
This publication is for general information only. It is 
designed to assist taxpayers in complying with current 
laws and rules. In case of inconsistency or omission, the 
Arizona Revised Statutes and/or the Arizona 
Administrative Code will prevail over the language in 
this publication. 

Electronic Funds Transfer Program 
Since January 1, 1993, the State of Arizona has required 
certain taxpayers to remit payments due the state by the 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) system. EFT requires 
the taxpayer to send payments electronically rather than 
writing and mailing a check. It has proven to be a safe, 
efficient payment system that allows the State of 
Arizona to use techniques that banks and businesses 
have used for years. Payments move almost 
instantaneously through this system from taxpayers’ 
accounts into the State Treasury ensuring that payments 
are received by the due date.  

Who is Required to Pay Taxes Electronically? 
The following criteria has been established to determine 
which Arizona taxpayers are required to remit their 
taxes electronically: 

Withholding Tax - Any taxpayer with $20,000 
average quarterly liability for withholding tax 
during the prior tax year. 

Corporate Estimated Tax - Any corporation with 
$20,000 prior tax year liability. 

Transaction Privilege Tax – Any taxpayer with 
$1,000,000 prior tax year liability.  

What is an ACH Transaction? 
The Automated Clearing House (ACH) is a central 
distribution and settlement point, usually the Federal 
Reserve Bank, for the electronic clearing of debits and 
credits between financial institutions. Because it is the 
least expensive and most efficient method of moving 
money, it is becoming more widely used than any other 
transfer system. 

How ACH Works 
Very simply, funds flow from your bank account, 
through the ACH and into the state’s bank account, 
quickly and accurately. The ACH-Debit is the method 
the department has adopted for the EFT program using 
online processing through www.AZTaxes.gov. 
However, the ACH-Credit method will be authorized by 
the department for taxpayers desiring to use this 
method. FedWire is available in emergency situations 
only, and requires prior departmental approval. All 
payment options guarantee security and confidentiality 
in all transactions. 

Register for ACH Debit on AZTaxes.gov 
1. Once you are registered on AZTaxes.gov and 

completed the registration signature card, fax the 
signature card to the License and Registration 
Section at (602) 716-7990.  Once received, it may 
take up to five business days to process.  We will e-
mail a User ID and Password (first time user will be 
prompted to change their password). 

2. The next step is to register for the ACH Debit 
option.  Once you receive your user name and 
password, log on to www.AZTaxes.gov.  The first 
page is the “Business List”.  Click on the business 
account name you want to register to use the ACH 
Debit option.  Go to “Business Registration” on the 
menu to the left of the page. Then click on “ACH 
Debit” at the bottom. Select the debit source and 
enter the required information for that section.  
Select license or account number you wish to 
register then proceed to enter bank account 
information.  Note: Be sure to use the bank 
account information from a check and not a 
deposit slip. 

ACH-Credit 
To apply to use ACH-Credit, download form 10366, 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Disclosure Agreement 
for ACH Credit Filers, from www.azdor.gov. Complete 
the form and fax it to 602-771-9913. It may take up to 
five business days to approve your request. 

A copy of the required Credit Addenda Format will be 
sent to you, along with an approval letter, once your 
authorization agreement has been processed. Then, to 
make a payment, all you have to do is: Instruct your 
bank to initiate an ACH Credit transaction in the 
approved NACHA-CCD+ CREDIT ADDENDA format, 
usually the business day before your payment is due. 
Your payment will be electronically transferred into an 
Arizona Department of Revenue account, normally the 
next business day. Consult your bank for the exact time 
frame required for timely payments. A service fee may 
be charged. 

Corporate Trade Payments 
We do not accept Corporate Trade payments; these will 
be sent back to your bank and a late payment fee may be 
charged. 

Emergency Back-up Procedures Fed Wire 
Prior department approval is required first.  FedWire is 
allowed under emergency situations only. Call the EFT 
Unit for approval to initiate a FedWire. 

