Arizona Form
A1-QRT Arizona Quarterly Withholding Tax Return

|WNOT file more than one original A1-QRT per EIN per quarter.

Taxpayer Information

Name Employer Identification Number (EIN)
Number and street or PO Box QUARTER AND YEAR

I 1 1 1
City or town, state and ZIP Code Enter Quarter (1, 2, 3 or 4) and

four digits of year. See instructions.

Check box if:
A [JAmended Return B [[JAddress Change C []Final Return (CANCEL ACCOUNT)

If this is your final return, the department will cancel your withholding account. Enter the date final
wages were paid and complete Part 6 .............cccceeceeeneeneens P T T T

Business telephone number (with area code) REVENUE USE ONLY. DO NOT MARK IN THIS AREA.

. . . . . ) - . PM
D [JCheck this box if this form is being filed by the surviving employer and the periods covered
by this return are for less than three (3) months. Also enter the following:
Predecessor Employer Name......... L |

‘- RCVD

Predecessor Employer EIN.............

E Total Arizona payroll for this QUAIET ..ottt ettt $

F Total number of employees paid Arizona wages for thisS QUAMET............cuiv e e

Tax Liability Schedule Include all withholding amounts from all sources (i.e. wages & salary, pensions & annuities,

gambling winnings, etc.). See instructions.

A. Quarterly Deposit Schedule: Complete if prior 4 quarter average was not more than $1,500.

A1 Tax Liability. Enter the total amount withheld during the quarter. Also enter this amount on Part 3, line 1.................. A1|

Complete Section A above OR Section B below; DO NOT COMPLETE BOTH.

| B. Monthly or Semi-Weekly/Next Day Deposit Schedule: Complete if prior 4 quarter average was greater than $1,500.

Semi-weekly depositors and taxpayers with a next-day tax deposit obligation during the quarter, CHECK THIS BOX and complete Part 4. []

For lines B1 through B3, enter the total amount withheld for each month in the quarter.

1= Yo o1 T B I o YU URRRRR B1
B2 MONEN 2 LIGDIIEY ...ttt a ettt e ke e e bt e eat e et e e ea b e e bt e em s e e eaeeembeeeseeenbeeeneeeteeenbeeabeaannaean B2
=T 1Y o L (T I I =Y o1 RSP PTSR B3
B4 Total. Enter this amount 0N Part 3, INE T........oo e e e et e e e e e e et ae e e e e e e e e sannreees B4

Tax Computation (See instructions.)

1 Liability: Enter the amount from liN@ AT Or liN@ B4 .........ooiiiiiiiii et 1
2 Payments made during thiS QUAIET. ..........cocuiiiiiiiie ettt ettt st e nene s 2
3 Total Amount Due: Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the difference. Use a minus sign to indicate a
NEJALIVE @IMOUNL. ...ttt a ettt ettt e bt e e a et et e e e e s e e b e e e ae e she e et e e ee st e bt e sab e e bt e naneeebeeeaneenanenneenane 3
. Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is a true, complete
Declaration
and correct return.
Please
Sign
Here TAXPAYER'S SIGNATURE DATE BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER
Paid PAID PREPARER'’S SIGNATURE DATE PAID PREPARER'’S PTIN
Preparer’s
FIRM’S NAME (OR PAID PREPARER’S NAME, IF SELF-EMPLOYED) FIRM’S EIN
Use
Only FIRM’S STREET ADDRESS FIRM’S TELEPHONE NUMBER
CITY STATE ZIP CODE
» Make check payable to: Arizona Department of Revenue. Include EIN on payment.
» Mail return and payment to: Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 29009, Phoenix, AZ 85038-9009
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Name (as shown on page 1)

