
2021 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File  Arizona Form 
Corporation, Partnership, and Exempt Organization Returns  120 EXT 
   

For information or help, call one of the numbers listed: 
Phoenix     (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090 
 

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information 
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information, 
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov. 
 

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings 
These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax 
procedures and rulings for more information.  To view or 
print these, go to our website and select Reports & Legal 
Research from the main menu, then click on Legal Research 
and select a Document Type and a Category from the drop 
down menus. 
 

Publications 
To view or print the department’s publications, go to our 
website, select Reports & Legal Research from the main 
menu, and click on Publications in the left hand column. 
 

General Instructions 
 

Use of Form 
 

• Use Arizona Form 120EXT only to apply for an 
extension of time to file Forms 120, 120A, 120S, 99T, 
99M, or 165. 

 

• Nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary organized or 
taxed as an S Corporation: File one Arizona Form 
120EXT to apply for an Arizona extension to file Arizona 
Form 99M. File a second Arizona Form 120EXT to apply 
for an Arizona extension of time to file Arizona Form 
120S.  A valid federal extension may be used to file 
Arizona Form 120S but cannot be used to file Arizona 
Form 99M.  No extension payment is due. 

 

• Nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary organized or 
taxed as a partnership: File one Arizona Form 120EXT to 
apply for an Arizona extension to file Arizona Form 99M. 
File a second Arizona Form 120EXT to apply for an 
Arizona extension of time to file Arizona Form 165.  A 
valid federal extension may be used to file Arizona Form 
165 but cannot be used to file Arizona Form 99M. 

 

• Arizona Form 120S and Arizona Form 165 filers: Use 
Arizona Form 204 to apply for an extension of time to file 
a composite return on Arizona  Form 140NR for 
nonresident individual shareholders or nonresident 
individual partners. 

 

• The department may grant an automatic Arizona 
extension if: (a) the taxpayer pays at least 90% of the tax 
liability by the original due date of the return and (b) 
Arizona Form 120EXT is postmarked or received by the 
original due date of the return. The extension application 
will be denied if the extension application is postmarked 
after the original due date of the return. A copy of Arizona 
Form 120EXT will be returned to the taxpayer only if the 
extension application is denied. 

 

NOTE: Effective for taxable years beginning from and after 
December 31, 2020, automatic extensions for C Corporations 
and for exempt organizations is 7 months from the original 
due date of the return.   
Automatic extensions for S Corporations and for partnerships 
will remain 6 months from the original due date of the return.   
 

• Arizona Form 120EXT or a valid federal extension 
provides an extension of time to file, but does not provide 
an extension of time to pay.  

 

Payment of Tax, Penalties, and Interest 
 

The entire amount of tax, penalties, and interest is due by the 
original due date of the return. 
 

Payment by Electronic Funds Transfer 
 

Taxpayers are required to pay their tax liability by electronic 
funds transfer (EFT) if the taxpayer owes $500 or more for any 
taxable year beginning from and after December 31, 2020. 
 

A taxpayer may apply to the director for an annual waiver 
from the electronic payment requirement.  The application 
must be received by December 31 of each year.  The director 
may grant the waiver if any of the following applies:  
• The taxpayer has no computer. 
• The taxpayer has no internet access. 
• Any other circumstance considered to be worthy by the 

director exists, including: 
o The taxpayer has a sustained record of timely 

payments, and 
o The taxpayer has no delinquent tax account with the 

department. 
 

To request a waiver, submit Arizona Form 292, Electronic 
Filing and Payment Waiver Application, to the department.  
Arizona Form 292 is available at: 
https://azdor.gov/forms/other-forms/electronic-filing-and-
payment-waiver-application. 
 

NOTE: A taxpayer who is required to pay by EFT but who 
fails to do so is subject to a penalty of 5% of the amount of 
the payment not made by EFT.  See A.R.S. § 42-1125(O).   
 

For additional information on EFT, refer to A.R.S. § 42-1129 
and the related Arizona Administrative Code rules (A.A.C. 
R15-10-301 through R15-10-307) for detailed information. 
 

How to Make EFT Payments 
 

Taxpayers making EFT payments must register with the 
department before their EFT payments may be accepted.  An 
officer of the Taxpayer must complete the initial 
registration.   
 

