
Arizona Form 
2016 Resident Personal Income Tax Return 140 
 
For information or help, call one of the numbers listed: 
Phoenix  (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free  (800) 352-4090 

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information 
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information, 
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov. 

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings 
These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax 
procedures and rulings for more information.  To view or print 
these, go to our website and click on Legal Research then 
click on Procedures or Rulings and select a tax type from the 
drop down menu. 

Publications 
To view or print the department’s publications, go to our 
website and click on Publications. 

Leave the Paper Behind - e-file! 

• Quicker Refunds 
• Accurate 
• Proof of Acceptance 
• Free ** 

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays if you e-file! 
Get your refund quicker with direct deposit. 
E-file today, pay by April 18, 2017, to avoid penalties and 
interest. 
E-file through an authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or by 
using your personal computer and the Internet.  
Visit our website at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved e-
file providers and on-line filing sources. 
** For free e-file requirements, go to our website at 
www.azdor.gov. 

Who Must Use Form 140? 
You (and your spouse, if married filing a joint return) may file 
Form 140 only if both of you are full year residents of 
Arizona. 
You must use Form 140 rather than Form 140A or Form 
140EZ to file for 2016 if any of the following apply to you: 
• Your Arizona taxable income is $50,000 or more, 

regardless of filing status. 
• You are making adjustments to income. 
• You itemize deductions. 
• You claim tax credits other than the family income tax 

credit, the credit for increased excise taxes, or the 
property tax credit. 

• You are claiming estimated payments. 
 

Do You Have to File? 

Arizona Filing Requirements 
These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers. 

You must file if 
you are: 

and your 
Arizona adjusted 
gross income is 
at least: 

or your gross 
income is at least: 

• Single $  5,500 $15,000 
• Married filing 

joint $11,000 $15,000 

• Married filing 
separate $  5,500 $15,000 

• Head of 
household $  5,500 $15,000 

If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income 
from all sources including out-of-state income.  

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the 
same as you would figure your gross income for federal 
income tax purposes. Then, you should exclude income 
Arizona law does not tax.  Income Arizona law does not tax 
includes:  
••  interest from U.S. Government obligations,  
••  social security retirement benefits received under Title 

II of the Social Security Act,  
••  benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act, 

tier 1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad 
disability benefits  reported on federal forms RRB-
1099 and RRB-1099-R, railroad unemployment 
benefits and railroad sickness payments paid by the 
Railroad Retirement Board, or  

• pay received for active service as a member of the 
Reserves, National Guard or the U.S. Armed Forces.  

You can find your Arizona adjusted gross income on page 
2, line 42 of Arizona Form 140.  

NOTE: Even if you are not required to file, you must still file 
a return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax withheld. 

Do You Have to File if You Are an American 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all the following apply to you: 
• You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe. 
• You live on the reservation established for that tribe. 
• You earned all of your income on that reservation. 
For information on the Arizona tax treatment of American 
Indians, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4, Income 
Taxation of Indians and Spouses.  
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Do You Have to File if You Are the Spouse of an 
American Indian and You Are Not an Enrolled 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements. For 
more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4, 
Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses. 

Do You Have to File if You Are in the Military? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all of the following apply to you: 
• You are an active duty member of the United States 

armed forces. 
• Your only income for the taxable year is pay received for 

active duty military service. 
• There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active duty 

military pay. 
If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military 
pay, you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any 
refund you may be due from that withholding. 
You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have 
any other income besides pay received for active duty military 
service. 
If you are an Arizona resident and you have to file an Arizona 
return, you should file using Form 140. If you were an 
Arizona resident when you entered the service, you remain an 
Arizona resident, no matter where stationed, until you 
establish a new domicile.  
As an Arizona resident, you must report all of your income to 
Arizona, no matter where stationed. You must include your 
military pay, but using Form 140, you may subtract all pay 
received for active duty military service; to the extent it is 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
If you are not an Arizona resident, but stationed in Arizona, 
the following applies to you: 
• You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your 

military pay. 
• You must report any other income you earn in Arizona. 

Use Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income Tax 
Return, to report this income. 

To find out more, see the department’s publication, Pub. 704, 
Taxpayers in the Military.  

If You Included Your Child's Unearned Income 
on Your Federal Return, Does Your Child Have 
to File an Arizona Return? 
No. In this case, the child should not file an Arizona return. 
The parent must include that same income in his or her 
Arizona taxable income. 

Residency Status 
If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state 
income tax purposes, we may be able to help. For more 
information, see the department’s procedure, ITP 92-1, 
Procedure For Determining Residency Status.  
Residents 
You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona. 
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home. It 
is where you intend to return if you are living or working 
temporarily in another state or country. If you leave Arizona 
for a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while 
gone. A resident is subject to tax on all income no matter 
where the income is earned. 
Part-Year Residents 
If you are a part-year resident, you must file Arizona Form 
140PY, Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return.  
You are a part-year resident if you did either of the following 
during 2016: 
• You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a 

resident. 
• You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up 

your Arizona residency. 
Nonresidents 
If you are a nonresident, you must file Arizona Form 140NR, 
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return. 

What if a Taxpayer Died? 
If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2016, the 
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may have to file 
and sign a return for that taxpayer.  A personal representative 
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge 
of the deceased taxpayer’s property.  
If the deceased taxpayer did not have to file a return but had 
tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund. 
The person who files the return should use the form the 
taxpayer would have used. The person who files the return 
should print the word "deceased" after the decedent's name. 
Also enter the date of death after the decedent's name.  
If your spouse died in 2016 and you did not remarry in 2016 
or if your spouse died in 2017 before filing a return for 2016, 
you may file a joint return. If your spouse died in 2016, the 
joint return should show your spouse's 2016 income before 
death and your income for all of 2016. If your spouse died in 
2017, before filing the 2016 return, the joint return should 
show all of your income and all of your spouse's income for 
2016.  Print "Filing as surviving spouse" in the area where you 

Find an Authorized e-file Provider 
 

An authorized e-file provider can take the 
guesswork out of filing taxes. 

To find an authorized e-file  
provider near you  

visit 
www.azdor.gov 
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sign the return. If someone else is the personal representative, 
he or she must also sign the return. 
Are Any Other Returns Required? 
You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return (Form 
141AZ). For details about filing a fiduciary income tax return, 
call the department at (602) 255-3381. 
Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer 
If you are claiming a refund for a deceased taxpayer, you 
must complete Arizona Form 131, Claim for Refund on 
Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer.   Place the completed Form 131 
on top of the front of the return. 

What are the Filing Dates and Penalties? 
When Should You File? 
Your 2016 calendar year tax return is due no later than 
midnight, April 18, 2017.   File your return as soon as you can 
after January 1, 2017, but no later than April 18, 2017.   

NOTE:  Because April 15, 2017, falls on a Saturday and 
District of Columbia Emancipation Day will be observed on 
April 17, 2017, you have until April 18, 2017, to file your 
return.  

If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th day 
of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal tax year. 
What if You Cannot File on Time? 
You may request an extension if you know you will not be 
able to file on time. 

NOTE: An extension does not extend the time to pay your 
income tax. See the instructions for Arizona Form 204. 

To get a filing extension, you can either 
• Apply for a state extension (Arizona Form 204). To apply 

for a state extension, file Form 204 by April 18, 2017. See 
Form 204 for details. You do not have to include a copy 
of the extension with your return when you file, but make 
sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of the return. If 
you must make a payment, use Arizona Form 204, or visit 
www.AZTaxes.gov to make an electronic payment. 

• Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868). File your 
Arizona return by the same due date. You do not have to 
include a copy of your federal extension with your return, 
but make sure that you check box 82F on page 1 of the 
return. 

NOTE:  Because October 15, 2017, falls on a Sunday, you 
have until Monday, October 16, 2017, to file your return.    

When Should You File if You Are a Nonresident 
Alien? 
The due date for your Arizona return is not the same as the 
due date for your federal return. Your Arizona return is due by 
April 18, 2017, even though your federal return is due on June 
15, 2017. If you want to file your Arizona return after April 
18, 2017 you must ask for a filing extension.  You must file 
this request by April 18, 2017.  Arizona will allow up to a 

6-month extension.  This will allow you to file your return by 
October 16, 2017.  See Form 204 for extension filing details. 
If you have a federal 6-month extension, you can file your 
Arizona return under that extension.  If you file using your 
federal extension, Arizona will also allow you an extra 6 
months.   
Because we will allow only 6 months, the due date for your 
Arizona return is not the same as the due date for your federal 
return.  In this case, your Arizona return will be due by 
October 16, 2017, even though your federal return will not be 
due until December 15, 2017.  If you file your 2016 Arizona 
calendar year return after October 16, 2017, your return will 
be late. 

NOTE:  Because October 15, 2017, falls on a Sunday, you 
have until Monday, October 16, 2017, to file your return.  

If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th day 
of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal year. 

What if You File or Pay Late? 
If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and 
penalties on the amount you owe. If the U.S. Post Office 
postmarks your 2016 calendar year return by April 18, 2017, 
your return will not be late. You may also use certain private 
delivery services designated by the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule.  For 
more information, see “Mailing Your Return” at the end of 
these instructions. 
Late Filing Penalty 
If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This 
penalty is 4½% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the 
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late. 
This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found to be 
remaining due. 
Late Payment Penalty 
If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the amount shown 
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the 
failure continues.  We charge this penalty from the original 
due date of the return until the date you pay the tax. This 
penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% (.10) of the unpaid tax. 
Extension Underpayment Penalty 
If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90% 
(.90) of the tax shown on your return by the return's original 
due date. If you do not pay this amount, we will charge you a 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for 
each 30 day period or fraction of a 30 day period. We charge 
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the 
date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of 
the unpaid tax.  If we charge you the extension underpayment 
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty under 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-1125(D). 

NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the above 
penalties, the total cannot exceed 25%. 
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Interest 
We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. We 
will charge you interest even if you have an extension. If you 
have an extension, we will charge you interest from the 
original due date until the date you pay the tax. The Arizona 
interest rate is the same as the federal rate. 

When Should You Amend a Return? 

If you need to make changes to your return after you have 
filed, do not file a new return using Form 140.  You must file 
Arizona Form 140X, Individual Amended Income Tax Return. 
File your amended return after your original return has 
processed.  Generally, you have four years to amend a return 
to claim a refund. 
If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also 
file an Arizona Form 140X for that year.  
If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for 
any year, you must report that change to Arizona. You must 
file Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of 
the IRS. You may use one of the following two options to 
report this change.  
Option 1 
You may file a Form 140X for that year. If you choose this 
option, you must amend your Arizona return within 90 days of 
the final determination of the IRS. Include a complete copy of 
the federal notice with your Form 140X. 
Option 2 
You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the 
department within 90 days of the final determination of the 
IRS. If you choose this option, you must include a statement in 
which you must: 
1. Request that the department recompute your tax. 
2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice. 
If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also 
include any documents that show why you do not agree.  If 
you choose option 2, mail the federal notice and any other 
documents to: 

Individual Income Audit  
Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29084 
Phoenix, AZ  85038-9084 

Do You Need to Make Arizona Estimated 
Payments in 2017? 

You must make estimated income tax payments during 
2017 if: 

Your filing 
status is: 

AND  
your Arizona gross 
income for 2016 was 
greater than: 

AND  
your Arizona gross 
income for 2017 is 
greater than: 

Married 
Filing Joint  $150,000 $150,000 
Single $75,000 $75,000 

Head of 
Household $75,000 $75,000 
Married 
Filing 
Separate  $75,000 $75,000 

If you met the income threshold for 2016, you must make 
estimated payments during 2017 unless you are sure you will 
not meet the threshold for 2017.  As a full year resident, your 
Arizona gross income is your federal adjusted gross income. 
This amount is on page 1, line 12 of the 2016 Form 140.  
See the worksheet for Arizona Form 140ES to figure how 
much your payments should be.  For more information about 
making estimated payments, see the department’s publication, 
Pub. 012, Arizona Individual Estimated Income Tax Payments. 

What if You Make Your Estimated Payments Late? 
We will charge you a penalty if you are late or if you fail to 
make any required payments. See Arizona Form 221.   
Can You Make Estimated Payments Even if You 
Do Not Have To? 
If you do not have to make Arizona estimated income tax 
payments, you may still choose to make them.  For details, see 
Arizona Form 140ES. 

Line-by-Line Instructions 
Tips for Preparing Your Return 

• Make sure that you enter your Social Security Number 
(SSN) on your return. 

• Complete your return using black ink. 
• You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole 

dollar. If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar. If 
less than 50 cents, round down. Do not enter cents. 

• When asked to provide your own schedule, include a 
separate sheet with your name and SSN at the top. Include 
your own schedules with your return.  Include these 
schedules behind your return and behind your Schedule 
A, if itemizing. 

• You must complete your federal return before you can 
start your Arizona return. 

• Make sure you include your daytime telephone number.  
• If filing a fiscal year return, fill in the period covered in 

the space provided at the top of the form. 

DO YOU HAVE A COMPLICATED RETURN? 
 

e-file makes filing  
a complex return 
simple! 

e-file software offers: 
• easy step-by-step 

instructions 
• error detection before 

filing 
• Easy form selection 
• Maximum deductions 
 

For a list of 
approved 

software visit  
www.azdor.gov 
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Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN 
Lines 1, 2, and 3 -  
NOTE: Make sure that you write your SSN on the appropriate 
line and your SSN is correct. If you are filing a joint return, 
also make sure you enter your SSNs in the same order every 
year. 

Print or type your name, address, and SSN in the space 
provided.  If you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in 
the same order as your names.  If your name appears first on 
the return, make sure your SSN is the first number listed. 
If you are married filing separately, enter your name and SSN 
on the first line 1.  Then enter your spouse’s name and SSN on 
the second line 1. 
If you are a nonresident of the United States or a resident alien 
who does not have an SSN, use the individual taxpayer 
identification number (ITIN) the IRS issued to you. 
Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure 
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a 
penalty if you fail to include your SSN.   It will take longer to 
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear. 
Use your current home address. The department will mail your 
refund to, or correspond with, you at that address. 
For a deceased taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions. 
Foreign Addresses 
If you have a foreign address, enter the information in the 
following order:  city, province or state, and country.  Follow 
the country’s practice for entering the postal code.   Do not 
abbreviate the country name. 
Last Names Used in Last 4 Prior Years 
If the last name that you or your spouse are using on this 
return is not the same as the last name you or your spouse used 
on returns filed for the last 4 years, enter any other last 
name(s) that you or your spouse used when filing your return 
during the last 4 years. 
Identification Numbers for Paid Preparers 
If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person 
must also include an identification number where requested. 
A paid preparer may use any of the following: 
• his or her PTIN, 
• his or her SSN, or 
• the EIN for the business. 
A paid preparer who fails to include the proper identification 
number may also be subject to a penalty. 

