
Arizona Form 
2021 Resident Personal Income Tax Return 140 
 
For information or help, call one of the numbers listed: 
Phoenix  (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free  (800) 352-4090 

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information 
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information, 
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov. 

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings 
These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax 
procedures and rulings for more information.  To view or print 
these, go to our website, select Reports, Statistics and Legal 
Research from the main menu, then click on Legal Research 
and select a Document Type and Category from the drop down 
menus. 

Publications 
To view or print the department’s publications, go to our 
website, click on Reports, Statistics and Legal Research from 
the main menu, and then click on Publications in the left hand 
column. 

Leave the Paper Behind - e-file! 
• Quicker Refunds 
• Accurate 
• Proof of Acceptance 
• Free ** 

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays when you e-file! 
Get your refund quicker with direct deposit. 
E-file today and pay by April 18, 2022 to avoid penalties and 
interest. 
E-file through an authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or by 
using your personal computer and the Internet.  
Visit our website at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved  
e-file providers and online filing sources. 
** For free e-file requirements, check out our website at 
www.azdor.gov.  

AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS:  Are you mailing your 
Arizona income tax return?  If you are mailing your return to 
the department, see page 28 for assembly order (form 
sequence) information.   

Who Must Use Form 140? 
You (and your spouse, if married filing a joint return) may file 
Form 140 only if both of you are full year residents of Arizona. 
You must use Form 140 rather than Form 140A or Form 140EZ 
to file for 2021 if any of the following apply to you: 
• Your Arizona taxable income is $50,000 or more, 

regardless of filing status. 
• You are making adjustments to income. 
• You itemize deductions. 
(Continued on next column.) 

• You claim tax credits other than the family income tax 
credit, the credit for increased excise taxes, or the property 
tax credit. 

• You are claiming estimated payments. 

Do You Have to File?  
Arizona Filing Requirements 

These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers. 

You must file if you are: 

 
and your gross income is 
more than: 

• Single $12,550 
• Married filing joint $25,100 
• Married filing separate $12,550 
• Head of Household $18,800 
If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income from 
all sources including out-of-state income.  

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the same 
as you would figure your gross income for federal income 
tax purposes.  Then, you should exclude income that Arizona 
law does not tax.  Income that Arizona law does not tax 
includes: 
• interest from U.S. Government obligations; 
• social security retirement benefits received under Title II 

of the Social Security Act; 
• benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act, tier 

1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad disability 
benefits  reported on federal forms RRB-1099 and RRB-
1099-R, railroad unemployment benefits and railroad 
sickness payments paid by the Railroad Retirement 
Board; 

• pay received for active service as a member of the 
Reserves, National Guard or the U.S. Armed Forces; or 

• benefits, annuities and pensions as retired or retainer pay 
of the uniformed services of the United States. 

NOTE: Even if you are not required to file, you must still file a 
return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax withheld. 

Do You Have to File if You Are an American 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all the following apply to you: 
• You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe. 
• You live on the reservation established for that tribe. 
• You earned all of your income on that reservation. 
For information on the Arizona tax treatment of American 
Indians, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4, Income 
Taxation of Indians and Spouses. 
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Do You Have to File If You Are the Spouse of an 
American Indian and You Are Not an Enrolled 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements.  For 
more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4, 
Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses. 

Do You Have to File If You Are in the Military? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all of the following apply to you: 
• You are an active duty member of the United States armed 

forces. 
• Your only income for the taxable year is pay received for 

active duty military service.  
• There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active duty 

military pay. 
If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military pay, 
you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any refund 
you may be due from that withholding. 
You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have any 
other income besides pay received for active duty military 
service. 
If you were an Arizona resident when you entered the service, 
you remain an Arizona resident, no matter where you are 
stationed, until you establish a new domicile.  
As an Arizona resident, you must report all of your income to 
Arizona, no matter where you are stationed. You must include 
your military pay, but using Form 140, you may subtract all pay 
received for active duty military service to the extent it is 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
If you are not an Arizona resident, but stationed in Arizona, the 
following apply to you: 
• You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your military 

pay. 
• You must report any other income you earn in Arizona 

using Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income Tax 
Return. 

To find out more, see the department’s publication, Pub. 704, 
Taxpayers in the Military.  