Once registered, taxpayers may use www.AZTaxes.gov to 
make EFT payments: 
 

• Electronic payment from checking or savings account/e-
check/ACH Debit. 
 

Payments can be made electronically from a checking or 
savings account.  Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and choose 
the e check option. Follow the prompts to complete your 
registration.  
 

There is no fee to use this method. This payment method 
will debit the amount from the specified checking or 

http://www.azdor.gov/
https://azdor.gov/forms/other-forms/electronic-filing-and-payment-waiver-application
https://azdor.gov/forms/other-forms/electronic-filing-and-payment-waiver-application
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savings account on the date specified. If an electronic 
payment is made from a checking or savings account, a 
confirmation number will be generated.  Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment.   

 

• Online credit card payment 
 

Payments can be made by American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard, or Visa credit cards. Go to 
www.AZTaxes.gov and choose the credit card option. 
This will take you to the website of the credit card 
payment service provider. Follow the prompts to make 
your payment. 
 

The service provider will charge a fee based on the 
amount of the tax payment. The service provider will 
disclose the amount of the fee during the transaction and 
you will be given the option to continue or cancel.  If you 
accept the fee and complete the credit card transaction, a 
confirmation number will be generated.  Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

Taxpayers may also make EFT payment by ACH Credit.   
 
 

To register to make ACH Credit payments, go to the 
department’s website, www.azdor.gov.  Click on 
“Forms”, then click “Other Forms.”  Click on Form 
number 10366, Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Disclosure Agreement for ACH Credit filers.  Click 
“Download.”  Complete the form as instructed.   Submit 
the completed form at least five business days before the 
first anticipated transaction, as it may take that long to 
process the application.     
 

Fax the completed form to the department at (602) 771-9913.  
You may also email the completed form to the 
department at electronicfundstransfer@azdor.gov.  Once 
the application is processed, the taxpayer will receive 
additional information to present to its bank to make the 
ACH Credit payment.   
 

The payment will be electronically transferred into the 
department’s account, normally the next business day.  
The taxpayer should consult with its bank for the 
timeframe required to make timely payments.  NOTE:  
The taxpayer may be charged a service fee.   

 

NOTE:  Taxpayers using a foreign bank account to make 
EFT payments cannot make EFT payments by ACH Debit.  
The department does not accept ACH Debit payments from 
a foreign bank account.  If the taxpayer wishes to make 
payment by EFT, the payment MUST be made by ACH 
Credit.  See the instructions for ACH Credit above to 
register and make ACH Credit payments.   
 

Acceptance of Federal Extension 
 

NOTE: Federal extensions extend an original Arizona due 
date by the same period of time covered by the Arizona 
extension.  
 

Generally, the taxpayer can use a valid federal extension 
rather than applying for an Arizona extension. The taxpayer 
must pay at least 90% of the tax liability by the original due 
date of the return. Refer to the instructions for line 1 

(extension payment computation) for further information on 
the payment amount.   
  

A corporation whose tax liability for the 2021 taxable year 
was greater than $500 that uses a federal extension of time to 
file must make its 2021 extension payment by EFT.  See the 
Section Payment of Tax Liability by Electronic Funds 
Transfer on page 1 for details on making tax payments by 
EFT.   
 
 

A corporation whose tax liability for the 2021 taxable year 
was less than $500 that uses a federal extension of time to file 
may use Arizona Form 120EXT to remit an extension 
payment via check or money order. Or it may elect to 
participate in EFT.  Mail Arizona Form 120EXT and the 
extension payment to the payment address shown on the 
form. 
 
 

Tax Return Original Due Dates 
 

Arizona Form 99M: 
15th day of the fifth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Arizona Form 99T: 
15th day of the fifth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Arizona Form 120: 
15th day of the fourth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Arizona Form 120A: 
15th day of the fourth month following close of taxable year. 
 

Arizona Form 120S: 
15th day of the third month following close of taxable year. 
 

Arizona Form 165: 
15th day of the third month following close of taxable year. 
 

Penalties and Interest 
 

A. Late Filing Penalty   
 

Without a valid federal or Arizona extension, a return filed 
after the original due date is subject to the late filing penalty. 
A return filed after its extended due date is also subject to the 
late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is 4.5% (.045) of 
the amount of tax required to be shown on the return. The 
penalty period is each month or fraction of a month between 
the due date of the return and the date the taxpayer filed the 
return. The maximum penalty is 25% of the tax found to be 
remaining due. 
 

