2017 Arizona Annual Payment Withholding Tax Return

Arizona Form
A1-APR

For information or help, call one of these numbers:
Phoenix (602) 255-3381
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information,
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov.

Withholding Tax Procedures and Rulings

These instructions may refer to the department’s withholding
tax procedures and rulings. To view or print these, go to our
website and click on Legal Research, then click on
Procedures or Rulings and select a tax type from the drop
down menu.

Publications
To view or print the department’s publications, go to our
website and click on Publications.

What withholding payments are reconciled using
this form?

All Arizona withholding amounts averaging less than $200 per
quarter are reconciled using this form. Arizona law requires
all amounts withheld to be treated as if the withholding was
from wages paid to an employee.

NOTE: If you file federal Form 941 to report federal
withholding on Arizona wages and federal Form 945 to report
federal withholding on Arizona non-wage payments for the
same Employer Identification Number (EIN), AND your total
Arizona withholding amounts are less than $200 per quarter,
file one A1-APR to report and reconcile your total Arizona
withholding for the year. Do not file more than one original
A1-APR for the same EIN for the same period.

General Instructions

Who May Use the Annual Deposit Schedule?

Why is Form A1-APR Filed?

An employer must withhold Arizona income tax from wages
paid for services performed in Arizona, unless those wages are
exempt from Arizona income tax withholding.  Arizona
income tax may also be withheld from pensions and gambling
winnings.

The employer must remit the tax withheld to the department,
based on the deposit schedule that applies to that employer.
Some employers may qualify to make one annual Arizona
withholding payment.

An employer that is eligible to file and pay on an annual basis
files one Form A1-APR per calendar year. Form A1l-APR
may be filed electronically or the employer may file a paper
Form A1-APR.

If a paper Form A1-APR is filed, use Form A1l-APR to
transmit federal Form(s) W-2, W-2c, W-2G (with Arizona
withholding) and 1099-R (with Arizona withholding).

If Form Al-APR is filed electronically, use Form Al-T to
transmit federal Form(s) W-2, Form(s) W-2c, Form W-2 G
(with Arizona withholding), and Form(s) 1099-R (with
Arizona Withholding.

Form A1-APR may also be used as the written notice that the
business is cancelling its withholding registration.

NOTE: Only an employer that qualifies to make its
withholding payment on an annual basis should use
Form A1-APR. If the employer files Form A1-QRT or
Form A1-R, do not file Form A1-APR.

NOTE: For details about other returns and forms that may
be required, see the department’s procedure WTP 16-2, What
Withholding Tax Forms and Returns to File and When to File
Them.

Who May File Form A1-APR?

Employers that qualify to use the annual deposit schedule file
Form Al1-APR.

NOTE: An employer that uses the annual deposit schedule
does not file Form A1-QRT or Form Al-R. This employer
files Form A1-APR instead.

For an employer to qualify to make its withholding payment
on an annual basis, the employer must have been in business
for at least a full calendar year and must have met the
following conditions:

e Established a history of withholding by filing quarterly
returns for at least the 4 preceding calendar quarters.

e Had a withholding liability of more than zero (“0”) for at
least 1 of the previous 4 quarters.

e Had average quarterly Arizona tax withholding of $200 or
less in the last 4 quarters. This will be met if the total
amount withheld in that period is $800 or less.

o Timely filed Form A1-QRT and timely paid its Arizona
withholding for at least 3 out of the last 4 preceding
quarters.

o Filed Form A1-QRT for all preceding quarters.

e Filed the annual reconciliation tax return (Form A1-R) for
all prior calendar years.

o Timely filed Form Al-R for the immediately preceding
calendar year.

e Paid all amounts due [has no balance due (tax, penalty, or
interest) for any prior quarter].