If You Included Your Child's Unearned Income on 
Your Federal Return, Does Your Child Have to 
File an Arizona Return? 
No.  In this case, the child should not file an Arizona return.  
The parent must include that same income in his or her Arizona 
taxable income. 

Determining Residency Status 
If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state 
income tax purposes, we may be able to help. For more 
information, see the department’s procedure, ITP 92-1, 
Procedure For Determining Residency Status.  

Residents 
You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona. 
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home.  It 
is where you intend to return if you are living or working 
temporarily in another state or country. If you leave Arizona for 
a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while gone. 
An Arizona resident is subject to Arizona tax on all income no 
matter where the income is earned. 

Part-Year Residents 
If you are a part-year resident, you must file Arizona Form 
140PY, Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return.  You 
are a part-year resident if you did either of the following during 
2021: 
• You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a 

resident. 
• You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up your 

Arizona residency. 

Nonresidents 
If you are a nonresident (including nonresident aliens), you 
must file Arizona Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income 
Tax Return. 

What If a Taxpayer Died? 
If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2021, the taxpayer's 
spouse or personal representative may have to file and sign a 
return for that taxpayer.  A personal representative can be an 
executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge of the 
deceased taxpayer’s property.  
If the deceased taxpayer did not have to file a return but had tax 
withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund. 
The person who files the return should use the form the taxpayer 
would have used. The person who files the return should print 
the word "deceased" after the decedent's name and enter the 
date of death after the decedent's name.  
If your spouse died in 2021 and you did not remarry in 2021 or 
if your spouse died in 2022 before filing a return for 2021, you 
may file a joint return. If your spouse died in 2021, the joint 
return should show your spouse's 2021 income before death and 
your income for all of 2021. If your spouse died in 2022, before 
filing the 2021 return, the joint return should show all of your 
income and all of your spouse's income for 2021.  Print "Filing 
as surviving spouse" in the area where you sign the return. If 
someone else is the personal representative, he or she must also 
sign the return. 
Are Any Other Returns Required? 
You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return (Form 
141AZ).  For details about filing a fiduciary income tax return, 
call the department at (602) 255-3381. 
Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer 
If you are claiming a refund for a deceased taxpayer, you must 
complete Arizona Form 131, Claim for Refund on Behalf of 
Deceased Taxpayer.  Place the completed Form 131 on top of 
the front of the return. 
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What are the Filing Dates and Penalties?  

NOTE:  If the due date for an income tax or related payment 
falls on a weekend and/or legal holiday, the filing or payment 
is considered timely if filed or paid on the next business day and 
that business day is a day other than Saturday, Sunday or a 
legal holiday. 

When Should You File? 
Your 2021 calendar year tax return is due no later than 
midnight, April 15, 2022.  However, April 15, 2022 falls on a 
federal holiday, you have until Monday, April 18, 2022 to 
timely file your 2021 tax return.  File your return as soon as 
you can after January 1, 2022, but no later than April 18, 2022. 
If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due on the 15th day 
of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal tax year. 
What If You Cannot File on Time? 
You may request an automatic 6-month extension if you know 
you will not be able to file on time. If you request an extension 
to file your 2021 calendar year tax return, your due date is 
October 15, 2022.  However, October 15, 2022 falls on a 
Saturday, you have until Monday, October 17, 2022 to 
timely file your 2021 tax return.  

NOTE: An extension does not extend the time to pay your 
income tax. See the instructions for Arizona Form 204. 

To get a filing extension, you can either: 
• Apply for a state extension (Arizona Form 204). To apply 

for a state extension, file Form 204 by April 18, 2022.  See 
Form 204 for details.  You do not have to include a copy of 
the extension with your return when you file, but make sure 
that you check box 82F (above your name) on page 1 of 
the return.  If you must make a payment, use Arizona Form 
204, or visit www.AZTaxes.gov to make an electronic 
payment. 

• Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868). File your 
Arizona return by the same due date. You do not have to 
include a copy of your federal extension with your return, 
but make sure that you check box 82F (above your name) 
on page 1 of the return. 

