form 323.  
Use Form 348 to figure this credit. 

Compute your credit on the appropriate form. Then, if 
required, complete Form 301 and enter the amount from 
Form 301, Part II, line 69 on Form 140, line 25.  

The total amount of credits on line 25 cannot reduce your tax 
below zero. These credits are not refundable credits. 

Attach Arizona Form 301, along with any supporting 
documents, to your return. 

Line 26 - Credit Type 

Line 27 - Balance of Tax 
Subtract lines 24 and 25 from line 23.  Enter the difference.  
If the sum of lines 24  and 25 is more than line 23, enter “0”. 

If you entered an amount on line 25, write the form 
number of each credit claimed on line 26.

If you are claiming: 
Write 
form 

number:
1. Enterprise Zone Credit 304 
2. Environmental Technology Facility 

Credit 305 

3. Military Reuse Zone Credit 306 

4. Recycling Equipment Credit 307 
5. Credit for Increased Research Activities -

Individuals 308 

6. Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State or 
Country 309 

7. Credit for Solar Energy Devices 310 
8. Agricultural Water Conservation System 

Credit 312 

9. Pollution Control Credit 315 
10. Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater 

Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle 
Recharge Outlets

319 

11. Credit for Employment of TANF 
Recipients 320 

12. Credit for Contributions to Qualifying 
Charitable Organizations 321 

13. Credit for Contributions Made or Fees 
Paid to Public Schools 322 

14. Credit for Contributions to Private School 
Tuition Organizations 323 

15. Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment 
Credit 325 

16. Credit for Donation of School Site 331 
17. Credits for Healthy Forest Enterprises 332 
18. Credit for Employing National Guard 

Members 333 

19. Motion Picture Credits 334
20. Credit for Solar Energy Devices -

Commercial and Industrial Applications 336 

21. Credit for Investment in Qualified Small 
Businesses 338 

22. Credit for Water Conservation Systems 339 
23. Credit for Donations to the Military Family 

Relief  Fund 340 

24. Renewable Energy Production Tax Credit 343
25. Solar Liquid Fuel Credit 344 

26. Credit for New Employment 345 
27.    Additional Credit for Increased Research 

Activities for Basic Research Payments 346 

28.    Credit for Qualified Health Insurance 
Plans 347 

29.    Credit for Contributions to Certified 
School Tuition Organization (for 
amounts that exceed the allowable credit 
on AZ Form 323)

348 
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Totaling Payments and Credits 

Line 28 - Arizona Income Tax Withheld 
Enter the Arizona income tax withheld shown on the 
Form(s) W-2 from your employer(s). Also enter the Arizona 
income tax withheld shown on your Form(s) 1099-R 
(distributions from pensions, annuities, etc.). Do not include 
any income tax withheld for another state. Attach the 
Form(s) W-2 and 1099-R after the last page of your return. 

NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than 
January 31. If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you think 
your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer. 

Line 29 - Arizona Estimated Tax Payments for 
2013 and Amount Applied From Your 2012 Return 
Use this line if you did any of the following. 
1. Made estimated income tax payments to Arizona for 2013. 
2. Applied any of your refund from your 2012 Arizona 
return to 2013 estimated taxes for Arizona. 
Enter the total amount paid and/or applied to 2013 taxes. 

NOTE:  If you made joint Arizona estimated payments for 2013, 
but are filing separate 2013 Arizona income tax returns, see the 
department’s Income Tax Ruling ITR 02-3, Allocating Joint 
Estimated Payments to Separate Returns.  

Line 30 - 2013 Arizona Extension Payment 
(Form 204) 
Use this line to report the payment you sent with your 
extension request or the electronic extension payment you 
made using www.aztaxes.gov. 

Line 31 - Increased Excise Tax Credit 
You may take this credit if you meet all of the following: 
1. You meet the income threshold for your filing status. 
2. You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer. 
3. You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2013 to a 
 county, state or federal prison. 
If you are married filing a joint return, or a head of 
household, you may take this credit if the amount on Form 
140, page 1, line 12, is $25,000 or less. If you are single or 
married filing a separate return, you may take this credit if 
the amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12 is $12,500 or less.  

To figure your credit, complete the following worksheet. 

NOTE: Do not complete the following worksheet if you are 
claiming the property tax credit on Form 140PTC. Use 
Form 140PTC to figure both the credit for increased excise 
taxes and the property tax credit.  

If you are claiming both the credit for increased excise taxes 
and the property tax credit, enter the increased excise tax 
credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 17, here and enter 
the property tax credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15, 
on line 32. 
 