Costs 
AZTaxes.gov is free. ACH-Credit and FedWire 
processing costs are paid by you. 
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Deadlines 
For your payment to be timely, it must be received by 
the department on the due date of the payment. If you 
use the ACH-Debit method, you must submit your 
payment on AZTaxes.gov before  5:00 PM MST the 
business day prior to your due date. If you use the 
ACH-Credit method, consult your bank for the time 
frame available for initiating your transaction. 

In emergency situations, when FedWire has been 
approved, you must initiate the wire transfer to ensure 
timely payment and use the credit addenda prescribed 
by the department. 

Late Payments 
A penalty will be imposed if the payment comes in after 
the deadline. If this should occur and you feel you are 
not responsible, you will be asked to furnish the 
following information to the Penalty Review Unit: 

Payment details, including the AZTaxes.gov 
confirmation number, if you are using the ACH-
Debit method. 

A copy of your bank statement confirming that the 
funds were debited from your account on the due 
date if you use the ACH-Credit method. 

If the payment was late due to problems at your bank, a 
letter from the bank stating the extenuating circumstances 
causing the delay will be required. If the department 
determines that you did attempt to transfer payment, the 
penalties may be waived and your payment records will 
be corrected upon receipt of the funds. 

Failure to Pay Electronically 
Effective March 1, 2011, a 5% penalty will be imposed 
on taxpayers mandated to pay electronically but fail to do 
so. Penalty abatement is addressed in Publication 700. 

Holidays or Weekends 
If the payment due date falls on a weekend or State of 
Arizona holiday, the payment will be due in 
immediately available monies on the next business day. 
However, in order to have the payment in immediately 
available monies, you must initiate this payment from 
our website on or before 5:00 PM MST of the last 
business day prior to the State of Arizona holiday or 
weekend. 

For example, if your payment is due on Monday, 
January 16, 2012, a holiday, your payment on our web 
site must be initiated by 5:00 PM MST Friday, January 
13, 2012, the last business day prior to the due date. 
Funds, however, would not be debited from your 
account until Tuesday, January 17, 2012. For a normal 
week without a holiday, a web site payment must be 
initiated on Friday before the 5:00 PM MST deadline to 
result in a debit to your account on Monday. 

Holidays observed by the State of Arizona are as 
follows: 
New Year’s Day  Labor Day 
Martin Luther King Day  Columbus Day 
President’s Day Veterans Day 
Memorial Day  Thanksgiving 
Independence Day  Christmas 

Voluntary Payments vs.  
Mandatory Participation 

Annually, the department makes a determination as to 
whether or not a taxpayer is required to participate in 
the EFT program, based on the prior tax year’s 
corporate, withholding, or transaction privilege tax 
liability. Taxpayers with liability levels below the 
mandatory threshold may enroll in the program on a 
voluntary basis. If a voluntary participant wishes to 
withdraw from the program, the department requests a 
30 day written notice. 

Security 
The use of the EFT system provides high standards of 
safety and security for your funds and payment 
information. All information provided is strictly 
confidential. Since AZTaxes.gov provides a 
confirmation number, each transaction can be tracked 
and an audit trail is established to verify the accuracy of 
the information. 

Changes 
If you are using AZTaxes.gov please log on to your 
account and go to the business list, select the account 
name, and re-register for ACH-Debit option. Print the 
confirmation number for your records. 

Written Reports and Tax Returns 
Quarterly Withholding Tax returns and annual 
Corporate Income Tax returns are due just as before. If 
additional tax is due when filing your return, send a 
check or money order along with your return.  

If the Transaction Privilege Tax return (TPT-1) and 
payment are electronically filed and paid they are due to 
the department by the last business day of the month.  

Questions? 
Contact us Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. 
and 5:00 p.m. MST at (602) 255-3381 or toll free at  
1-800-352-4090. 
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