An employer may continue to make its Arizona withholding
payments on an annual basis for the succeeding calendar year
if all of the following conditions are met:

e The average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld by
the employer in the four preceding calendar quarters does
not exceed $200.

e The employer has timely filed the annual payment tax
return (Form A1-APR) and has timely made its annual
Arizona withholding payment for the preceding calendar
year.
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If an employer does not meet all of the qualifying conditions
to continue making its Arizona withholding payments on an
annual basis for the succeeding calendar year:

e That employer must determine its Arizona withholding
payment schedule for succeeding calendar quarters
according to the Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment
Schedule section of Form A1-QRT instructions; and

e That employer shall file quarterly tax returns
(Form A1-QRT) for the succeeding calendar quarters.

What is the due date for filing Form Al-APR
and for Making the Annual Deposit?
Due Date for Payment and Filing Form A1-APR

Period in Which Form Al-APR and
Wages Paid Payment Due By

January - December January 31 of the following year

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed on the
next business day. (See General Tax Ruling [GTR] 16-1,
Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns
Through the United States Mail, or GTR 16-2, Timely
Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Return — Holidays and
Weekends.)

Paper copy

Submit a paper copy of each federal Form W-2, W-2¢, W-2G,
and 1099-R with Form A1-APR.

Optical media

Label the CD-ROM or DVD (CD/DVD) with the employer's
name, EIN, calendar year, and Form W-2 or Form 1099 (or
both, whichever applies). If the CD/DVD is password
protected, note that on the label and indicate the email address
from which you will be sending the password to the
department. Email the password separately to
MediaLibrarian@azdor.gov. Include “Form W-2” or “Form
1099” (or both, whichever applies) in the subject line of the
email. In the body of the email, include the same information
that is on the CD/DVD label.

The department will not return or copy any media.

Employers submitting the information on CD/DVD should
secure the CD/DVD in a hard case and include it with Form
Al-APR.

NOTE: |If you filed Form A1-APR electronically, do not
include a paper copy of Form A1l-APR with the CD/DVD
containing optical media. Instead, submit the CD/DVD with
Form A1-T.

Payment of Tax

The entire amount of tax must be paid by the original due date
of Form A1-APR. The tax must be paid by this due date even
if the employer has been granted an extension of time to file
Form A1-APR.

NOTE: If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the payment will be considered timely if made on the
next business day.

Can you get an extension of time to file Form A1-APR?

You may apply for a 30-day extension of time to file Form
Al1-APR. When asking for an extension, you must show good
cause. You must file the extension request as soon as you
know that you need an extension. The extension request must
be mailed on or before January 31. For details on how to
request an extension, see the department’s procedure, WTP
11-1, Procedure for Requesting Extension of the Filing
Deadline for Annual Withholding Tax Returns.

If you are making a payment with an extension request, you
must make that payment with a completed Form A1-WP.
Show that the payment is for the 4™ Quarter.

Sending Federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-
R to the Department

An employer may send Forms W-2, W-2¢, W-2G, and 1099-R
to the department by attaching paper copies or optical media
to Form A1-APR.

If the employer is filing a paper Form Al-APR, it must send
federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R (either paper
copies or optical media) to the department included with Form
Al-APR.

If the employer is electronically filing Form A1-APR, it must
send in federal Forms W-2, W-2c¢, W-2G, and 1099-R (either
paper copies or optical media) with Form A1-T.

For more details on sending in federal forms using optical
media, see the department’s publication, Pub. 701, Optical
Media Reporting.

Penalties and Interest
A. Late Filing Penalty

If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This
penalty is 4%2% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late.
This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found to be
remaining due.

B. Late Payment Penalty

If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment
penalty. This penalty is % of 1% (.005) of the amount shown
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the
failure continues. We charge this penalty from the original due
date of the return until the date you pay the tax. This penalty
cannot exceed a total of 10% (.10).

NOTE - Amended Return Filers: For taxable periods
beginning after December 31, 2016, if you voluntarily file an
amended return and pay the additional tax due when you file
your amended return, the department will not assess the late
payment penalty. Exceptions are:

e The taxpayer is under audit by the department.

e The amended return was filed on demand or request by
the department.

NOTE: If the penalties in both A and B apply, the maximum
combined penalty cannot be more than 25%.

