Arizona Form

2019 Resident Personal Income Tax Return (Short Form) 140A

For information or help, call one of the numbers listed:

Phoenix (602) 255-3381
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information

If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information,
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov.

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings

These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax
procedures and rulings for more information. To view or print
these, go to our website and click on Reports and Legal
Research then click on Legal Research and select a Document
Type and Category from the drop down menus.

Publications

To view or print the department’s publications, go to our
website and click on Reports and Legal Research then click
on Publications..

@ Leave the Paper Behind - e-file!

Quicker Refunds
Accurate

Proof of Acceptance
Free **

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays if you e-file!
Get your refund quicker with direct deposit option.

E-file today, pay by April 15, 2020, to avoid penalties and
interest.

E-file through an authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or by
using your personal computer and the Internet.

Visit our website at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved
e-file providers and on-line filing sources.

** For free e-file requirements, go to our website at
www.azdor.gov.

AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS: Are you mailing
your Arizona income tax return? If you are mailing
your return to the department, see page 14 for assembly order
(form sequence) information.

Who Can Use Form 140A?

You can use Form 140A to file for 2019 if all of the following

apply to you:

e You (and your spouse if married filing a joint return) are
both full year residents of Arizona.

e Your Arizona taxable income is less than $50,000,

e  The only tax credits you will claim are:
e the Family Income Tax credit;
e the Dependent Tax credit;
e the Property Tax credit; or
e the credit for Increased Excise Taxes.

e You are not claiming estimated tax payments.

'NOTE: You may subtract all of your active duty military pay
vincluded in your federal adjusted gross income, but you'
i cannot do this on Form 1404. To take this subtraction, you'
‘must file your 2019 return using Arizona Form 140. For!
imore information, see Form 140 instructions. :

Do You Have to File?

Arizona Filing Requirements
These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers.

You must file if | and your Arizona | or your gross
you are: adjusted gross income is at
income is at least: | least:

e Single $ 5,500 $15,000

* Married $11,000 $15,000
filing joint

e  Married
filing § 5,500 $15,000
separate

e Head of
houschold § 5,500 $15,000

If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income
from all sources including out-of-state income.

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the

same as you would figure your gross income for federal

income tax purposes. Then, you should exclude income

Arizona law does not tax.

Income Arizona law does not tax includes:

e interest from U.S. Government obligations,

e social security retirement benefits received under Title
II of the Social Security Act,

e Dbenefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act,
tier 1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad
disability benefits reported on federal forms RRB-
1099 and RRB-1099-R, railroad unemployment
benefits and railroad sickness payments paid by the
Railroad Retirement Board, or

e pay received for active service as a member of the
Reserves, National Guard, or the U.S. Armed Forces.

You can find your Arizona adjusted gross income on line
17 of Arizona Form 140A.

{ NOTE: Even if you do not have to file, you must still file a :
! return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax withheld. !

regardless of your filing status.
e You are a calendar year filer.
e You are not making any adjustments to income.

e  You do not itemize deductions.
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Do You Have to File if You Are an American
Indian?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements
unless all of the following apply to you:

e You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe.

e  You live on the reservation established for that tribe.

e You earned all of your income on that reservation.

Enrolled members of American Indian tribes that must file a
return may subtract wages earned while living and working on
their tribe’s reservation. If you are eligible to subtract these
wages, you must file Arizona Form 140. In this case, do not
file Form 140A. For more information, see the department’s
ruling, ITR 96-4, Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses.

Do You Have to File if You Are the Spouse of an
American Indian and You Are Not an Enrolled
Indian?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements.
For more information on the tax treatment of spouses of
American Indians, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4,
Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses.

Do You Have to File if You Are in the Military?

You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements

unless all the following apply to you:

e You are an active duty member of the United States
armed forces.

e  Your only income for the taxable year is pay received for
active duty military service.

e  There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active duty
military pay.

If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military

pay, you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any

refund you may be due from that withholding.

You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have
any other income besides pay received for active duty military
service.

If you are an Arizona resident and you have to file an Arizona
return, you should file using Form 140. If you were an
Arizona resident when you entered the service, you remain an
Arizona resident, no matter where stationed, until you
establish a new domicile.

As an Arizona resident, you must report all of your income, no
matter where stationed. You must include your military pay,
but using Form 140, you may subtract all pay received for
active duty military service; to the extent it is included in your
federal adjusted gross income.

If you are not an Arizona resident, but stationed in Arizona,

the following applies to you:

e You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your
military pay.

e  You must report any other income you earn in Arizona.
Use Arizona Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income
Tax Return, to report this income.

For more information, see the department’s publication,
Pub 704, Taxpayers in the Military.

Residency Status

If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state
income tax purposes, we may be able to help. See the
department’s procedure, ITP 92-1, Procedure for Determining
Residency.

Residents

You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona.
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home.
It is where you intend to return if you are living or working
temporarily in another state or country. If you leave Arizona
for a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while
gone. A resident is subject to tax on all income no matter
where the income is earned.

Part-Year Residents

If you are a part-year resident, you must file Arizona Form
140PY, Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return.

You are a part-year resident if you did either of the following

during 2019:
e You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a
resident.

e  You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up
your Arizona residency.

Nonresidents

If you are a nonresident, you must file Arizona Form 140NR,

Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return.

What if a Taxpayer Died?

If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2019, the
taxpayer's spouse or personal representative may have to file
and sign a return for that taxpayer. A personal representative
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge
of the deceased taxpayer’s property.

If the deceased taxpayer did not have to file a return but had
tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.

The person who files the return should use the form the
taxpayer would have used. The person who files the return
should print the word "deceased" after the decedent's name.
Also, enter the date of death after the decedent's name.

If your spouse died in 2019, and you did not remarry in 2019
or if your spouse died in 2020 before filing a return for 2019,
you may file a joint return. If your spouse died in 2019, the
joint return should show your spouse's 2019 income before
death and your income for all of 2019. If your spouse died in
2020, before filing the 2019 return, the joint return should
show all of your income and all of your spouse's income for
2019. Print "Filing as surviving spouse" in the area where you
sign the return. If someone else is the personal representative,
he or she must also sign the return.
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Are Any Other Returns Required?

You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return (Form
141AZ). For details about filing a fiduciary income tax return,
call the department at (602) 255-3381.

Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer

If you are claiming a refund for a deceased taxpayer, you
must complete Arizona Form 131, Claim for Refund on
Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer. Place the completed Form 131
on top of the front of the return.

What Are the Filing Dates and Penalties?
When Should You File?

Your 2019 calendar year tax return is due no later than
midnight, April 15, 2020. File your return as soon as you can
after January 1, 2020, but no later than April 15, 2020.

What if You Cannot File on Time?

You may request an extension if you know you will not be
able to file on time.

To get a filing extension, you can either

e Apply for a state extension. To apply for a state
extension, file Arizona Form 204 by April 15, 2020. See
Form 204 for details. You do not have to include a copy
of the extension with your return when you file, but make
sure that you check box 82F (above your name) on page 1
of the return. If you must make a payment, use Arizona
Form 204, or visit www.AZTaxes.gov to make an
electronic payment.

e Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868). File
your Arizona return by the same due date. You do not
have to include a copy of your federal extension with your
return, but make sure that you check box 82F (above your
name) on page 1 of the return.

When Should You File if You Are a Nonresident
Alien?

The due date for your Arizona return is not the same as the
due date for your federal return. Your Arizona return is due
by April 15, 2020, even though your federal return is due
on June 15, 2020. If you want to file your Arizona return
after April 15, 2020, you must ask for a filing extension. You
must file this request by April 15, 2020. Arizona will allow
up to a 6-month extension. This will allow you to file your
return by October 15, 2020. See Arizona Form 204 for
extension filing details.

If you have a federal 6-month extension, you can file your
Arizona return under that extension. If you file using your
federal extension, Arizona will also allow you an extra 6 months.

Because we will allow only 6 months, the due date for your
Arizona return is not the same as the due date for your federal
return. In this case, your Arizona return will be due by

October 15, 2020, even though your federal return will not be
due until December 15, 2020.

If you file your 2019 Arizona calendar year return after
October 15, 2020, your return will be late.

What if You File or Pay Late?

If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and
penalties on the amount you owe. If the U.S. Post Office
postmarks your 2019 calendar year return by April 15, 2020,
your return will not be late. You may also use certain private
delivery services designated by the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule. For
more information, see “Mailing Your Return” at the end of
these instructions.

Late Filing Penalty

If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This
penalty is 4/2% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late.
This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found to be
remaining due.

Late Payment Penalty

If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment
penalty. This penalty is 2 of 1% (.005) of the amount shown
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the
failure continues. We charge this penalty from the original
due date of the return until the date you pay the tax. This
penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% (.10) of the unpaid tax.

Extension Underpayment Penalty

If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90%
(.90) of the tax shown on your return by the return's original
due date. If you do not pay this amount, we may charge you a
penalty. This penalty is %2 of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for
each 30-day period or fraction of a 30-day period. We charge
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the
date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of
the unpaid tax. If we charge you the extension underpayment
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty under
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-1125(D).

'NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the abovei
1 penalties, the total cannot exceed 25%. ;

Interest

We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. We
will charge you interest even if you have an extension. If you
have an extension, we will charge you interest from the
original due date until the date you pay the tax. The Arizona
interest rate is the same as the federal rate.

When Should You Amend a Return?

If you need to make changes to your return after you have
filed, do not file a new return using Form 140A. You must
file Arizona Form 140X, Individual Amended Income Tax
Return. File your amended return after your original
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return has processed. Generally, you have four years to
amend a return to claim a refund.

If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also
file a Form 140X for that year.

If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for
any year, you must report that change to Arizona. You must
file Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of
the IRS. You may use one of the following two options to
report this change.

Option 1

You may file a Form 140X for that year. If you choose this
option, you must amend your Arizona return within 90 days of
the final determination of the IRS. Include a complete copy of
the federal notice with your Form 140X.

Option 2

You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the
department within 90 days of the final determination of the
IRS. If you choose this option, you must include a statement
in which you must:

1. Request that the department recompute your tax.

2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice.

If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also
include any documents that show why you do not agree.

If you choose option 2, mail the federal notice and any other
documents to:

Individual Income Audit
Arizona Department of Revenue
PO Box 29084

Phoenix, AZ 85038-9084

Line-by-Line Instructions

Tips for Preparing Your Return

e Make sure that you write your Social Security Number
(SSN) on your return.

o  Complete your return using black ink.

e You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole
dollar. If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar; if
less than 50 cents, round down. Do not enter cents.

e If you are mailing your return, see page 14 for assembly
order.

e You must complete your federal return before you can
start your Arizona return.

e  Make sure you include your daytime telephone number.

Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN
Lines 1, 2, and 3 -

Enter your name, address, and SSN in the space provided. If
you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in the same order
as your names. If your name appears first on the return, make
sure your SSN is the first number listed.

If you are married filing separately, enter your name and SSN
on the first line 1. Enter your spouse’s name and SSN on the
second line 1. If you are a nonresident of the United States or

a resident alien who does not have an SSN, use the individual
taxpayer identification number (ITIN) the IRS issued to you.

joint return, also make sure you list your SSNs in the same;

iorder every year. i

Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a
penalty if you fail to include your SSN. It will take longer to
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear.

Use your current home address. The department will mail
your refund or correspond with you at that address. For a
deceased taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions.

Foreign Addresses

If you have a foreign address, enter the information in the
following order: city, province or state, and country. Follow
the country’s practice for entering the postal code. Do not
abbreviate the country name.

Last Name(s) Used in Last 4 Prior Years

If the last name that you or your spouse are using on this
return is not the same as the last name you or your spouse
used on returns filed for the last 4 years, enter any other
last name(s) that you or your spouse used when filing your
return during the last 4 years.

Identification Numbers for Paid Preparers

If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person
must also include an identification number where requested.

A paid preparer may use any of the following:

e  his or her PTIN;

e  his or her SSN; or

o the EIN for the business.

A paid preparer who fails to include the proper identification
number may also be subject to a penalty.

Determining Your Filing Status

The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be
different from that used on your federal return.

Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140A.

If you qualify as married for federal purposes, you qualify as
married for Arizona purposes and must file using the status of
either married filing joint or married filing separate.

If you are single you must file as single or if qualified you
may file as head of household (see the instructions for box 5).
Box 4 - Married Filing Joint Return

If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4.

You may file a joint return if you were married as of
December 31, 2019. It does not matter whether or not you
were living with your spouse. You may file a joint return,
even if you and your spouse filed separate federal returns.