EIN

Part 4

Semi-Weekly/Next Day Deposit Schedule

A. First Month of Quarter (Days of the Month)

1|0 8|l 15|01 221 291
2|01 9|1 16 |[] 23|[] 30|[]
3|00 10|01 170 241 31|00
4|0 11|01 18| 25|[1 Check a box only if you
5/ 12|11 19|11 26/ had a next-banking day
6|1 13|] 201 27|01
700 14|00 21|00 280 deposit obligation.
Month 1 Liability: Enter total here and on Part 2, IN@ B ...........eiiiiiiiiiiie et e e $
B. Second Month of Quarter (Days of the Month)
1|0 8|l 15|00 221 291
2|1 9|1 16 |[] 23] 30|[]
300 10|01 17|00 241 31|00
4|01 11|01 18| 25|[1 Check a box only if you
5/ 12|11 19|11 26/ had a next-banking day
6|1 13|] 201 27|01
700 14|00 21|00 2810 deposit obligation.
Month 2 Liability: Enter total here and on Part 2, IN@ B2............ooi ittt $
C. Third Month of Quarter (Days of the Month)
1|0 8|l 15|01 221 291
2|1 9|1 16 |[] 23|[] 30|[]
300 10|01 17|00 241 31|00
4|01 11|01 18| 25|[1 Check a box only if you
5|01 12|11 19|L] 26/[] had a next-banking day
6|1 13|] 201 27|01
700 14|00 21|00 2810 deposit obligation.

Month 3 Liability: Enter total here and on Part 2, line B3

Part 5

Amended Form A1-QRT Return Information

$

If you checked the box “Amended Return” in Part 1, explain why an amended Form A1-QRT is being filed (include additional sheets, if necessary):

Part 6

Final Form A1-QRT

If you checked the box “Final Return” in Part 1, check the box that indicates why this is a final return:

1

2
3
4
5
6

| Reorganization or change in business entity (example: from corporation to partnership).

[] Business sold.

[ Business stopped paying wages and will not have any employees in the future.
[] Business permanently closed.
[ Business has only leased or temporary agency employees.

[ other (specify reason): ,

[] Check this box if records will be kept at a location different from the address shown in Part 1.

Name: ,

Number and Street: ,

City:

[J Check this box if there is
Name: ,

Number and Street: ,

City:

, State: ZIP Code: , ,
a successor employer.
, EIN: , ,
, State: ZIP Code: , ,
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Arizona Quarterly Withholding Tax Return

Arizona Form
A1-QRT

For information or help, call one of these numbers:
Phoenix (602) 255-3381
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information,
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov.

Withholding Tax Procedures and Rulings

These instructions may refer to the department’s withholding
tax procedures and rulings for more information. To view or
print these, go to our website and click on Reports & Legal
Research then click on Legal Research and select a Document
Type and Category from the drop down menus.

Publications

To view or print the department’s publications, go to our
website and click on Reports & Legal Research. Then click
on Publications.

Purpose of Form

Employers and other entities that make Arizona withholding
tax payments on a quarterly, monthly, semi-weekly, or the
next day basis, must file Form A1-QRT to reconcile their
payments for the calendar quarter.

Form A1-QRT is also used as:

e The payment transmittal form for payments made on a
quarterly basis when those payments are made by check
or money order, or,

e The written notification to the department that the
business is cancelling its withholding registration.

Form A1-QRT may be filed electronically or the employer
may file a paper Form A1-QRT.

A Payroll Service Company (PSC) filing Form A1-QRT on
behalf of an employer must file Form A1-QRT electronically.

ettt '

'NOTE: An employer must file Form AI-QRT for every :
iquarter. This includes quarters in which the employer has
inot withheld any Arizona tax. For those quarters, the |
iemployer must file a Form AI-QRT that shows zero |
iwithholding liability. These returns must be filed until the |
iemployer cancels its withholding registration by filing a final |
iForm AI-QRT. The only exception is for employers that |
qualify to file and pay on an annual basis (Form A1-APR).

'
'
L g '

General Information

Arizona law requires employers to withhold Arizona income

tax from:

e The payment of wages, salary, or bonus to any employee
whose compensation is for services performed within
Arizona, unless those wages are exempt from Arizona
income tax withholding;

e The premature withdrawal of state and local retirement
contributions; and,

e Payments of prize winnings subject to federal withholding
under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) §§ 1441 or 3402(q)
from:

o The Arizona state lottery commission, or,
o  Arizona sanctioned horse or dog racing.

At the request of the individual receiving the payment,

Arizona income tax may be withheld from the following:

e Retired or retainer pay for service in the military or naval
forces of the United States;

e Payments under the United States civil service retirement

system from the United States government service

retirement and disability fund;

Pensions;

Traditional Individual Retirement Accounts;

Any other annuity;

Unemployment compensation; and

Out-of-state wages earned by an Arizona resident, if the

employer and the employee agree to withhold Arizona

income tax.