Determining Your Filing Status 
The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be 
different from that used on your federal return. 
Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the 
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140. 
If you qualify as married for federal purposes, you qualify as 
married for Arizona purposes and must file using the status of 
either married filing joint or married filing separate.   

If you are single you must file as single or if qualified you 
may file as head of household (see the instructions for box 5). 
Box 4 - Married Filing Joint Return 
If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4. 
You may file a joint return if you were married as of 
December 31, 2016. It does not matter whether or not you 
were living with your spouse. You may file a joint return, even 
if you and your spouse filed separate federal returns. 
You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2016 
and you did not remarry in 2016. See page 2 of these 
instructions for details. 
Arizona Form 140 is for full year residents only. You may not 
file a joint income tax return on Form 140 if any of the 
following apply: 
• Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living in 

another country). 
• Your spouse is a resident of another state. 
• Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident. 
If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you must 
file a joint return using Arizona Form 140NR. See Form 
140NR instructions. 
If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse, you 
must file a joint return using Arizona Form 140PY. See Form 
140PY instructions. 

NOTE:  For more information on filing a joint tax return with 
your part-year resident or nonresident spouse, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 14-1, Filing a Joint Tax Return 
When a Resident Spouse is Married to a Part-Year Resident or 
Nonresident.   

Box 5 - Head of Household Return 
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5 and enter 
the name of the qualifying child or dependent in the space 
provided.    
You may file as head of household on your Arizona return, 
only if one of the following applies: 
• You qualify to file as head of household on your federal 

return. 
• You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on 

your federal return. 
Box 6 - Married Filing Separate Return 
If you are filing a separate return, check box 6 and enter your 
spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1.  
If you were married as of December 31, 2016, you may 
choose to file a separate return.  You may file a separate 
return, even if you and your spouse filed a joint federal return. 
Arizona is a community property state. If you file a separate 
return, you must figure how much income to report using 
community property laws. Under these laws, a separate return 
must reflect one-half of the community income from all 
sources plus any separate income. 
When you file separate returns, you must account for 
community deductions and credits on the same basis as 
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community income. Both you and your spouse must either 
itemize or not itemize. If one of you itemizes, you both must 
itemize. If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both 
must take a standard deduction. One of you may not claim a 
standard deduction while the other itemizes.  
If you and your spouse support a dependent child from 
community income, either you or your spouse may claim the 
dependent. Both of you cannot claim the same dependent on 
both returns.  For more information, see the department’s 
rulings, ITR 93-18, Income Reporting Requirements for 
Married Arizona Residents Who File Separate Arizona 
Individual Income Tax Returns; and ITR 93-19, Deductions, 
Exemptions, and Credits for Married Taxpayers Who File 
Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns.   

NOTE:  In some cases you may treat community income as 
separate income. For more information, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 93-22, When Community Income May Be Treated 
as Separate Income.   

If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other 
special rules may apply when filing a separate return.  See the 
department’s ruling, 93-20, Income Reporting Requirements 
of Resident and Nonresident Spouses Who File Separate 
Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns. For more help, see 
the department’s publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers.   
Box 7 - Single Return 
If you are filing as single, check box 7. 
Use this filing status if you were single on December 31, 
2016. You are single if any of the following apply to you: 
• You have never been married. 
• You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or of 

separate maintenance. 
• You were widowed before January 1, 2016, and you did 

not remarry in 2016, and you do not qualify to file as a 
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children on 
your federal return. 

NOTE:  If you got divorced during the year, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 14-2-, Reporting Income, 
Deductions, Exemptions, and Withholding for Divorced 
Individuals for the Year of Divorce ; and publication, Pub. 
200, Income Tax Issues Affecting Married and Divorced 
Taxpayers. 

Exemptions 
Enter the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8, 
9, 10, and 11. Do not put a check mark. You may lose the 
exemption if you put a checkmark in these boxes. You may 
lose the dependent exemption if you do not complete the 
Dependent section, on page 1.  
You may lose the exemption for qualifying parents or 
grandparents if you do not complete the Qualifying parents 
and grandparents section, on page 1.  

Box 8 - Age 65 or Over 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 8 if you were 65 or older in 2016 and not claimed 
as a dependent by another taxpayer. 

• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 8 
if you were 65 or older and not claimed as a dependent by 
another taxpayer or your spouse was 65 or older in 2016 
and not claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer.  
Enter "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse were 65 or 
older in 2016 and neither of you are claimed as a 
dependent by another taxpayer. 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, enter "1" in 
box 8 if you were 65 or older and not claimed by another 
taxpayer.  You cannot take an exemption for your spouse.  
Your spouse, if 65 or older and not claimed by another 
taxpayer, may take this exemption on his/her own 
separate return. 

Box 9 - Blind 
If you or your spouse were partially blind as of December 31, 
2016, you must get a statement certified by your eye doctor or 
registered optometrist that: 
• You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with 

glasses or contact lenses. 
• Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 
If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the 
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by 
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect instead.  
You must keep the statement for your records. 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind.  
• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 9 

if you or your spouse is totally or partially blind.  Enter 
"2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally or 
partially blind. 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, you may 
take an exemption for yourself if you are totally or 
partially blind.  You may only claim an exemption for 
your spouse if (1) your spouse is totally or partially blind, 
(2) has no Arizona adjusted gross income for calendar 
year, and (3) is not the dependent of another taxpayer. 
Enter "1" in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind or 
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse 
meets the above criteria.  Enter “2” in box 9 if you are 
totally or partially blind and your spouse is totally or 
partially blind and your spouse meets the above criteria.   

Box 10 - Dependents  
NOTE: If a person who qualifies as your dependent is also a 
qualifying parent or grandparent, you may claim that person 
as a dependent in box 10, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent in box 11. You may not 
claim that same person in both box 10 and box 11.  

You must complete the Dependent section on page 1 (and 
page 3, if more space is needed) of your return before you can 
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total your dependent exemptions.  You may claim only the 
following as a dependent:   
• A person that qualifies as your dependent on your federal 

return. 
NOTE:  If you do not claim a dependent exemption for a 
student on your federal return in order to allow the student to 
claim a federal education credit on the student’s federal 
return, you may still claim the exemption on your Arizona 
return. For more information, see the department’s ruling, 
ITR 05-2, Will Arizona Allow a Dependent Exemption When 
a Taxpayer Does Not Claim Federal Exemption in Order to 
Claim the Education Credit? 

• A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not) that 
does not qualify as your dependent on your federal return, 
but one of the following applies: 
1. In 2016, you paid more than one-fourth of the cost of 

keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care 
institution, an Arizona residential care institution, or 
an Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost must be 
more than $800. 

2. In 2016, you paid more than $800 for either Arizona 
home health care or other medical costs for the 
person. 

• A stillborn child if the following apply: 
1. The stillbirth occurred during 2016. 
2. You received a certificate of birth resulting in 

stillbirth from the Arizona Department of Health 
Services.  

3. The child would have otherwise been a member of 
your household. 

Box 11 - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 

NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent 
also qualifies as your dependent, you may claim that person as 
a dependent in box 10, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent in box 11. You may not 
claim the same person in both box 10 and box 11. 
You must complete the Qualifying parents and grandparents 
section on page 1 (and page 3, if more space is needed) before 
you can total your exemptions for qualifying parents and 
grandparents.   
A qualifying parent or grandparent may be any one of the 
following: 
• Your parent, grandparent or great grandparent, etc. 
• If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent, 

grandparent, or great grandparent, etc. 
You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply: 
1. The parent, grandparent or great-grandparent was 65 

years old or older during 2016. 
2. The parent or grandparent lived in your principal 

residence for the entire taxable year. 

If your parent or grandparent died during the taxable year, 
this requirement will still be met if he or she lived with 
you for the entire part of the year in which he or she was 
alive.  Temporary absences by the parent or grandparent 
for special circumstances, such as a hospital stay or care 
in a hospice facility, count as time lived in the taxpayer’s 
principle residence.  

3. You paid more than one-half of the support and 
maintenance costs of the parent or grandparent during the 
taxable year. 
To help you determine if you paid more than one-half of 
your parent or grandparent’s support during the taxable 
year, it is recommended that you review the department’s 
income tax procedure, ITP 14-1, Procedure for 
Determining Support for Purposes of the Parents and 
Grandparents Exemption Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-
1023(C) and complete the worksheet.  Keep the 
worksheet for your records. 

4. The parent or grandparent required assistance with 
activities of daily living. 
The term “activities of daily living” means two or more of 
the listed categories.  Activities of daily living include 
both basic activities of daily living and instrumental 
activities of daily living.  The categories of activities of 
daily living are dressing, eating, ambulating, toileting, 
medicating and hygiene, shopping, housekeeping, 
managing personal finances, basic communication, food-
preparation and transportation. 
For more information regarding what the term “activities 
of daily living” means when determining an Arizona 
resident taxpayer’s eligibility for this exemption, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 14-3, "Activities of Daily 
Living" for the Purpose of the Exemption Allowed Under 
A.R.S. § 43-1023(C). 
To help you determine if your parent or grandparent 
required assistance with activities of daily living to meet 
this requirement, it is recommended that you review the 
department’s procedure, ITP 14-2, Procedure for 
Determining Whether a Parent or Grandparent Requires 
Assistance with Activities of Daily Living for Purposes of 
the Exemption Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and 
complete the checklist.  Keep the checklist for your 
records. 

Dependents 
Completing the Dependent Section  
If you need additional lines to list all of your dependents, 
including qualifying parents and grandparents, complete page 
3, Dependent Information – Continuation Sheet, and include 
this page with your return.  Be sure to check the box on page 
1 indicating you are completing page 3.    
Do not include page 3 with your return if you do not use it. 
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Dependent information:  children and other 
dependents  
Enter the following in columns (a) through (f): 
a) The dependent's name. If you are claiming an exemption 

for a stillborn child and the child was not named, enter 
“stillborn child” in place of a name. 

b) The dependent's SSN. If you are claiming an exemption 
for a stillborn child, enter the certificate number from the 
certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth. 

c) The dependent’s relationship to you. 
d) The number of months the dependent lived in your home 

during 2016. If you are claiming an exemption for a 
stillborn child, enter the date of birth resulting in the 
stillbirth. 
Temporary absences:  Your child or dependent is 
considered to have lived with you during periods of time 
when temporarily absent due to special circumstances 
such as:  illness; education; business; or vacation.  Your 
child is also considered to have lived with you during any 
required hospital stay following birth, as long as the child 
would have lived with you during that time but for the 
hospitalization.  

e) Check the box if this person did not qualify as a 
dependent on your federal return. 

f) Check the box if you did not claim this person (student) 
as an dependent on your federal return in order to allow 
that student to claim a federal education credit on the 
student’s federal return.  

You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this 
information.  Enter the total number of dependents listed in 
box 10. 

Qualifying parents and grandparents  
Enter the following in columns (a) through (f): 
a) The name of the qualifying parent or grandparent. 
b) The SSN of the qualifying parent or grandparent. 
c) The qualifying parent’s or grandparent’s relationship to 

you, or your spouse if filing a joint return. 
d) The number of months the qualifying parent or 

grandparent lived in your home during 2016. 
 Temporary absences:  Temporary absences by the 
parent or grandparent for special circumstances, such as a 
hospital stay or care in a hospice facility, count as time 
lived in the taxpayer’s principal residence. 

e) Check the box if this person is age 65 or older. 
f) Check the box if this person died in 2016. 
You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this 
information.  Enter the total number of qualifying parents 
and/or grandparents listed in box 11. 

Totaling Your Income 
Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
You must complete your federal return before you enter an 
amount on line 12. You must complete a 2016 federal return 

to determine your federal adjusted gross income, even if you 
are not filing a federal return. 
Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting point 
to determine Arizona taxable income. Your federal adjusted 
gross income is your Arizona gross income. 

NOTE:  Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross income 
and not your federal taxable income. 
If the amount on line 12 is more than $75,000 ($150,000 if 
filing a joint return), you may need to make estimated 
payments.  See "Do You Need to Make Estimated Payments in 
2017?" on page 4. 

Additions to Income 
Line 13 - Non-Arizona Municipal Interest 
Enter the amount of interest income from non-Arizona 
municipal bonds that you did not include as income on your 
federal return. 
You may exclude any expenses incurred to purchase or carry 
the obligation. Reduce the interest income by the amount of 
those expenses that you could not deduct on your federal 
return. 
If you received tax exempt interest from municipal bonds, 
include a schedule listing the payors and the amount received 
from each payor. You may also want to include supporting 
documents for amounts received from Arizona municipal 
bonds that are exempt from Arizona income tax. These may be 
items such as bank statements, brokerage statements, etc. 
Line 14 - Partnership Income Adjustment (Positive) 
Complete line 14 if line 3, of your Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1, shows a difference between federal and state 
distributable income. 
If the difference reported on line 3, of your Form 165 
Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that difference as an 
addition on line 14. 