You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2019

and you did not remarry in 2019. See page 2 of these
instructions for details.
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Form 140A is for full year residents only. You may not file a

joint Arizona income tax return on Form 140A if any of the

following apply:

e  Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living in
another country).

e  Your spouse is a resident of another state.

e Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident.

If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you must
file a joint return using Arizona Form 140NR. See Form
140NR instructions.

If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse,
you must file a joint return using Arizona Form 140PY. See
Form 140PY instructions.

|NOTE For more information, see the department’s rulmg,
'ITR 14-1, Filing a Joint Tax Return When a Resident Spouse'
118 Married to a Part-Year Resident or Nonresident. i

Box 4a - Injured Spouse Protection of Joint
Overpayment

Check box 4a only if you and your spouse are filing a joint
return and you or your spouse qualify as an injured spouse and
are requesting protection from application of any joint
overpayment against the other spouse’s delinquencies or
debts.

'NOTE You cannot use Form 203 to request protection from
i ojfset for past-due federal taxes. You must contact the IRS. i

You must complete Arizona Form 203, Request for Injured
Spouse Protection from Application of Joint Overpayment
Against Spouse’s Delinquencies and Debts, and include that
form with your tax return, when filed. For more information,
see the instructions for Form 203.

Box 5 - Head of Household Return
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5.

You may file as head of household on your Arizona return,

only if one of the following applies:

e  You qualify to file as head of household on your federal
return.

e  You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on
your federal return.

Box 6 - Married Filing Separate Return

If you are filing a separate return, check box 6 and enter your
spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1.

If you were married as of December 31, 2019, you may choose
to file a separate return. You may file a separate return, even
if you and your spouse filed a joint federal return.

Arizona is a community property state. If you file a separate
return, you must figure how much income to report using
community property laws. Under these laws, a separate return
must reflect one-half of the community income from all
sources plus any separate income.

When you file separate returns, you must account for

community deductions and credits on the same basis as
community income. Both you and your spouse must either

itemize or not itemize. If one of you itemizes, you both must
itemize. If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both
must take a standard deduction. One of you may not claim a
standard deduction while the other itemizes.

If you and your spouse support a dependent child from
community income, either you or your spouse may claim the
dependent. Both of you cannot claim the same dependent on
both returns.

For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-18,
Income Reporting Requirements for Married Arizona
Residents Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax
Returns, and ITR 93-19, Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits
Jfor Married Taxpayers Who File Separate Arizona Individual
Income Tax Returns.

ENOTE. In some cases, you may treat community income asi
iseparate income. For more information, see the department’s |
(ruling, ITR 93-22, When Community Income May Be Treated ;
ias Separate Income. i

If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other
special rules may apply when filing a separate return. For
more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-20,
Income Reporting Requirements of Resident and Nonresident
Spouses Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax
Returns; and publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers.

Box 7 - Single Return
If you are filing as single, check box 7.

Use this filing status if you were single on December 31, 2019.

You are single if any of the following apply to you:

e You have never been married.

e You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or of
separate maintenance.

e  You were widowed before January 1, 2019, and you did
not remarry in 2019, and you do not qualify to file as a
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children on
your federal return.

'NOTE If you got divorced during the year, see the
wlepartments Individual Income Tax Ruling, ITR 142|
i Reporting Income, Deductions, Exemptions, and WlthholdlngI
ifor Divorced Individuals for the Year of Divorce; andi
, | publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues Affecting Married ;
{and Divorced Taxpayers, for help completing your return. !

Exemptions - Boxes 8, 9, and 11a

Enter the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8§,
9, and 1la. Do not put a check mark. You may lose the
exemption if you put a checkmark in these boxes.

Box 8 - Age 65 or Over

INOTE If a taxpayer’s 65" birthday was January 1, 202()'
L (born 1/1/1955), that person is considered to be age 65 at the:
Iena’ of 2019 for federal income tax purposes and likewise forI
| Arizona income tax purposes. i
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e If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1"
in box 8 if you were 65 or older in 2019 and not claimed
as a dependent by another taxpayer.

e If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 8
if you were 65 or older and not claimed as a dependent
by another taxpayer or your spouse was 65 or older in
2019 and not claimed as a dependent by another
taxpayer. Enter "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse
were 65 or older in 2019 and neither of you are claimed
as a dependent by another taxpayer.

e If you are married and filing a separate return, enter "1"
in box 8 if you were 65 or older and not claimed by
another taxpayer. You cannot take an exemption for your
spouse. Your spouse, if 65 or older and not claimed by
another taxpayer, may take this exemption on his/her
own separate return.

Box 9 - Blind

If you or your spouse were partially blind as of
December 31, 2019, you must get a statement certified by
your eye doctor or registered optometrist that:

e You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with
glasses or contact lenses.

e  Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less.

If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect
instead. You must keep the statement for your records.

e If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1"
in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind.

e If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 9
if you or your spouse is totally or partially blind.

Enter "2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally
or partially blind.

e If you are married and filing a separate return, you may
take an exemption for yourself if you are totally or
partially blind. You may only claim an exemption for
your spouse if (1) your spouse is totally or partially blind,
(2) has no Arizona adjusted gross income for the calendar
year, and (3) is not the dependent of another taxpayer.

Enter "1" in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind or
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse
meets the above criteria.

Enter “2” in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind and
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse
meets the above criteria.

Box 11a - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

'NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent :
ralso qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person:
ias a dependent in box 10b, or you may claim that person as a'
\qualifying parent or grandparent in box 1la. You may not!
\include the same person in both box 10b and box 11a. '

You must complete the qualifying parent and grandparent
section (lines 11b through 11d) on page 1 (and Part 2 on
page 3, if more space is needed) before you can total your
exemptions for qualifying parents and grandparents. Be sure
to check the box on page 1 indicating you are completing
page 3.

A qualifying parent or grandparent may be any one of the
following:

e Your parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc.

e If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent,
grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc.

You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply:

1. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent was 65
years old or older during 2019.

2. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent lived in
your principal residence for the entire taxable year.

If your parent or grandparent died during the taxable year,
this requirement will still be met if he or she lived with
you for the entire part of the year in which he or she was
alive. Temporary absences by the parent or grandparent
for special circumstances, such as a hospital stay or care
in a hospice facility, count as time lived in the taxpayer’s
principle residence.