For additional information on withholding requirements, refer
to the Employer’s Instructions for the Employee’s Arizona
Withholding Election (Form A-4 Instructions).

NOTE: Arizona law states that all amounts withheld are to be
| treated as if the withholding was from wages paid to an ;
. employee. '

Each employer pays the tax withheld to the department using
the deposit schedule that applies to that employer.

What withholding payments are reconciled using
this form?

All Arizona withholding amounts averaging more than $200
per quarter regardless of the source of those amounts are
reconciled using this form.

File one Form A1-QRT per Employer Identification Number
(EIN) for all Arizona income tax withheld regardless of the
source of the Arizona withholding.

NOTE: [f you file federal Form 941 to report federal
i withholding on Arizona wages and federal Form 945 to report
| federal withholding on Arizona non-wage payments for the
i same EIN, file one AI-ORT to reconcile the total Arizona
i withholding for the quarter. Do not file more than one
+ original AI-QRT for the same EIN for the same quarter.

Electronic Filing of Withholding Tax Returns

Withholding returns shall be filed electronically for taxable

years beginning from and after December 31, 2019, or when

the department establishes an electronic filing program. Any

employer who is required to file its withholding return

electronically may apply to the director for an annual waiver

from the electronic filing requirement. The waiver may be

granted, which may be renewed for one subsequent year, if

any of the following apply:

e  The employer has no computer.

e The employer has no internet access.

e Any other circumstance considered to be worthy by the
director.

To request a waiver, submit Form 292, Electronic Filing and
Payment Waiver Application, to the department. Form 292 is
available at: https://azdor.gov/forms/other-forms/electronic-
filing-and-payment-waiver-application.




Arizona Form A1-QRT

A waiver is not required if the withholding return cannot be
electronically filed for reasons beyond the employer’s control,
including situations in which the employer was instructed by
the Arizona Department of Revenue to file by paper.
Electronic filing of Arizona withholding returns is currently
available to all employers.

e Payroll service providers submit Arizona Form(s) Al-
APR, AIl1-QRT, and Al-R on AZ Web File
at https://efile.aztaxes.gov/AZFSETPortal.

e  All other employers submit Arizona Form(s) A1-APR and
A1-QRT using www.AZTaxes.gov.

Please contact the department at azefile@azdor.gov if you
need assistance in electronically submitting your Arizona
withholding return.

Arizona Withholding Deposit Schedules

For Arizona withholding tax purposes, several deposit
schedules may apply. The schedule that an employer must use
depends on the amount of Arizona tax withheld. These
schedules are based on the average amount withheld during
the prior 4 quarter period. The employer must compute this
average at the start of each new quarter. The deposit schedule
that may apply for one quarter may not be the same schedule
that applies to the next quarter.

 NOTE: Employers whose Arizona withholding tax liability '
! for the 2019 calendar year was $10,000 or more must make '
i Arizona withholding tax payments using EFT. See the section !
i “Payment by Electronic Funds Transfer” on page 4 for

© additional information.

Explanation of Deposit Schedules
The Arizona deposit schedules are as follows:

Previous 4 Quarter
Arizona Withholding
Average
$1,500 or less

Arizona Deposit Schedule

Quarterly
(May deposit on an annual basis
if 4 quarter average is $200 or
less and other criteria met)
Same time as Federal
(Monthly, Semi-weekly, Next
Business Day)

More than $1,500

v which deposit schedule to use, see WTP 16-2, What :
i Withholding Tax Forms and Returns to File and When to File !

 NOTE: An employer that uses the annual deposit schedule
! does not file Form AI-ORT. This employer files Form Al-

Some employers may qualify to make one annual Arizona
withholding payment. The employer must have been in
business for at least a year and must have established a
specified filing and payment history. The employer must also
have an average quarterly Arizona tax withholding of $200 or
less for the 4 preceding calendar quarters. For complete

details, see the instructions for the Annual Payment
Withholding Tax Return, Arizona Form AI-APR.

The payment due date for the annual deposit schedule is:

Period in Which Wages
Paid

Arizona Payment Due By

January — December January 31 of the following

year

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the payment will be timely if made on the next
banking day.

Quarterly Deposit Schedule

An employer that does not qualify to make one annual
Arizona withholding payment and its income tax withheld
during the prior 4 quarters was not greater than $1,500, must
use the quarterly deposit schedule.