B. Extension Underpayment Penalty   
 

The taxpayer must pay at least 90% of the tax liability 
reported on its return by the original due date of the return. If 
it does not, the extension underpayment penalty is charged on 
any late or underpaid extension payments. The extension 
underpayment penalty is 0.5% (.005) of the tax not paid for 
each 30-day period or fraction of a 30-day between the 
original due date and the date the tax is paid. The maximum 
penalty is 25% of the unpaid tax. Taxpayers subject to the 
extension underpayment penalty are not subject to the late 
payment penalty described in C below. 
 

C. Late Payment Penalty   
 

The late payment penalty is charged on any amount shown as 
tax on a return that is not paid by the due date. The late 
payment penalty is 0.5% (.005) of the unpaid tax for each 
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month or fraction of a month that the tax remains unpaid, not 
to exceed 10% of the unpaid tax.  
 

NOTE: If more than one of the penalties described in A, B, 
or C apply, the maximum combined penalty is 25%. 
 

Refer to the department’s ruling, CTR 09-1, When do Penalties 
Apply to an Income Tax Return Filed Under an Extension, 
regarding the application of penalties to returns filed under 
extension.  
 

D. Information Return Penalty   
 

An information return that is incomplete or filed after its due 
date (including extensions) is subject to a $100 penalty for each 
month or fraction of a month that the failure continues, up to a 
maximum penalty of $500. This applies to Arizona Form 99M 
and Arizona Form 165.  It also applies to Arizona Form 120S 
when no tax liability is due.  
 

E. Interest   
 

The department charges interest on any portion of the tax not 
paid by the due date. The department compounds interest 
annually and applies it in the same manner and at the same time 
as the IRS. The Arizona rate of interest for both underpayments 
and overpayments for all taxpayers is the federal underpayment 
rate. 
 

On January 1 of each year, the department adds any interest 
outstanding as of that date to the principal amount of the tax. It is 
then a part of the principal amount of the tax and accrues interest 
until paid. 
 

Rounding Dollar Amounts 
 

Taxpayers must round amounts to the nearest whole dollar. If 50 
cents or more, round up to the next dollar. If less than 50 cents, 
round down. 
  
 

Specific Instructions 
 

Type or print the required information in the name, address, and 
information boxes on the top of Arizona Form 120EXT. If the 
taxpayer has a foreign address, enter the information in the 
following order: city, province or state, and country. Follow the 
country’s practice for entering the postal code. Do not 
abbreviate the country’s name. Indicate whether the taxable 
year is a calendar year or a fiscal year; if a fiscal year, indicate 
the taxable year on the top of the form.  
 

All returns, statements, and other documents filed with the 
department require the corporation’s employer identification 
number (EIN), or taxpayer identification number, (TIN). 
Taxpayers that fail to include their TIN may be subject to a 
penalty.  
 

Check One Box 
  

NOTE: Effective for taxable years beginning from and after 
December 31, 2020, automatic extensions for C Corporations 
and for exempt organizations is seven (7) months from the 
original due date.  Automatic extensions for S Corporations 
and for partnerships will remain six (6) months from the 
original due date of the return.   

Arizona Form 120, Arizona Form 120A, Arizona 
Form 99T, or Arizona Form 99M 
  

If you are requesting an Arizona extension for a C Corporation 
or an Exempt Organization, check the box indicating “Arizona 
Form 120, Arizona Form 120A, Arizona Form 99T or Arizona 
Form 99M”.  Enter the Extended Due Date (seven months after 
original due date) and the Taxable Year Ending in the 
corresponding columns. 
 

Arizona Form 120S or Arizona Form 165 
 

If you are requesting an Arizona extension for an S Corporation 
or a Partnership, check the box indicating “Arizona Form 120S 
or Arizona Form 165”.  Enter the Extended Due Date (six 
months after original due date) and the Taxable Year Ending in 
the corresponding columns.  
  

Extension Payment Computation 
(Form120, 120A,  120S and 99T filers only) 
 

NOTE: Refer to the tax form and its instructions for information 
regarding the computation of the tax liability (including the $50 
minimum tax). 
 