3. You paid more than one-half of the support and
maintenance costs of the parent or grandparent during the
taxable year.

To help you determine if you paid more than one-half of
your parent or grandparent’s support during the taxable
year, it is recommended that you review the department’s
procedure, ITP 14-1, Procedure for Determining Support
for Purposes of the Parents and Grandparents Exemption
Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the
worksheet. Keep the worksheet for your records.

4. The parent or grandparent required assistance with
activities of daily living.
The term “activities of daily living” means two or more of
the listed categories. Activities of daily living include
both basic activities of daily living and instrumental
activities of daily living. The categories of activities of
daily living are dressing, eating, ambulating, toileting,
medicating and hygiene, shopping, housekeeping,
managing personal finances, basic communication, food-
preparation, and transportation.

For more information regarding what the term “activities of
daily living” means when determining an Arizona resident
taxpayer’s eligibility for this exemption, see the department’s
ruling, ITR 14-3, "Activities of Daily Living" for the Purpose
of the Exemption Allowed Under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C).

To help you determine if your parent or grandparent required
assistance with activities of daily living to meet this
requirement, it is recommended that you review the
department’s procedure, ITP 14-2, Procedure for Determining
Whether a Parent or Grandparent Requires Assistance with
Activities of Daily Living for Purposes of the Exemption



Arizona Form 140A

Allowed wunder A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the
checklist. Keep the checklist for your records.

Lines 11b through 11d

For each qualifying parent and grandparent, enter the
following information:

a) first and last name;

b) social security number;

c) relationship to taxpayer;

d) the number of months this person lived in your home;
e) check this box if the person is age 65 or over; and

f) check this box if the person died in 2019.

You may lose the exemption for qualifying
parents/grandparents if you do not furnish this
information. Enter the total number of qualifying
parents/grandparents in box 11a.

Dependents - Boxes 10a and 10b

'Repeal of Arizona’s dependent deduction for taxable years
i beginning from and after December 31, 2018. i

.Arlzona s 2019 legislation (House Bill 2757) amended A.R. S| i
1§ 43-1023 repealing the deduction for a taxpayer’s dependent;
lfor taxable years beginning from and after December 31,i
12018. |
Enactment of Arizona’s Dependent Tax Credit for taxable
i | years beginning from and after December 31, 2018. (HouseI
Blll 2757) |

Arlzona s 2019 legislation (House Bill 2757) enacted A.R.S.;
'§ 1073.01 establishing a Dependent Tax Credit for taxpayers'

i clalmmg the following individuals:

E e dependents under the age of 17; and

le  dependents age 17 and older.

....................................................................

Boxes 10a and 10b

Boxes 10a and 10b identify the number of your qualifying
dependents that are either under the age of 17 (box 10a) or age
17 and over (box 10b). This information is used to compute
the allowable Dependent Tax Credit.

i\NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent
ralso qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person
ras a dependent in box 10b, or you may claim that person as a:
iqualifying parent or grandparent in box 1la. You may not:
\include the same person in both box 10b and box 11a. '

Lines 10c through 10e

You must complete the dependent information section (lines
10c through 10e) on page 1 (and Part 1 on page 3, if more
space is needed) for each person counted in either box 10a or
10b. Be sure to check the box on page 1 indicating you are
completing page 3.

You may claim only those individuals that qualify as your

dependent for federal purposes. For each qualifying
individual, enter the following information:

a) first and last name;

b) social security number;

c) relationship to taxpayer;

d) the number of months this person lived in your home;

Temporary absences: Your child or dependent is
considered to have lived with you during periods of time
when temporarily absent due to special circumstances
such as: illness; education; business; or vacation. Your
child is also considered to have lived with you during any
required hospital stay following birth, as long as the child
would have lived with you during that time but for the
hospitalization.

e) check box 1 (for box 10a) if this person is under the age
of 17 or check box 2 (for box 10b) if this person is age 17
or over; and

f) check the box if you did not claim this person on your
federal return due to educational credits.

'\NOTE: Ifyou did not claim a dependent who is a student on :
your federal return in order to allow the student to claim a:
ifederal education credit on the student’s federal return, you:
imay still claim the dependent on your Arizona return. '

1For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 05-2,
'Will Arizona Allow a Dependent Exemption When a:
iTaxpayer Does Not Claim Federal Exemption in Order to'
'Claim the Education Credit? '

You may lose the dependent tax credit if you do not
furnish this information. Enter the total number of
dependents in box 10a or 10b.

Totaling Your Income

Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income

You must complete your federal return before you enter an
amount on line 12. You must complete a 2019 federal return
to figure your federal adjusted gross income. You must
complete a federal return even if you do not have to file a
federal return.

Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting point
to determine Arizona taxable income. Your federal adjusted
gross income is your Arizona gross income.

INOTE Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross lncome
i and not your federal taxable income. !

Exemptions — Lines 13 through 16

Line 13 - Age 65 or Over

Multiply the number you entered in box 8 by $2,100.
Line 14 - Blind

Multiply the number you entered in box 9 by $1,500.
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Line 15 - Other Exemptions

You must complete page 3, Part 3, to compute your allowable
Other Exemptions, on line 15. Be sure to enter the number of
individuals listed in Part 3 in the box, 15E, on line 15.

You may take an exemption in the amount of $2,300 for each
of the following individuals.

‘NOTE: If a taxpayer’s 65th birthday was January 1, 2020

A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not) that
does not qualify as your dependent on your federal return,
but one of the following applies:

1. In 2019, paid more than one-fourth of the cost of
keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care institution,
an Arizona residential care institution, or an Arizona
assisted living facility. Your cost must be more than $800.

2. In 2019, you paid more than $800 for either Arizona
home health care or other medical costs for the person.

i (born 1/1/1955), that person would be considered to be age 65 |
,at the end of 2019 for federal income tax purposes and;
| | likewise for Arizona income tax purposes. i

_____________________________________________________________ 4

A stillborn child if the following apply:
1. The stillbirth occurred during 2019.

2. You received a certificate of birth resulting in
stillbirth from the Arizona Department of Health Services.

3. The child would have otherwise been a member of
your household.

Enter the following in columns (a) through (d):

a)

b)

d)

The individual’s first and last name. If you are claiming
an exemption for a stillborn child and the child was not
named, enter “stillborn child” in place of a name.

The individual’s social security number. If you are
claiming an exemption for a stillborn child, enter the
certificate number from the certificate of birth resulting in
stillbirth.