The payment due dates for the quarterly deposit schedule are:

Quarter in Which Arizona Payment Due By
Wages Paid

Ist April 30

2nd July 31

3rd October 31

4th January 31
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the payment will be considered timely if made on the
next banking day.

Monthly or Semi-Weekly Deposit Schedule
(Same Time as Federal Deposit Schedule)

When an employer’s prior 4 quarter average of Arizona
income tax withheld is more than $1,500, the employer must
pay its Arizona income tax withheld at the same time it pays
its federal tax.

For federal purposes, there are two deposit schedules, monthly
and semi-weekly. Before the start of each calendar year, the
employer must decide which of the two deposit schedules it
must use. The terms “monthly deposit schedule” and “semi-
weekly deposit schedule” do not refer to how often a business
pays wages. These terms refer to which set of deposit rules
the employer must use. The deposit rules are based on the
dates when wages are paid (cash basis); not on when tax
liabilities are accrued for accounting purposes.

Federal Monthly Deposit Schedule

For federal purposes, this schedule applies when the total
federal tax reported for the federal lookback period was
$50,000 or less. Following the monthly deposit schedule, an
employer must deposit its taxes for wages paid during the
month by the 15™ day of the following month. An Arizona
employer whose prior 4 quarter average is more than $1,500,
who uses this schedule for federal purposes must also deposit
the Arizona tax withheld by the 15" day of the following
month.

: NOTE: If the due date falls on Saturday, Sunday, or a legal '
! holiday, the payment is considered timely if made on the next '
\ banking day. :
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Federal Semi-weekly Deposit Schedule

This schedule applies when the employer’s total federal tax
reported for the federal lookback period was more than
$50,000. An Arizona employer whose prior 4 quarter average
is more than $1,500, who uses semi-weekly deposit schedule
for federal purposes must use this same schedule to pay its
Arizona tax. Use the table below to determine when you must
make your deposit(s).

Semi-weekly Deposit Schedule

Day of the Week Wages
Paid

Payment Due By

Wednesday, Thursday or | The following Wednesday
Friday

Saturday, Sunday, Monday | The following Friday
or Tuesday

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the withholding payment is timely if made on the
next banking day.

Federal Next Business Day Deposit

When the employer accumulates a federal tax liability of
$100,000 or more on any day during a federal deposit period,
the employer must deposit its tax by the close of the next
business day. This applies whether the employer is a monthly
or semi-weekly schedule depositor.

An Arizona employer whose prior 4 quarter average is more
than $1,500, that must deposit its federal tax by the close of
the next business day, must also deposit its Arizona tax by the
close of the next business day. If an employer is a monthly
depositor, that employer will become a semi-weekly depositor
when it incurs a next day deposit obligation. The employer
will remain a semi-weekly depositor for the remainder of the
calendar year and for the following calendar year.

General Instructions

You may file a paper Form A1-QRT, or you may file Form
A1-QRT electronically. To file Form A1-QRT online, your
business must be registered to use www.AZTaxes.gov. To
register, visit www. AZTaxes.gov, and click on “Enroll to File
and Pay Online.”

When filing and paying online do not file a paper return with
the department. If you are using a Payroll Service Company
(PSC), that company must file your A1-QRT electronically.

What are the due dates for filing Form A1-QRT?
Form A1-QRT is due as follows:

Quarter Form *Form Al-
A1-QRT | QRT Extended
Due Date Due Date
1 (January - March) April 30 May 10
2 (April - June) July 31 August 10
3 (July - September) October 31 November 10
4 (October - December) | January 31 February 10

If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday, the return will be considered timely if it is filed by
the next business day. (See General Tax Ruling [GTR] 16-
1, Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns
Through the United States Mail or GTR 16-2, Timely Filing

of Income or Withholding Tax Return — Holidays and
Weekends.)

*Extended due dates for Form A1-QRT are available to
employers who have made every payment on time during

the prior quarter. These employers may have 10 additional
days in which to file their A1-QRT.

Filing an amended return

To amend a previously filed Form A1-QRT, check Box A,
“Amended Return” and complete the form using your
corrected withholding information. Complete Part 5 to
explain why you amended your return.