NOTE:  If the difference reported on line 3, of your Form 165 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference on 
line 25. 
Line 15 - Total Federal Depreciation 
Enter the total amount of depreciation deducted on your 
federal return. If you make an entry here, you should also take a 
subtraction on line 24.  To figure how much you should 
subtract, see the instructions for line 24.   
Line 16 - Other Additions to Income 
Use line 16 if any of the special circumstances below apply.  
Include your own schedule with your return explaining any 
amounts entered here. 
You may either add (on line 16) or subtract (on line 35) items 
A and B below, depending on your situation. 
A. Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 
If you file a separate Arizona return, you must report the 
following income on that return: 
• one-half of the community income from all sources, and 
• all of your separate income. 
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If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but separate 
Arizona returns, you must make sure that each separate return 
reflects the correct income. If you begin your Arizona return 
with only the income that you earned during the year, you will 
have to adjust this income. 
If you file separate federal returns, each of your federal returns 
should already reflect the correct income. Since your separate 
Arizona returns will begin with the federal adjusted gross 
income, you will not have to adjust your income. 
If you have to adjust your income, include a schedule showing 
how you figured your adjustment.  For more information, see 
the department’s publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers. 
B. Fiduciary Adjustment 
A fiduciary uses Arizona Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, to 
report to you your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the 
trust or estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, shows your share of the 
fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the amount 
reported on line 3 of your Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, is a 
positive number, enter that amount as an addition on line 16. 

NOTE:  If the amount reported on line 3 of your Form 141AZ, 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that amount as a 
subtraction on line 35. 
C. Ordinary Income Portion of Lump-Sum Distributions 
Excluded on Your Federal Return 
Make this adjustment if you use federal averaging for lump-
sum distributions from your pension or profit-sharing plan. 
Arizona law does not provide for averaging. Enter the amount 
of the distribution that you treated as ordinary income on your 
federal return.  If you choose to treat the capital gain portion 
of the distribution as ordinary income, you must also include 
that amount.   
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-5, 
Arizona's Income Tax Treatment of the Capital Gain Portion 
of a Lump Sum Distribution from a Qualified Retirement Plan. 
D. Items Previously Deducted for Arizona Purposes 
Arizona statutes prohibit a taxpayer from deducting items 
more than once. If your Arizona taxable income includes items 
previously deducted for Arizona purposes, you must add such 
amounts to your Arizona gross income. 
E. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in 2016 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
1. During 2016, you were required to repay amounts held 

under a claim of right. 
2. The amount required to be repaid during 2016 was more 

than $3,000. 
3. You took a deduction for the amount repaid on your 2016 

federal income tax return. 
If the above apply, enter the amount deducted on your federal 
income tax return here.  For more information on the Arizona 
claim of right provisions, see the department’s procedure, ITP 

16-1, Procedure for Individuals Who Restore Substantial 
Amounts Held Under a Claim of Right. 
F. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in 
Prior Taxable Years 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
1. During a year prior to 2016 you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
2. You computed your tax for that prior year under Arizona's 

claim of right provisions. 
3. A net operating loss or capital loss was established due to 

the repayment made in the prior year. 
4. You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2016 
Arizona taxable income. 

5. The amount of the loss carryover included in your federal 
income is more than the amount allowed to be taken into 
account for Arizona purposes. 

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover included in your 
federal adjusted gross income is more than the amount 
allowed for the taxable year under Arizona law. 
G. Addition to S Corporation Income Due to Credits Claimed 
Shareholders of an S corporation who claim a credit passed 
through from an S corporation must make an addition to 
income for the amount of expenses disallowed by reason of 
claiming the credit. 
An S corporation that passes the following credits through to 
its shareholders must notify each shareholder of his or her pro 
rata share of the adjustment. You must enter an amount on 
this line when claiming any of the following Arizona credits: 
• Environmental Technology Facility Credit (Form 305) 
• Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit (Form 312)  
• Pollution Control Credit (Form 315) 
• Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs 

and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets (Form 319) 
• Credit for Employment of TANF Recipients (Form 320) 
• Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit (Form 325) 
H. Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and 
Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlet Expenses 
If you claim a credit on Form 319 for installing solar hot water 
heater plumbing stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets 
in a dwelling you constructed, you cannot deduct any 
expenses for which you claim the credit.  
If you take this credit, enter the amount of such expenses that 
you deducted on your federal return. 
I. Wage Expense for Employers of TANF Recipients 
If you claim a credit on Form 320 for employing TANF 
recipients, you cannot deduct any wage expense for which you 
claim the credit.  
If you take this credit, enter the amount of such expenses that 
you deducted on your federal return. 
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J. Adjusted Basis in Property for Which You Have 
Claimed a Credit for Investment in Qualified Small 
Businesses 
If you claim a credit on Form 338 for an investment in a 
qualified small business, you must adjust your basis in the 
investment by the amount of the credit claimed. You must 
report this difference in basis on the Arizona return that you 
file for the taxable year in which you sell or otherwise dispose 
of the investment. If you sold or otherwise disposed of the 
investment during the 2016 taxable year, on line 16, enter the 
amount by which the adjusted basis computed under the IRC 
with respect to that property exceeds the adjusted basis of the 
property computed under A.R.S. § 43-1074.02. 
K.  Nonqualified Withdrawals from 529 College Savings 
Plans   
You must make an addition to income if both of the following 
apply to you: 
• You received a nonqualified withdrawal from a 529 

college savings plan.  
• You did not include the amount of the withdrawal in your 

federal adjusted gross income. 
The amount that you must add is the amount withdrawn, but 
no more than the difference between the amount of 
contributions subtracted in prior years and the amount added 
in any prior years. 
A nonqualified withdrawal is a withdrawal other than any of 
the following: 
• A qualified withdrawal. A qualified withdrawal is a 

withdrawal from an account to pay the qualified higher 
education expenses of the designated beneficiary of the 
account. 

• A withdrawal made as the result of the death or disability 
of the designated beneficiary of an account. 

• A withdrawal that is made on the account of a 
scholarship, or the allowance or payment described in 
IRC § 135(d)(1)(B) or (C), and that is received by the 
designated beneficiary, but only to the extent of the 
amount of this scholarship, allowance or payment. 

• A rollover or change of designated beneficiary. 
L.  Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition of Debt 
Instrument 
For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special election 
to defer discharge of indebtedness (DOI) income under IRC § 
108(i) (for 2009 or 2010), the taxpayer was not allowed to take a 
deduction with respect to the portion of any OID that accrued 
with respect to that DOI income during the income deferral 
period.  In this case, the taxpayer had to deduct the aggregate 
amount of the OID deductions disallowed ratably over a 5 year 
period, beginning with the period in which the income was 
includible in federal adjusted gross income.  Arizona did not 
adopt the federal provisions requiring a taxpayer to defer the 
OID deduction in cases where the taxpayer federally deferred 
the DOI income.  For Arizona purposes, you had to report the 
DOI income from a debt reacquisition in the year in which you 

reacquired the debt, and you were allowed to subtract any OID 
related to that DOI income in the year the OID accrued.  If your 
federal adjusted gross income includes a deduction for any 
accrued OID that you have already subtracted for Arizona 
purposes, you must make an addition to Arizona income for the 
amount of deferred OID deducted on your federal return.  
Generally, this addition will apply to taxable years 2014 
through 2018.   
On line 16, enter the amount of any previously deferred OID 
that you deducted in computing your 2016 federal adjusted 
gross income, to the extent that the amount was previously 
subtracted from Arizona gross income. 
M. Arizona Long-Term Health Care Savings Accounts 
(AZLTHSA) Withdrawals 
You must add amounts withdrawn from your AZLTHSA if 
you withdrew money for purposes other than paying for 
qualified long-term health care expenses. 
N. Sole Proprietorship Loss of an Arizona Nonprofit 
Medical Marijuana Dispensary included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income 
If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with the 
Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this state 
as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you are required 
to add the amount of the loss from the dispensary that is 
included in the computation of your federal adjusted gross 
income.  Include the amount of the loss on line 16. 
NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana 
dispensary is registered with the Arizona Department of 
Health Services as anything other than a sole proprietorship, 
this addition does not apply. 

O.  Federal Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryforward from 
Non-Arizona Sources Accrued While a Non-Resident 
An individual cannot include a federal NOL carryforward 
deduction incurred from non-Arizona sources while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident in the Arizona taxable 
income of a return filed for a taxable year in which the 
taxpayer is an Arizona resident. 
The taxpayer must make an addition to Arizona gross income 
on the full-year Arizona resident return for the amount of the 
NOL carryforward deduction included in the taxpayer’s 
federal adjusted gross income.  For more information, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 13-5, Can A Net Operating Loss 
Incurred as a Non-Resident Be Used to Offset Income In A 
Year In Which the Taxpayer Is A Resident? 

NOTE:  For a non-Arizona source loss incurred while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident, the taxpayer would not 
be allowed to amend a prior year resident Arizona income tax 
return to claim the NOL carry back deduction.  

P. Federal Capital Loss Carryforward Deduction Incurred 
from Non-Arizona sources prior to Arizona Residency 
An individual cannot include a capital loss carryforward 
deduction, incurred from non-Arizona sources while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident, in the Arizona taxable 
income of a return filed for a taxable year in which the 
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taxpayer is an Arizona resident. Therefore, a capital loss 
incurred from non-Arizona sources while the taxpayer was an 
Arizona nonresident cannot be carried forward to a taxpayer's 
Arizona resident return when the loss carryover is reflected in 
the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income. 
The taxpayer must make an addition to Arizona gross income 
on the full-year Arizona resident return for the amount of such 
capital loss carryforward deduction included in the 
computation of the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income. 
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 13-6, 
Can A Capital Loss Incurred as a Non-Resident Be Used to 
Offset Income In A Year In Which the Taxpayer Is A Resident? 
Q.  Other Adjustments 
Other special adjustments may be necessary. You may need to 
make an addition for depreciation or amortization. You may 
also need to make an addition if you claimed certain tax 
credits.  
Call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these instructions 
if any of the following apply: 
• You sold or disposed of non-depreciable property that 

was held for the production of income and your basis was 
computed under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954, as 
amended (1978 prior). 

• You claimed the Environmental Technology Facility Credit. 
(Form 305) 

• You claimed the Pollution Control Credit. (Form 315) 
• You claimed the Recycling Equipment Credit. (Form 307) 
• You claimed the Agricultural Pollution Control 

Equipment Credit. (Form 325) 
• You elected to amortize the cost of a child care facility 

under Arizona law in effect before 1990 and you are still 
deducting amortization or depreciation for that facility on 
your federal income tax return. 

Line 17 - Subtotal 
Add lines 12 through 16 and enter the total. 

Subtractions from Income 
You may only subtract those items for which statutory 
authority exists. You cannot take a subtraction without such 
authority.    
You may not subtract any amount that is allocable to income 
excluded from your Arizona taxable income. 
If you have any questions concerning subtractions from 
income, call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions. 
Lines 18 through 22 - Net Capital Gain or (Loss) 

NOTE:  If you enter an amount on line 18, you must complete 
lines 19 and 20.  If you are taking a subtraction on line 22 for 
any net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011, you must also complete line 21.  If you do 
not complete lines 18 through 21, you cannot take the 
subtraction. 

You may subtract 25% (.25) of any net long-term capital gain 
included in your federal adjusted gross income that is derived 
from an investment in an asset acquired after December 31, 
2011.  Use the worksheet on page 29 of these instructions, 
Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction for 
Assets Acquired after December 31, 2011, to determine the 
allowable subtraction.  Keep the worksheet for your records. 
Line 18 - Total Net Capital Gain or (Loss) 
If you reported a net capital gain or (loss) on your federal 
income tax return, enter the total net capital gain or (loss) 
reported on the Capital Gain or (Loss) line on page 1 of your 
federal return.  This amount should be reported in your federal 
adjusted gross income. 
Line 19 - Total Net Short-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the total amount of net short-term capital gain or (loss) 
reported on the Capital Gain or (Loss) line on page 1 of your 
federal return.  This amount should be reported in your federal 
adjusted gross income. 

NOTE: If you are not required to report dividend 
distributions and/or short-term capital gains from mutual 
funds on federal Form Schedule D, do not include the short-
term capital gain distributed by the mutual fund on line 19. 

Line 20 - Total Net Long-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the amount from the worksheet, line 14, column (a). 
Line 21 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain from Assets 
Acquired After December 31, 2011 
Enter the amount from the worksheet, line 14, column (c). 
Only include net long-term capital gains on this line if it can 
be verified that the asset was acquired after December 31, 
2011.  For purposes of this line, an asset acquired by gift or 
inheritance is considered acquired on the date it was acquired 
by the gift-giver or the deceased individual. 
Line 22 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction 
From Income for Assets Acquired After December 
31, 2011. 
Multiply the amount on line 21 by 25% and enter the result. 
Line 23 - Net Capital Gain from Investment in a 
Qualified Small Business 
You may subtract the amount of any net capital gain included 
in federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year derived 
from investment in a qualified small business as determined 
by the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) pursuant to 
A.R.S. § 41-1518.  
To qualify for this subtraction, your investment in the 
qualified small business must have been made after the ACA 
certified the company as a qualified small business and before 
the company’s certification expiration date.  An investment 
made prior to certification or after the expiration of 
certification does not qualify for this subtraction.  See the 
ACA’s website, Small Business Incentives:  Angel Investment, 
for a list of certified businesses and their certification dates. 
On line 23, enter the amount of the allowable subtraction.  
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CAUTION: If the amount entered on line 23 includes any 
long-term capital gain from an investment made after 
December 31, 2011, you cannot include that portion of the net 
capital gain in your computation of the allowable subtraction 
for any net long-term capital gain of assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011, and included in federal adjusted gross 
income.  For more information, see the instructions on page 
30 for the amount to enter on line 13, column (c), of the net 
long-term capital gain worksheet. 

Line 24 - Recalculated Arizona Depreciation 
NOTE:  For more information and examples of how to 
calculate Arizona bonus depreciation, see the department’s 
Income Tax Procedure, ITP 16-2, Procedure for Individuals 
who Claim Federal and/or Arizona Bonus Depreciation.  

For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning 
before December 31, 2012, enter the total amount of 
depreciation allowable pursuant to IRC § 167(a) for the 
taxable year calculated as if you had elected not to claim 
bonus depreciation for eligible properties for federal purposes. 
For assets placed in service during taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 2012 through December 31, 
2013, the amount of the subtraction for these assets depends 
on the method used to compute the depreciation for these 
assets. 
For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 2013 through December 31, 
2015, enter the total amount of depreciation allowable 
pursuant to IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year calculated as if 
the bonus depreciation is 10% of the amount of federal bonus 
depreciation pursuant to IRC § 168(k). 
For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 2015 through December 31, 
2016, enter the total amount of depreciation allowable 
pursuant to IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year calculated as if 
the bonus depreciation is 55% of the amount of federal bonus 
depreciation pursuant to IRC § 168(k). 
Line 25 – Partnership Income Adjustment (Negative) 
Use this adjustment if line 3, of your Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1, shows a difference between federal and state 
distributable income. 
If the difference reported on line 3, of your Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1, is a negative number, enter that difference on 
line 25.  Do not include a minus sign or use parenthesis.   

