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Phone Numbers 
 
If you have questions, please call one of the following numbers: 
 

Phoenix (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 352-4090 
Form orders (602) 542-4260 
Forms by Fax (602) 542-3756 
Recorded Tax Information 
Phoenix (602) 542-1991 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 845-8192 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
Phoenix (602) 542-4021 
From area codes 520 & 928 toll-free (800) 397-0256 

 
You may also visit our web site at: 
www.azdor.gov 
 
General Instructions 
 
Arizona law provides a credit for contributions made to a 
school tuition organization that provides scholarships or 
grants to qualified schools. 
 
The credit is equal to the amount contributed.  However, for 
single taxpayers or heads of household, the credit cannot 
exceed $500.  For married taxpayers that file a joint return, 
the credit cannot exceed $625.  If married taxpayers file 
separate returns, each spouse may claim only ½ of the credit 
that would have been allowed on a joint return.  
If the allowable tax credit is more than your tax or if you 
have no tax, you may carry the unused credit forward for up 
to the next 5 years.  
This credit is available only to individuals.  Corporations 
may not claim this credit. A partnership may not pass the 
credit through to its partners. An S corporation may not pass 
the credit through to its shareholders. 
 
A school tuition organization is an organization that meets 
all of the following. 
 
• The organization is tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3) 

of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
• The organization allocates at least 90 percent of its 

annual revenue to scholarships or grants. 
 
• The organization makes its scholarships or grants 

available to students of more than one qualified 
school. 

 
A qualified school is a nongovernmental primary or a 
secondary school located in Arizona, or a preschool for 
handicapped students located in Arizona. The school cannot 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, handicap, familial 
status, or national origin.  The primary school must begin 
with kindergarten and the secondary school must end with 
grade 12. 
 
In the case of a preschool for handicapped students, a 
handicapped student is a student who has any of the 
following conditions: 
 
• Hearing impairment. 
• Visual impairment 

• Preschool moderate delay. 
• Preschool severe delay. 
• Preschool speech or language delay. 
 
To determine if your contributions qualify for this credit, 
you should ask the organization if it meets all of the 
requirements.  
Your donation to the school tuition organization will not 
qualify for the credit if you designate the donation for the 
direct benefit of your dependent.  
You cannot claim both a tax credit and an itemized 
deduction for the amount of contributions made to a school 
tuition organization for which you are claiming a credit.  
Before you claim this credit, make sure that the school 
tuition organization gave you a receipt for the contributions 
that you made. The receipt should show all of the following:  
• the name and address of the school tuition organization 
• the name of the taxpayer 
• the taxpayer's social security number 
• the amount paid 
• the date paid  
You may want to attach a copy of your receipt(s) to your 
return.  
For more information on school tax credits, see the Arizona 
Department of Revenue brochure, Pub 707, School Tax 
Credits.  To get a copy of this brochure, visit our web site or 
call one of the numbers listed on this page of these 
instructions.  
Line-by-Line Instructions 
 
Lines 1a, 1b, and 1c -  
Enter the name and address of the school tuition 
organization to which you made contributions. Also enter 
the amount contributed to the school tuition organization.  
If you made contributions to 2 school tuition organizations, 
also complete line 1b.  
If you made contributions to 3 or more school tuition 
organizations, complete an additional schedule. The 
schedule should show the same information required on line 
1a for each of the additional school tuition organizations to 
which you made contributions.  
Add the amount of contributions made to all school tuition 
organizations listed on lines 1a, 1b, and any additional 
schedule. Enter the total on line 1c.  
Line 2 -  
Single taxpayers and taxpayers filing as head of household, 
enter $500 here.  Married taxpayers enter $625 here. 
 
Line 3 - 
 
Enter the smaller of line 1c or line 2. If you are filing a 
separate return, enter ½ of the smaller of line 1c or line 2 
here.  This is the current year's credit. 
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Lines 4 through 9 - Carryover from Prior 
Taxable Years  
Use lines 4 through 9 to figure your total available credit 
carryover from taxable years 1999 through 2003.  Complete 
lines 4 through 9 if you claimed this credit on a return for 
one of these years and the credit was more than your tax.  
NOTE:  You may carry over only that portion of the credit 
that you do not apply to tax.  You cannot carry over any 
amount that you gave that was more than the amount 
allowed as a credit.  For example: During 2004, Mary, a 
single person, gave $700 to a school tuition organization.  
For 2004, Mary is allowed a credit of $500. Mary’s 2004 
tax is $400.  Mary may carryover $100 of the unused $500 
credit to 2005.  Mary cannot claim any credit for the $200 
gift that was more than the allowable credit ($700 minus 
allowable credit of $500). 
 
In column (b), enter the credit originally computed for the 
taxable year listed in column (a).  In column (c), enter the 
amount of the credit from that taxable year which you have 
already used.  Subtract the amount in column (c) from the 
amount in column (b) and enter the difference in column (d).  
Add the amounts entered on lines 4 through 8 in column (d).  
Enter the total on line 9, column (d).  
Lines 10 through 12 - Total Available Credit 
for 2004  
Use lines 10 through 12 to figure your total available credit 
for 2004.  
Line 10 - 
 
Enter the amount from line 3 here. If you are married filing a 
separate return, you may take only ½ of the credit that would 
otherwise be allowed on a joint return.  
Line 11 - 
 
Available credit carryover from prior taxable years.  Enter 
the amount from line 9, column (d).  
Line 12 - 
 
Total available credit.  Add line 10 and line 11.  Enter the 
total here.  
If this is the only credit that you are claiming, and the credit 
shown on line 12 is equal to or less than your Arizona tax 
minus the clean elections fund tax reduction, enter the 
amount from line 12 on Form 140, page 1, line 28 or Form 
140PY, page 1, line 31, or Form 140NR, page 1, line 30.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
If you are claiming the family income tax credit or other 
credits from only Forms 310, 321, and/or 322, complete the 

following worksheet, OR one of the credit worksheets in the 
Form 310, 321, or 322 instructions.   
Credit Worksheet 
1. Enter your Arizona tax less the 

clean elections fund tax reduction 
and family income tax credit if 
applicable. 

 

2. Enter the credit from Form 310, 
line 18. 

 

3. Enter the credit from Form 321, 
line 16. 

 

4. Enter the credit from Form 322, 
line 12. 

 

5. Enter the credit from Form 323, 
line 12. 

 

6. Add the amounts on lines 2, 3, 4, 
and 5. Enter the result. 

 

Compare the amount on line 6 to the amount on line 1.  
If the amount on line 6 is equal to or less than the amount 
on line 1, do one of the following:  
• If filing Form 140, enter the amount from line 6 on 

Form 140, page 1, line 28.  
• If filing form 140PY, enter the amount from line 6 on 

Form 140PY, page 1, line 31.  
• If filing form 140NR, enter the amount from line 6 

on Form 140NR, page 1, line 30.  
If the amount on line 6 is more than the amount on line 1, 
you must complete Form 301.  
If you are claiming nonrefundable credits from forms other 
than Form 310, 321, 322, and/or 323, you must complete 
Form 301.  
If you have to complete Form 301, enter the amount from 
Form 323, line 12 on Form 301, page 1, line 18.  
Note:  If you are married, and file a separate return, you 
may take only one-half of the total credit that would 
otherwise be allowed on a joint return. 
 