If you amend a return for a quarter in a prior calendar year,
you must also file an amended Form AIl-R for that year.
Include the state copies of the federal Forms W-2, W-2c, or
corrected copies of Forms W-2G and 1099-R with the
amended Form A1-R.

What to do if you close your business

When your business is sold, discontinued, converted to a new
form, or all your employees are dismissed, you must notify the
department by filing a final return and request the department
close your withholding account. Until you request the
department cancel your withholding account, your
withholding return(s) will continue to be due.

Payroll Service Companies

You may use a Payroll Service Company (PSC) to file your
Form A1-QRT. If you use a PSC, that company must file
your A1-QRT electronically.

Penalties and Interest

Late Filing Penalty

If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This
penalty is 42% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late.
This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the tax found to be
remaining due.

Late Payment Penalty

If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment
penalty. This penalty is % of 1% (.005) of the amount shown
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the
failure continues. We charge this penalty from the original due
date of the return until the date you pay the tax. This penalty
cannot exceed a total of 10% of the unpaid tax.

' NOTE: Ifyou voluntarily file an amended return and pay the
' additional tax due when you file your amended return, the |
! department will not assess the late payment penalty. |
Exceptions are: '

i o The taxpayer is under audit by the department.

| o  The amended return was filed on demand or request by
the department.

i NOTE: [f the penalties in both A and B apply, the maximum |
combined penalty cannot be more than 25%. ;

Additional Failure to Pay Penalty

We may charge an additional penalty if the amount of tax
required to be withheld is not paid by the date set for its
payment. This penalty is 25% (.25) of the amount of tax
required to be withheld and paid to the department.
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Payroll Service Company Penalty

A PSC must make withholding payments electronically. A PSC
must also file Form A1-QRT electronically. A PSC is subject to
a $25 penalty for each failure to make withholding payments
electronically. A PSC is also subject to a $25 penalty for each
failure to file withholding returns electronically. Multiple $25
penalties could apply to the same client on one return. For
example, if Client A is required to make 4 payments in the 3rd
quarter, and none of the payments are made electronically, the
PSC would be subject to four $25 penalties, totaling $100. If the
PSC files a paper Form A1-QRT for Client A, the PSC will be
charged another penalty of $25. The PSC would owe a grand
total of $125 in penalties related to Client A for the 3rd quarter.

Interest

We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. The
Arizona interest rate is the same as the federal rate imposed on
individual taxpayers.

Payment of Tax

The entire amount of tax must be paid by the original due date of
Form A1-QRT. The tax must be paid by the original due date
even if the employer has been granted an extension of time to file
Form A1-QRT.

© business day.

Payment by Electronic Funds Transfer

Employers are required to pay their tax liability by electronic

funds transfer (EFT) if the employer owes:

e $10,000 or more for any taxable year beginning from and
after December 31, 2018, through December 31, 2019;

e $5,000 or more for any taxable year beginning from and after
December 31, 2019, through December 31, 2020; or

e  $500 or more for any taxable year beginning from and after
December 31, 2020.

An employer may apply to the director for an annual waiver from
the electronic payment requirement. The application must be
received by December 31 of each year. The director may grant
the waiver if any of the following applies:
e  The employers has no computer.
e The employers has no internet access.
e Any other circumstance considered to be worthy by the
director exists, including:
o The employers has a sustained record of timely
payments, and,
o No delinquent tax account with the department.
To request a waiver, submit Form 292, Electronic Filing and
Payment Waiver Application, to the department. Form 292 is
available at: https://azdor.gov/forms/other-forms/electronic-filing-
and-payment-waiver-application.

NOTE: An employer who is required to pay by EFT but who fails
| to do so is subject to a penalty of 5% of the amount of the

payment not made by EFT. See A.R.S. § 42-1125(0).

v For additional information on electronic funds transfer, refer to
v ARS. §42-1129 and the related Arizona Administrative Code
v rules (A.A.C. R15-10-301 through RI15-10-307) for detailed

© information.

' NOTE: If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal '
1 holiday, the payment will be considered timely if made on the next

How to Make EFT Payments

Employers making EFT payments must register with the
department before their EFT payments may be accepted. An
officer of the employer must complete the initial registration.