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet 

If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is the 
amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12, 
$25,000 or less? 
If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is the 
amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12, 
$12,500 or less?  

Check one
Yes No

If you checked no, STOP. You do not qualify for this 
credit. If you checked yes, complete the rest of this 
worksheet.
1. Enter the number of dependents 

you entered on Form 140, page 1, 
box 10, excluding persons listed 
on Page 2, line A3a. Also exclude 
any dependent that is not an 
Arizona resident.

2. Number of personal exemptions. 
If you checked filing status 4, 
enter the number 2 here. If you 
checked filing status 5, 6, or 7, 
enter the number 1 here. 

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total. 
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by 

$25. Enter the result. 
5. Maximum credit. $     100 00
6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5 

here and also enter on Form 140, 
page 1, line 31.

NOTE:  The credit cannot exceed $100 per household. Do 
not claim this credit if someone else in your household has 
already claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your 
household has claimed less than $100, you may claim the 
credit as long as all credit claims filed from your household 
do not exceed $100. 

Line 32 - Property Tax Credit 
You may take the property tax credit if you meet all the following. 
1. You were either 65 or older in 2013 or, if under age 65, 

you were receiving SSI Title 16 income from the Social 
Security Administration. 

NOTE: SSI Title 16 income is not the normal Social 
Security disability. 

2. You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2013. 

3. You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2013. 
You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or 
you did a combination of both. 

4. If you lived alone, your total household income was 
under $3,751.  If you lived with others, the total 
household income was under $5,501.  To see what 
income is included in household income, see the Form 
140PTC instructions. 

Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit. Enter the 
amount from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15. 

Attach Form 140PTC to your return. 

Tax Tip: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your 
claim or extension request by April 15, 2014.  You cannot 
claim this credit on an amended return if you file the 
amended return after the due date of your return.   
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Line 33 - Other Refundable Credits 
Enter the total amount of refundable credits you are claiming 
from any of the following: 
 Form 308-I, Credit for Increased Research Activities - 

Individuals 
 Form 342, Credit for Renewable Energy Industry 
 Form 349, Credit for Qualified Facilities 
 Form 350, Credit for Airline Bankruptcy Payments (for 

2013 only) 

If you enter an amount on this line, be sure you check the 
box or boxes to show which credit(s) you are claiming. Also 
be sure to attach the credit claim form(s)  to your return 
when you file. 

Credit for Increased Research Activities - 
Individuals (Form 308-I) 

A portion of this credit is refundable.  You may qualify for 
the refundable increased research activities credit if you 
incurred qualified research expenses for research conducted 
in Arizona.  For more information about this credit, and to 
see whether you may claim a refund of this credit, see 
Arizona Form 308-I.  

You must attach a copy of your “Certificate of 
Qualification” from the Arizona Commerce Authority, Form 
301 and Form 308-I to your return to claim this credit. 

If you are claiming a refund of the increased research 
activities credit from Form 308-I, enter the amount from 
Form 308-I, Part IV, line 31, here. 

Credit for Renewable Energy Industry (Form 342) 

You may qualify for the refundable renewable energy 
industry credit if you expanded or located a qualified 
renewable energy operation in Arizona.  The tax credit is 
refundable in five equal installments.  Pre-approval and post-
approval are required through the Arizona Commerce 
Authority.  For more information about this credit, see 
Arizona Form 342.  

If you are claiming the credit for renewable energy industry, 
from Form 342, enter the amount from Form 342, Part VI, 
line 18, here. 

Credit for Qualified Facilities (Form 349) 

You may qualify for the refundable qualified facilities credit 
if you expanded or located a qualified facility in Arizona.  
This credit is refundable in five equal installments.  Pre-
approval and post-approval are required through the Arizona 
Commerce Authority.  For more information about this 
credit, see Arizona Form 349. 

You must attach a copy of your “Certification of 
Qualification” from the Arizona Commerce Authority and 
Form 349 to your tax return to claim this credit.  If you are 
claiming a refund of the qualified facilities credit from Form 
349, enter the amount from Form 349, Part VI, line 18, here. 

 

Credit for Airline Bankruptcy Payments (Form 350) 

You may qualify for the refundable airline bankruptcy 
payments credit if you amended your federal tax return 
adjusting your federal adjusted gross income for 
overpayment of tax related to payments received that 
qualified for a Roth IRA rollover under a 2008 federal law.  
For federal tax purposes, individuals were required to amend 
their tax returns to receive any overpayment as a result of the 
qualified rollover(s).  This provision is retroactive to taxable 
years 2001 through 2011. 