C. Additional Failure to Pay Penalty

We may charge an additional penalty if the amount of tax
required to be withheld is not paid by the date set for its
payment. This amount may be determined by either the employer
or the department. This penalty is 25% (.25) of the amount of
tax required to be withheld and paid to the department.
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D. Payroll Service Company Penalty

A payroll service company (PSC) must make withholding
payments electronically. A PSC must also file Form A1-APR
electronically. A PSC is subject to a $25 penalty for each
failure to make withholding payments electronically. A PSC
is also subject to a $25 penalty for each failure to file
withholding returns electronically. Multiple $25 penalties
could apply to the same client on one return.

E. Interest

We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. The
Avrizona interest rate is the same as the federal rate imposed on
individual taxpayers.

Specific Instructions

You may file a paper Form Al-APR, or you may file Form
Al-APR electronically. To file Form A1-APR online, the
business must be registered to use www. AZTaxes.gov. When
filing and paying online, the employer does not have to file a
paper return with the department. If you are using a PSC, that
company must file your A1-APR electronically.

e Address Change
If you had an address change since you last filed Form
Al-APR, check the “Address Change” box and enter your
current address in Part 1.

e Final Return
If this is a final return, check the box “Final Return
(CANCEL ACCOUNT).” Enter the date final wages
were paid. By checking this box, you request the
department to cancel your withholding account. Also,
complete Part 6 on page 2 of the form.

e Early-Filed Return
If you cancelled your withholding account during 2018
and are filing your final return before January 31, 2019,
check this box.

e Cancellation Due to Merger or Acquisition
If you cancelled your withholding account due to a
merger or acquisition and the surviving employer is filing
Forms W-2 for the calendar year, check this box.

Part 1 - Taxpayer Information

Part 2 - Arizona Withholding Tax Liability

Name and Address

Enter the employer's name, address, and telephone number in
the spaces provided.

If the employer has a foreign address, enter the information in
the following order: city, province or state, and country.
Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code.

Do not abbreviate the country’s name.

Employer Identification Number (EIN) and Paid
Preparer Taxpayer Identification Number (PTIN)
Enter the employer’s EIN. If the employer does not have an
EIN, it must get one from the Internal Revenue Service.
Paid preparers must provide a TIN. Taxpayers and their paid
preparers that fail to include their EIN or TIN may be subject
to a penalty.
The TIN for a paid preparer may be one of the following:

e The preparer’s PTIN,

e  The preparer’s Social Security Number, or

e The EIN for the business.

Check Boxes:

e Amended Return
If this is an amended Form A1-APR, check the “Amended
Return” box on page 1 of the form. Explain why you are
amending the return in Part 5 on page 2 of the form.
Include the corrected copies of Forms W-2, W-2¢, W-2 G,
and 1099-R with the amended Form A1-APR.

Line 1 -

Enter the amount of Arizona income tax withheld for the
calendar year. Include all amounts withheld, even though you
have not yet paid those amounts. The total entered on line 1
should equal the amount entered on line 7.

Part 3 - Tax Payments

NOTE: An amended Form A1-APR can only be
electronically filed through www.AZTaxes.gov by a PSC or
by an employer filing through a registered transmitter. All
other employers required to file an amended Form A1-APR
must file a paper return.

Line 2 -

Enter the amount of all payments made for 2017. Do not enter
any amount paid with an extension request.

Line 3 -
Enter any payment made with an extension request. If filing

with an extension, attach a copy of the extension request to the
front of Form A1-APR.

Line 4 -
Add lines 2 and 3. Enter the total.

If you are amending Form A1-APR, add lines 2 and 3 and then
subtract any previous amount that was refunded or for which
you received a credit.

Line5 -

If line 1 is more than line 4, subtract line 4 from line 1. Enter
the difference.

This is the amount of tax due. You can pay by check, e-
check, money order, or credit card. If you owe any penalty or
interest, the department will calculate these amounts and mail
a billing notice after the return is processed.