When Should You File If You Are a Nonresident 
Alien? 
As a Nonresident Alien, do not file Form 140.  Use Form 140NR, 
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return, to report your Arizona 
sourced income.  File Form 140NR-SBI if you elect to report your 
Arizona sourced small business income on the Small Business 
Income Tax Return.   See the instructions for Form 140NR for 
your filing due dates. 

What If You File or Pay Late? 
If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and penalties 
on the amount you owe. If the U.S. Post Office postmarks your 
2021 calendar year return by April 18, 2022, your return will 
not be late. You may also use certain private delivery services 
designated by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to meet the 

“timely mailing as timely filed” rule.  For more information, see 
“Mailing Your Return” at the end of these instructions. 
Late Filing Penalty 
If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty. This 
penalty is 4½% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the 
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late. 
This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found to be 
remaining due. 
Late Payment Penalty 
If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the amount shown as 
tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the failure 
continues.  We charge this penalty from the original due date of 
the return until the date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot 
exceed a total of 10% (.10) of the unpaid tax. 
Extension Underpayment Penalty 
If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90% 
(.90) of the tax shown on your return by the return's original due 
date. If you do not pay this amount, we will charge you a 
penalty. This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for 
each 30-day period or fraction of a 30-day period.  We charge 
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the 
date you pay the tax. This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of 
the unpaid tax.  If we charge you the extension underpayment 
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty under 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-1125(D). 

NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the above penalties, 
the total cannot exceed 25%. 

Interest 
We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date. We will 
charge you interest even if you have an extension. If you have 
an extension, we will charge you interest from the original due 
date until the date you pay the tax. The Arizona interest rate is 
the same as the federal rate. 

When Should You Amend a Return? 

If you need to make changes to your return after you have filed, 
do not file a new return using Form 140.  You must file Arizona 
Form 140X, Individual Amended Income Tax Return. File your 
amended return after your original return has processed.  
Generally, you have four years to amend a return to claim a 
refund. 
If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also 
file an Arizona Form 140X for that year.  
If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for 
any year, you must report that change to Arizona. You must file 
Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of the IRS. 
You may use one of the following two options to report this 
change.  
Option 1 
You may file a Form 140X for that year. If you choose this 
option, you must amend and mail your Arizona return within  
 

http://www.aztaxes.gov/
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90 days of the final determination of the IRS. Include a 
complete copy of the federal notice with your Form 140X. 
Option 2 
You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the 
department within 90 days of the final determination of the IRS.  
If you choose this option, you must include a statement 
in which you must: 
1. Request that the department recompute your tax and 
2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice. 
If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also 
include any documents that show why you do not agree.  If you 
choose Option 2, mail the federal notice and any other 
documents to: 

Individual Income Audit  
Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 29084 
Phoenix, AZ  85038-9084 

Do You Need to Make Arizona Estimated 
Payments in 2022? 

You must make Arizona estimated income tax payments 
during 2022 if: 

Your filing status 
is: 

AND  
your Arizona gross 
income for 2021 
was greater than: 

AND 
your Arizona gross 
income for 2022 is 
greater than: 

Single  $75,000 $75,000 
Married filing 
joint $150,000 $150,000 
Married filing 
separate $  75,000 $  75,000 
Head of Household  $  75,000 $  75,000 

If you met the income threshold for 2021, you must make 
estimated payments during 2022 unless you are sure you will 
not meet the threshold for 2022.  As a full year resident, your 
Arizona gross income is your federal adjusted gross income. 
Your Arizona gross income is on line 12 of the 2021  
Form 140.  
Use the worksheet for Arizona Form 140ES to figure how much 
your payments should be.  For more information about making 
estimated payments, see the department’s publication, Pub.  
012, Arizona Individual Estimated Income Tax Payments. 

What if You Make Your Estimated Payments Late? 
We will charge you a penalty if you are late or if you fail to 
make any required payments. See Arizona Form 221.   
Can You Make Estimated Payments Even if You 
Do Not Have To? 
If you do not have to make Arizona estimated income tax 
payments, you may still choose to make them.  For details,  
see Arizona Form 140ES. 

Line-by-Line Instructions 
Tips for Preparing Your Return 
• You must complete your federal return before you can start 

your Arizona return. 
• Make sure that you enter your Social Security Number 

(SSN) on your return. 
• Complete your return using black ink. 
• You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole 

dollar. If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar. If 
less than 50 cents, round down. Do not enter cents. 

