
 Arizona Form 
2010 Arizona Annual Payment Withholding Tax Return A1-APR  
 

Obtain additional information or assistance by calling one of 
the numbers listed below: 
 

Phoenix     (602) 255-2060 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 843-7196 
Hearing impaired TDD user 
 Phoenix    (602) 542-4021 
 From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 397-0256 
 

Obtain tax rulings, tax procedures, tax forms and instructions, 
and other tax information by accessing the department's 
Internet home page at www.azdor.gov. 
 

General Instructions 
 

Who May Use Form A1-APR 
 

Employers that qualify to make their withholding payment on 
an annual basis should use Form A1-APR, and should not 
file Form A1-QRT, Form A1-R, or Form A1-WP.  
 

An employer may make its Arizona withholding payments on 
an annual basis if all of the following conditions are met: 
 

 The employer has established a history of withholding 
activity by filing the quarterly tax return (Form 
A1-QRT) for at least the four preceding calendar 
quarters. 

 

 The employer's withholding liability was an amount 
greater than zero for at least one of the four preceding 
calendar quarters. 

 

 The average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld by 
the employer in the four preceding calendar quarters does 
not exceed $200.  The employer will meet this average 
withholding requirement if the total amount withheld in 
the four preceding calendar quarters is $800 or less. 

 

 The employer has timely filed Form A1-QRT and has 
timely made its Arizona withholding payments for at 
least three of the four preceding calendar quarters. 

 

 The employer has filed Form A1-QRT for all preceding 
calendar quarters and does not have a balance due (tax, 
penalty, or interest) for any preceding calendar quarter. 

 

 The employer has filed the annual reconciliation tax return 
(Form A1-R) for all preceding calendar years and has 
timely filed Form A1-R for the preceding calendar year. 

 

An employer may continue to make its Arizona withholding 
payments on an annual basis for the succeeding calendar year 
if all of the following conditions are met: 
 

 The average amount of Arizona income taxes withheld 
by the employer in the four preceding calendar quarters 
does not exceed $200.  
 

 The employer has timely filed the annual payment tax return 
(Form A1-APR) and has timely made its annual Arizona 
withholding payment for the preceding calendar year.  
 

If an employer does not meet all of the qualifying conditions 
to continue making its Arizona withholding payments on an 
annual basis for the succeeding calendar year: 
 

 The employer must determine its Arizona withholding 
payment schedule for succeeding calendar quarters 
according to the Arizona Withholding Liability/Payment 
Schedule section of Form A1-QRT instructions; and 
 

 The employer shall file quarterly tax returns (Form A1-QRT) 
for succeeding calendar quarters. 

 

Filing Original Returns 
 

Returns are due on or before February 28 of the year following 
the close of the calendar year. If the due date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is considered 
timely filed if it is postmarked by the next day that is not a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. If the employer has an 
Arizona extension, file the return by the extended due date. 
Attach a copy of the Arizona extension to the front of the return. 
Send the return to the Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 
29009, Phoenix AZ 85038-9009. 
 

Form A1-APR is also the transmittal form for federal Forms 
W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R (if Forms W-2G and 1099-R 
include Arizona withholding).  These forms are required to 
be filed with Form A1-APR as an integral part of the annual 
reconciliation of taxes withheld from employees and remitted 
to the Department of Revenue. 
 

The department normally determines the timeliness of a return 
by the postmark or other official mark of the U.S. Postal 
Service stamped on the envelope in which the return is mailed. 
Refer to Arizona General Tax Ruling GTR 93-1 for further 
information.  The department will also accept proof of mailing 
from a private delivery service included in the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) list of designated private delivery services.  
Contact the private delivery service for information regarding 
how to obtain written proof of mailing. 
 

Extension of Time to File a Return 
 

An employer may apply for an extension of time to file Form 
A1-APR upon a showing of good cause. The employer must 
file the extension request (Form A1-APR EXT) as soon as 
the employer knows that an extension of time to file is 
necessary. The extension request must be mailed on or before 
the due date of Form A1-APR. An extension cannot be 
granted if the extension request is filed after the due date of 
Form A1-APR. An extension of time to file Form A1-APR is 
also an extension of time to file federal Forms W-2, W-2c, 
W-2G, and/or 1099-R that are required to be filed with that 
return. Be sure to check one box, box 82A if filing under a 30 
day extension or box 82B if filing under a 60 day extension, 
on the front of Form A1-APR to indicate that the form is 
being filed under extension. 
 

NOTE: Form A1-APR EXT will be discontinued after the 2010 
filing season. For calendar year 2011, employers will be required 
to request a withholding extension by letter. Look for more 
details next year in the instructions for the 2011 Form A1-APR. 
 