NOTE:  If the difference reported on line 3, of your Arizona 
Form 165 Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that 
difference as an addition on line 14. 

Line 26 - Adjustment for IRC § 179 Expense not 
Allowed in Prior Years 
If you made an addition for IRC § 179 expense on your 2012 
return, enter 20% of the amount added for 2012. 

Line 27 - Interest on U.S. Obligations 
Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Government 
obligations included as income on your federal return. U.S. 
Government obligations include obligations such as savings 
bonds and treasury bills. You cannot deduct any interest or 
other related expenses incurred to purchase or carry the 
obligations. If such expenses are included in your Arizona 
gross income, you must reduce the subtraction by such 
expenses. If you are itemizing deductions on your Arizona 
return, you must exclude such expenses from the amount 
deducted. 

NOTE: Do not subtract interest earned on Fannie Mae (FNMA) 
or Ginnie Mae (GNMA) bonds since this interest is taxable by 
Arizona. For details, see the department's ruling, ITR 06-1, 
Obligations of the United States Government, Federal 
Agencies, and United States Territories. 

Do not subtract any amount received from a qualified pension 
plan that invests in U.S. Government obligations. Do not 
subtract any amount received from an IRA that invests in U.S. 
Government obligations. These amounts are not interest 
income. For details, see the department’s rulings, ITR 96-2, 
Pension Plan Distributions Derived from Investment in U.S. 
Government Obligations; and ITR 96-3, Distributions 
Comprised of Income Earned by the IRA. 
Line 28 - Exclusion for U.S. Government, Arizona 
State or Local Government Pensions 
If you receive pension income from any of the sources listed 
below, subtract the amount you received or $2,500, whichever 
is less. Include only the amount you reported as income on 
your federal return. If both you and your spouse receive such 
pension income, each spouse may subtract the amount 
received or $2,500, whichever is less. 
Public pensions from the following sources qualify 
for this subtraction: 
• the United States Government Service Retirement and 

Disability Fund, 
• the United States Foreign Service Retirement and 

Disability System, 
• retired or retainer pay of the uniformed services of the 

United States, 
• any other retirement system or plan established by federal 

law, 
NOTE: This applies only to those retirement plans authorized 
and enacted into the U.S. Code. This does not apply to a 
retirement plan that is only regulated by federal law (i.e., plans 
which must meet certain federal criteria to be qualified plans). 
• the Arizona State Retirement System, 
• the Arizona State Retirement Plan, 
• the Corrections Officer Retirement Plan, 
• the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System, 
• the Elected Officials' Retirement Plan, 
• a retirement plan established for employees of a county, 

city, or town in Arizona, and 
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• an optional retirement program established by the Arizona 
Board of Regents under Arizona Revised Statutes, and an 
optional retirement program established by an Arizona 
community college district. 

NOTE: Public retirement pensions from states other than 
Arizona do not qualify for this subtraction. 

Line 29 - Arizona State Lottery Winnings 
You may subtract up to $5,000 of winnings received in 2016 
for Arizona lottery prizes. 
If you subtract Arizona lottery winnings here, you may have to 
adjust the amount of gambling losses claimed as an itemized 
deduction. See instructions for Arizona Form 140, Schedule A, 
Itemized Deduction Adjustments. 
Line 30 - U.S. Social Security Benefits or Railroad 
Retirement Benefits 
Arizona does not tax the following: 
• social security benefits received under Title II of the 

Social Security Act, or  
• railroad retirement benefits received from the Railroad 

Retirement Board under the Railroad Retirement Act, tier 
1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad disability 
benefits reported on federal forms RRB-1099 and RRB-
1099-R, railroad unemployment benefits and railroad 
sickness payments paid by the Railroad Retirement 
Board.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 
16-1, Railroad Retirement Benefits, Railroad Disability 
Benefits, Railroad Unemployment Benefits and Railroad 
Sickness Payments. 

If you included such social security or railroad retirement 
benefits as income on your federal return, use line 30 to 
subtract this income. 

NOTE: Enter only the taxable amount (the amount that was 
subject to federal income tax). Do not include any amount that 
was not subject to federal income tax. 
Line 31 - Certain Wages of American Indians 
Enrolled members of American Indian tribes may subtract 
wages earned while living and working on their tribe's 
reservation. The federal government must recognize these 
tribes.  For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 
96-4, Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses.  
Line 32 - Pay Received for Active Service as a Member 
of the Reserves, National Guard or the U.S. Armed 
Forces 
Members of the U.S. armed forces may subtract pay received 
for active duty military service.  On line 32, enter the amount 
of that income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
Members of the reserves or the National Guard may subtract 
pay received for active service as a reservist or as a National 
Guard member.  This includes pay received for weekend or 
two-week training periods. On line 32 enter the amount of that 
income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

Military Technician (dual status) 
You may not subtract any income you received for full-time 
civil service employment as a “military technician (dual 
status)”.  Compensation received by a “military technician 
(dual status)” for federal civil service employment for the 
National Guard or for the United States Reserves, is not 
income received for active service as a National Guard 
member for a Reserve member even though the employee may 
be required to wear a military uniform while at work.   
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 12-2, 
Compensation Received by a National Guard member or a 
member of the United States Reserves.   

NOTE:  You may not subtract pay received for active duty 
service as a member of the U.S. Public Health Service or 
NOAA.  For more information, see the department’s ruling, 
ITR 10-1, Does the subtraction, for armed forces personnel, 
under A.R.S. § 43-1022 apply to Arizona residents who are 
active duty service members of the commissioned corps of the 
United States Public Health Service or the National Oceanic 
and Atmospheric Administration? 

Line 33 - Net Operating Loss Adjustment 
Arizona did not adopt the special federal net operating loss 
rules for losses incurred during 2008 or 2009.  For Arizona 
purposes, you must deduct a net operating loss as if the loss 
was computed under IRC §172 in effect prior to the enactment 
of those special rules.  If you made an election to deduct your 
2008 or 2009 federal net operating loss under IRC § 
172(b)(1)(H), you may have to enter an amount here.  Figure 
how much of the net operating loss carry forward would have 
been allowed as a deduction on your 2016 federal income tax 
return, if the election described in IRC § 172(b)(1)(H) had not 
been made in the year of the loss.  On line 33, enter the 
amount that exceeds the actual net operating loss carry 
forward that was deducted in arriving at federal adjusted gross 
income. 

NOTE:  This subtraction applies to only those individuals 
who made an election under the special federal net operating 
loss rules for 2008 and 2009.  Under the special rules for 
2008 and 2009, you could have elected to carry the net 
operating loss back for 3, 4 or 5 years, instead of the normal 2 
years.  This election would have been allowed under IRC § 
172(b)(1)(H) as amended by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act of 2009 or the Worker, Homeownership, and 
Business Assistance Act of 2009. 

Line 34 - Contributions to 529 College Savings Plans 
You may subtract amounts you contributed to 529 college 
savings plans during the taxable year. You may subtract the 
amount you contributed during the year up to a total of $2,000 
($4,000 for a married couple filing a joint return.) If you are 
married filing separate returns, either you or your spouse may 
take the subtraction, or you may divide it between you, but the 
total subtraction taken by both of you cannot be more than 
$4,000. 
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If you contribute more than $2,000 ($4,000 if married) during 
the year, your total subtraction is still limited to $2,000 
($4,000 if married.)  
For example: Jorge and Kate are married and have two 
children. During 2016, Jorge and Kate contributed $2,500 to a 
529 plan for Child 1 and $2,500 to a 529 plan for Child 2. 
Even though Jorge and Kate contributed a total of $5,000 
during 2016, they may subtract only $4,000 on their 2016 
return. 
You may take a subtraction for a contribution that you made 
during 2016 to a plan that existed before 2016. You may take 
a subtraction for a contribution that you made during 2016 to a 
plan established in another state. You may take a subtraction 
for a contribution that you made in 2016 to any 529 college 
savings plan. This could be a plan established for a child, 
grandchild, niece, nephew, or any other person for whom a 
plan has been established. 
You cannot take a subtraction for an amount transferred from 
one college savings plan to a different college savings plan (a 
rollover). 
Line 35 - Other Subtractions from Income 
Use line 35 if any of the following special circumstances 
apply. Include your own schedule with your return explaining 
any amounts entered here.  Include your schedule with the 
return. 
A. Fiduciary Adjustment 
A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 to report to you 
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1 shows your share of the 
fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the amount 
reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ, Schedule K-
1, is a negative number, enter that amount as a subtraction on 
line 35. 
NOTE:  If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona 
Form 141AZ, Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that 
amount as an addition on line 16. 

B. Federally Taxable Arizona Municipal Interest as 
Evidenced by Bonds 
Enter the amount of any interest income received on 
obligations of the State of Arizona, or any political 
subdivisions of Arizona, as evidenced by bonds, and is 
included in your Arizona gross income. Do not enter any 
Arizona municipal interest that is exempt from federal 
taxation and not included in your federal adjusted gross 
income.  For more information, see the department’s ruling, 
ITR 15-1, Arizona Municipal Interest that is Included in 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income. 
C. Adoption Expenses 
You may take this subtraction only in the year the final 
adoption order is granted. Enter the lesser of the total of the 
following adoption expenses or $3,000. When figuring your 
subtraction, you may include expenses incurred in prior years. 
The following expenses are qualified adoption expenses: 
• unreimbursed medical and hospital costs, 

• adoption counseling, 
• legal and agency fees, and 
• other nonrecurring costs of adoption. 
If you are married and filing separately, you may take the 
entire subtraction or you may divide the subtraction with your 
spouse. However, the total subtraction taken by both you and 
your spouse cannot exceed $3,000. 
D. Qualified Wood Stove, Wood Fireplace, or Gas Fired 
Fireplace 
Arizona law provides a subtraction for converting an existing 
fireplace to one of the following: 
• a qualified wood stove, 
• a qualified wood fireplace, or 
• a gas fired fireplace and non-optional equipment directly 

related to its operation. 
You may subtract up to $500 of the costs incurred for 
converting an existing fireplace on your property located in 
Arizona.  When you figure your subtraction, do not include 
taxes, interest, or other finance charges. 
A qualified wood stove or a qualified wood fireplace is a 
residential wood heater that was manufactured on or after July 
1, 1990, or sold at retail on or after July 1, 1992. The 
residential wood heater must also meet the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency's July 1990 particulate 
emissions standards. 
A qualified gas fired fireplace is any device that burns natural 
or liquefied petroleum gas as its fuel through a burner system 
that is permanently installed in the fireplace. The conversion 
of an existing wood burning fireplace to noncombustible gas 
logs that are permanently installed in the fireplace also 
qualifies as a gas fired fireplace. 
E. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in 
Prior Taxable Years 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
• During a year prior to 2016 you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
• You computed your tax for that prior year under Arizona's 

claim of right provisions. 
• A net operating loss or capital loss was established due to 

the repayment made in the prior year. 
• You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2016 
Arizona taxable income. 

• The amount of the loss carryover allowed to be taken into 
account for Arizona purposes is more than the amount 
included in your federal income. 

Enter the amount by which the loss carryover allowed for the 
taxable year under Arizona law is more than the amount 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 

F. Certain Expenses Not Allowed for Federal Purposes 
You may subtract some expenses that you cannot deduct on 
your federal return when you claim certain federal tax credits.  
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These federal tax credits include the following: 
• the Federal Work Opportunity Credit 
• the Empowerment Zone Employment Credit 
• the credit for employer-paid social security taxes on 

employee cash tips 
• the Indian Employment Credit. 
If you received any of the above federal tax credits for 2016, 
enter the portion of wages or salaries you paid or incurred 
during the taxable year equal to the amount of those federal 
tax credits you received. 
G. Qualified State Tuition Program Distributions 
If you are a beneficiary of a qualified state tuition program, 
you may subtract some of the amount distributed from the 
program for qualified education expenses. Enter the amount of 
the distribution that you had to include in your federal 
adjusted gross income. A qualified state tuition program is a 
program that meets the requirements of IRC § 529. 
H. Subtraction for World War II Victims 
You may subtract distributions made to you for your 
persecution or the persecution of your ancestors by Nazi 
Germany or any other Axis regime for racial, religious or 
political reasons. If you are the first recipient of such 
distributions, enter the amount of the distributions that you 
had to include in your federal adjusted gross income. 
You may also subtract items of income that are attributable to, 
derived from, or related to assets that were stolen or hidden 
from or lost to you if you were persecuted by Nazi Germany 
or any other Axis regime for racial, religious, or political 
reasons before, during or immediately after World War II. If 
you are the first recipient of such income, enter the amount of 
income that you had to include in your federal adjusted gross 
income. 
I. Installment Sale Income from Another State Taxed by 
the Other State in a Prior Taxable Year 
You may subtract income from an installment sale if both of 
the following apply: 
• The income from the sale is subject to Arizona income tax 

in 2016. 
• You paid income tax to another state on that income in a 

prior tax year. 
Enter the amount of such income that you included in your 
Arizona gross income for 2016. 
Do not enter any amount that is subject to tax by both Arizona 
and another state in 2016. In this case, you may be eligible for 
a tax credit. See Arizona Form 309 for details. 
J. Agricultural Crops Given to Arizona Charities 
Arizona law allows a subtraction for qualified crop gifts made 
during 2016 to one or more charitable organizations. To take 
this subtraction, all of the following must apply: 
• You must be engaged in the business of farming or 

processing agricultural crops.  
• The crop must be grown in Arizona. 

• You made your gift to a charitable organization located in 
Arizona that is exempt from Arizona income tax. 