Arizona did not conform the federal retroactive provision.  
Instead, any taxpayer that would have received a refund of 
Arizona income tax for taxable years 2001 through 2011, if 
Arizona had conformed to that retroactive provision, is 
allowed a refundable income tax credit on his or her 2013 
income tax return.  The credit is based on the amount of 
refund you would have received if you amended your tax 
returns for taxable years 2001 through 2011.  Enter the 
refundable credit from Form 350, Part II, line 13. 

To claim this credit, complete and attach AZ Form 350 to 
your return. The credit must be claimed on a timely filed 
2013 Arizona income tax return (including extensions) 

If you are claiming more than one of the refundable tax 
credits, add the amounts from the credit forms together and 
enter the total on line 33.  You may use the following table 
to figure the amount to enter on line 33. 

 

2013 

Refundable Credit Worksheet 

1. Enter the refundable credit from 
Form   308-I, Part IV, line 31 

 

2. Enter the refundable credit from 
Form   342, Part VI, line 18. 

 

3. Enter the refundable credit from 
Form 349, Part VI, line 18. 

 

4. Enter the refundable credit from 
Form 350, Part II, line 13. 

 

5.  Add the amounts on lines 1 through 
4.  Enter the total here and on line 
33.

 

Line 34 - Total Payments and Refundable 
Credits 
Line 34 is the total payments and refundable credits claimed.  
Add lines 28 through 33. Enter the total on line 34, if you are 
not claiming the following refundable credit. 

Arizona’s Claim of Right Provision 

If you computed your 2013 tax under Arizona's claim of 
right provisions do the following. 

1. Write "A.R.S. § 43-1029" and the amount of the prior 
year tax reduction in the space to the left of your total 
payment amount. 

2. Include the credit for the prior year tax reduction in the 
total entered on line 34. 
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3. Attach a schedule explaining the amounts repaid and the 
computation of the prior year tax reduction. 

For more information on Arizona's claim of right provisions, 
see Individual Income Tax Procedure ITP 95-1. 

Figuring Your Tax Due or Overpayment  

Line 35 - Tax Due 
If line 27 is more than line 34, you have tax due. Subtract 
line 34 from line 27. Skip lines 36, 37 and 38. 

Line 36 - Overpayment 
If line 34 is more than line 27, subtract line 27 from line 34. 
Complete lines 37 and 38. 

Line 37 - Amount of Line 36 to Apply to 2014 
Estimated Tax 
If you want all or part of your refund applied to next year's 
estimated taxes, enter that amount. 

NOTE: If you apply any of the amount shown on line 36 to 
2014, you cannot use that amount to pay any tax that is later 
found to be due for 2013. You also may not claim a refund 
for that amount until you file your 2014 return. 

Line 38 - Balance of Overpayment 
Subtract line 37 from line 36 to determine your overpayment 
balance before voluntary gifts and any estimated payment 
penalty. 

Making Voluntary Gifts 

You can make voluntary gifts to each of the funds shown 
below. A gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount 
due with your return. 

NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of 
that gift later on an amended return. 

Line 39 - Solutions Teams Assigned to 
Schools Fund  
You may give some or all of your refund to the Solutions 
Teams Assigned to Schools Fund.  You may also give more 
than your entire refund.  If you send in additional money 
with your return, include that amount on line 54.  Enter the 
amount you want to donate on line 39.  
Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund. The 
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money to the 
Arizona Department of Education to fund solutions teams 
assigned to schools.  
Line 40 - Arizona Wildlife Fund  
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona 
Wildlife Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want 
to donate on line 40.  
Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife 
in the state.  Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout and 
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund. 
Gifts are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife 
statewide.  

Line 41  - Child Abuse Prevention Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona 
Child Abuse Prevention Fund. You may also give more than 
your entire refund.  If you send in additional money with 
your return, include that amount on line 54.  Enter the 
amount you want to donate on line 41. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund. This 
fund provides financial aid to community agencies for child 
abuse prevention programs. 

Line 42 - Domestic Violence Shelter Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Domestic 
Violence Shelter Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 42. 
Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Shelter Fund. This fund 
provides financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic violence. 

Line 43 - Political Gift 
Gifts go to one of the following political parties. 
 Americans Elect 
 Democratic 
 Green 
 Libertarian 
 Republican 

You may give some or all of your refund to a political party. 
You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you 
send in additional money with your return, include that 
amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want to donate on 
line 43.  If you donate to a political party, complete line 49. 