Payment of Tax 
 

The entire amount of tax is due on or before the original due date 
of Form A1-APR, even if the employer has been granted an 
extension of time to file Form A1-APR. Payments can be made 
via check, electronic check, money order, or credit card. Visit 
www.aztaxes.gov to register and make payments via the internet. 
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Filing Amended Returns 
 

If this is an amended Form A1-APR, check the amended return 
check box on page 1 of the form. Complete the Arizona 
Withholding Tax Liability section, the Tax Payments section, and 
the Federal Form Transmittal Information section on page 1 of the 
form according to the instructions for those sections.  Complete 
the amended return explanation section on page 2 of the form. 
 

Submitting Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R 
 

The department will accept federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, 
and 1099-R (if Forms W-2G and 1099-R include Arizona 
withholding) submitted by either method listed below: 
 

 A paper copy of each federal Form W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 
1099-R can be submitted with Form A1-APR.  Mail Form 
A1-APR and the paper copies of the federal forms to: 

 

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29009 
Phoenix AZ 85038-9009 

 

 Optical media, including an external label to identify the 
filer and characteristics of the media, with the required 
information can be sent to: 

 

 Arizona Department of Revenue 
 Information Technology Division 
 Media Librarian 
 1600 W Monroe 
 Phoenix AZ 85007-2650 
 

Refer to Publication 701, Optical Media Reporting, for 
information regarding optical media specifications for 
reporting federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R. 
 

NOTE: Only the federal attachments to Arizona Form A1-APR 
may be filed via optical media.  A paper copy of Arizona Form 
A1-APR must be filed to the address on the form.  
 

Penalties and Interest 
 

A. Late Filing Penalty. A return filed after the original due date 
is subject to the late filing penalty unless the employer has an 
approved Arizona extension. The employer must attach a copy of 
the approved Arizona extension to the return and check either box 
82A or 82B to indicate that the employer is filing under 
extension. A return filed after its extended due date is also subject 
to the late filing penalty. The late filing penalty is 4½ percent 
(.045) of the amount of tax required to be shown on the return. 
“Amount of tax required to be shown on the return” is the amount 
of tax imposed less the amount of any part of the tax paid on or 
before the beginning of the month. The penalty period is each 
month or fraction of a month between the due date of the return 
and the date the employer filed the return. The maximum penalty 
is 25 percent of the tax found to be remaining due. 
 

B. Late Payment Penalty. The department imposes the late 
payment penalty on any amount shown as tax on the return 
that is not paid by the date prescribed for its payment. The 
late payment penalty is ½ percent (.005) of the unpaid tax for 
each month or fraction of a month the tax remains unpaid, not 
to exceed 10 percent of the unpaid tax. 
 

NOTE: If both of the penalties described in A and B apply, 
the maximum combined penalty is 25 percent. 
 

C. Additional Failure to Pay Penalty. An employer is required 
to withhold Arizona income tax from compensation paid to 
an employee for services performed in Arizona, unless the 
compensation is exempt from Arizona withholding by 
Arizona law.  The amount of tax required to be withheld is 
specified in Title 43, Chapter 4 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.  
The department may impose a penalty if the amount of tax 
required to be withheld, whether the amount of tax is 
determined by the employer or the department, is not paid to 
the department by the date prescribed for its payment.  The 
amount of the penalty is 25 percent of the amount of tax 
required to be withheld and paid to the department. 
 

D. Payroll Service Company Penalty. Beginning for 
withholding tax returns due to be filed from and after 
May 31, 2011, a payroll service company, as defined in 
ARS § 43-418(E)(3), is subject to a $25 penalty for failure to 
make withholding payments electronically and a $25 penalty 
for failure to filed withholding returns electronically. 
Multiple $25 penalties could apply to the same client on one 
return. For example, if Client A is required to make four 
payments in the 3rd quarter, and none of the payments are 
made electronically, the payroll service company would be 
subject to four $25 penalties, a total of $100. If the payroll 
service company files the quarterly reconciliation for Client 
A by paper, an additional penalty of $25 would apply for a 
grand total of $125 in penalties assessed toward the payroll 
service company related to Client A for the 3rd quarter. 
 

E. Interest. The department assesses interest on any portion of the 
tax, whether determined by the department or the employer, not 
paid by the date prescribed for its payment. The department applies 
interest, compounded annually, in the same manner and at the same 
times as prescribed by Internal Revenue Code § 6621 with the 
following exception. Exception: The Arizona rate of interest for 
both underpayments and overpayments for all taxpayers is the 
federal underpayment rate under IRC § 6621(a)(2).  On January 1 
of each year, the department adds any interest outstanding as of that 
date to the principal amount of the tax.  It is then a part of the 
principal amount of the tax and accrues interest until paid. 
 

Specific Instructions 
 

Form A1-APR may be filed online. Taxpayers that are licensed by 
the Arizona Department of Revenue and registered at 
www.aztaxes.gov may file Form A1-APR and make withholding 
payments online. Visit www.aztaxes.gov for more details. 
 

I. Taxpayer Information 
 

Business Name and Address 
 

Type or print the employer's name, address, and phone 
number in the boxes in the Taxpayer Information section. 
Check the appropriate box if this is an amended return, or 
your address has changed. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate that the return is being filed under extension. Check 
only one box. Attach the extension to your return. 
 