For those individuals age 65 or over:

echeck box Cl1 if you paid more than one-fourth of the
cost of keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care
institution, an Arizona residential care institution, or an
Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost must be more
than $800 during the taxable year; or

echeck box C2 if you paid you paid more than $800 for
either Arizona home health care or other medical costs for
the person during the taxable year.

Check this box if you are claiming the exemption for a
stillborn child.

You may lose the exemptions if you do not provide this
information. Enter the total number of persons listed in box
15E on line 15.

Multiply the number in box 15E by $2,300 and enter the
result.

Line 16 - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents

Multiply the number you entered in box 11a by $10,000.

Line 17 - Arizona Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract lines 13, 14, 15 and 16 from line 12.

Figuring Your Tax

Line 18 - Standard Deduction

If your filing status is: Your st_and?rd
deduction is:
e Single $12,200
e  Married filing separate $12,200
e Married filing joint $24,400
e Head of household $18,350

Line 19 - Arizona Taxable Income

Subtract line 18 from line 17 and enter the difference. If less
than zero, enter “0”.

Use this amount to find your tax using the Optional Tax
Tables.

i STOP'
lncome is $50,000 or more.

You must file a Form 140 if your Arizona taxable'

Line 20 - Tax Amount

Enter the tax from the Optional Tax Tables.

Line 21 — Dependent Tax Credit

For taxable years beginning from and after December 31, 2018,
taxpayers may claim a nonrefundable Dependent Tax Credit
for certain qualifying dependents.

For the purpose of the dependent tax credit, “dependent”
means an individual that qualifies as a dependent for federal
purposes.

The tax credit is equal to:

i NOTE

$100 for each qualifying dependent who is under 17 years
of age at the end of the taxable year.

$25 for each qualifying dependent who is at least 17 years
of at age at the end of the taxable year.

The allowable credit is reduced for single, head of
household, and married taxpayers filing separate returns
whose federal adjusted gross income (page 1, line 12) is
more than $200,000; and for married taxpayers filing a
joint return whose federal adjusted gross income is more
than $400,000.

You cannot claim a dependent tax credit for a.

' qualifying parent/grandparent which you take an exemption ;
gfor on Form 1404, line 16 or for someone whom you haveg

 claimed an “other exemption” on Form 1404, line 15.
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Complete the following tables to compute your

allowable Dependent Tax Credit.

Table IV
2019 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit
For filing status: married filing joint

1. Enter your federal adjusted gross income

from page 1,line 12..............ooeennis $ .00
2. Federal adjusted gross income limit....... | $ 400,000.00
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the

difference..........ccooveiiiiiiiiiiiiin.

If the difference is greater than 319,000,
‘STOP’ you cannot claim the dependent
tax credit. $ .00

4. Enter amount from Table [, line 3,
column (d)......... $ .00

5. Based on the amount on line 3, enter
the number from Table V. For example:
if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90...............

Table |
(a) (b) () (d)
Credit Multiply column
amount | (b) by column (c)
1. Enter number of
dependents from
page 1, box 10a.... $ 100 $ .00
2. Enter number of
dependents from
page 1, box 10b.... $ 25 $ .00
3. Credit amount before adjustment. Add
lines 1 and 2. Enter total in column (d). $ .00
All taxpayers go to Table II.
Table Il
If your filing status is single, married filing
separate, or head of household; is your Yes No
federal adjusted gross income on page 1,
line 12, more than $200,000? |:| |:|
If your filing status is married filing joint, is | Yes No

your federal adjusted gross income on
page 1, line 12, more than $400,000?

1 [

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter the
result. Also, enter the result on page 1,

e If you answered “No”, you are not required to reduce the
amount of credit computed in Table .
Enter the amount From Table |, line 3 on page 1, line 21.

e If you answered “Yes”, you are required to reduce the
amount of credit computed in Table I.

Complete Table Ill or Table IV.

Hne 21. ..o $ .00
Table V
If the amount on Enter on | If the amount on Enter on
line 3 from Table line 5 line 3 from Table line 5

Il or Table IV is: Il or Table IV is:

$1-1,000 95 $ 10,001 — 11,000 45

$ 1,001 — 2,000 90 $ 11,001 — 12,000 40

$2,001 —3,000 .85 $ 12,001 — 13,000 35

$ 3,001 —4,000 .80 $ 13,001 — 14,000 .30

Table Il

2019 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit
For filing status: single, married filing separate, or

head of household

$ 4,001 — 5,000 .75 $ 14,001 — 15,000 .25

$ 5,001 — 6,000 .70 $ 15,001 — 16,000 .20

$ 6,001 — 7,000 .65 $ 16,001 — 17,000 .15

$ 7,001 — 8,000 .60 $ 17,001 — 18,000 .10

1. Enter your federal adjusted gross income
from page 1,line 12.........................

$ .00

$ 8,001 — 9,000 .55 $ 18,001 — 19,000 .05

$9,001 — 10,000 .50 $ 19,001 and over .00

2. Federal adjusted gross income limit......

$ 200,000.00

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the

difference........c.ocoeviiiiiniiiiniit
If the difference is greater than $19,000,
‘STOP’ you cannot claim the dependent
tax credit.

4. Enter amount from Table |, line 3,

5. Based on the amount on line 3, enter
the number from Table V. For example:
if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90...............

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5. Enter the
result. Also, enter the result on page 1,

Line 22 - Family Income Tax Credit

E-file software will let you know if you are
eligible and will figure the credit for you.

NOTE The family income tax credit will only reduce your:
i tax and cannot be refunded. i

_________________________________________________________________ o

You may take this credit if your income does not exceed the
maximum income allowed for your filing status. You may
qualify for this credit even if your parents can claim you as a
dependent on their income tax return.

e Complete Steps 1, 2, and 3, to see if you qualify for this
credit.

e Ifyou qualify to take this credit, complete Worksheet Il in
Step 4.
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Step 1
Enter the amount from Form 140A, page 1,
line 12. $
Step 2

Look at the following tables. Find your filing status.

Use Table | if married filing a joint return.

e Use Table Il if head of household.

e  Use Table lll if single or married filing a separate return.

Step 3
e Look at the column (a) labeled "number of dependents"
and find the number of dependents you are claiming on
Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b.
¢ Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the number
of dependents you are claiming.

e Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the
income listed in Step 1.