Employers may use AZTaxes.gov to make EFT payments:

e FElectronic payment from
account/e-check/ACH Debit.
Payments can be made electronically from a checking or
savings account. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and choose the

e-check option. Follow the prompts to complete your
registration.

checking or savings

There is no fee to use this method. This payment method will
debit the amount from the specified checking or savings
account on the date specified. If an electronic payment is
made from a checking or savings account, a confirmation
number will be generated. Please keep this confirmation
number as proof of payment.

e  Online credit card payment

Payments can be made by American Express, Discover,
MasterCard, or Visa credit cards. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov
and choose the credit card option. This will take you to the
website of the credit card payment service provider. Follow
the prompts to make your payment.

The service provider will charge a fee based on the amount
of the tax payment. The service provider will disclose the
amount of the fee during the transaction and you will be
given the option to continue or cancel. If you accept the fee
and complete the credit card transaction, a confirmation
number will be generated. Please keep this confirmation
number as proof of payment.

Employers may also make EFT payment by ACH Credit.

To register to make ACH Credit payments, go to the
department’s website, www.azdor.gov. Click on “Forms”,
then click “Other Forms.” Click on Form number 10366,
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Disclosure Agreement for
ACH Credit filers. Click “Download.” Complete the form
as instructed. Submit the completed application at least five
business days before the first anticipated transaction as it
may take that long to process the application.

Fax the completed form to the department at (602) 771-9913.
You may also email the completed form to the department at
electronicfundstransfer@azdor.gov. Once the application is
processed, the employers will receive additional information
to present to its bank to make the ACH Credit payment.

The payment will be electronically transferred into the
department’s account, normally the next business day. The
employers should consult with its bank for the timeframe
required to make timely payments. NOTE: The employers
may be charged a service fee.

 NOTE: Employers using a foreign bank account to make EFT
i payments cannot make EFT payments by ACH Debit. The :
i department does not_accept ACH Debit payments from a :
i foreign bank account. If the employer wishes to make payment :
i by EFT, the payment MUST be made by ACH Credit. See the :
v instructions for ACH Credit above to register and make ACH :
+ Credit payments. '
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Specific Instructions

Part 1 - Taxpayer Information

Name, Address, Phone Number and Address
Change Box

Type or print the employer's name, address, and phone
number in the spaces provided.

If the employer has a foreign address, enter the information in
the following order: city, province or state, and country.
Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code. Do
not abbreviate the country’s name.

Employer Identification Number (EIN)

Enter the employer’s EIN. If the employer does not have an
EIN, it must get one from the Internal Revenue Service. All
returns, statements, or other documents filed with the
department must have the employer’s EIN indicated on them.
Employers that fail to include their EIN may be subject to a

penalty.

Quarter and Year

Enter the quarter and the year for which Form AI1-QRT is
being filed. For this purpose, the term “quarter” refers to a
calendar quarter based on a calendar year. Each quarter is
comprised of three months and each quarter contains the
months shown in the following chart.

Quarter Months in Quarter
Ist January through March
2nd April through June
3rd July through September
4th October through December
Check Boxes:

A. Amended Return

If this is an amended Form A1-QRT, check Box A, “Amended
Return” on page 1. Complete Part 5 to explain why you are
amending this return.

If you amend a return for a quarter in a prior calendar year,
you must also file an amended Form Al-R for that year.
Include the state copies of the federal Forms W-2, W-2¢, or
corrected copies of Forms W-2G and 1099-R with the
amended Form A1-R.

NOTE: An amended Form AI-QRT can only be .
i electronically filed through www.AZTaxes.gov by a PSC or
i by an employer filing through a registered transmitter. All |
i other employers required to file an amended Form AI-QORT |

. must file a paper return.

B. Address Change

If you changed your address since you last filed Form
A1-QRT, enter your current address in Part 1 and check Box
B, “Address Change.”

C. Final Return

If this is a final return, check Box C, “Final Return (CANCEL
ACCOUNT)” to request that the department cancel your
withholding account. Enter the date final wages were paid.
Complete Part 6 to indicate the reason for the cancellation.
Complete the remainder of your return to report your Arizona

income tax withholding liability for the period(s) in which
your account was closed.

NOTE: You must also file a final Form AI-R. Refer to the
| instructions for Form AI-R for assistance in filing your final
. Form AI-R. :

......................................................................

D. Surviving Employer

If you file this return as the surviving employer and the
period(s) covered by this return are for less than three months,
check Box D. Also, enter the Predecessor Employer Name
and EIN in the spaces provided.

