
This publication is designed to help Arizona businesses 
comply with the state’s basic tax and licensing 
requirements. In case of inconsistency or omission in 
this publication, the language of the Arizona Revised 
Statutes and the Arizona Administrative Code will 
prevail. In addition to describing the types of licenses 
and taxes that are applicable in Arizona, a few other 
agencies that impose taxes and require licensing are 
identified. This publication is part of a series of 
publications that discuss in detail transaction privilege 
and other tax issues administered by the state. For 
questions, please see the websites and telephone 
numbers listed on the last pages. 

E-Business Services. To better serve you, DOR offers 
businesses the opportunity to complete the Joint Tax 
Application online at www.AZTaxes.gov. Once the 
license registration is completed, and the business is 
registered to use the site, businesses may file and pay their 
transaction privilege, use and withholding taxes online. 

Arizona Commerce Authority Small Business 
Services has a free online Checklist Program designed 
to help you navigate quickly and easily to information 
on what you need to know, who you need to contact and 
where you need to go to license your business in 
Arizona. It also includes contact information to 
statewide resources and assistance to accelerate your 
business growth. Visit www.azcommerce.com/smallbiz. 

Bingo Tax Licenses are required of, and tax is 
imposed on, bingo operators within the state. For 
information, contact the Department of Revenue, Bingo 
Section. 

City Privilege Tax is generally imposed throughout 
the state. The Department of Revenue collects the tax 
for most cities; therefore, no additional license 
application is necessary. Businesses pay the license fee 
for cities in which they do business in addition to the 
applicable state license fees. Please note that some of 
the cities license and collect their tax independently. 
Please see the Arizona State, County, and City 
Transaction Privilege and Other Tax Rate Tables for 
the tax rates. This form also lists the cities that license 
and collect their tax independently. There are some 
differences between the state and local authorities in the 
taxability of transactions. For questions regarding 
taxability and licensing, contact the agency responsible 
for collecting the tax. Fees for city licenses vary. 

Corporate Annual Report filing and registration 
with the Corporation Commission are required for all 
profit and non-profit corporations. Contact the 
Corporation Commission for details. 

Corporate Income Tax for taxable year 2015 is 6.0% 
of taxable income or $50, whichever is greater. 

 Estimated tax payments are required if the 
taxpayer’s Arizona income tax liability for the 
taxable year is $1,000 or more. 

 Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is the required 
method of payment for corporate estimated tax 
payments if the taxpayer’s Arizona income tax 
liability for the preceding taxable year was $20,000 
or more. Requirements for completion of the 
department’s authorization agreement and for 
voluntary participation in the EFT program are the 
same as for transaction privilege tax listed in this 
publication.  

NOTE: Taxpayers required to make corporate 
estimated payments via EFT that fail to do so will 
be subject to a penalty of 5% of the amount of the 
payment not made by EFT. See ARS § 42-1125(O). 

 Tax return due date. A corporate income tax 
return must be filed with the Department of 
Revenue. The return is due by the 15th day of the 
fourth month following the close of the taxable year 
for regular ("C") corporations. For "S" corporations, 
taxes imposed are due on the 15th day of the third 
month following the close of the taxable year. 

 Delinquent tax returns and payments, except 
estimated tax payments, are subject to the same 
penalties and interest as for transaction privilege tax 
listed in this publication. Late or underpaid 
estimated tax payments are subject to underpayment 
penalty and interest. The underpayment penalty is 
equal to the interest that would accrue on the 
amount not paid for the period of underpayment, not 
to exceed 10 percent of the amount not paid. 

Individual Income Taxes 
Sole proprietors report business income on the Arizona 
individual income tax return. The starting point for an 
individual is the individual’s federal adjusted gross 
income. The individual must complete his or her federal 
return before beginning the Arizona return. Individuals 
whose Arizona gross income exceeds $75,000 may be 
required to make estimated income tax payments. 

License and Registration may be obtained by using 
the Arizona Joint Tax Application (Form JT-1) to apply 
for Transaction Privilege Tax, Use Tax, and Employer 
Withholding and Unemployment Insurance. The 
application is called “joint” because it is used by both 
the Departments of Revenue and Economic Security. It 
allows you to apply for any of the listed licenses and 
registrations on a single application. The application is 
available at our website. To apply for other types of 
licenses that are issued by state agencies, contact those 
agencies directly. Remember that many cities require 
businesses to obtain annual permits in order to conduct 
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business within the city limits. Some people who are 
required to obtain a permit may not be required to 
obtain a license for transaction privilege tax. 