Line 1   
 

Arizona Form 120 filers   
 

Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, line 16 of the 
2021 Arizona Form 120. The amount entered on Arizona 
Form 120EXT, line 1 should equal the amount computed for 
the 2021 Arizona Form 120, page 1, line 21, less the amount 
computed for line 22. Reduce this amount by the claim of 
right adjustments, if applicable. If the amount is less than 
zero, enter “0”. 
Arizona Form 120A filers   
 

Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, line 8 of the 
2021 Arizona Form 120A. The amount entered on Arizona 
Form 120EXT, line 1 should equal the amount computed for 
the 2021 Arizona Form 120A, page 1, line 13, less the 
amount computed for line 14. Reduce this amount by the 
claim of right adjustments, if applicable. If the amount is less 
than zero, enter “0”. 
 

Arizona Form 120S filers   
 

The S Corporation itself is subject to tax (including the $50 
minimum tax) only if it has income or (loss) subject to tax at the 
corporate level on the federal Arizona Form 1120S. Income 
subject to tax is excess net passive income, capital gains, or 
certain built-in gains, reported on Arizona Form 120S, page 1, 
lines 2 and 3. Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, line 
12 of the 2021 Arizona Form 120S. The amount entered on 
Arizona Form 120EXT, line 1 should equal the amount 
computed for the 2021 Arizona Form 120S, page 1, line 17, less 
the amount computed for line 18. If the amount is less than zero, 
enter “0”. 
 

Arizona Form 99T filers   
 

Begin the tax liability computation on page 1, line 6 of the 2021 
Arizona Form 99T. The amount entered on Arizona Form 
120EXT, line 1 should equal the amount computed for the 2021 
Arizona Form 99T, page 1, line 11, less the amount computed 
for line 12. If the amount is less than zero, enter “0”. 
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Line 4   
 

If the extension payment is made electronically, enter the 
amount on line 4.  
 

Taxpayers whose Arizona income tax liability for the 2021 
taxable year was $500 or more must make 2021 Arizona income 
tax payments using EFT. See the Section, Payment of Tax 
Liability by Electronic Funds Transfer, on page 1 of these 
instructions, for options on paying the tax liability by EFT.   
 

Taxpayers whose Arizona income tax liability for the 2021 
taxable year was less than $500 may elect to pay by EFT.  They 
may also pay by check or money order.  Make the check or 
money order payable to Arizona Department of Revenue. 
Include the corporation's EIN on the front of the check or money 
order.  If paying by check or money order, include the check or 
money order with Arizona Form 120EXT. 
 

Line 5   
 

The taxpayer must pay at least 90% of its tax liability by the 
original due date of the return. If the estimated tax payments 
reported on line 2 are less than 90% of the amount on line 1, 
the taxpayer must make an extension payment.  Enter the 
amount of payment enclosed with this extension on line 5.   
 
 

Who May Sign Arizona Form 120EXT 
 

The person authorized to sign Arizona Form 120EXT may 
be: 
 

• All forms: a duly authorized agent holding a power of 
attorney; 

• Arizona Form 99T, 120, 120A, or 120S filers: a 
principal officer of the organization; 

• Arizona Form 165 filers: a general partner authorized to 
file the partnership return; 

• Arizona Form 99M filers: 
o Sole proprietorship - the individual who owns the business. 
o Corporation (including a limited liability company 

(LLC) treated as a corporation) - a principal officer 
of the corporation.  

o Partnership (including an LLC treated as a partner-
ship) or unincorporated organization - a general 
partner authorized to file the return.  

o Single member LLC treated as a disregarded entity 
for federal income tax purposes - the owner of the 
LLC or a principal officer authorized to sign.  

o Trust or estate - the fiduciary.  

 

Mailing Arizona Extension Requests 
 

If you are including a payment with the Arizona extension 
request, mail the request and payment to:  
 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29085 

Phoenix, AZ  85038-9085 
 

If you are mailing the request without including a payment 
(because no payment is due or the payment was made 
electronically), mail the request to:  
 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29079 

Phoenix, AZ  85038-9079 
 

The extension request must be postmarked by the original 
due date of the return. Mark "Extension Request" on the 
envelope. No copy will be returned to the taxpayer unless the 
request is denied. Keep a copy of Arizona Form 120EXT for 
the taxpayer's records. 
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