The subtraction is the larger of the wholesale market price or 
the most recent sale price for the contributed crop.  The 
amount of the subtraction cannot include any amount deducted 
pursuant to IRC § 170 with respect to crop contribution that 
exceeds the cost of producing the contributed crop.  To 
determine if your crop gift qualifies for this subtraction, see 
the department’s procedure, ITP 12-1, Establishing an Income 
Tax Subtraction for Agricultural Crops Contributed to 
Charitable Organizations. 
K. Basis Adjustment for Property Sold or Otherwise 
Disposed of During the Taxable Year 
With respect to property that is sold or otherwise disposed of 
during the taxable year by a taxpayer who has complied with 
the requirement to add back all depreciation with respect to 
that property on tax returns for all taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 1999, enter the amount of 
depreciation that has been allowed pursuant to IRC § 167(a) to 
the extent that the amount has not already reduced Arizona 
taxable income in the current or prior years. (Note: The 
practical effect of this is to allow a subtraction for the 
difference in basis for any asset for which bonus depreciation 
has been claimed on the federal return.) 
L. Previously Deferred Discharge of Indebtedness (DOI) 
Income Adjustment 
Generally, when a loan is settled for less than the amount 
owed, DOI income is realized by the debtor and usually must 
be included in the debtor’s gross income.  The amount of DOI 
income is generally equal to the amount of loan forgiveness.  
DOI income also occurs when a debtor repurchases his or her 
own debt at a discount (a price lower than the adjusted basis 
issue price of the debt instrument).  In debt repurchase 
transactions, the amount of DOI income is generally equal to 
the difference between the adjusted issue price and the price 
paid for the debt instrument.   
For federal purposes, a taxpayer may have made a special 
election for taxable years 2009 or 2010 to include DOI income 
in connection with the reacquisition of a business debt 
instrument, ratably over a 5 year period.  A taxpayer that made 
this election will generally include this income in federal 
adjusted gross income beginning with the 2014 taxable year.  
A taxpayer would have made the federal election under IRC § 
108(i) as added by the American Recovery and Reinvestment 
Act of 2009.  Arizona did not adopt the special federal DOI 
income deferral provisions for the 2009 or 2010 taxable year.  
For Arizona purposes, if you made the federal election to defer 
the inclusion of DOI income under IRC § 108(i), you were 
required to add the amount of deferred DOI income to Arizona 
income for the year for which you made the election.   
If you made the required addition to Arizona income on the 
Arizona return filed for the year in which you reacquired the 
debt instrument (2009 or 2010), Arizona will not tax that DOI 
income twice.  In the year in which you include that deferred 
DOI income in your federal adjusted gross income, you may 
take a subtraction for the amount included for that year.    
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Usually this subtraction will apply to taxable years 2014 
through 2018.  On line 35, enter the amount of previously 
deferred DOI income that you included in your federal 
adjusted gross income for the current taxable year to the extent 
that the amount was previously added to your Arizona income. 
M. Original Issue Discount (OID) on Reacquisition of 
Business Debt Instrument 
For federal purposes, when a taxpayer made the special 
election to defer DOI income under IRC § 108(i), the taxpayer 
was not allowed to take a deduction with respect to the portion 
of any OID that accrued with respect to that DOI income, 
during the income deferral period.  In this case, the taxpayer 
must deduct the aggregate amount of the OID deductions 
disallowed ratably over a 5 year period, beginning with the 
period in which the income is includible in federal adjusted 
gross income. 
Arizona did not adopt the federal provisions requiring a 
taxpayer to defer the OID deduction in cases where the 
taxpayer federally deferred the DOI income under IRC § 
108(i).  For Arizona purposes, you were required to add the 
amount of deferred DOI income to Arizona income on the 
return filed for the year in which you reacquired the debt 
instrument.   
Since Arizona taxed the federally deferred DOI income for 
2009 or 2010 on your 2009 or 2010 Arizona return, you may 
subtract the amount of OID that accrued during the taxable 
year with respect to that DOI income.   
On line 35, enter the amount of any OID that was deferred and 
not allowed to be deducted in computing your federal adjusted 
gross income for 2016 under IRC § 108(i). 
N. Sole Proprietorship Income of an Arizona Nonprofit 
Medical Marijuana Dispensary included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income 
If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with the 
Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this state 
as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you may subtract 
the amount of the income from the dispensary that is included 
in the computation of your federal adjusted gross income.  
Include the amount of the income on line 35. 

NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana 
dispensary is registered with the Arizona Department of 
Health Services as anything other than a sole proprietorship, 
this subtraction does not apply. 

O. Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 
You may subtract the amount of premium costs for long-term 
care insurance for qualified long-term care services.  Qualified 
long-term care services are necessary diagnostic, preventive, 
therapeutic, curing, treating, mitigating, rehabilitative services, 
and maintenance and personal care services. 
You may take this subtraction only if you are not claiming 
itemized deductions for the taxable year.  Include the 
allowable subtraction on line 35. 
An individual, who claims itemized deductions, may not take 
this subtraction.  

P. Long-Term Health Care Savings Accounts 
You may subtract amounts you paid into a long-term health 
care savings account established under Arizona law.  An 
individual may establish a long-term health care savings 
account with an account Administrator who will manage the 
account.   
For more information regarding the subtraction for 
contributions made to a long-term health care savings account, 
see A.R.S. § 43-1032. 
The total amount you may subtract is equal to the amount of 
your contributions that are included in your federal adjusted 
gross income.  Include the amount of the allowable subtraction 
on line 35. 
Do not include on line 35 any amounts already excluded in the 
computation of your federal adjusted gross income 
Q. Other Adjustments 
Other special adjustments may be necessary. Call one of the 
numbers on page 1 of these instructions if any of the following 
apply: 
• You sold or disposed of non-depreciable property that 

was held for the production of income and your basis was 
computed under the Arizona Income Tax Act of 1954, as 
amended (1978 prior).  

• You deferred exploration expenses determined under IRC 
§ 617 in a taxable year ending before January 1, 1990, 
and you have not previously taken a subtraction for those 
expenses. 

Line 36 - 
Subtract lines 22 through 35 from line 17 and enter the 
difference. 
Line 37 –  
Enter the amount from page 1, line 36. 
Exemptions 
Line 38 - Age 65 or Over 
Multiply the number in box 8 on the front of your return by 
$2,100 and enter the result. 
Line 39 - Blind 
Multiply the number in box 9 on the front of your return by 
$1,500 and enter the result. 
Line 40 - Dependents 
Multiply the number in box 10 on the front of your return by 
$2,300 and enter the result. 
Line 41 - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 
Multiply the number in box 11 on the front of your return by 
$10,000 and enter the result. 
Line 42 - Arizona Adjusted Gross Income 
Subtract lines 38 through 41 from line 37 and enter the 
difference.  
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Figuring Your Tax 
Line 43 - Standard or Itemized Deductions 
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or to 
itemize your deductions. Your Arizona income tax will be less 
if you take the larger of your standard deduction or your 
itemized deductions.  

When you e-file, the software completes the 
math for you. 

Your Standard Deduction 

If you take the standard deduction, check box 43S. 
If your filing status is: Your standard deduction is: 

• Single $5,099 
• Married filing separate $5,099 
• Married filing joint $10,189 
• Head of household $10,189 

Your Itemized Deductions 
If you itemize your deductions, check box 43I. 
You may claim itemized deductions on your Arizona return 
even if you take a standard deduction on your federal return. 
For the most part, you may claim those deductions allowable 
as itemized deductions under the IRC.  
In some cases, the amount allowed for some deductions may 
not be the same as the amount allowable for federal purposes. 
You may have to adjust the amounts shown on your 
completed federal Form 1040, Schedule A. 
See Arizona Form 140 Schedule A, Itemized Deduction 
Adjustments, to figure if you have to make any adjustments. 
To figure your itemized deductions, you must complete a 
federal Form 1040, Schedule A. Then, if required, complete 
Arizona Form 140, Schedule A, Itemized Deduction 
Adjustments.  
If you do not have to complete Form 140, Schedule A, 
Itemized Deduction Adjustments; enter the amount from 
federal Form 1040, Schedule A, on Form 140, line 43. 
You must include a copy of the completed federal Schedule A 
with your Arizona return.  

Line 44 - Personal Exemptions 
The amount you may claim as a personal exemption depends 
on your filing status. If married, the amount you may claim as 
a personal exemption also depends on whether you or your 
spouse claim dependents. You may use the following chart to 
figure your personal exemption.  
If married, you may also use Arizona Form 202, Personal 
Exemption Allocation Election, to figure your personal 
exemption.

 

Personal Exemption Chart 

If you checked filing status: Enter: 
• Single (Box 7) $2,100 
• Married filing joint return (Box 4) and 

claiming no dependents (Box 10) 
$4,200 

• Married filing joint return (Box 4) and 
claiming at least one dependent (Box 10) 
excluding persons listed who did not 
qualify as a dependent on your federal 
return [Box 10, column (e)]. 

$6,300 

• Head of household and you are not married 
(Box 5) 

$4,200 

• Head of household and you are a married 
person who qualifies to file as head of 
household (Box 5) 

$3,150,    or 
complete 
Form 202  

• Married filing separate return (Box 6) with 
neither spouse claiming any dependents 
(Box 10) 

$2,100,   or 
complete 
Form 202 

• Married filing separate return (Box 6) with 
one spouse claiming at least one dependent 
(Box 10) excluding persons listed who did 
not qualify as a dependent on your federal 
return [Box 10, column (e)]. 

$3,150,   or 
complete 
Form 202 

A married couple who does not claim any dependents may 
take one personal exemption of $4,200. If the husband and 
wife file separate returns, either spouse may take the entire 
$4,200 exemption, or the spouses may divide the $4,200 
between them. You and your spouse must complete Form 202 
if either you or your spouse claim a personal exemption of 
more than $2,100. If you and your spouse do not complete 
Form 202, you may take an exemption of only $2,100 (one-
half of the total $4,200). 
A married couple who claims at least one dependent may take 
one personal exemption of $6,300. If the husband and wife file 
separate returns, either spouse may take the entire $6,300 
exemption, or the spouses may divide the $6,300 between 
them. You and your spouse must complete Form 202 if either 
you or your spouse claims a personal exemption of more than 
$3,150. If you and your spouse do not complete Form 202, 
you may take an exemption of only $3,150 (one-half of the 
total $6,300). 
If you are a married person who qualifies to file as a head of 
household, you may take the entire $6,300 personal exemption 
or you may divide the exemption with your spouse. You and 
your spouse must complete Form 202 if either you or your 
spouse claims a personal exemption of more than $3,150. If 
you and your spouse do not complete Form 202 you may take 
an exemption of only $3,150 (one-half of the total $6,300). 
The spouse who claims more than one-half of the total 
personal exemption must include the original Form 202 with 
his or her return. The spouse who claims less than one-half of 
the total personal exemption must include a copy of the 
completed Form 202 with his or her return. 
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Line 45 - Arizona Taxable Income 
Subtract lines 43 and 44 from line 42 and enter the difference. 
If less than zero, enter “0”.  Use this amount to calculate your 
tax using Tax Table X or Y or the Optional Tax Tables. 
Line 46 - Tax Amount 
Enter the tax from either Tax Table X or Y or the Optional 
Tax Tables. If your taxable income is less than $50,000, use 
the Optional Tax Table.  If your taxable income is $50,000 or 
more, use Tax Table X or Y. 
Line 47 - Tax from Recapture of Credits from Arizona 
Form 301 
Enter the amount of tax due from recapture of the credits from 
Arizona Form 301, Part 2, line 40. 

Line 48 - Subtotal of Tax 
Add lines 46 and 47 and enter the total. 
Line 49 - Family Income Tax Credit 

E-file software will let you know if you are 
eligible and will figure the credit for you. 

NOTE:  The family income tax credit will only reduce your 
tax and cannot be refunded. 
You may claim this credit if your income does not exceed the 
maximum income allowed for your filing status.   
• Complete Steps 1, 2, and 3 to see if you qualify for this 

credit. 
• If you qualify to take this credit, complete Worksheet II in 

Step 4. 
Step 1 

Complete Worksheet I below. 

Worksheet I 
(continued on next column) 

1.  Enter the amount from Form 140, line 42 $ 
2.  Enter the amount from 

Form 140, line 38. $ 
 

3.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 39. $ 

4.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 40. $ 

5.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 41. $ 

6.  Add the amounts on lines 2 through 5 and 
enter the total. $ 

7.  Add lines 1 and 6 and enter the total. $ 

Step 2 
Look at the following tables.  Find your filing status. 
• Use Table 1 if married filing a joint return. 
• Use Table 2 if head of household. 
• Use Table 3 if single or married filing separate return. 

Step 3 
• Look at column (a) and find the number of dependents 

you are claiming (Form 140, page 1, box 10 excluding 

persons listed who did not qualify as a dependent on your 
federal return). 

• Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the number 
of dependents you are claiming.  

• Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the   
income listed in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 7. 

If the amount entered in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 7 is equal 
to or less than the maximum income allowed for the number 
of dependents you are claiming on Form 140, page 1, box 10, 
excluding persons listed who did not qualify as your 
dependent on your federal return, you qualify to claim this 
credit.  To figure your credit, complete Step 4. 

Table I 
Married Filing Joint Return 
Column (a) Column (b) 

Number of dependents you are claiming on Form 
140, page 1, box 10 excluding persons listed who 
did not qualify as a dependent on your federal 
return [Box 10, column (e)]. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $23,600 
• 3 $27,300 
• 4 or more $31,000 

 
Table II 

Head of Household 
Column (a) Column (b) 

Number of dependents you are claiming on Form 
140, page 1, box 10, excluding persons listed 
who did not qualify as a dependent on your 
federal return [Box 10, column (e)]. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $20,135 
• 3 $23,800 
• 4 $25,200 
• 5 or more $26,575 

 

Table III 
Single or Married Filing Separate Return 

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming on Form 
140, page 1, box 10 excluding persons listed who 
did not qualify as a dependent on your federal 
return [Box 10, column (e)]. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or more $10,000 

Step 4 
If you qualify to claim the credit, complete Worksheet II. 

Worksheet II  
You must complete Steps 1 through 3  

before you complete Worksheet II 
(continued on next page) 

1. Enter the number of dependents you entered 
on Form 140, page 1, box 10, excluding 
persons listed who did not qualify as a 
dependent on your federal return [Box 10, 
column (e)]. 
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2.  Enter the number of personal exemptions.  If 
you checked filing status 4, enter the 
number 2 here.  If you checked filing status 
5, 6, or 7, enter the number 1 here. 