• If you are mailing your return, see page 26 for the assembly 
order.  

• Make sure you include your daytime telephone number.  
• If filing a fiscal year return, fill in the period covered. 

Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN 
Lines 1, 2, and 3  
NOTE: Make sure you enter your SSN on the  
appropriate line and your SSN is correct.  If you are filing a 
joint return, also make sure you enter your SSNs in the  
same order every year. 

Enter your name, address, and SSN in the space provided.   If 
you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in the same  
order as your first names.  If your name appears first on the 
return, make sure your SSN is the first number listed. 
If you are married filing separately, enter your name and SSN 
on the first line 1.  Enter your spouse’s name and SSN on the 
second line 1. 
Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return. Make sure 
that all SSNs are clear and correct. You may be subject to a 
penalty if you fail to include your SSN.  It will take longer to 
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear. 
Use your current home address. The department will mail your 
refund to or correspond with you at that address. 
For a deceased taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions. 
 
Foreign Addresses  
If you have a foreign address, enter the information in the 
following order:  city, province or state, and country.  

DO YOU HAVE A COMPLICATED RETURN? 
 

E-file makes filing 
a complex return 

simple! 

E-file software offers: 
• easy step-by-step 

instructions 
• error detection before 

filing 
• Easy form selection 
• Maximum deductions 

For a list of 
approved software 

visit  
www.azdor.gov 
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Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code.  Do 
not abbreviate the country name. 
Last Names Used in Last 4 Prior Years 
If the last name that you or your spouse are using on this return 
is not the same as the last name you or your spouse  
used on returns filed in the last 4 years, enter any other last 
name(s) that you or your spouse used when filing your return 
during that period. 
Identification Numbers for Paid Preparers 
If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person must 
also include an identification number where requested.  A paid 
preparer may use any of the following: 
• his or her PTIN; 
• his or her SSN; or 
• the EIN for the business. 
A paid preparer who fails to include the proper identification 
number may also be subject to a penalty. 

Determining Your Filing Status 
The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be 
different from that used on your federal return. 
Use this section to determine your filing status. Check the 
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140. 
If you qualify as married for federal purposes, you qualify as 
married for Arizona purposes and must file using the status of 
either married filing joint or married filing separate.   
If you are single, you must file as single or if qualified you may 
file as head of household (see the instructions for box 5). 
Box 4 - Married Filing Joint Return 
If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4. 
You may file a joint return if you were married as of December 
31, 2021. It does not matter whether or not you were living with 
your spouse. You may file an Arizona joint return, even if you 
and your spouse filed separate federal returns. 
You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2021 and 
you did not remarry in 2021. See page 2 of these instructions 
for details. 
Arizona Form 140 is for full year residents only. You may not 
file a joint income tax return on Form 140 if any of the 
following apply: 
• Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living in 

another country). 
• Your spouse is a resident of another state. 
• Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident. 
If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you must 
file a joint return using Arizona Form 140NR.  See Form 140NR 
instructions. 
If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse, 
you must file a joint return using Arizona Form 140PY.  
See Form 140PY instructions.  For more information on filing 
a joint tax return with your part-year resident or nonresident 

spouse, see the department’s ruling, ITR 14-1, Filing a Joint 
Tax Return When a Resident Spouse is Married to a Part-Year 
Resident or Nonresident.   
Box 4a - Injured Spouse Protection of Joint 
Overpayment 
Check box 4a only if you and your spouse are filing a joint 
return and you or your spouse qualify as an injured spouse and 
are requesting protection from application of any joint 
overpayment against the other spouse’s delinquencies or debts 
for back child support, court fees, and fees to counties, cities or 
educational institutions.  The taxpayer (spouse) requesting 
injured spouse protection must have Arizona income with 
taxes withheld and reported on his/her own Form W-2 or 
Form 1099.   

NOTE:  You cannot use Form 203 to request protection from 
offset for past-due federal taxes.  You must contact the IRS.   