Line 44 - National Guard Relief Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the National 
Guard Relief Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want 
to donate on line 44. 

Gifts go to the National Guard Relief Fund. This fund 
provides financial aid to families of Arizona National Guard 
members when the National Guard member is placed on 
active duty and is serving in a combat zone. 

Line 45 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors 
Helping Neighbors Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 45. 

Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund. This fund 
provides eligible recipients with emergency aid in paying 
energy utility bills and conserving energy. 

Line 46 - Special Olympics Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Special Olympics 
Fund. You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you 
send in additional money with your return, include that 
amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want to donate on 
line 46. 

Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund. This fund helps 
provide programs of the Arizona Special Olympics. 
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Line 47 - Veterans’ Donations Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’ 
Donations Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want 
to donate on line 47. 

Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be 
used for veterans in Arizona. 

Line 48 - I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the I Didn’t Pay 
Enough Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 54.  Enter the amount you want 
to donate on line 48. 

Gifts that you make to the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid 
the state by going to the Arizona general fund. 

Line 49 - Political Party 
Check the box for the political party to which you wish to 
give. Select only one party. If you do not select a political 
party, the department will return the amount on line 43. 

Line 50 –  
 Estimated Payment Penalty  
 MSA Withdrawal Penalty  
 AZ Long-Term Health Care Savings Account 

(AZLTHSA) Withdrawal Penalty 

Estimated Payment Penalty 

NOTE:  Do not complete Form 221, Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax by Individuals, if the amount on Form 140, 
page 1, line 28, is more than the amount on Form 140, page 1, 
line 27. If the amount on Form 140, page 1, line 28, is more 
than the amount on Form 140, page 1, line 27, skip line 50, 
unless you must report an MSA penalty and/or a Long-Term 
Health Care Savings Account penalty. 

You must have made Arizona estimated income tax 
payments during 2013 if: 
Your filing status is: AND 

Your Arizona 
gross income 
for 2012 was 
greater than: 

AND 
Your Arizona 
gross income for 
2013 was greater 
than: 

Married Filing Joint $150,000 $150,000

Single $75,000 $75,000
Head of Household $75,000 $75,000
Married Filing 
Separate $75,000 $75,000

If you report as a farmer or fisherman for federal purposes, 
you were not required to make estimated payments during 
2013 if the following apply. 
1. You are a calendar year filer. You file your Arizona 

return by March 1, 2014. You pay in full the amount 
stated on your return as owed. 

2. You are a fiscal year filer. You file your Arizona return 
by the first day of the third month after the end of your 
fiscal year. You pay in full the amount stated on your 
return as owed. 

If the above applies, check Box 2 on line 51 and do not 
complete Form 221. 
An individual who fails to make the required estimated 
payments is subject to penalty on any estimated tax payment 
that is late or underpaid.  
Complete and attach Form 221, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Individuals, to determine if any penalty is due. Enter 
the total penalty from Form 221. 

MSA Withdrawal Penalty 
You must pay a withdrawal penalty if you made an MSA 
withdrawal during 2013 and all of the following apply. 
1. You used the amount withdrawn for purposes other than 

to pay for qualified medical expenses. 
2. You made the withdrawal on a day other than the last 

business day of the year. 
3. The withdrawal is not subject to the federal withdrawal 

penalty. 
The penalty is equal to 10% (.10) of the withdrawal. The 
withdrawal penalty is not subject to abatement. You must 
remit this penalty with your income tax return filed for the 
year in which you made the withdrawal. 
Multiply the amount of your withdrawal subject to penalty 
by 10% (.10). Enter the result. 
The following withdrawals are not subject to the penalty. 
1. Any withdrawal subject to the federal withdrawal penalty.  
2. Withdrawals made from your MSA on the last business 

day of the tax year. 
3. Any withdrawal made by an account holder who is at 

least age 59 1/2 when he or she makes the withdrawal. 

NOTE: The following are not withdrawals. Do not enter a 
penalty for any of the following. 
 Amounts from the MSA used to pay qualified medical 

expenses 
 A qualified return of excess contributions 
 A qualified rollover 
 The fair market value of an MSA received by a surviving 

spouse who was the deceased account holder's named 
beneficiary 

For more information about the above items, see the 
department's Pub 542, Medical Savings Accounts. 