If the amount entered in Step 1 is equal to or less than the
maximum income allowed for the number of dependents you
are claiming on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, you
qualify to claim this credit. To figure your credit, complete
Step 4.

Table |
Married Filing Joint
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are Maxi
.. aximum
claiming on Form 140A, page 1, boxes Tncome
10a and 10b.
e Oorl $20,000
o 2 $23,600
e 3 $27,300
e 4 or more $31,000
Table I
Head of Household
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are Maximum
claiming on Form 140A, page 1, boxes Income
10a and 10b.
e OQOorl $20,000
o 2 $20,135
e 3 $23,800
o 4 $25,200
e 5 ormore $26,575
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Table llI
Single or Married Filing Separate
Column (a) Column (b)
Number of dependents you are Maximum
claiming on Form 140A, page 1, boxes Income
10a and 10b.
e 0ormore $10,000

Step 4
If you qualify to claim the credit complete Worksheet Il.
Worksheet Il

You must complete Steps 1 through 3 before you
complete this Worksheet.

1. Enter the number of dependents you
entered on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a
and 10b.

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the
number 2. If you checked filing status 5,
6, or 7, enter the number 1.

3. Addlines 1 and 2. Enter the total.

4. Multiply the number on line 3 by $40.
Enter the result. $
5. If you checked filing status 4 or 5, enter
$240 here. If you checked filing status 6
or 7, enter $120 here. $
6. Enter the lesser of line 4 or line 5. Also,
enter this amount on Form 140A, page 1,
line 22. $

Line 23 - Balance of Tax

Subtract lines 21 and 22 from line 20. Enter the difference. If
less than zero, enter “0”.

Totaling Payments and Credits

Line 24 - Arizona Income Tax Withheld

Enter the 2019 Arizona income tax withheld as shown on the
Form(s) W-2 from your employer. Include the Form(s) W-2
after the last page of your return only if the form shows
Arizona income tax withholding

NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than_]i
January 31. If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you think
your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer. i

Line 25 - 2019 Arizona Extension Payment (Form 204)

Use this line to report the payment you sent with your 2019
extension request (Arizona Form 204) or the electronic
extension payment you made using www.AZTaxes.gov.

Line 26 - Increased Excise Tax Credit

You may claim this credit if you meet all of the following:

e  You must have an SSN that is valid for employment.

e  You meet the income threshold for your filing status.
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e If you are married filing a joint return, or a head of
household, you may claim this credit if the amount on
Form 140A, line 12, is $25,000 or less.

e If you are single or married filing a separate return, you
may claim this credit if the amount on Form 140A, line 12, is
$12,500 or less.

e You are not claimed as a dependent by any other
taxpayer.

e You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2019 to a
county, state, or federal prison.

INOTE If you are filing a joint return with your spouse, and'
, | your spouse was sentenced for at least 60 days during 2019 to]
'a county, state or federal prison, you may claim the Exczse'
| Tax Credit if you otherwise qualify to claim the credit, but you
icannot claim the credit for your spouse. If your spouse has a i
tvalid SSN, but you do not, neither you nor your spouse canI
i claim this credit. i

For complete information on how incarceration affects this
credit, see the department’s publication, Pub. 709, Excise Tax
Credit - How Does Incarceration Affect Eligibility?

If you are married filing a joint return, you may also claim a
credit for your spouse if your spouse has either a valid SSN or
an ITIN issued by the IRS.

If you also claim a credit for qualifying children, your
qualifying children must have either a valid SSN or an ITIN
issued by the IRS. To figure your credit, complete the
following worksheet.

................................................................. -1

INOTE Do not complete the following worksheet if you arei
L claiming the property tax credit on Arizona Form 140PTC.;
'Use Form 140PTC to figure both the credit for lncreased'
| | excise taxes and the property tax credit. |

{If you are claiming both the credit for increased excise taxes,
'and the property tax credit, enter the increased excise tax'
|credlt from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 17, on line 26 and|
tenter the property tax credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, '
|lzne 15, on line 27. !

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet

If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is Check one

the amount on Form 140A, line 12,
$25,000 or less?
If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is

the amount on Form 140A, line 12,
$12,500 or less?

Yes No

If you checked no, STOP. You do not qualify for this
credit. If you checked yes, complete the worksheet.

1. Enter the number of dependents you
entered on Form 140A, boxes 10a and
10b. Exclude any dependent that is not
an Arizona resident.

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the
number 2 here. If you checked filing
status 5, 6, or 7, enter the number 1 here.
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Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet

3. Addlines 1 and 2. Enter the total...........
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by $25.

Entertheresult.............................. $
5. Maximum credit............................ $ 100 00
6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5 here

and also on Form 140A, page 1, line 26... | $ 00

iINOTE: The credit cannot exceed $100 per household. DOI
‘not claim this credit if someone else in your household has |
Lalready claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your!
:household has claimed less than $100, you may claim the:
'credzt as long as all credit claims filed from your household! '
i i do not exceed $100. |

Line 27 - Property Tax Credit

You may claim the property tax credit if you meet all of the
following:
1.  You were either 65 or older in 2019 or, if under age 65,

you were receiving SSI Title 16 income from the Social
Security Administration.

NOTE SSI Title 16 income is not the normal Social Securlty,
|d1sabzlzly i

2. You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2019.

3. You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2019.
You paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or
you did a combination of both.

4. Ifyou lived alone, your total household income was under
$3,751. If you lived with others, the total household
income was under $5,501. To see what income is
included in household income, see Arizona Form 140PTC

instructions.
Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit. Enter the
amount from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15. Include

Form 140PTC with your return.

i TAX TIP: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your
i claim or extension request by April 15, 2020. You cannot
i claim this credit on an amended return if you file the amended |
i return after the due date of your return. ;

Figuring Your Tax Due or Overpayment

Line 28 - Total Payments and Refundable Credits
Add lines 24 through 27 and enter the total.
Line 29 - Tax Due

If line 23 is greater than line 28, you have tax due. Subtract
line 28 from line 23 and enter the amount of tax due. Skip
line 30.

Line 30 - Overpayment

If line 28 is greater than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28
and enter the overpayment.
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Line 31 -

Enter the amount of Tax Due from page 1, line 29 or the
amount of Overpayment from line 30.

Making Voluntary Gifts

You can make voluntary gifts to each of the funds shown
below. A gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount
due with your return.