 

3.  Add lines 1 and 2.  Enter the total.  
4.  Multiply the amount on line 3 by $40.  Enter 

the result. $ 
5.  If you checked filing status 4 or 5, enter 

$240 here.  If your checked filing status 6 or 
7, enter $120 here.   $ 

6.  Enter the lesser of line 4 or line 5.  Also, 
enter this amount on Form 140, line 49. $ 

Line 50 - Nonrefundable Credits from Arizona Form 
301  
Complete line 50 if you claim any of the following credits. 
Also make sure that you complete and include Arizona Form 
301 and the appropriate credit form or forms with your return. 
1. Enterprise Zone Credit.  The enterprise zone credit for 
individuals was repealed.  All credits for enterprise zones that 
were properly established can be carried forward for the 
respective five year carry forward period.  See Form 304 for 
more information. 
2. Environmental Technology Facility Credit. You may 
qualify for this credit if your business incurred expenses in 
constructing a qualified environmental technology 
manufacturing facility. Use Form 305 to figure this credit. 
3. Military Reuse Zone Credit. You may qualify for this 
credit if you have qualifying net increases in full-time 
employment within a military reuse zone. Use Form 306 to 
figure this credit.  
4. Recycling Equipment Credit. The recycling equipment 
credit for individuals was repealed. All credits for recycling 
equipment that were properly established can be carried 
forward for the respective 15 year carry forward period.  Use 
Form 307 to figure any allowable credit carryover. 
5. Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals. 
You may qualify for this credit if you incurred qualified 
research expenses for research conducted in Arizona. Use 
Form 308-I to figure this credit. Be sure to include only the 
nonrefundable portion on Form 140, line 50. 
6. Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State or Country. You 
may qualify for this credit if you paid tax to Arizona and 
another state or country on the same income. Use Form 
309 to figure your credit.  
7. Credit for Solar Energy Devices. You may qualify for this 
credit if you installed a solar energy device in your residence 
located in Arizona. Use Form 310 to figure this credit. 
8. Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit. You 
may qualify for this credit if you incurred expenses to 
purchase and install an agricultural water conservation system 
in Arizona. Use Form 312 to figure this credit. 
9. Pollution Control Credit. You may qualify for this credit 
if you purchased depreciable property used in a trade or 

business to reduce or prevent pollution. Use Form 315 to 
figure this credit. 
10. Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub 
Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets. You may 
qualify for this credit if you installed solar hot water heater 
plumbing stub outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in 
houses or dwelling units you constructed.  
The taxpayer that constructed the dwelling may also transfer 
the credit to a purchaser. Use Form 319 to figure this credit. 
11. Credit for Employment of TANF Recipients. You may 
qualify for this credit if you employed TANF recipients during 
the taxable year. Use Form 320 to figure this credit. 
12. Credit for Contributions to Qualifying Charitable 
Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to qualifying charitable organizations. Use Form 
321 to figure this credit. 
13. Credit for Contributions Made or Fees Paid to Public 
Schools. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions or paid certain fees to public schools in Arizona. 
Use Form 322 to figure this credit. 
14. Credit for Contributions to Private School Tuition 
Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to a school tuition organization that provides 
scholarships or grants to qualified schools. Use Form 323 to 
figure this credit. 
15. Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit. You 
may qualify for this credit if you are involved in commercial 
agriculture and incurred expenses to purchase tangible 
personal property that is primarily used in your trade or 
business to control or prevent pollution. Use Form 325 to 
figure this credit. 
16. Credit for Donation of School Site. You may qualify for 
this credit if you donated real property and improvements to a 
school district or a charter school for use as a school or as a 
site for the construction of a school. Use Form 331 to figure 
this credit. 
17. Credits for Healthy Forest Enterprises. You may 
qualify for these credits if you had net increases in qualified 
employment positions in a healthy forest enterprise and net 
training and certifying costs. Use Form 332 to figure these 
credits. 
18. Credit for Employing National Guard Members. You 
may qualify for this credit if you are an employer who has an 
employee that is a member of the Arizona National Guard if 
the employee is placed on active duty. Use Form 333 to figure 
this credit. 
19. Credit for Business Contributions by an S Corporation 
to School Tuition Organizations - Individual.   
S corporations that make qualifying contributions of $5,000 or 
more may pass-through the credit to its individual 
shareholders on a pro rata basis.  See Form 335-I for more 
information.  
20. Credit for Solar Energy Devices - Commercial and 
Industrial Applications. This credit is available to taxpayers 
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that installed solar energy devices for commercial, industrial, 
or other nonresidential applications located in Arizona. Use 
Form 336 to figure this credit. 
21. Credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses. 
You may qualify for this credit if you made an investment in a 
qualified small business. Use Form 338 to figure this credit. 
22. Credit for Water Conservation Systems. The credit for 
water conservation systems for individuals was repealed.  All 
credits for water conservation systems that were properly 
established can be carried forward for the respective five year 
carry forward period.  Use Form 339 to figure this credit.  
23. Credit for Donations to the Military Family Relief 
Fund. You may qualify for this credit if you made a cash 
contribution to the Arizona Military Family Relief Fund 
during the taxable year. Use Form 340 to figure this credit. 
24.  Credit for Business Contributions by an S 
Corporation to School Tuition Organizations for Displaced 
Students or Students with Disabilities - Individual.   
S corporations that make qualifying contributions of $5000 or 
more may pass-through the credit to its individual 
shareholders on a pro rata basis.  See Form 341-I for more 
information.  
25. Renewable Energy Production Tax Credit. You may 
qualify for this credit if you produced electricity using a 
qualified energy resource. Use Form 343 to figure this credit. 
26. Solar Liquid Fuel Credit. You may qualify for this credit 
if you incurred expenses for (1) research and development 
costs associated with solar liquid fuel, (2) for the production of 
solar liquid fuel in this state in commercial quantities, and (3) 
for costs incurred during the taxable year to convert or modify 
existing motor vehicle fuel service stations for the retail sale 
of solar liquid fuel to customers. Use Form 344 to figure this 
credit. 
27. Credit for New Employment. For taxable years 
beginning from and after June 30, 2011, you may qualify for 
this credit if your business had a net increase in qualified 
employment positions.  Use Form 345 to figure this credit. 
28. Additional Credit for Increased Research Activities for 
Basic Research Payments.   You may qualify for this credit 
for qualified basic research payments for research conducted 
in Arizona.  Approval by the Department of Revenue is 
required prior to claiming this credit.  Use Form 346 to figure 
this credit. 
29. Credit for Qualified Health Insurance Plans.  The credit 
for qualified health insurance plans for individuals has been 
repealed.  All credits for qualified health insurance plans that 
were properly established can be carried forward for the 
respective three year carry forward period. Use Form 347 to 
figure this credit. 
30.  Credit for Contributions to Certified School Tuition 
Organization (for the amounts that exceed the allowable 
credit on AZ Form 323).  You may qualify for this credit if 
you made contributions to school tuition organization(s) that 
exceed the allowable credit amount on AZ Form 323.  Use 
Form 348 to figure this credit. 

31. Credit for Renewable Energy Investment & 
Production for Self-Consumption by Manufacturers and 
International Operations Centers.  You may qualify for this 
tax credit if you made an investment in new renewable energy 
facilities that produce energy for self-consumption using 
renewable energy resources if the power will be used 
primarily for manufacturing or in an international operations 
center.  Use Form 351 to figure this credit. 
32. Credit for Contributions to Qualifying Foster Care 
Charitable Organizations. You may qualify for this credit if 
you made contributions to qualifying foster care charitable 
organizations. Use Form 352 to figure this credit. 
Compute your credit(s) on the appropriate form(s). Complete 
Arizona Form 301 and enter the amount from Form 301, Part 
2, line 76 on Form 140, line 50.  The total amount of credits 
on line 50 cannot reduce your tax below zero. These credits 
are nonrefundable credits. 
Include Form 301 and completed tax credit forms, along with 
any supporting documents, with your return. 
Line 51 - Balance of Tax 
Subtract lines 49 and 50 from line 48.  Enter the difference.  If 
the sum of lines 49 and 50 is more than line 48, enter “0”. 

Totaling Payments and Refundable Credits 
Line 52 - 2016 Arizona Income Tax Withheld 
Enter the Arizona income tax withheld shown on Form(s) W-2 
from your employer(s). Also enter the Arizona income tax 
withheld shown on your Form(s) 1099-R (distributions from 
pensions, annuities, etc.). Do not include any income tax 
withheld for another state. Include Form(s) W-2 and 1099-R 
after the last page of your return. 

NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than 
January 31.  If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you think 
your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer. 

Line 53 (Boxes a, b and line 53c) - 2016 Arizona 
Estimated Tax Payments including Amount Applied 
from Your 2015 Return; and Arizona Claim of Right 
Use this line if you did any of the following: 
• made estimated income tax payments to Arizona for 

2016; 
• applied any of your refund from your 2015 Arizona tax 

return to 2016 estimated taxes for Arizona; or 
• recomputed a prior year’s tax under Arizona’s Claim of 

Right provisions.   
Beginning in 2016, you must also complete and include 
the Arizona Claim of Right – Individual form(s) with your 
income tax return.  If you fail to complete and include the 
form(s), the amount of your claim may be denied.  The 
form is available on the department’s website at 
www.azdor.gov. 

Box 53a:  Enter the total amount of estimated taxes paid 
and/or applied to your 2016 taxes. 
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NOTE:  If you are married  and made joint Arizona estimated 
payments for 2016, but are filing separate 2016 Arizona 
income tax returns, see the department’s ruling, ITR 02-3, 
Allocating Joint Estimated Payments to Separate Returns.  

Box 53b:  Enter the amount from your Arizona Claim of 
Right- Individual form, line 8. 

If you completed more than one Claim of Right form for the 
current taxable year, add all amounts on line 8 and enter the 
total in box 53b. 

NOTE:  For more information on Arizona's claim of right 
provisions, see the department’s procedure, ITP 16-1, 
Procedure for Individuals Who Restore Substantial Amounts 
Held Under a Claim of Right. 

Line 53c:  Add the amounts in box 53a and box 53b.  Enter 
the total on line 53c. 
Line 54 - 2016 Arizona Extension Payment (Form 204) 
Use this line to report the payment you sent with your 2016 
extension request (Arizona Form 204) or the electronic 
extension payment you made using www.AZTaxes.gov. 
Line 55 - Increased Excise Tax Credit 
You may claim this credit if you meet all of the following: 
• You must have a SSN that is valid for employment. 
• You meet the income threshold for your filing status. 

• If you are married filing a joint return, or a head of 
household, you may claim this credit if the amount 
on Form 140, page 1, line 12, is $25,000 or less.  

• If you are single or married filing a separate return, 
you may claim this credit if the amount on Form 140, 
page 1, line 12 is $12,500 or less. 

• You are not claimed as a dependent by any other 
taxpayer. 

• You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2016 to a 
 county, state, or federal prison. 

NOTE:  If you are filing a joint return with your spouse and 
your spouse was sentenced for at least 60 days during 2016 to 
a county, state or federal prison, you may claim the Excise 
Tax Credit if you otherwise qualify to claim the credit, but you 
cannot claim the credit for your spouse.  If your spouse has a 
valid SSN, but you do not, neither you nor your spouse can 
claim this credit. 
For more information on how incarceration affects this credit, 
see the department’s publication, Pub. 709, Excise Tax Credit 
– How Does Incarceration Affect Eligibility? 
If you are filing a joint return with your spouse, you may also 
claim this credit for your spouse if your spouse has either a 
valid SSN or an ITIN. 
If you also claim a credit for qualifying children, your 
qualifying children must have either a valid SSN or an ITIN.  
To figure your credit, complete the following worksheet. 
 
 

NOTE: Do not complete the following worksheet if you are 
claiming the property tax credit on Arizona Form 140PTC. 
Use Form 140PTC to figure both the credit for increased 
excise taxes and the property tax credit.  
If you are claiming both the credit for increased excise taxes 
and the property tax credit, enter the increased excise tax 
credit from Form 140PTC, page 1,line 17, here and enter the 
property tax credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15, on 
Form 140,  line 56. 
 

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet 
If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is the 
amount on Form 140, page 1, line 12, 
$25,000 or less? 
If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is the 
amount on Form 140, line 12, $12,500 or 
less?  

Check One 
Yes No 

If you checked no, STOP. You do not qualify for this credit. 
If you checked yes, complete the rest of this worksheet. 
1. Enter the number of dependents you 

entered on Form 140, page 1, box 10, 
excluding persons listed who did not 
qualify as a dependent on your federal 
return [Box 10, column (e)]. Also 
exclude any dependent that is not an 
Arizona resident. 

 

2. Number of personal exemptions. If you 
checked filing status 4, enter the number 
2 here. If you checked filing status 5, 6, 
or 7, enter the number 1 here. 

 

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total.  
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by $25. 

Enter the result. $ 
5. Maximum credit. $     100 00 
6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5 here 

and also enter on Form 140, line 55. $ 00 

NOTE:  The credit cannot exceed $100 per household. Do not 
claim this credit if someone else in your household has 
already claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your 
household has claimed less than $100, you may claim the 
credit as long as all credit claims filed from your household 
do not exceed $100. 
Line 56 - Property Tax Credit 
You may claim the property tax credit if you meet all the 
following: 
• You were either 65 or older in 2016 or, if under age 65, 

you were receiving SSI Title 16 income from the Social 
Security Administration. 

NOTE: SSI Title 16 income is not the normal Social Security 
disability. 

• You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2016. 
• You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2016. 

You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or 
you did a combination of both. 
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• If you lived alone, your total household income was under 
$3,751.  If you lived with others, the total household 
income was under $5,501.  To see what income is 
included in household income, see the Form 140PTC 
instructions. 

Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit. Enter the 
amount from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15.  Include Form 
140PTC with your return. 