AZ Long-Term Health Care Savings Account 
(AZLTHSA) Withdrawal Penalty 
You must pay a withdrawal penalty if you made a long-term 
health care savings account withdrawal during 2013 from a 
long-term health care savings account, established under 
Arizona law, for purposes other than to pay for qualified 
long-term health care expenses.  Long-term health care 
expense means any expense you paid for long-term health 
care costs, including the following: 
 expenses for skilled nursing care 
 expenses for home health care 
 personal care or supportive services due to the loss of 

some capacity for self-care based on  a chronic illness or 
condition 

The penalty is equal to 10% (.10) of the withdrawal. You 
must remit this penalty with your income tax return filed for 
the year in which you made the withdrawal. 
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Multiply the amount of your withdrawal subject to penalty 
by 10% (.10). Enter the result. 

NOTE:  If you are subject to more than one of these 
penalties, add the amounts together and enter the total 
on line 50. 

Line 51 - 
Box 1 - Check box 1 if any of the following applies to you: 

1. You checked the box on line 1 of Form 221. 
2. You completed the annualized income worksheet on 

Form 221. 
3. You elected to be treated as a nonresident alien on your 

federal income tax return. You made three estimated 
payment installments. Your first installment equaled 50% 
of the total of all of your required installments. 

Box 2 - If you are an individual who for federal purposes 
 reports as a farmer or fisherman, check box 2. 

Box 3 - If you completed and attached Form 221, check box 3. 
Box 4 - If you included an MSA penalty on line 50, check box 4. 

Box  5 - If you included an AZ Long-Term HSA penalty on line 
50, check box 5. 

Line 52 
Add lines 39 through 48 and 50.  Enter the total. 

Figuring Your Refund or Tax Due 

Line 53 - Refund 
You can get your refund quicker when you e-
file and use direct deposit. 

Subtract line 52 from line 38. Enter your refund on line 53 
and skip line 54. 
If you owe money to any Arizona state agency, court, 
county, incorporated city or town and certain federal 
agencies, your refund may go to pay some of that debt.   If 
so, the department will let you know by letter. 

Tax Tip: If you change your address before you get your 
refund, let the department know. Write to: Refund Desk, 
Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 29216, Phoenix, AZ 
85038-9216. Include your SSN in your letter. 

Direct Deposit of Refund 
Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly 
deposit the amount shown on line 53 into your account at a 
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund, 
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending you a check.  

NOTE: Check the box on line 53A if the direct deposit will 
ultimately be placed in a foreign account.  If you check box 
53A, do not enter your routing or account numbers.  If this box 
is checked, we will not direct deposit your refund.  We will 
send you a check instead.  

Why Use Direct Deposit? 
 You will get your refund fast – even faster if you e-file! 
 Payment is more secure - there is no check to get lost. 
 It is more convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit 

your check. 
 Saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less 

to process than a check. 

NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter 
the wrong account information. Check with your financial 
institution to get the correct routing and account numbers 
and to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted. 

Routing Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT 
ROUTING NUMBER 
The routing number must be 9 digits. The first 2 digits must 
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct 
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead. On the 
sample check, the routing number is 250250025. 
Your check may state that it is payable through a financial 
institution different from the one at which you have your 
checking account. If so, do not use the routing number on 
that check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the 
correct routing number to enter here. 

Account Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT 
ACCOUNT NUMBER. 
The account number can be up to 17 characters (both 
numbers and letters). DO NOT include hyphens, spaces or 
special symbols. Enter the number from left to right and 
leave any unused boxes blank. On the sample check the 
account number is 20202086. Be sure not to include the 
check number. 

Line 54 - Amount Owed 
Add lines 35 and 52. Enter the amount you owe on line 54. If you 
are making voluntary donations on lines 39 through 48 in excess 
of your overpayment, enter the difference on line 54. You 
may pay only with a check, electronic check, money order, or 
credit card. 

Check or money order 

NOTE:  Attach your check or money order to the front of your 
return in the  upper left hand corner where indicated. Please do 
not send cash. 

Make your check payable to Arizona Department of 
Revenue. Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your 
check or money order.  It may take 2-3 weeks for your 
payment to process. 
The department cannot accept checks or money orders in 
foreign currency. You must make payment in U.S. dollars. 

Electronic payment from your checking or savings 
account 

You can make an electronic payment from your checking or 
savings account to pay your balance due for 2013. There is 
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no fee to use this method. To make an electronic payment, 
go to www.aztaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” 
link. The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-
down box will debit the amount from the checking or 
savings account that you specify. If you make an electronic 
payment from your checking or savings account, you will 
receive a confirmation number. Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment. 

NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be 
coming from a foreign account.  In this case, you must pay by 
check or money order.  

Credit card payment 
You can pay with your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or 
American Express credit card. Go to www.aztaxes.gov and 
click on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit 
card option. This will take you to a third party vendor site 
(provider). The provider will charge you a convenience fee 
based on the amount of your tax payment. The provider will 
tell you what the fee is during the transaction; you will have 
the option to continue or cancel the transaction. If you 
complete the credit card transaction, you will receive a 
confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation 
number as proof of payment. 

Installment Payments 
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 54 when you 
file, you may ask to make monthly installment payments. To 
make this request, complete Arizona Form 140-IA and mail 
the completed form to the address on the Form 140-IA. Do 
not mail Form 140-IA with your income tax return. You 
may obtain Arizona Form 140-IA from our web site at 
www.azdor.gov. 

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 54, you will 
be charged interest and may be charged a late payment 
penalty on the tax not paid by April 15, 2014. To limit the 
interest and penalty charges, pay as much of the tax as 
possible when you file your return. 

Sign Your Return 
You must sign your return. If married filing a joint return, 
both you and your spouse must sign even if only one had 
income. Form 140 is not considered a valid return unless you 
sign it. The department cannot send a refund check without 
proper signatures on the return. 

Instructions Before Mailing 
 Make sure your SSN is on your return. 
 Be sure you enter your daytime telephone number in the 

space provided on the front of your return.  
 Check to make sure that your math is correct. A math 

error can cause delays in processing your return. 
 Make sure your NAME is on the return. If you received 

your return in the mail, use the preprinted label. If the 
label is not correct, do not use it. 

 If claiming dependent exemptions, write the number of 
dependents claimed on the front of the return. On page 2 
of the return, also write each dependent's name, 
relationship, SSN, and the number of months that he or 
she lived in your home. 

 If claiming exemptions for qualifying parents or 
grandparents, write the number of qualifying parents or 
grandparents claimed on the front of the return. On 
page 2 of the return, also write each parent’s or 
grandparent's name, relationship, SSN, and the number 
of months that he or she lived in your home. 

 Check the boxes to make sure you filled in all required boxes. 
 If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you 

check box 82F on page 1 of the return. 
 Sign your return and have your spouse sign, if filing jointly. 
 Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check.  

Attach your check to the front of your return in the 
upper left hand corner where indicated. 

The Department of Revenue may charge you $25 for a check 
returned unpaid by your financial institution. 
 Staple all required documents to the back of your return.  

Please do not use tape.  Documents you must attach 
include those items listed in numbers 1 through 6. 

1. Attach Form(s) W-2 after the last page of your return. Also 
attach Form(s) 1099-R after the last page of your return if 
you had Arizona tax withheld from your pension or annuity. 

2. Attach Arizona Form 301, applicable credit forms, and 
your own schedules after page 2 of your return.  If 
itemizing, attach these forms after your Arizona 
Schedule A and your federal Schedule A. 

3. If claiming a credit for taxes paid to another state or country, 
attach a copy of the other state's or country's filed return. 

4. If you itemize, be sure to attach a copy of the federal 
Schedule A.  Attach the Arizona Schedule A and the 
federal Schedule A directly after page 2 of your return.  
Attach other forms and schedules behind the Schedules A. 

5. If you are claiming a property tax credit, attach a 
completed Form 140PTC and all required documents. 

6. If you have tax exempt interest income, be sure to attach 
a schedule listing the payors and the amount received 
from each payor. 

 Do not send correspondence with your return. 

Filing Your Return 
Before you mail your return, make a copy of your return. 
Also make a copy of any schedules that you are sending in 
with your return. Keep the copies for your records. Be sure 
that you mail the original and not a copy. 
To mail your return, use an envelope that came in your 
booklet.  To avoid delays, if mailing more than one tax 
return please use separate envelopes for each return. 

Where Should I Mail My Return? 
If you are sending a payment with this return, use the 
white address label attached to the envelope. If the envelope 
or label is missing, send the return to:  

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 52016  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2016 

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax 
but are not sending a payment, use the yellow address label 
attached to the envelope. If the envelope or label is missing, 
send the return to: 

Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 52138  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2138 
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Put enough postage on the envelope 
The U.S. Post Office must postmark your return or extension 
request by midnight April 15, 2014. A postage meter 
postmark will not qualify as a timely postmark. Only a 
postmark from the U.S. Post Office will qualify. You may 
also use certain private delivery services designated by the 
IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule. 