L |

 NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of :
' that gift later on an amended return. :

Line 32 - Solutions Teams Assigned to Schools Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Solutions
Teams Assigned to Schools Fund. You may also give more
than your entire refund. If you send in additional money with
your return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount
you want to donate on line 32.

Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund. The
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money to the
Arizona Department of Education to fund solutions teams
assigned to schools.

Line 33 - Arizona Wildlife Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona
Wildlife Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund. If you send in additional money with your return,
include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you want to
donate on line 33.

Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife
in the state. Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout, and
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund. Gifts
are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife statewide.

Line 34 - Child Abuse Prevention Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Child
Abuse Prevention Fund. You may also give more than your
entire refund. If you send in additional money with your
return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you
want to donate on line 34.

Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund. This
fund provides financial aid to community agencies for child
abuse prevention programs.

Line 35 - Domestic Violence Shelter Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Domestic
Violence Shelter Fund. You may also give more than your
entire refund. If you send in additional money with your
return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you
want to donate on line 35.

Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Shelter Fund. This fund
provides financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic
violence.

Line 36 - Political Gift

You may give some or all of your refund to a political party.

You may also give more than your entire refund. If you send
in additional money with your return, include that amount on
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line 46. Enter the amount you want to donate on line 36.

If you donate to a political party, complete line 43. Gifts go to
one of the following political parties:

e Democratic

e  Green Party

e Libertarian

e Republican

Line 37 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors
Helping Neighbors Fund. You may also give more than your
entire refund. If you send in additional money with your
return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you
want to donate on line 37.

Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund. This fund
provides eligible recipients with emergency aid in paying
utility bills, conserving energy and weatherization.

Line 38 - Special Olympics Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Special
Olympics Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund. If you send in additional money with your return,
include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you want to
donate on line 38.

Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund. This fund helps
provide programs of the Arizona Special Olympics.

Line 39 - Veterans’ Donations Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’
Donations Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund. If you send in additional money with your return,
include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you want to
donate on line 39.

Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be used
for veterans in Arizona.

Line 40 - | Didn’t Pay Enough Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the I Didn’t Pay
Enough Fund. You may also give more than your entire
refund. If you send in additional money with your return,
include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you want to
donate on line 40.

Gifts that you make to the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid
the state by going to the Arizona general fund.

Line 41 - Sustainable State Parks and Roads Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Sustainable
State Parks and Roads Fund. You may also give more than
your entire refund. If you send in additional money with your
return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you
want to donate on line 41.

Gifts that you make to the Sustainable State Parks and Roads
Fund will aid the state to operate, maintain, and make capital
improvements to buildings, roads, parking lots, highway
entrances and any related structure used to operate state parks.
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Line 42 — Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund

You may give some or all of your refund to the Spaying and
Neutering of Animals Fund. You may also give more than
your entire refund. If you send in additional money with your
return, include that amount on line 46. Enter the amount you
want to donate on line 42.

Gifts that you make to the Spaying and Neutering of Animals
Fund will help to reduce pet overpopulation by sterilizing, at
minimal or no cost, dogs and cats in this state, including those
that are impounded and sterilized.

Line 43 - Political Party

If line 36 has an amount entered, check the box for the
political party to which you wish to give. You may select only
one party. If you do not select a political party, the
department will return the amount on line 36.

Line 44 - Total Voluntary Gifts

Add lines 32 through 42 and enter the total.

Figuring Your Refund or Amount Owed

Line 45 - Refund

If line 31 is an overpayment, subtract line 44 from line 31.
Enter your refund on line 45 and skip line 46.

If less than zero, enter amount owed on line 46.

If you owe money to any Arizona state agency, court, county,
incorporated city or town and certain federal agencies, your
refund may go to pay some of the debt. If so, the department
will let you know by letter.

_________________________________________________________________ -9

|TAX TIP: If you change your address before you get your |
Write to Refund Desk, ;
i Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 29216, Phoenix, AZ|

Ireﬁmd let the department know.

185038-9216. Include your SSN in your letter.

Direct Deposit of Refund

Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly
deposit the amount shown on line 45 into your account at a
bank or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund,
brokerage firm or credit union) instead of sending a check.

: NOTE: Check the box on line 454 if the direct deposit will :
! ultimately be placed in a foreign account.

' 454, do not enter your routing or account numbers. We will

' not direct deposit your refund. We will send you a check

© instead.

Why Use Direct Deposit?

e You will get your refund fast — even faster if you e-file!

e Payment is more secure - there is no check to get lost.

e It is more convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit your
check.

e It saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less
to process than a check.

r NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter

| the wrong account information. Check with your financial

» institution to get the correct routing and account numbers and

to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted.

If you check box

Routing Number

MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ROUTING
NUMBER.

The routing number must be nine digits. The first 2 digits
must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead. On the
sample check, the routing number is 250250025.

Sample Check
JOHN DOE OR JANE DOE 1234
123 First Street 10-000048000

Sometown, AZ 00000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF | s

DOLLARS
Routing
Number Do not include
the check number.
For
| Bsnzso02s) (Gozozomrauy.123vdk

Note: The routing and account numbers may be in different places on your check.

THIS BANK
Sometown, AZ 00000

Your check may state that it is payable through a financial
institution different from the one at which you have your
checking account. If so, do net use the routing number on
that check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the
correct routing number to enter here.

Account Number

MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ACCOUNT
NUMBER.

The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers
and letters). DO NOT include hyphens, spaces, or special
symbols. Enter the number from left to right and leave any
unused boxes blank. On the sample check, the account
number is 20202086. Be sure not to include the check
number.

INOTE: If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will bel
' mailed instead. ;

Line 46 - Amount Owed

If line 31 is a tax due, add lines 31 and 44. Enter the amount
you owe on line 46. If you are making voluntary gifts on lines
32 through 42 in excess of your overpayment, enter the
difference on line 46. You may pay only with a check,
electronic check, money order, or credit card.

Check or money order

___________________________________________________________________ _|

‘NOTE: Include your check or money order with your return. |
'Please do not send cash. !

___________________________________________________________________

Make your check payable to Arizona Department of Revenue.
Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check or
money order. The department cannot accept checks or money
orders in foreign currency. You must make payment in U.S.
dollars. It may take 2-3 weeks for your payment to process.