NOTE: An amended Form A1-APR cannot be filed through 
www.aztaxes.gov. Employers required to file an amended 
Form A1-APR must file a paper return. 
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Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
 

Enter the employer identification number. An EIN can be 
obtained from the Internal Revenue Service. 
 

All returns, statements, and other documents filed with the 
department require a taxpayer identification number (TIN). 
Taxpayers that fail to include their TIN may be subject to a penalty. 
Paid tax return preparers must include their TIN where requested. 
The TIN for a paid tax return preparer is the individual's social 
security number, preparer identification number, or the employer 
identification number of the business. Paid tax return preparers that 
fail to include their TIN may be subject to a penalty. 
 

Cancellation of Employer's Withholding Account 
 

Check the final return box on page 1 of the form to cancel your 
account. Enter the date that final wages were paid.  Complete 
the reason for cancellation of employer’s withholding account 
section on page 2 of the form. 
 

II. Arizona Withholding Tax Liability 
 

Line 1 -  
 

Original Returns: Enter the amount of Arizona income tax 
withheld for the calendar year. Include all monies withheld, even 
though payment of amounts withheld was not remitted to the 
department until the following February. The total should equal 
the amount entered on line 7. 
 

Amended Returns: Enter the corrected amount of Arizona 
income tax withheld for the calendar year. The total should 
equal the total amount withheld from employee wages as 
shown on the federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R, 
submitted to the department. 
 

III. Tax Payments 
 

Line 2 -  
 

Original Returns: Enter the amount of all payments made for 2010.  
Do not include or enter the amount of an extension payment. 
 

Amended Returns: Enter the amount of all payments made for 
2010. The total should also include the amount of a payment 
sent with the original return and any payments made after the 
original return was filed. Do not include or enter the amount 
of an extension payment. 
 

Line 3 -  
 

Original Returns: Enter any payment made with the application 
for extension of time to file the original return. Attach a copy of 
Form A1-APR EXT to the front of this return. 
 

Amended Returns: Enter any payment made with the 
extension of time to file the original return. 
 

Line 4 -  
 

Original Returns: Add lines 2 and 3.  Enter the total. 
 

Amended Returns: Enter the total of lines 2 and 3 less the 
amount of any previous refunds or the amount of any 
previously applied credits. 
 

Line 5 -  
 

If the amount on line 1 is larger than the amount on line 4, 
there is a balance of tax due.  Subtract line 4 from line 1, and 
enter the difference. Payments can be made via check, 
electronic check, money order, or credit card.  
 

Check or money order 
 

Make checks payable to Arizona Department of Revenue.  
Write the employer's EIN on the front of the check or money 
order. Include the check or money order with the return.   
 

Internet Payments 
 

Employers must be licensed by the Department of Revenue before 
they can register to pay taxes online.  Go to www.aztaxes.gov to 
register and make payments over the internet. 
 

Electronic payment from checking or savings account 
 

Payments can be made electronically from a checking or savings 
account. Go to www.aztaxes.gov and choose the e-check option. 
There is no fee to use this method. This payment method will debit 
the amount from the specified checking or savings account on the 
date specified. If an electronic payment is made from a checking or 
savings account, a confirmation number will be generated. Please 
keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
 

Credit card payment 
 

Payments can be made via American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard or VISA credit cards. Go to www.aztaxes.gov and 
choose the credit card option. This will take you to the website of 
the credit card payment service provider. The service provider will 
charge a convenience fee based on the amount of the tax payment. 
The service provider will disclose the amount of the convenience 
fee during the transaction and the option to continue or cancel the 
transaction will be presented. If you accept the convenience fee and 
complete the credit card transaction, a confirmation number will be 
generated. Please keep this confirmation number as proof of 
payment. 
 

Line 6 -  
 

If the amount on line 4 is larger than the amount on line 1, there is 
an overpayment of tax.  Subtract line 1 from line 4, and enter the 
difference. This is the amount of the overpayment of tax. 
 

Overpayments will be applied to any outstanding liabilities, 
possibly in another tax type. A refund will be issued if the 
employer has no other liabilities. A refund will not be issued 
once the overpayment is applied to a liability. 
 

IV. Federal Form Transmittal Information  
 

Line 7 -  
 

Enter the total amount of Arizona income tax withheld from 
wages paid to employees for 2010 (as shown on federal 
Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R).  
 

Line 8 -  
 

Enter the total amount of wages paid to Arizona employees for 
2010 (as shown on federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, and 1099-R). 
 

Line 9 -  
 

Enter the total number of Arizona employees for the calendar year. 
 

Line 10 -  
 

Enter the total number of federal Forms W-2, W-2c, W-2G, 
and 1099-R submitted with this return. 
 

Amended returns: If you were required to make changes to 
this information since you filed your original Form A1-APR, 
write the corrected information here. 