Luxury Tax – Liquor requires wholesalers, 
microbreweries, and domestic farm wineries to file a 
return each month and remit luxury tax on spirituous, 
vinous, and malt liquors. Forms may be obtained from 
the Department of Revenue. Restaurants, bars, and any 
other businesses planning to sell alcoholic beverages 
(retail and wholesale) must be licensed by the Arizona 
Department of Liquor. 

Luxury Tax – Tobacco applies to businesses 
wholesaling cigarettes, cigars, or other tobacco 
products. Anyone who manufactures, produces, ships, 
transports or imports into this state or in any manner 
acquires or possesses cigarettes without stamps or other 
tobacco products upon which taxes have not been paid, 
for the purpose of making the first sale, must be licensed 
with the Arizona Department of Revenue. The license 
fee is $25 and is renewed annually. 

Partnerships doing business in Arizona must file 
Arizona Form 165 to determine what partnership 
income is subject to Arizona income tax. Each partner is 
subject to Arizona income tax on his or her pro rata 
share of partnership income. 

Personal Property Tax is reported to your local 
county assessor’s office. Businesses must list all 
personal property (other than motor vehicles) used in 
the business. Please contact your county assessor for 
more information.  

Taxpayer Bonding may be required in some cases. 
For details, please see the Taxpayer Bonds publication, 
available at our website. 

 Delinquent taxpayers may be required to post 
bonds to protect the state against failure to pay 
transaction privilege tax or withholding based on 
the current or previous tax liability. 

 Contractors must be bonded prior to issuance of 
the transaction privilege tax license unless 
previously licensed or employing in this state with a 
good record of tax filing and payment, or if there is 
no potential tax liability on the proposed project. 
The type of contracting activities performed 
determines the amount of bond required. In 
addition, out-of-state and new contractors must 
submit bonds for each construction project valued at 
more than $50,000 prior to the issuance of building 
permits. Contractors may qualify for exemption 
from the bonding requirements. Please see the 
bonding publication for details regarding 
exemptions. Due to the bonding requirements noted 
above, license applications for contractors can not 

be completed online at www.AZTaxes.gov. Once 
the license and bonding requirements have been 
met, contractors can then register to use 
www.AZTaxes.gov to file and pay their taxes. 

Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) is imposed on the 
seller for doing business in the state, although the tax 
may be passed on to the customer. Various business 
activities are subject to transaction privilege tax and 
must be licensed. Those activities include retail sales, 
restaurants/bars, hotel/motel (transient lodging), 
commercial lease, amusements, personal property 
rentals, contracting, severance (metal mining), 
transporting, nonmetal mining, job printing, publishing, 
utilities, communications, and private (rail) car. A 
transaction privilege tax license must be issued for each 
location at which business is conducted. Businesses 
with multiple locations or business lines can opt to 
license and report for each location separately or have a 
consolidated license (and report aggregate sales). Use 
the Arizona Joint Tax Application to apply for your 
transaction privilege tax license. The cost for each 
license/location is $12. 

Tax rates vary by city and county. Please see the 
Arizona State, County, and City Transaction Privilege 
and Other Tax Rate Tables for details. 

Reporting sales. When filling out the tax return (TPT-
1), the gross income from the business must be reported. 
Tax exempt sales, such as subcontracting business and 
sales for resale (wholesale), may be deducted. 

Use tax must be reported and paid on merchandise 
purchased as an exempt sale for resale that is 
subsequently used by the business and on purchases 
from an out-of-state vendor for use in Arizona. The use 
tax is reported on the TPT-1 under business class code 
030 for items removed from inventory and under 
business class code 029 for purchases from out-of-state 
vendors. Transaction privilege tax and use tax are 
complementary taxes; only one of these taxes can be 
applied to a given transaction. 

When reporting transaction privilege tax, remember 
to file all tax returns whether or not you have any sales. 

Changes that affect the transaction privilege 
tax license 
 Changes in ownership require a new license 

because licenses are not transferable. Use the 
Arizona Joint Tax Application to apply for a new 
license if your business changes from a sole 
proprietorship to a partnership or corporation, or 
undergoes a similar change in organization. Also, if 
the business is a partnership and partners are added 
or removed, a new license is required. 
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 Changes in location or business location do not 
require a new transaction privilege license number. 
When locations are added or there are changes in 
the business name (or DBA) the license number 
does not change; however, a new license is printed 
showing the updated information. License fees are 
required whenever these changes are made and the 
business receives a new print of the license. 

 Other business changes that should be reported to 
the Department of Revenue include changes in the 
mailing address or location of audit records, 
requests to suspend licenses when the business 
plans to temporarily cease operations, and requests 
to change filing frequency. These changes do not 
require a license fee. 