TAX TIP: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your 
claim or extension request by April 18, 2017.  You cannot 
claim this credit on an amended return if you file the amended 
return after the due date of your return.    
Line 57 - Other Refundable Credits 
Enter the total amount of refundable credits you are claiming 
from any of the following: 
• Credit for Increased Research Activities – Individuals 

(Form 308-I) 
• Credit for Renewable Energy Industry (Form 342) 
• Credit for Qualified Facilities (Form 349) 
If you enter an amount on this line, be sure you check the box 
or boxes to show which credit(s) you are claiming. Also, be 
sure to include the credit form(s) with your return. 
Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals 
(Form 308-I) 
A portion of this credit is refundable.  You may qualify for the 
refundable increased research activities credit if you incurred 
qualified research expenses for research conducted in Arizona.  
For more information about this credit, and to see whether you 
may claim a refund of this credit, see Arizona Form 308-I.  
You must include a copy of your “Certificate of Qualification” 
from the Arizona Commerce Authority, Form 301 and Form 
308-I with your return to claim this credit. 
If you are claiming a refund of the increased research 
activities credit from Form 308-I, enter the amount from Form 
308-I, Part 4, line 34, here. 
Credit for Renewable Energy Industry (Form 342) 
You may qualify for the refundable renewable energy industry 
credit if you expanded or located a qualified renewable energy 
operation in Arizona.  The tax credit is refundable in five 
equal installments.  Pre-approval and post-approval are 
required through the Arizona Commerce Authority.  For more 
information about this credit, see Arizona Form 342.  
If you are claiming the credit for renewable energy industry, 
from Form 342, enter the amount from Form 342, Part 6, line 
18, here. 
Credit for Qualified Facilities (Form 349) 
You may qualify for the refundable qualified facilities credit if 
you expanded or located a qualified facility in Arizona.  This 
credit is refundable in five equal installments.  Pre-approval 
and post-approval are required through the Arizona Commerce 
Authority.  For more information about this credit, see 
Arizona Form 349. 

You must include a copy of your “Certification of 
Qualification” from the Arizona Commerce Authority and 
Form 349 with your tax return to claim this credit.  If you are 
claiming a refund of the qualified facilities credit from Form 
349, enter the amount from Form 349, Part 8, line 18, here. 
If you are claiming more than one of the refundable tax 
credits, add the amounts from the credit forms together and 
enter the total on line 57.  You may use the following table to 
figure the amount to enter on line 57. 

2016 - Refundable Credit Worksheet 

1.  Enter the refundable credit from Form 
308-I, Part 4, line 34 

 

2.  Enter the refundable credit from Form 
342, Part 6, line 18. 

 

3.  Enter the refundable credit from Form 
349, Part 8, line 18. 

 

4.  Add the amounts on lines 1 through 3.  
Enter the total here and on line 57. 

 

Line 58 - Total Payments and Refundable Credits 
Line 58 is the total payments and refundable credits claimed.  
Add lines 52 through 57 and enter the total. 
Arizona’s Claim of Right Provision 
NOTE:  Arizona’s Claim of Right amount is now reported on 
line 53.  See line 53 for instructions. 

Figuring Your Tax Due or Overpayment  
Line 59 - Tax Due 
If line 51 is more than line 58, you have tax due. Subtract line 
58 from line 51 and enter the amount of tax due.  Skip lines 
60, 61 and 62. 
Line 60 - Overpayment 
If line 58 is more than line 51 you have an overpayment.   
Subtract line 51 from line 58 and enter the difference.  
Complete lines 61 and 62. 
Line 61 - Amount of Line 60 to Apply to 2017 
Estimated Tax 
If you want all or part of your refund applied to next year's 
estimated taxes, enter that amount on line 61. 

NOTE: If you apply any of the amount shown on line 60 to 
2017, you cannot use that amount to pay any tax that is later 
found to be due for 2016. 
You also may not claim a refund for that amount until you file 
your 2017 return. 

Line 62 - Balance of Overpayment 
Subtract line 61 from line 60 to determine your overpayment 
balance before voluntary gifts and any estimated payment 
penalty and/or Arizona Long-Term Health Care Savings 
Account (AZLTHSA) withdrawal penalty. 
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Making Voluntary Gifts 
You can make voluntary gifts to each of the funds shown 
below. A gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount 
due with your return. 
NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of 
that gift later on an amended return. 

Line 63 - Solutions Teams Assigned to Schools Fund 

You may give some or all of your refund to the Solutions 
Teams Assigned to Schools Fund.  You may also give more 
than your entire refund.  If you send in additional money with 
your return, include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount 
you want to donate on line 63. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund. The 
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money to the 
Arizona Department of Education to fund solutions teams 
assigned to schools. 
Line 64 - Arizona Wildlife Fund 

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona 
Wildlife Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 64. 
Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife 
in the state.  Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout and 
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund. Gifts 
are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife statewide.  
Line 65 - Child Abuse Prevention Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Child 
Abuse Prevention Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 65. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund. This 
fund provides financial aid to community agencies for child 
abuse prevention programs. 
Line 66 - Domestic Violence Shelter Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Domestic 
Violence Shelter Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 66. 
Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Shelter Fund. This fund 
provides financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic 
violence. 
Line 67 - Political Gift 
You may give some or all of your refund to a political party. 
You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you send 
in additional money with your return, include that amount on 
line 78.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 67.  If 
you donate to a political party, complete line 73. 
 

Gifts go to one of the following political parties: 
• Democratic 
• Green Party 
• Libertarian 
• Republican 
Line 68 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors 
Helping Neighbors Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 68. 
Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund. This fund 
provides eligible recipients with emergency aid in paying 
utility bills, conserving energy and weatherization. 
Line 69 - Special Olympics Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Special 
Olympics Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 69. 
Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund. This fund helps 
provide programs of the Arizona Special Olympics. 
Line 70 - Veterans’ Donations Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’ 
Donations Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund. If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 70. 
Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be used 
for veterans in Arizona. 
Line 71 - I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the I Didn’t Pay 
Enough Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 71. 
Gifts that you make to the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid 
the state by going to the Arizona general fund. 
Line 72 - Sustainable State Parks and Roads Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Sustainable 
State Parks and Roads Fund.  You may also give more than 
your entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your 
return, include that amount on line 78.  Enter the amount you 
want to donate on line 72. 
Gifts that you make to the Sustainable State Parks and Roads 
Fund will aid the state to operate, maintain and make capital 
improvements to buildings, roads, parking lots, highway 
entrances and any related structure used to operate state parks. 
Line 73 - Political Party 
If you entered an amount on line 67, check the box for the 
political party to which you wish to give. Select only one 
party. If you do not select a political party, the department will 
return the amount on line 67. 

2233  



AArriizzoonnaa  FFoorrmm  114400  

Line 74 -  
• Estimated Payment Penalty  
• Arizona Long-Term Health Care Savings Account 

(AZLTHSA) Withdrawal Penalty 
Estimated Payment Penalty 
NOTE:  Do not complete Form 221, Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax by Individuals, if the amount on Form 140, line 
52 is more than the amount on Form 140, line 51. If the 
amount on Form 140, line 52, is more than the amount on 
Form 140, line 51, skip line 74, unless you must report an 
Arizona Long-Term Health Care Savings Account penalty. 

If you report as a farmer or fisherman for federal purposes, 
you were not required to make estimated payments during 
2016 if the following apply: 
• You are a calendar year filer. You file your Arizona 

return by March 1, 2017. You pay in full the amount 
stated on your return as owed. 

• You are a fiscal year filer. You file your Arizona return 
by the first day of the third month after the end of your 
fiscal year. You pay in full the amount stated on your 
return as owed. 

If the above applies, check Box 2 on line 75 and do not 
complete Form 221. 
An individual who fails to make the required estimated 
payments is subject to penalty on any estimated tax payment 
that is late or underpaid.  
Complete and include Form 221, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Individuals, to determine if any penalty is due. Enter 
the total penalty from Form 221. 
Arizona Long-Term Health Care Savings Account 
(AZLTHSA) Withdrawal Penalty 
You must pay a withdrawal penalty if you made a long-term 
health care savings account withdrawal during 2016 from a 
long-term health care savings account, established under 
Arizona law, for purposes other than to pay for qualified long-
term health care expenses.  Long-term health care expense 
means any expense you paid for long-term health care costs, 
including the following: 
• expenses for skilled nursing care, 
• expenses for home health care, and 
• personal care or supportive services due to the loss of 

some capacity for self-care based on a chronic illness or 
condition. 

The penalty is equal to 10% (.10) of the withdrawal. You must 
remit this penalty with your income tax return filed for the 
year in which you made the withdrawal. 
Multiply the amount of your withdrawal subject to penalty by 
10%. Enter the result. 
NOTE:  If you are subject to both the estimated payment 
penalty and the AZLTHSA penalty, add the penalty 
amounts together and enter the total on line 74. 

Line 75 - Box 751 through 754 
Box 751:  check if any of the following applies to you: 
1.  You checked the box on line 1 of Form 221. 
2. You completed the annualized income worksheet on Form 

221. 
3. You elected to be treated as a nonresident alien on your 

federal income tax return. You made three estimated 
payment installments. Your first installment equaled 50% 
of the total of all of your required installments. 

Box 752:    check if you are an individual who for federal 
purposes  reports as a farmer or fisherman. 

Box 753:  check if you completed and included Form 221. 
Box 754: check if you included an Arizona Long-Term HSA 

penalty on line 74. 

Line 76 - 
Add lines 63 through 72 and 74.  Enter the total. 

Figuring Your Refund or Amount Owed 
You can get your refund quicker when you  
e-file and use direct deposit. 

Line 77 - Refund 
Subtract line 76 from line 62. Enter your refund on line 77 and 
skip line 78. 
If you owe money to any Arizona state agency, court, county, 
incorporated city or town and certain federal agencies, your 
refund may go to pay some of that debt.   If so, the department 
will let you know by letter. 
Tax Tip: If you change your address before you get your 
refund, let the department know. Write to: Refund Desk, 
Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 29216, Phoenix, AZ 
85038-9216. Include your SSN in your letter. 

Direct Deposit of Refund 
Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly 
deposit the amount shown on line 77 into your account at a 
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund, 
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending you a 
check.  

NOTE: Check the box on line 77A if the direct deposit will 
ultimately be placed in a foreign account.  If you check box 
77A, do not enter your routing or account numbers.  If this box 
is checked, we will not direct deposit your refund.  We will 
send you a check instead.  

You must have made Arizona estimated income tax payments 
during 2016 if: 

Your filing status is: 

AND 
Your Arizona 
gross income for 
2015 was greater 
than: 

AND 
Your Arizona gross 
income for 2016 
was greater than: 

Married Filing Joint $150,000 $150,000 
Single $75,000 $75,000 
Head of Household $75,000 $75,000 
Married Filing 
Separate $75,000 $75,000 
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Why use Direct Deposit? 
• You will get your refund fast – even faster if you e-file! 
• Payment is more secure - there is no check to get lost. 
• It is more convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit your 

check. 
• It saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less 

to process than a check. 

NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter 
the wrong account information.  Check with your financial 
institution to get the correct routing and account numbers and 
to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted. 

Routing Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ROUTING 
NUMBER 
The routing number must be nine digits. The first 2 digits must 
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct 
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead. On the 
following sample check, the routing number is 250250025. 

Your check may state that it is payable through a financial 
institution different from the one at which you have your 
checking account. If so, do not use the routing number on that 
check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the correct 
routing number to enter here. 
Account Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ACCOUNT 
NUMBER. 
The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers 
and letters). DO NOT include hyphens, spaces or special 
symbols. Enter the number from left to right and leave any 
unused boxes blank. On the sample check the account number 
is 20202086. Be sure not to include the check number. 

NOTE:  If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will be 
mailed instead. 

Line 78 - Amount Owed 
Add lines 59 and 76. Enter the amount you owe on line 78. If 
you are making voluntary donations on lines 63 through 72 in 
excess of your overpayment, enter the difference on line 78. 
You may pay the amount owed only with a check or money 
order, electronic check, or credit card. 
 

Check or money order 
Include your check or money order with your return. Please do 
not send cash. 
Make your check payable to Arizona Department of Revenue. 
Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check or money 
order.  It may take 2-3 weeks for your payment to process. 
The department cannot accept checks or money orders in 
foreign currency. You must make payment in U.S. dollars. 
Electronic payment from your checking or savings account 
You can make an electronic payment from your checking or 
savings account to pay your balance due for 2016. There is no 
fee to use this method. To make an electronic payment, go to 
www.AZTaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” link. 
Be sure to enter the correct routing number and account 
number for your checking or savings account.  You will be 
charged a $25 NSF (non-sufficient funds) fee if you provide 
an incorrect routing number or an incorrect account number.  
Check with your financial institution to get the correct account 
and routing numbers. 

The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-down 
box will debit the amount from the checking or savings 
account that you specify. If you make an electronic payment 
from your checking or savings account, you will receive a 
confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation number 
as proof of payment. 

NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be 
coming from a foreign account.  In this case, you must pay by 
check or money order.  

Credit card payment 
You can pay with your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or 
American Express credit card. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and 
click on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit card 
option. This will take you to a third party vendor site 
(provider). The provider will charge you a convenience fee 
based on the amount of your tax payment. The provider will 
tell you what the fee is during the transaction; you will have 
the option to continue or cancel the transaction. If you 
complete the credit card transaction, you will receive a 
confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation number 
as proof of payment. 

Installment payments 
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 78 when you 
file, you may ask to make monthly installment payments. To 
make this request, complete Arizona Form 140-IA and mail the 
completed form to the address listed on Form 140-IA. Do not mail 
Form 140-IA with your income tax return. You may obtain 
Arizona Form 140-IA from our website at www.azdor.gov. 
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 78, you will 
be charged interest and may be charged a late payment penalty 
on the tax not paid by April 18, 2017.  To limit the interest and 
penalty charges, pay as much of the tax as possible when you 
file your return. 
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Sign your return 
You must sign your return. If married filing a joint return, both 
you and your spouse must sign even if only one had income. 
Form 140 is not considered a valid return unless you sign it. 
The department cannot send a refund check without proper 
signatures on the return. 