Line E - Total Arizona Payroll for the Quarter

Enter the total gross Arizona payroll for this calendar quarter.
This is the amount of wages paid to employees who are
subject to Arizona withholding.

Line F — Total Number of Employees paid Arizona Wages
for this Quarter

Enter the number of employees on your payroll for the quarter
who received wages, tips, or other compensation this quarter.
Include only employees who are subject to Arizona
withholding.

This includes:

1. An employee who had Arizona withholding deducted
from his or her wages in this calendar quarter; and

2.  An employee whose wages were for services performed
in Arizona, but the employee filed an election to not have
any Arizona withholding deducted from his or her wages.

Do not include annuity recipients, independent contractors,
pension recipients, or employees exempt by Arizona law.

Part 2 - Tax Liability Schedule

Complete section A, Quarterly Deposit Schedule, or section
B, Monthly or Semi-Weekly Deposit Schedule. DO NOT
complete both.

Include all withholding amounts from all sources. Arizona
law requires all amounts withheld from pensions and
annuities, gambling winnings, unemployment compensation,
etc., be treated as if the withholding was from wages paid to
an employee. File one Form A1-QRT per EIN for the same
quarter for all Arizona income tax withheld regardless of the
source of the Arizona withholding.

Section A

Complete section A if the average amount of your Arizona tax
withheld for the prior 4 quarters was greater than $200, but
not more than $1,500.

Line A1

Enter the tax amount withheld for the quarter on line Al.
Also, enter this amount in Part 3, line 1. Do not complete
Section B. Continue to Part 3. Do not complete Part 4.

» NOTE: Ifyou are a monthly depositor and incur a next-day
' deposit requirement during the quarter, you become a semi-
\ weekly depositor for the remainder of the quarter.
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Section B

Complete section B if the average amount of your Arizona tax
withheld for the prior 4 quarters was greater than $1,500.

Arizona employers whose prior 4 quarter average of Arizona
income tax withheld is more than $1,500 must pay its Arizona
income tax withheld to the department at the same time it pays
its federal income tax withheld, monthly, semi-weekly, or
next day.

If you are a semi-weekly depositor, or you incurred a next-day
liability, check the box and complete Part 4 before completing
Part 2.

Complete Part 4 only for the months in which you had a semi-
weekly deposit or had a next-day deposit requirement.

Lines B1 through B3

Enter the tax amount withheld for each month of the quarter.
If you are a semi-weekly depositor, or had a next day liability,
enter the amount(s) in Part 4, Schedules A, B, and C on lines
B1 through B3.

Line B4

Total the amounts on lines B1 through B3. Enter the total.
This is the total amount withheld for the quarter.

Part 3 - Tax Computation

Line 1 - Liability (Arizona Tax Withheld or Amount
Required to be Withheld During the Quarter)

¢ Quarterly Depositors

Enter the amount from Part 2, Section A, line Al.

e  Monthly and Semi-weekly Depositors

Enter the amount from Part 2, Section B, line B4.

Line 2 - Payments Made during the Quarter

Enter the total amount of payments made for this quarter.
If no payments were made prior to filing this return,
enter “0”.

Do not include any payment that is made with this return (or
for this return, if you are making a payment for an amount
due for this return).

Line 3 - Total Amount Due

Subtract the amount on line 2 from the amount on line 1. Enter
the difference.

If line 3 is a positive number, this is the amount of tax due.
See the section, Payment of Tax, Penalties, and Interest,
below for details on paying your tax due. If you owe any
penalty or interest, the department will calculate these
amounts and mail a billing notice after the return is processed.
The entire amount of tax must be paid by the due date of Form
AT1-QRT.

If you are filing an amended return and that return shows a
balance due, enclose the amount due with the amended return,
unless your payment must be made by EFT. The department
will send you a bill for any interest or penalty due once the
amended return is processed.

If line 3 is a negative number (an amount less than zero),
this is the overpayment for the quarter. Use a minus sign to
indicate a negative amount. After the return is processed and
payments are confirmed, the overpayment will be applied to
any outstanding liabilities, possibly in another tax type. If the

overpayment exceeds the outstanding liabilities or the
employer has no outstanding liabilities, a refund check will be
issued and mailed to the employer. A refund will not be issued
once the overpayment is applied to a liability.