Due Dates. All businesses are required to report on a 
monthly basis, unless specifically authorized to report 
less frequently by the Department of Revenue. Effective 
January 1, 2015, businesses with an annual tax liability 
less than $2,000 may be permitted to report annually; 
those with an annual tax liability between $2,000 and 
$8,000 may be permitted to report on a quarterly basis. 
If the tax liability subsequently increases beyond the 
criteria mentioned above after a business has been 
authorized to report less frequently, the business must 
begin reporting and paying the tax at the appropriate 
frequency; otherwise, penalties and interest will accrue 
for late reporting and payment. New business licenses 
may qualify for monthly or quarterly filing based on the 
anticipated annual income for your first twelve months 
of business. For all taxpayers who elect not to file 
electronically, TPT returns must be received by the 
Department on or before the second to last business day 
of the month. This includes returns filed by mail or hand 
delivered to the Arizona Department of Revenue. 
Returns and payments from businesses required to pay 
via electronic funds transfer (EFT) or who use 
AZTaxes.gov to file and pay their transaction privilege 
tax must also be received by the second to the last 
business day to be timely. 

Estimated transaction privilege taxes must be paid 
each June by all businesses with an annual tax liability 
of $1,000,000 or more. 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Transaction 
privilege tax and use tax taxpayers with a prior calendar 
year liability of $1,000,000 or more are required to 
remit payments via EFT. Before payments are made via 
EFT, the Authorization Agreement for Electronic Funds 
Transfer (ADOR 10366) must be completed and 
submitted to the department’s EFT Unit. The 
department will send a confirmation of the taxpayer’s 
enrollment in the EFT program along with further 
payment instructions. Taxpayers not meeting the 

mandatory level of participation are allowed to enroll in 
the program.  

Penalties are 1/2% per month or part of a month for late 
payment and 4 1/2% per month or part of a month for 
late filing, up to a combined maximum of 25%. Interest 
accrues on delinquent payments at the same rate as 
charged by the IRS and, by law, cannot be waived. 

Transaction Privilege Tax Special Situations 
NOTE:  Without proper documentation for tax-exempt 
sales claimed as deductions, the seller may be 
responsible for the tax. 

 Sales for resale (wholesale) are exempt. The 
burden of proving that a sale was for resale is on the 
seller. However, if the seller has a valid Transaction 
Privilege Tax Exemption Certificate (Form 5000) or 
an Arizona Resale Certificate (Form 5000A) on file 
that was completed by the purchaser, the burden of 
proof shall shift to the purchaser. Please contact the 
Department of Revenue to obtain copies of the 
form, or visit the forms link at our website. 

 Subcontracting income is not subject to transaction 
privilege tax if the subcontractor can demonstrate 
that the job was within the control of a prime 
contractor and that the prime contractor is liable for 
the tax on the job. If the subcontractor is given a 
Transaction Privilege Tax Prime Contractor’s 
Certificate (Form 5005) that has been completed by 
the prime contractor, the subcontractor is relieved of 
the burden of proof. Please visit the forms link at 
our website to obtain copies of the certificates. 

 Retail sales of tangible personal property to 
nonresidents temporarily within Arizona, for use 
outside of Arizona, are exempt from transaction 
privilege tax if the seller ships or delivers the 
tangible personal property out of Arizona.  For 
sales other than motor vehicles or boats, to 
substantiate the deduction the seller shall obtain a 
completed Transaction Privilege Tax Exemption 
Certificate (Form 5000) or a written statement from 
such a buyer certifying that the buyer is not a 
resident of Arizona and the property purchased is 
for use outside Arizona. The seller shall also 
maintain records to substantiate the sale was made 
to a nonresident and the out-of-state shipment. For 
sales of motor vehicles, please see Arizona 
Transaction Privilege Tax Procedure  TPP 08-1, 
and the accompanying certificates (Forms 5010, 
5011, 5012 and 5013).  Please visit the department’s 
website to obtain copies of the certificates. 

 Sales to non-profit organizations are generally 
subject to the tax. For additional information, please 
see the Non-Profit Organizations publication, which 
is available at our website. 
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 Solar energy device deductions are available only 
to retailers, lessors and contractors registered with 
the Department of Revenue who sell, lease or install 
qualified solar energy devices. The retailers, lessors 
and contractors may register to sell these items by 
completing the Solar Energy Device Registration 
form (Form 6015).  