How Long To Keep Your Return 
You must keep your records as long as they may be needed 
for the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law. 
Generally, this means you must keep records that support 
items shown on your return until the period of limitations for 
that return runs out. 

The period of limitations is the period of time in which you 
can amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the 
department can assess additional tax. A period of limitations 
is the limited time after which no legal action can be 
brought. Usually, this is four years from the date the return 
was due or filed. 

In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years. 
The period is six years from when you file a return if you 
underreport the income shown on that return by more than 
25%. The department can bring an action at any time if a 

return is false or fraudulent, or you do not file a return. To 
find out more about what records you should keep, get 
federal Publication 552. 

Where’s My Refund? 
If you e-filed, you can expect your refund within 2 weeks of 
the date you e-filed.  If you filed a paper return, you can 
expect your refund within 12 weeks of the date you filed. 
You can check on your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov 
and clicking on “Where’s my refund?”  If you have not 
received your refund within the noted time frames, you may 
call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions. Before you call, be sure to have a copy of your 
2013 tax return on hand.  You will need to know your SSN, 
your filing status and your 5-digit zip code. 

Contacting the Department 
Your tax information on file with the department is 
confidential. If you want the department to discuss your tax 
matters with someone other than yourself, you must authorize 
the department to release confidential information to that 
person. You may use Form 285 to authorize the department to 
release confidential information to your appointee. See Form 
285 for details. 
 
 
 

                       HOW MUCH INCOME CAN YOU HAVE AND PAY NO TAXES?   
                                                             EXAMPLES 

You still have to file a return, but you pay no taxes, if your income is less than the levels shown in the chart below. For purposes of 
this chart, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption claimed (Form 140, page 1, line 17 plus 
the amount on Form 140, page 2, line C15; or Form 140A, page 1, line 18, plus the amount on Form 140A, page 1, line 15, or 
Form 140EZ, page 1, line 6). To rely on this chart, you must claim the family income tax credit, if you qualify. 
 

FILING STATUS

NUMBER OF 
DEPENDENTS SINGLE 

MARRIED FILING 
SEPARATE

UNMARRIED 
HEAD OF 

HOUSEHOLD
MARRIED FILING 

JOINT
0 $   8,594 $   8,594 N/A $   17,182
1 (A)      10,000 10,414 19,482 20,000
2 11,664 12,714 20,135 23,600
3 13,964 15,014 23,800 27,300
4 16,264 17,314 25,200 (C)      31,000
5 18,564 19,614 (B)    26,575 31,000

    

 (A) single, $10,000 
income one dependent

(B) unmarried head of household, 
$26,575 income*, five dependents

(C) married filing joint, $31,000 
income*, four dependents

Income* $ 10,000 $ 26,575 $ 31,000
less:  Dependent exemption -2,300 -11,500 -9,200

Standard deduction -4,945 -9,883 -9,883
Personal exemption -2,100 -4,200 -6,300
Net taxable income $  655 $  992 $ 5,617

Tax (optional tax table) $ 17 $ 25 $ 146
less:  Family tax credit -80 -240 -240

Tax owed $   0 $     0 $     0

*For purposes of these examples, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption amount claimed. 
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Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction for Assets Acquired After December 31, 2011 
Original return             Amended return 

(a) 
Long-Term Capital Gain or (loss) as reported on Federal 
Schedule D (or other form/schedule) and included in 
computation of federal adjusted gross income.   
 
Enter the total net long-term capital gains or (losses) 
from the following forms in each applicable column.  
See page 28 for instructions. 

(b) 
Total net long-
term capital 
gains or 
(losses) 
from all assets 
  

(c) 
Net long-term capital 
gains or (losses) 
included in column (b)  
from assets acquired 
before January 1, 2012 

(d) 
Net long-term capital 
gains or (losses) 
included in column (b) 
from assets acquired 
after December 31, 
2011 

1 Form(s) 8949  Sales and Other Dispositions 
of Capital Assets 1    

2 Form(s) 4797  Sales of Business Property 2    
3 Form(s) 2439  Notice to Shareholder of 

Undistributed Long- Term Capital Gains 3    
4 Form(s) 6252  Installment Sale Income  4    
5 Form(s) 4684  Casualties and Thefts 5    
6 Form(s) 6781  Gains and Losses from Sec. 