The Department of Revenue may charge you $50 for a check
returned unpaid by your financial institution.
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Electronic payment from your checking or savings
account

You can make an electronic payment from your checking or
savings account to pay your balance due for 2019. There is no
fee to use this method. To make an electronic payment, go to
www.AZTaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” link.
Be sure to enter the correct routing number and account
number for your checking or savings account. You will be
charged a $50 NSF (non-sufficient funds) fee if you provide
an incorrect routing number or an incorrect account number.
Check with your financial institution to get the correct routing
and account numbers.

The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-down
box will debit the amount from the checking or savings
account that you specify. If you make an electronic payment
from your checking or savings account, you will receive a
confirmation number. Please keep this confirmation
number as proof of payment.

. check or money order.

Credit card payment

You can pay with your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or
American Express credit card. Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and
click on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit card
option. This will take you to a third party vendor site
(provider). The provider will charge you a convenience fee
based on the amount of your tax payment. The provider will
tell you what the fee is during the transaction; you will have
the option to continue or cancel the transaction. If you
complete the credit card transaction, you will receive a
confirmation number.  Please keep this confirmation
number as proof of payment.

Installment Payments

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 46 when you
file, you may request to make monthly installment payments.
Complete Arizona Form 140-IA and mail the completed form
to the address on the Form 140-IA. Do not mail Form 140-
IA with your income tax return. You may obtain Arizona
Form 140-IA from our website at www.azdor.gov.

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 46, you will
be charged interest and may be charged a late payment penalty
on the tax not paid by April 15,2020. To limit the interest and
penalty charges pay as much of the tax as possible when you
file.

Sign Your Return

You must sign your return. If married filing a joint return,
both you and your spouse must sign even if only one had
income. Form 140A is not considered a valid return unless
you sign it. If the return does not have the proper signatures,
the department cannot send a refund check

____________________________________________________________________

 NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your
1 checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be
| coming from a foreign account. In this case, you must pay by
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Instructions Before Mailing

e DO NOT STAPLE YOUR RETURN.

e DO NOT STAPLE ANY SCHEDULE, FORM, OR
PAYMENT TO YOUR RETURN.

e  Make sure your NAME is on the return.
e  Make sure your SSN is on your return.

e Be sure you enter your daytime telephone number in the
space provided on the front of your return.

e  Check to make sure that your math is correct. A math
error can cause delays in processing your return.

e Check the boxes to make sure you filled in all required
boxes.

e If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you
check box 82F (above your name) on page 1 of the return.

e Sign your return and have your spouse sign, if filing
jointly.

e  Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check.
Include your check with your return.

e Do not send correspondence with your return.

Mailing Your Return

TO AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS:
e Assemble your tax return in the order shown on the
following page.

e If mailing more than one tax return, please use separate
envelopes for each return.

If you are mailing your return, make a copy of your return
before mailing. Also make a copy of any forms and schedules
that you are including with your return. Keep the copies for
your records. Be sure that you mail the original and not a
copy

Include Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and Form(s) 1099-R, and
1099-G, after the last page of your return only if the form
show Arizona income tax withholding.

If you are mailing your return, place the pages in the following
order:

Form 140PTC

Form 140A, page 3 (if required)

Form 140A, page 2

Form 140A, page 1

Form 203 (if filing)

Form 131 (if required)




Arizona Form 140A

Where Should | Mail My Return?

If you are sending a payment with this return, mail the return
to:

Arizona Department of Revenue

PO Box 52016

Phoenix, AZ 85072-2016

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax but
are not sending a payment, mail the return to:

Arizona Department of Revenue
PO Box 52138
Phoenix, AZ 85072-2138

Make sure you put enough postage on the
envelope

The U.S. Post Office or United States mail service must
postmark your return or extension request by midnight
April 15, 2020.

The term "United States mail" includes any private delivery
service designated by the United States Secretary of the
Treasury pursuant to Internal Revenue Code § 7502(f) and the
term “postmark” includes any date recorded or marked by any
such designated delivery service.

An income tax return that is mailed to the department is timely
filed if it is delivered on or before its due date. Additionally,
if the envelope or wrapper containing the return sent through
the United States mail bears a postmark of the United States
mail and that tax return is delivered to the department after its
due date that return will be considered timely filed if all of the
following apply:

1. The return was deposited in an official depository of the

United States mail;

2. The date of the postmark is no later than the due date;
3. The return was properly addressed; and
4.  The return had proper postage.

If the envelope or wrapper containing a return sent through the
United States mail bears a private meter postmark made by
other than the United States mail, the return is treated as
timely filed if both of the following apply:

1. The private meter postmark bears a date on or before the
due date for filing; and

2. The return is received no later than the time it would
ordinarily have been received from the same point of
origin by the same class of U.S. postage. If the return is
received by the department within five business days of
the private meter postmark date the department will
consider this requirement satisfied.

You may also use certain private delivery services designated
by the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule.
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For more information, see the department’s ruling, GTR
16-1, Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns
Through the United States Mail.

How Long to Keep Your Return

You must keep your records as long as they may be needed for
the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law.
Generally, this means you must keep records that support
items shown on your return until the period of limitations for
that return runs out.

The period of limitations is the period of time in which you
can amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the
department can assess additional tax. A period of limitations
is the limited time after which no legal action can be brought.
Usually, this is four years from the date the return was due or
filed.

In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years.
The period is six years from when you file a return if you
underreport the income shown on that return by more than
25% (.25). The department can bring an action at any time if a
return is false or fraudulent, or you do not file a return. To
find out more about what records you should keep, get federal
Publication 552.

Where is my Refund?

You can check on your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov or
www.AZTaxes.gov and clicking on “Where’s my refund?” or
you may call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these
instructions. Before you call, be sure to have a copy of your
2019 tax return on hand. You will need to know your SSN,
your filing status, and your 5-digit ZIP Code.

Contacting the Department

Your tax information on file with the department is
confidential. If you want the department to discuss your tax
matters with someone other than yourself, you must authorize
the department to release confidential information to that
person. You may use Arizona Form 285 to authorize the
department to release confidential information to your
appointee. See Form 285 for details.



Arizona Form 140A

WHY E-FILING IS FASTER,
EASIER AND BETTER.

e |tis accurate and easy. E-file software helps
taxpayers avoid mistakes by doing the math.

e |tis secure. E-file meets strict security guidelines.
e |tis convenient.
e Most e-filers get their refunds faster.

e |t's often free.

There are several options for making payments.

For a list of approved e-file vendors visit
azdor.gov/e-services/approved-vendors
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