Unclaimed Property consists of items such as 
payroll/vendor checks, bank deposits, and insurance 
proceeds that have remained unclaimed for a specified 
period of time.  The abandonment periods range from 
one to fifteen years depending on the type of property.  
Businesses holding these items are required to file an 
unclaimed property report annually and remit the funds 
to the Department of Revenue. 

Unemployment Insurance requires employers to 
register with the Department of Economic Security. 
Employers use the Arizona Joint Tax Application (Form 
JT-1) to register for both withholding and 
unemployment insurance. For unemployment tax rates 
and other information, please contact the Department of 
Economic Security. 

New Hire Reporting requires all public, private, non-
profit and government employers to report every newly 
hired and rehired employee within 20 days of hire to the 
State Directory of New Hires, a program of the Arizona 
Department of Economic Security, Child Support 
Division.  For additional information regarding the new 
hire reporting requirement for an employer, please 
contact the Department of Economic Security. 

Use Tax is the companion tax to the transaction 
privilege tax. Businesses (or individuals) making out-of-
state purchases for their own use – not for resale – on 
which no tax is paid, are required to pay the use tax. 
Therefore, businesses planning to use, store, or consume 
goods brought into Arizona on a regular basis must 
register for use tax using the Arizona Joint Tax 
Application (Form JT-1). Out-of-state vendors 
conducting business in the state or making direct sales 
into Arizona are also required to be registered and to 
collect and report the tax. Payment and reporting 
requirements are the same as for transaction privilege 
tax. The Arizona State, County, and City Transaction 
Privilege and Other Tax Rate Tables identify the use tax 
rates for the state and cities. 

Waste Tire Fee is paid on the retail sales of motor 
vehicle tires, including tires for automobiles, 
motorcycles, trucks, semi-trailers, or other vehicles 
operated on the road. Fees are reported on the Motor 
Vehicle Waste Tire Fee (Form TR-1) and paid to the 
Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis, due the 
20th of the month following the end of each quarter. 

The waste tire fee must be listed separately on any 
invoice. The fee is charged at a rate of 2% of the retail 
sales price, up to a maximum of $2 per tire. On the sales 
of new vehicles (where the price of the tire is not listed 
separately on the bill), the fee is $1 per tire. A credit of 
10 cents per tire is allowed to be kept by the seller. 

Withholding of Arizona income tax is required for 
businesses or individuals who hire employees. There are 
a few exceptions to this requirement. Businesses 
considering the use of “contract” workers are cautioned 
to consult with their tax professional for advice. Use the 
Arizona Joint Tax Application (Form JT-1) to register 
your Employer Identification Number for withholding 
and to begin your unemployment insurance registration 
(there are no registration fees). 

 Withholding percentages  are based on gross 
taxable wages. "Gross taxable wages" is the amount 
that meets the federal definition of “wages” 
contained in Internal Revenue Code § 3401. 
Generally, gross taxable wages are reported in box 1 
of the employee’s federal Form W-2 at the end of 
the calendar year. The available withholding 
percentages are 0.8%, 1.3%, 1.8%, 2.7%, 3.6%, 
4.2% and 5.1%. In addition to electing a 
withholding percentage, employees may also 
designate an additional amount to be withheld from 
each paycheck. Employees elect the applicable 
percentage of Arizona withholding on Form A-4, 
Employees Withholding Allowance Certificate, 
available at our website. 

 Due dates for the quarterly returns (Form A1-QRT) 
are April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31 
for the preceding calendar quarter. Payments are 
due at the same time as the quarterly return if the 
average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld 
in the preceding four calendar quarters does not 
exceed $1,500. If the average amount of Arizona 
income taxes withheld in the preceding four 
calendar quarters exceeds $1,500, the withholding 
payments are due at the same time as the 
employer’s federal withholding deposits. The 
employer must determine its Arizona withholding 
payment schedule for each calendar quarter by 
calculating the average amount of Arizona income 
taxes withheld in the four preceding calendar 
quarters. Employers are granted an automatic 10-
day extension to file the quarterly reconciliation if 
their payments for the quarter were made timely. 

Annual withholding may be allowed if the amount 
collected and payable by the employer in each of 
the preceding calendar quarters did not exceed an 
average of $200. 
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 Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is the required 
method of payment for withholding if the 
employer’s average quarterly withholding liability 
for the preceding calendar year was $20,000 or 
more. Requirements for completion of the 
department’s authorization agreement and for 
voluntary participation in the EFT program are the 
same as for transaction privilege tax listed in this 
publication.  

 The annual reconciliation (Form A-1R) is due 
February 28 of the year following the calendar year 
for which Arizona withholding payments were 
made. The completed form is submitted with the 
state copy of Forms W-2. 