1256  Contracts and Straddles 6    
7 Form(s) 8824  Like-Kind Exchanges 7    
8 Partnerships, S corporations, estates, and 

trusts –from AZ 120S Schedule K-1; AZ 165 
Schedule K-1; and AZ 141 Schedule K-1 8    

9 Form(s) 1099-DIV Dividends and 
Distributions  9    

10 Subtotal:  for each column, combine the 
amounts and enter the total. 10    

11 Available long-term capital loss carryover.  
Enter the amount, if any, in each applicable 
column.  11   0.00 

12 Net long-term capital gain or (loss) 
included in computation of your federal 
adjusted gross income.  Subtract line 11 
from line 10 and enter the difference in each 
applicable column.  

 If the amount on line 12, column (d) is a 
net capital (loss), you do not qualify to 
take the subtraction. 

 If the amount on line 12, column (d) is a 
net capital gain, enter the result on Form 
140, page 2, line D33.   

Also enter the amount from line 12, 
column (b) on Form 140, page 2, line 
D32. 12    

  

Your name as shown on AZ 140, page 1 Your Social Security No.  
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Instructions for completing the worksheet 
for the subtraction from Arizona gross 
income for net long-term capital gain from 
assets acquired after December 31, 2011. 

Purpose of the Worksheet  
Beginning in 2013, you may subtract a percentage of any net 
long-term capital gain included in your federal adjusted 
gross income that is from an investment in an asset acquired 
after December 31, 2011.   

For purposes of this subtraction, “qualified” means an 
Arizona asset that was acquired after December 31, 2011. 

To take the allowable subtraction, you must know whether 
the capital gain or (loss) is considered short-term or long-
term.  Only the net long-term capital gain from assets 
acquired after December 31, 2011, is used to compute the 
allowable subtraction.  For more information about 
determining whether a gain or (loss) is short term or long 
term, see federal Publication 544 at www.irs.gov.  

Who Should Complete the Worksheet? 
You must complete this worksheet to take the allowable 
subtraction if you have a net capital gain included in your 
federal adjusted gross income and the gain includes assets 
purchased after December 31, 2011.  

Do not complete this worksheet if either of the following 
applies. 
 You do not have any capital gains to report for the 

current tax year; or  

 You do not have any net capital gain from asset(s) 
acquired after December 31, 2011, to report for the 
current tax year. 

General Instructions 

1. Enter your name and social security number as shown 
on Form 140.  

2. Check the box if this worksheet is for an original or an 
amended return. 

3. Keep this worksheet for your records.   

Line-by-Line instructions 

Columns (a) through (d) 

 Column (a), lines 1 through 8, lists the federal forms 
reported on Schedule D.  Line 9 identifies the total 
capital gain distribution(s) reported on Form(s)  
1099-DIV. 

 Column (b) is the total amount of long-term capital 
gains or (losses) reported on Schedule D or other 
forms/schedules. 

 Column (c) is the amount of the long-term capital gains 
or (losses), included in column (b) for assets acquired 
before January 1, 2012. 

 Column (d) is the amount of the long-term capital gains 
or (losses), included in column (b) for assets acquired 
after December 31, 2011.  

Lines 1 through 8 - Capital Gains or (Losses) 
Reported on Federal Schedule D. 
Enter the long-term capital gain or (loss) from the federal 
form listed that was reported on your federal Schedule D and 
included in the computation of your federal adjusted gross 
income. 

Line 9 - Long-Term Capital Gains or (Losses)  
Enter the total capital gain distribution(s) reported on 
Form(s) 1099-DIV and included in your computation of 
federal adjusted gross income. 

Note:  Some taxpayers are not required to file Schedule D to 
report certain capital gains or (losses).  In these cases, the 
long-term capital gains or (losses) are reported directly on 
the taxpayer’s income tax return.  Enter those items on line 
9 of the worksheet. 

Line 10 - Subtotal 
For each column, combine the amounts listed on lines 1 
through 9 and enter the total. 

Line 11 - Long-Term Capital Loss Carryover 
If you used a long-term capital loss carryover from previous 
tax years to reduce your long-term capital gains for the 
current taxable year, enter the amount used to apply to gains 
from assets acquired before January 1, 2012, in columns (b) 
and (c).    

For tax year 2013, there should be no amount entered on line 
11, column (d).  

Line 12 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the difference in each 
applicable column. 

 If the amount on line 12, column (d) is a negative 
number, you have a net capital loss.  You do not qualify 
to take the subtraction. 

 If the amount on line 12, column (d) is a positive 
number, you have a net capital gain.  Enter the result on 
Form 140, page 2, line D33.   

Also, enter the amount from line 12, column (b) on 
Form 140, page 2, line D32.  


