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Phone Numbers 

If you have questions, please call one of the following 
numbers: 
Phoenix     (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 & 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090 
Hearing impaired TDD user: 
   Phoenix    (602) 542-4021 
   From area codes 520 & 928, toll-free (800) 397-0256 

You may also visit our web site at www.azdor.gov. 

General Instructions 

For taxable years beginning from and after December 31, 
2006, and ending before January 1, 2012, Arizona law 
provides a credit for an individual who installs a water 
conservation system in his or her residence located in 
Arizona. 
To be eligible for this credit, you must be an Arizona 
resident who is not a dependent of another taxpayer.  This 
credit is available to individuals only.  
To claim this credit, you must have received a credit 
certification from the Arizona Department of Revenue 
(Department) that indicates you are entitled to claim the 
credit and the amount of credit that you are eligible to claim.  
You must attach a copy of the Credit Certification to your 
tax return. 
If the allowable tax credit is more than your tax or if you 
have no tax, you may carry the unused credit forward for up 
to the next 5 consecutive tax years.   

NOTE:  For calendar year filers, tax year 2011 is the last 
year to establish a new credit for a water conservation system.  
Carryovers will be allowed for no more than five taxable 
years. Fiscal year filers, with an ending date after December 
31, 2011, cannot establish a new credit.   

How to Apply for a Credit Certification 

To claim this credit, you must make an application to the 
Department on the Department’s form titled Application for 
Individual Income Tax Credit for Installation of a Water 
Conservation System.  To obtain an application form, or for 
more information about the credit, visit our web site at 
www.azdor.gov.  
You may make an application only after the actual purchase 
and installation of the system.  You must attach a copy of the 
receipt for the purchase and installation of the system. The 
receipt must show the date of the installation.  The 
department may verify that a water conservation system has 
been installed in your residence. 
After reviewing your application, the department will 
determine whether you are eligible for the credit.  If you are 
eligible for the credit, the department will send you a credit 
certification that will indicate the amount of credit you may 
claim.  You must attach a copy of the credit certification to 
your individual income tax return when you file. 
The credit for installing a water conservation system is 25% of 
the cost of the system, or $1,000.  If you install another system in 
a later year, the cumulative credit cannot exceed $1,000 for the 
same residence. 

The department must certify the amount for all water 
conservation system credits allowable for the calendar year.    
The maximum amount of water conservation system credits 
that the department can certify in a calendar year is $250,000.  
Credits will be granted on a first come, first served basis.  If 
an application is received that, if authorized, would require the 
department to exceed $250,000, the department will grant that 
applicant only the remaining credit amount that would not 
exceed the $250,000 limit. 

What is a Water Conservation System? 

A water conservation system is a system or series of 
components or mechanisms that are designed to provide for 
the collection of rainwater or residential graywater.  A water 
conservation system includes a system that is capable of 
storing rainwater or residential graywater for future use and 
reusing the collected water for the same residential property.  
To qualify for the credit, a residential graywater system and 
its installation must comply with rules adopted by the 
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality that relate to 
the recovery and disposal of graywater. 

Line-by-Line Instructions 

Enter the name(s) and taxpayer SSN(s) as shown on Form 
140, 140PY, 140NR or 140X. Fiscal year basis taxpayers 
must indicate the period covered by the taxable year. Attach 
the completed form to the tax return. 

Part I - Credit  

Line 1 -  
Enter the amount of credit shown for the taxable year on the 
Arizona Department of Revenue Credit Certification form.  
You must attach a copy of the Credit Certification form to 
Form 339 when you file. 

Part II - Available Credit Carryover 

Lines 2 through 7 - 

Use Part II to figure your total available credit carryover. 
Complete lines 2 through 7 if you claimed the credit on a 
prior year return and the credit was more than your tax.  

 In column (b), enter the credit originally computed for 
the taxable year listed in column (a). 

 In column (c), enter the amount of the credit from that 
taxable year which you have already used. 

 Subtract the amount in column (c) from the amount in 
column (b) and enter the difference in column (d). 

 Add the amounts on lines 2 through 6 in column (d).    

Enter the total on line 7, column (d). 

Part III - Total Available Credit 

Line 8 - Current Year’s Credit 
Enter the amount from Part I, line 1. 

Line 9 - Available Credit Carryover 
Enter the amount from Part II, line 7, column (d). 

Line 10 - Total Available Credit 

Add the amounts on line 8 and line 9.  Enter the total here 
and on Form 301, Part I, line 23.  