 Penalties for late filing and late payment are the 
same as for transaction privilege tax listed in this 
publication. 

Your Federal TIN (taxpayer identification 
number) 
Your Federal TIN (taxpayer identification number) is 
either your social security number, your employer 
identification number (EIN), or your individual tax 
identification number (ITIN), and must be included on 
every tax return, payment, application, or other 
document submitted to the Department of Revenue. 

EIN is required for:  
 Anyone paying wages to one or more employees. 
 Anyone required to withhold federal taxes on 

income, other than wages, paid to a nonresident 
alien (individual, corporation, partnership, etc.). 

 Trusts except IRA trust 
 Estates 
 Partnerships 
 REMICs (real estate mortgage investment conduits) 
 Corporations 
 Nonprofit organizations (churches, clubs, etc.) 
 Farmers’ cooperatives 
 Plan administrators 

The IRS allows businesses to obtain an EIN online that 
may be used immediately. For more information, go to 
www.irs.gov/businesses/small/index.html and click on 
the “Employer ID Numbers (EINs)” link. You may also 
obtain an EIN from 7:00 am—10:00 pm local time 
Monday through Friday at (800) 829-4933, or fax at 
(215) 516-3990. Failure to supply a federal TIN on tax 
returns or payments will result in a $5 penalty for each 
submission. 

 
 
 
 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
www.azdor.gov 

www.AZTaxes.gov 

1600 W Monroe – Phoenix 85007 
1840 S Mesa Dr., Bldg. # 1352 – Mesa 
400 W Congress – Tucson 85701 

Taxpayer Information & Assistance (TIA) 
For assistance with your account and/or return: 

Phoenix ............................................. 602-255-3381 
Toll free within Arizona 
 .....................................................  1-800-352-4090 

Unclaimed Property ..................... 602-364-0380 

 
Internal Revenue Service 

www.irs.gov 

4041 N Central 
Phoenix AZ 85012 
1-800-829-1040 

 
Arizona Commerce Authority 

www.azcommerce.com 

Small Business Services  
www.azcommerce.com/smallbiz 

Free online Checklist Program to start, operate, and 
grow a business in Arizona 

333 N Central Ave, Suite 1900 
Phoenix AZ 85004 
602-845-1295 
1-800-542-5684 

 
Corporation Commission 

www.azcc.gov 

For information on corporate filings, records, annual 
reports/revocations. 

1200 W Washington 
Phoenix AZ 85007 
602-542-3026 

 
Arizona Department of Economic Security  

Unemployment Insurance 

www.azuitax.com 

For businesses and others who hire employees. 
PO Box 6028 
Phoenix AZ 85005 
602-771-6606 
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Arizona Department of Economic Security  
Child Support Division 

New Hire Reporting 
www.az-newhire.com 

Employers are required to report newly hired and rehired 
employees within 20 calendar days of hire or rehire.   

Child Support Requirements 
To learn more about employer child support requirements, 
please contact Child Support at 602-252-4045 or email 
DCSEEmployerCentral@azdes.gov  

 
Industrial Commission of Arizona 

Worker’s Compensation 
www.ica.state.az.us 

You may be required to provide insurance coverage to 
protect your workers in case of industrial injury. 

800 W Washington 
Phoenix AZ 85007 

Phoenix .................................................. 602-542-4411 
Tucson ................................................... 520-628-5188 

 

Arizona Department of Liquor  
www.azliquor.gov 

For businesses planning to sell alcoholic beverages. 
800 W Washington, 5th floor 
Phoenix AZ 85007 
Phoenix ............................................. 602-542-5141 

 
 

 

Registrar of Contractors 
www.azroc.gov 

Contractors doing business in Arizona may be required 
to be licensed with the Registrar of Contractors. 
1700 W Washington, Suite 105 
Phoenix AZ 85007 
Phoenix ............................................. 602-542-1525 
Toll free from 520 & 928 area codes 
 ...................................................... 1-877-692-9762 

 
Secretary of State 

www.azsos.gov 

For businesses who wish to register their business name 
(optional). 
1700 W Washington, 7th floor 
Phoenix AZ 85007 
602-542-0681 

 
Arizona Department of Weights & Measures 

www.azdwm.gov 

For businesses using weighing & measuring devices, 
including all instruments and devices used for weighing, 
measuring, metering, or counting and any associated 
appliances or accessories. 
4425 W Olive, Suite 134  
Glendale AZ 85302 
Phoenix  ............................................ 602-771-4920 
Outside of Phoenix metro area ..... 1-800-277-6675 

This publication is available in an alternative format upon request. 
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