Instructions before mailing 

• DO NOT STAPLE YOUR RETURN OR ANY 
 SCHEDULE, FORM OR PAYMENT TO YOUR 
 RETURN. 
• Make sure your NAME is on the return.  
•      Make sure your SSN is on your return. 
• Be sure you enter your daytime telephone number in the 

space provided on the front of your return.  
• Check to make sure that your math is correct. A math 

error can cause delays in processing your return. 
• If claiming dependent exemptions, write the number of 

dependents claimed on the front of the return. On page 1 
of the return, also write each dependent's name, 
relationship, SSN, and the number of months that he or 
she lived in your home.  If more space is needed, 
complete page 3 and include with your return. 

• If claiming exemptions for qualifying parents or 
grandparents, write the number of qualifying parents or 
grandparents claimed on the front of the return. On page 
1 of the return, also write each parent’s or grandparent's 
name, relationship, SSN, and the number of months that 
he or she lived in your home.  If more space is needed, 
complete page 3 and include with your return. 

• Check the boxes to make sure you filled in all required 
boxes. 

• If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you 
check box 82F on page 1 of the return. 

• Sign your return and have your spouse sign, if filing 
jointly. 

• Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check.  
Include your check with your return. 

The Department of Revenue may charge you $25 for a check 
returned unpaid by your financial institution. 
• Include all required documents after your return.  Please 

do not use tape.  Documents you must include are those 
items listed in numbers 1 through 6. 
1. Include Form(s) W-2 after the last page of your return. 

Also include Form(s) 1099-R after the last page of 
your return if you had Arizona tax withheld from your 
pension or annuity. 

2. Include Arizona Form 301, applicable credit forms, 
and your own schedules after page 2 (or 3) of your 
return. If itemizing, include these forms after your 
Arizona Schedule A and your federal Schedule A. 

3. If claiming a credit for taxes paid to another state or 
country include a copy of the other state's or country's 
filed return. 

4. If you itemize, be sure to include a copy of the federal 
Schedule A.  Include the Arizona Schedule A and the 
federal Schedule A directly after page 2 (or 3) of your 
return.  Include other forms and schedules behind the 
Schedules A. 

5. If you are claiming a property tax credit, include a 
completed Form 140PTC and all required documents. 

6. If you have tax exempt interest income, be sure to 
include a schedule listing the payors and the amount 
received from each payor. 

• Do not include correspondence with your return. 

Mailing Your Return 
If you are mailing your return, make a copy of your return 
before mailing. Also make a copy of any schedules that you 
are including with your return. Keep the copies for your 
records. Be sure that you mail the original and not a copy. 
To avoid delays, if mailing more than one tax return please 
use separate envelopes for each return. 

Where should I mail my return? 
If you are including a payment with this return, mail the 
return to:  

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 52016  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2016 

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax but 
are not including a payment, mail the return to: 

Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 52138  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2138 

Make sure you put enough postage on the 
envelope 
The U.S. Post Office or United States mail service must 
postmark your return or extension request by midnight April 
18, 2017.  
The term "United States mail" includes any private delivery 
service designated by the United States Secretary of the 
Treasury pursuant to Internal Revenue Code § 7502(f) and the 
term “postmark" includes any date recorded or marked by any 
such designated delivery service. 
An income tax return that is mailed to the department is timely 
filed if it is delivered on or before its due date.  Additionally, 
if the envelope or wrapper containing the return sent through 
the United States mail bears a postmark of the United States 
mail and that tax return is delivered to the department after its 
due date that return will be considered timely filed if all of the 
following apply: 
1. The return was deposited in an official depository of the 

United States mail; 
2.   The date of the postmark is no later than the due date; 
3.   The return was properly addressed; and 
4.   The return had proper postage.  
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If the envelope or wrapper containing a return sent through the 
United States mail bears a private meter postmark made by 
other than the United States mail, the return is treated as 
timely filed if both of the following apply: 
1. The private meter postmark bears a date on or before the 

due date for filing; and 
2. The return is received no later than the time it would 

ordinarily have been received from the same point of 
origin by the same class of U.S. postage.  If the return is 
received by the department within five business days of 
the private meter postmark date the department will 
consider this requirement satisfied.  

You may also use certain private delivery services designated 
by the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling, GTR 16-1, 
Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns Through 
the United States Mail. 
How long to keep your return 
You must keep your records as long as they may be needed for 
the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law. 
Generally, this means you must keep records that support 
items shown on your return until the period of limitations for 
that return runs out. 
The period of limitations is the period of time in which you 
can amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the 
department can assess additional tax. A period of limitations is 
the limited time after which no legal action can be brought. 
Usually, this is four years from the date the return was due or 
filed. 
In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years. 
The period is six years from when you file a return if you 
under report the income shown on that return by more than 
25% (.25). The department can bring an action at any time if a 
return is false or fraudulent, or if you do not file a return. To 
find out more about what records you should keep, get federal 
Publication 552.  

Where’s my refund? 
You can check on your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov or 
www.AZTaxes.gov and clicking on “Where’s my refund?”  or 
you may call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions. Before you call, be sure to have a copy of your 
2016 tax return on hand.  You will need to know your SSN, 
your filing status and your 5-digit ZIP Code. 

Contacting the Department 
Your tax information on file with the department is 
confidential. If you want the department to discuss your tax 
matters with someone other than yourself, you must authorize 
the department to release confidential information to that 
person.  
You may use Arizona Form 285 to authorize the department to 
release confidential information to your appointee.  See Form 
285 for details. 
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 HOW MUCH INCOME CAN YOU HAVE AND PAY NO TAXES? 
EXAMPLES 

 
You still have to file a return, but you pay no taxes, if your income is less than the levels shown in the chart below. For purposes of 
this chart, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption claimed (Form 140, page 2, line 42 plus the 
amount on Form 140, page 2, line 40; or Form 140A, page 1, line 17, plus the amount on Form 140A, page 1, line 15, or Form 140EZ, 
page 1, line 6). To rely on this chart, you must claim the family income tax credit, if you qualify.  

FILING STATUS 

NUMBER OF 
DEPENDENTS SSIINNGGLLEE  

MARRIED FILING 
SEPARATE 

UNMARRIED 
HEAD OF 

HOUSEHOLD 
MARRIED FILING 

JOINT 
0 $  8,748 $   8,748 N/A $   17,488 
1 (A)      10,000 10,568 19,788 20,000 
2 11,818 12,868 20,135 23,600 
3 14,118 15,168 23,800 27,300 
4 16,418 17,468 25,200 (C)      31,000 
5 18,718 19,768 (B)    26,575 31,000     

 (A) single,  
$10,000 income*,  

one dependent 

(B) unmarried head of household, 
$26,575 income*,  
five dependents 

(C) married filing joint,  
$31,000 income*,  
four dependents 

Income* $ 10,000 $ 26,575 $ 31,000 
less:  Dependent exemption -2,300 -11,500 -9,200 

Standard deduction -5,099 -10,189 -10,189 
Personal exemption -2,100 -4,200 -6,300 
Net taxable income $  501 $  686 $ 5,311 

    
Tax (optional tax table) $ 14 $ 17 $ 138 
less:  Family tax credit -80 -240 -240 

Tax owed $   0 $     0 $     0 

*For purposes of these examples, “income” means Arizona adjusted gross income plus the dependent exemption amount claimed. 
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Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction for Assets Acquired After December 31, 2011 
  2016 Original return               2016 Amended return 

Long-Term Capital Gain or (loss) as reported on 
federal Schedule D (or other form/schedule) and 
included in computation of federal adjusted gross 
income. 
Enter the total net long-term capital gains or 
(losses) from the following forms in each applicable 
column.  See page 30 for instructions. 

(a) 
Total net long-
term capital gains 
or (losses) from all 
assets  

(b) 
Net long-term capital 
gains or (losses) 
included in column 
(a) from assets 
acquired before 
January 1, 2012 

(c) 
Net long-term capital 
gains or (losses) 
included in column 
(a) from assets 
acquired after 
December 31, 2011 

1 Form(s) 8949  Sales and Other Dispositions 
of Capital Assets; and Form(s) 1099-B, 
Proceeds from Broker and Barter Exchange 
Transactions, for long-term transactions 
directly reported on federal Schedule D. 1    

2 Form(s) 4797  Sales of Business Property 2    
3 Form(s) 2439  Notice to Shareholder of 

Undistributed Long- Term Capital Gains 3    
4 Form(s) 6252  Installment Sale Income  4    
5 Form(s) 4684  Casualties and Thefts 5    
6 Form(s) 6781  Gains and Losses from Sec. 

1256  Contracts and Straddles 6    
7 Form(s) 8824  Like-Kind Exchanges 7    
8 Partnerships, S corporations, estates, and 

trusts – from AZ 120S Schedule K-1; AZ 
165 Schedule K-1; and AZ 141 Schedule K-1 8    

9 Form(s) 1099-DIV Dividends and 
Distributions  9    

10 Subtotal:  for each column, combine the 
amounts and enter the total. 10    

11 Long-term capital loss carryover.  See the 
instructions for the amount(s) to enter, if 
any, in each applicable column.   11    

12 Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the 
difference in each applicable column. 12    

13 For amount to enter on line 13, column (c), 
see the worksheet instructions. 13    

14 Net long-term capital gain or (loss) 
included in computation of your federal 
adjusted gross income.  Subtract line 13 
from line 12 and enter the difference in each 
applicable column.  
• If the amount on line 14, column (c) is a 

net capital (loss), you do not qualify to 
take the subtraction. 

• If the amount on line 14, column (c) is a 
net capital gain, enter the result on 
Form 140, line 21.   
Also enter the amount from line 14, 
column (a) on Form 140, line 20. 14    
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Instructions for completing the worksheet for 
the subtraction from Arizona gross income for 
net long-term capital gain from assets acquired 
after December 31, 2011. 
Purpose of the Worksheet  
You may subtract a percentage of any net long-term capital 
gain included in your federal adjusted gross income that is 
from an investment in an asset acquired after December 31, 
2011.   For tax year 2016, the percentage is 25% (.25). 
For purposes of this subtraction, “qualified” means an Arizona 
asset that was acquired after December 31, 2011. 
To take the allowable subtraction, you must know whether the 
capital gain or (loss) is considered short-term or long-term.  
Only the net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011, is used to compute the allowable 
subtraction.  For more information about determining whether 
a gain or (loss) is short term or long term, see federal 
Publication 544 at www.irs.gov. 
If you cannot verify that the capital gain is from the sale of an 
asset acquired after December 31, 2011, then the capital gain 
should be included in column (b) of the worksheet as a capital 
gain from an asset acquired before January 1, 2012.   
An asset acquired by gift or inheritance is considered acquired 
on the date it was acquired by the gift-giver or the deceased 
individual.  

Who Should Complete the Worksheet? 
You must complete this worksheet to take the allowable 
subtraction if you have a net capital gain included in your 
federal adjusted gross income and the gain includes assets 
purchased after December 31, 2011.  
Do not complete this worksheet if either of the following 
applies: 
• You do not have any capital gains to report for the current 

tax year. 
• You do not have any net capital gain from asset(s) 

acquired after December 31, 2011, to report for the 
current tax year. 

General Instructions 
1. Check the box if this worksheet is for an original or an 

amended return. 
2. Keep this worksheet for your records.   

Line-by-Line Instructions 
Lines 1 through 8 lists the federal forms reported on Schedule 
D.  Line 9 identifies the total capital gain distribution(s) 
reported on Form(s) 1099-DIV.  

• Column (a) is the total amount of long-term capital gains 
or (losses) reported on federal Schedule D or other 
forms/schedules. 

• Column (b) is the amount of the long-term capital gains 
or (losses), included in column (a) for assets acquired 
before January 1, 2012. 

• Column (c) is the amount of the long-term capital gains 
or (losses), included in column (a) for assets acquired 
after December 31, 2011.  

Lines 1 through 8 - Capital Gains or (Losses) 
Reported on Federal Schedule D. 
Enter the long-term capital gain or (loss) from the federal form 
listed that was reported on your federal Schedule D and 
included in the computation of your federal adjusted gross 
income. 
Line 9 - Long-Term Capital Gains or (Losses)  
Capital gains listed on a 1099-DIV are gains passed on from a 
fund, such as a mutual fund, from the sale of assets within the 
fund.  Generally, such funds do not provide the information 
needed to determine when the asset that was sold was 
acquired.  In this situation, the capital gains will be considered 
as acquired before January 1, 2012, and would not qualify for 
this subtraction.   
Enter the total capital gain distribution(s) reported on Form(s) 
1099-DIV and included in your computation of federal 
adjusted gross income. 
NOTE:  Some taxpayers are not required to file federal 
Schedule D to report certain capital gains or (losses).  In 
these cases, the long-term capital gains or (losses) are 
reported directly on the taxpayer’s income tax return.  Enter 
those items on line 9 of the worksheet. 

Line 10 - Subtotal 
For each column, combine the amounts listed on lines 1 
through 9 and enter the total. 

Line 11 - Long-Term Capital Loss Carryover 
• Column (a), enter the total amount of long-term capital 

loss carryover actually used on the federal return for the 
current table year. 

• Column (b), enter the portion from column (a) that is 
from assets acquired before January 1, 2012. 

• Column (c), enter the portion from column (a) that is from 
assets acquired after December 31, 2011.  

Line 12 -  
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the difference in each 
applicable column. 
Line 13 - Net Capital Gain from Investment in 
Qualified Small Businesses 
To determine the amount to enter on line 13, column (c), 
answer the following questions.  
Did you take a subtraction for any net capital gain included in 
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year derived 
from investment in a qualified small business on Arizona 
Form 140, line 23? 
• If “No”, enter zero on line 13, column (c). 
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• If “Yes”, does that amount include any net long-term 
capital gain from an investment made after December 31, 
2011? 
• If “No”, enter zero on line 13, column (c). 
• If “Yes”, enter on line 13, column (c) the amount of 

any net long-term capital gain from an investment 
made after December 31, 2011, and included in the 
amount subtracted on Arizona Form 140, line 23. 

Line 14 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Subtract line 13 from line 12 and enter the difference in each 
applicable column. 
• If the amount on line 14, column (c) is a negative number, 

you have a net capital loss.  You do not qualify to take the 
subtraction. 

• If the amount on line 14, column (c) is a positive number, 
you have a net long-term capital gain.  Enter the result on 
Form 140, line 21.   
Also, enter the amount from line 14, column (a) on Form 
140, line 20. 
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