If you are filing an amended return and that return shows a
balance due, enclose the amount due with the amended return.
You may also pay through www.AZtaxes.gov if you are
registered. The department will send you a bill for any
interest or penalty due once the amended return is processed.

Check or Money Order

Make checks payable to Arizona Department of Revenue.
Include the employer's EIN on the front of the check or money
order. Include the check or money order with the return.


http://www.aztaxes.gov/
http://www.aztaxes.gov/
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Internet Payments

Go to www.AZTaxes.gov to register or to make payments
over the Internet.

Electronic payment from checking or savings account

Payments can be made electronically from a checking or
savings account. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and choose the
e-check option. There is no fee to use this method. This
payment method will debit the amount from the specified
checking or savings account on the date specified. If an
electronic payment is made from a checking or savings
account, a confirmation number will be generated. Please keep
this confirmation number as proof of payment.

Credit card payment

Payments can be made by American Express, Discover,
MasterCard, or Visa credit cards. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov
and choose the credit card option. This will take you to the
website of the credit card payment service provider. The
service provider will charge a fee based on the amount of the
tax payment. The service provider will disclose the amount
of the fee during the transaction and you will be given the
option to continue or cancel. If you accept the fee and
complete the credit card transaction, a confirmation number
will be generated. Please keep this confirmation number as
proof of payment.

Line 6 -

If line 4 is more than line 1, subtract line 1 from line 4. Enter
the difference.

This is the amount of overpayment. An overpayment will
first be applied to any unpaid tax. This may include tax due
for another tax type. If the overpayment is more than any
unpaid tax, or if the employer does not have an unpaid balance
of tax, a refund will be issued. A refund will not be issued
once the overpayment is applied to a tax balance.

Part 4 - Federal Form Transmittal Information |

Line 7 -

Enter the total amount of Arizona income tax withheld from
wages paid to employees for 2017. This amount must be the
same as shown on federal Forms W-2, W-2¢, W-2G, and
1099-R.

Line 8 -

Enter the total amount of Arizona wages paid to employees for
2017. This amount must be the same as shown on federal
Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R.

Line 9 -

Enter the total number of Arizona employees for the calendar
year.

Line 10 -

Enter the total number of federal Forms W-2, W-2¢c, W-2G,
and 1099-R submitted with this return.

| Part 5 - Amended Form A1-APR |
If this is an amended return, please explain why you are
amending Form A1-APR.

| Part 6 - Final Form AL1-APR |

If you checked the “Final Return” box on page 1, check the
box that explains why this is a final return. If the reason is not
provided, check “Other” and enter your own explanation.

| Part 7 - Payment and Submission of Return |

Filing Form A1-APR

If filing a paper return, mail Form A1-APR and any required
attachments to:

Arizona Department of Revenue

PO Box 29009

Phoenix AZ 85038-9009

For details on how the department normally determines if a
return has been filed timely, see the department’s ruling, GTR
16-1, Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns
Through the United States Mail.

If payment is due, make check payable to:
Arizona Department of Revenue.
Include the taxpayer’s EIN on the check.

Who Must Sign Form A1-APR

The following persons are authorized to sign the return for
each type of business entity.

e Sole proprietorship - The individual who owns the
business.

e Corporation (including a limited liability company
(LLC) treated as a corporation) - The president, vice
president, or other principal officer duly authorized to
sign.

e Partnership (including an LLC treated as a partner-
ship) or unincorporated organization - A responsible
and duly authorized member, partner, or officer having
knowledge of its affairs.

e Single member LLC treated as a disregarded entity
for federal income tax purposes - The owner of the
LLC or a principal officer duly authorized to sign.

e Trust or estate - The fiduciary.

Form A1-APR may be signed by a duly authorized agent of
the taxpayer if a valid power of attorney has been filed.

Paid Preparer Use Only

A paid preparer must sign Form A1-APR and provide the
information in the Paid Preparer Use Only section, if the
preparer was paid to prepare Form A1-APR and isn't an
employee of the filing entity. The preparer must give you a
copy of the return in addition to the copy to be filed with the
department.
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