
This publication is for general information about 
Arizona taxes. For complete details, refer to the Arizona 
Revised Statutes and the Arizona Administrative Code. 
In case of inconsistency or omission in this publication, 
the language of the Arizona Revised Statutes and the 
Arizona Administrative Code will prevail. 

Personal Income Tax 
Arizona's personal income tax is levied on residents and 
on nonresidents earning income in Arizona. Taxpayers 
must file an Arizona income tax return if: the gross 
income is $15,000 or more, Arizona adjusted gross 
income is $11,000 or more if married filing a joint 
return, $5,500 or more if single, head of household, or 
married filing a separate return. 

The starting point for Arizona's individual income tax 
computation for resident individuals is the federal 
adjusted gross income (Arizona gross income). This 
amount is then subject to certain additions and 
subtractions to arrive at Arizona taxable income. Since 
the starting point for the Arizona income tax 
computation for resident individuals is the federal 
adjusted gross income, income taxable for federal 
purposes will likewise be taxable for Arizona purposes, 
unless such income is specifically excludable under 
Arizona law. 

All income earned or received while you are a resident 
(if taxable to the federal government) is taxable to 
Arizona with a few exceptions. The most common 
addition in arriving at Arizona taxable income is interest 
income from non-Arizona municipal bonds. The 
Arizona Form 140, Resident Income Tax Return, 
instructions contain a complete list of the additions to 
income.  

Subtractions in arriving at Arizona taxable income 
include interest income received from United States 
government obligations, Social Security income 
received under Title II of the Social Security Act, and 
railroad retirement benefits received from the Railroad 
Retirement Board under the Railroad Retirement Act. 
Arizona also allows a subtraction of up to $2,500 for 
U.S. Government civil service and military pensions and 
Arizona state or local pension income. Public retirement 
pensions from states other than Arizona do not qualify 
for this subtraction.   

Arizona statutes also provide for either a standard 
deduction or itemized deductions. Arizona allows 
itemized deductions as claimed on the federal income 
tax return, plus a more liberal medical deduction. Since 
Arizona itemized deductions are tied to the federal 
itemized deductions, the amount of home mortgage 
interest and property taxes which can be deducted for 
federal purposes may likewise be deducted for Arizona 
purposes. If a taxpayer chooses not to itemize deductions, 

a standard deduction may be taken. These amounts are 
adjusted annually for inflation. 

Arizona allows a property tax credit for low income, full 
year residents, age 65 or older, or recipients of Title 16 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) if they own or rent 
property upon which Arizona property tax is paid. For 
more information, please refer to Arizona Form 
140PTC, Property Tax Refund (Credit) Claim. 

Arizona also allows a credit for the increased excise tax.  
Taxpayers must meet all of the following: meet the 
income threshold for your filing status, not claimed as a 
dependent by any other taxpayer, and not sentenced for 
at least 60 days of the tax year to a county, state, or 
federal prison. For more information, please refer to 
Arizona Form 140ET, Credit for Increased Excise 
Taxes. 

Arizona Transaction Privilege Tax 
Arizona transaction privilege taxes are imposed on 
persons engaged in certain business classifications, 
including retail sales. Some counties and most Arizona 
cities impose an additional transaction privilege tax.  
Although the transaction privilege tax is usually passed 
on to the consumer, it is actually a tax on the vendor for 
the privilege of doing business in Arizona. The State of 
Arizona does not tax the sale of food for home 
consumption or drugs prescribed by a licensed physician 
or dentist. Most of the large cities license and collect the  
tax independently from the state.  

Arizona Use Taxes 
The State of Arizona imposes a use tax under A.R.S.  
§ 42-5155(A), the tax is imposed on any person who 
uses, stores, or consumes in Arizona any tangible 
personal property purchased from a retailer upon which 
tax has not been collected by the retailer. The person’s 
liability is not extinguished until the tax has been paid to 
this state. Some of the cities in Arizona may impose a 
use tax.  

General Property Taxes 
Arizona does not have a property tax on household 
goods.  Taxing jurisdictions set tax rates on the basis of 
the total assessed valuation within their boundaries and 
the amount of the levy to be raised. For additional 
information, contact the assessor’s office of the specific 
county you are seeking information. 

Estate and Inheritance Tax 
Federal law repealed the federal state death tax credit 
(upon which the Arizona estate tax was based) which 
effectively cancelled the Arizona estate tax.  Following 
the federal repeal, the Arizona legislature repealed the 
Arizona estate tax provisions (Laws 2006, Ch. 262, §3). 
Arizona does not impose an inheritance or gift tax. An 

SUMMARY OF ARIZONA TAXES 

Arizona Department of Revenue Pub 10 Revised July 2015 



inheritance tax waiver is not required for decedents 
dying after 2004 as there is no possibility of tax due.  

Vehicle License Tax 
Arizona charges a Vehicle License Tax (VLT) in lieu of 
a personal property tax on vehicles. The VLT is based 
on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer’s base 
retail price reduced by 16.25% for each year since the 
vehicle was first registered in Arizona. As of December 
1, 2000, the rate is calculated at $2.80 (new vehicles) / 
$2.89 (used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed 
value. For additional information on this tax, please call 
the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor 
Vehicle Division. In the Phoenix area, call 602-255-
0072. In the Tucson area, call 520-629-9808.  Or call 
toll-free  1-800-251-5866. You can also visit their 
website at www.azdot.gov 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 

~ Call ~ 
(602) 255-3381 

Toll-free within AZ: 1-800-352-4090 

~ Write ~ 
Arizona Department of Revenue 

Taxpayer Information & Assistance 
PO Box 29086 

Phoenix AZ 85038-9086 

~ Browse ~ 
www.azdor.gov 

www.AZTaxes.gov 
 
This document is available in an alternative format upon request. 
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