Payment of Tax, Penalties, and Interest

The entire amount of tax, penalties, and interest is due by the
original due date of the return.

If you are filing an amended return and that return shows a
balance due, enclose the amount due with the amended return.
You may also pay through www.AZTaxes.gov if you are
registered. The department will send you a bill for any interest or
penalty due once the amended return is processed.

Employers required to make payments by EFT, see the
Section, Payment of Tax Liability by Electronic Funds Transfer,
for options to pay your tax liability by EFT.

Employers not required to make payments by EFT, may
elect to pay by EFT. They may also pay by check or money
order. Make the check or money order payable to Arizona
Department of Revenue. Include the corporation's EIN on the
front of the check or money order. If paying by check or money
order, include the check or money order with the return.

Part 4 — Semi-Weekly/Next-Day Deposit
Schedule

If you checked the box in Part 2, Schedule B, complete Part 4
for each month you are required to make withholding deposits
on a semi-weekly schedule or you are required to make a
federal next day deposit.

Enter the amount of Arizona withholding tax liability on the
day (of the month) the liability was incurred. Do not enter the
amount of the withholding payment(s). Enter the total
withholding liability for the month on the line labeled “Month
1,2, 0or 3.

EXAMPLE: Taxpayer R is a semi-weekly depositor. It |
1 incurred an Arizona tax withholding liability on the following
! dates in January 2019: January 3 - $1,500; January 17 - i
1 81,750; and January 31 - $1,600. In Schedule A, R enters :
1 81,500 on line 3; R enters 81,750 on line 17; and R enters |
1 81,600 on line 31. On the line labeled “Month I Liability.” R |
1 enters the total tax liability for January 2019 - 84,850. R also
» enters this amount on Part 2, Schedule B, line BI. :

Taxpayers With Next-Day Obligations: If you have a next-
day obligation, check the box to the right of the day on which
you incurred a next-day withholding obligation. If you do not
have a next-day obligation, do not check the box.

: EXAMPLE: Taxpayer R incurred an Arizona withholding '
! tax liability on the following dates in February 2019:
i February 14 - $2,350, and February 28 - $1,950. In addition,
' R incurred a federal next-day obligation on February 14. In !
i Schedule B, R enters $2,350 on line 14, and checks the box on :
i line 14 to indicate it incurred a next-day liability. R enters its '
i February 28 liability on line 28 and does not check the box
! on line 28 because it did not incur a next-day liability. R '
! enters its liability for February 2019 - $4,300 on the line :
i labeled “Month 2 Liability”. R also enters this amount on !
v Part 2, Schedule B, line B2. '
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Part 5 - Amended Return Information

If this is an amended return, explain why you are amending
Form A1-QRT.

Part 6 — Final Form A1-QRT

Lines 1 through 6 -

If you checked the Box C, “Final Return (CANCEL
ACCOUNT)”, check the box that explains why this is your
final return. If the reason is not provided, check “Other” and
enter your own explanation.

Line 7 -

Check the box and provide name and location of your records
if they will be kept at a different location from the address you
provided in Part 1.

Line 8 -

Check the box and provide the name and address of the
successor employer, if any.

Who Must Sign Form A1-QRT

The following persons are authorized to sign the return for
each type of business entity.

e Sole proprietorship - The individual who owns the
business.

e Corporation [including a limited liability company
(LLC) treated as a corporation] - The president, vice
president, or other principal officer duly authorized to
sign.

e Partnership (including an LLC treated as a
partnership) or unincorporated organization - A
responsible and duly authorized member, partner, or
officer having knowledge of its affairs.

¢ Single member LLC treated as a disregarded entity
for federal income tax purposes - The owner of the
LLC or a principal officer duly authorized to sign.

e Trust or estate - The fiduciary.

Form A1-QRT may be signed by a duly authorized agent of
the taxpayer if a valid power of attorney has been filed.

Paid Preparer Use Only

Paid preparers: Sign and date the return. Complete the firm
name and address lines (the paid preparer’s name and address,
if self-employed).
Paid preparers must provide a Tax Identification Number
(TIN). Paid preparers that fail to include their TIN may be
subject to a penalty.
The TIN for a paid preparer may be one of the following:

e  The preparer’s PTIN,

e The EIN for the business,

e The individual preparer’s social security number

(SSN), if self-employed.
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