You must complete Arizona Form 203, Request for Injured 
Spouse Protection from Application of Joint Overpayment 
Against Spouse’s Delinquencies and Debts, and include that 
form with your tax return when filed.  For more information, 
see the instructions for Form 203.   
Box 5 - Head of Household Return 
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5.  Enter the 
name of the qualifying child or dependent in the space provided.  
You may file as head of household on your Arizona return only 
if one of the following applies: 
• You qualify to file as head of household on your federal 

return; or 
• You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on 

your federal return. 
Box 6 - Married Filing Separate Return 
If you are married and filing a separate return, check box 6.  
Enter your spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1.  
If you were married as of December 31, 2021, you may choose 
to file a separate return.  You may file a separate Arizona return, 
even if you and your spouse filed a joint federal return. 
Arizona is a community property state.  If you file a separate 
return, you must figure out how much income to report using 
community property laws.  Under these laws, a separate return 
must reflect one-half of the community income from all sources 
plus any separate income. 
When you file separate returns, you must account for 
community deductions and credits on the same basis as 
community income.  Both you and your spouse must either 
itemize or not itemize.  If one of you itemizes, you both must 
itemize.  If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both must 
take a standard deduction.  One of you may not claim a standard 
deduction while the other itemizes. 
If you and your spouse support a dependent child from 
community income, either you or your spouse may claim the 
dependent.  Both of you cannot claim the same dependent 
on both separate returns.  For more information, see the
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department’s rulings, ITR 93-18, Income Reporting 
Requirements for Married Arizona Residents Who File Separate 
Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns; and ITR 93-19, 
Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits for Married Taxpayers 
Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns.   
NOTE:  In some cases, you may treat community income as 
separate income. For more information, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 93-22, When Community Income May Be Treated 
as Separate Income.   
If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other 
special rules may apply when filing a separate return.  See the 
department’s ruling, ITR 93-20, Income Reporting 
Requirements of Resident and Nonresident Spouses Who File 
Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns; and the 
department’s publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers.   
Box 7 - Single Return 
If you are filing as single, check box 7.   
Use this filing status if you were single on December 31, 2021.  
You are single if any of the following apply to you: 
• You have never been married. 
• You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or of 

separate maintenance. 
• You were widowed before January 1, 2021, and you did 

not remarry in 2021, and you do not qualify to file as a 
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children on 
your federal return. 

NOTE:  If you got divorced during the year, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 14-2, Reporting Income, Deductions, 
Exemptions, and Withholding for Divorced Individuals for the 
Year of Divorce; and publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers. 

Exemptions - Boxes 8, 9, and 11a 
Enter the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8, 
9, and 11a. Do not put a check mark. You may lose the 
exemption if you put a checkmark in these boxes.   
Box 8 - Age 65 or Over  

NOTE:  If a taxpayer’s 65th birthday was January 1, 2022 
(born 1/1/1957), that person is considered to be age 65 at the 
end of 2021 for federal income tax purposes and likewise for 
Arizona income tax purposes. 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 8 if you were 65 or older in 2021 and not claimed as 
a dependent by another taxpayer.  

• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 8 if 
you were 65 or older and not claimed as a dependent  
by another taxpayer or your spouse was 65 or older in 2021 
and not claimed as a dependent by another  
taxpayer.  Enter "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse 
were 65 or older in 2021 and neither of you are claimed  
as a dependent by another taxpayer. 
 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, enter 
"1" in box 8 if you were 65 or older and not claimed by 
another taxpayer.  You cannot take an exemption for your 
spouse.  Your spouse, if 65 or older and not claimed by 
another taxpayer, may take this exemption on his/her  
own separate return. 

Box 9 - Blind 
If you or your spouse was partially blind as of  
December 31, 2021, you must get a statement certified by  
your eye doctor or registered optometrist that either: 
• You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with 

glasses or contact lenses or 
• Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 
If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the 
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by 
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect 
instead.  You must keep the statement for your records. 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind.  
• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 9 if 

you or your spouse is totally or partially blind.   
Enter "2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally 
or partially blind. 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, you may 
take an exemption for yourself if you are totally or partially 
blind.  You may only claim an exemption for your spouse 
if (1) your spouse is totally or partially blind, (2) has no 
Arizona adjusted gross income for the calendar year, and 
(3) is not the dependent of another taxpayer.   
Enter "1" in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind or 
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse 
meets the above criteria.   
Enter “2” in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind and 
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse 
meets the above criteria.   

Box 11a - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 
NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent 
also qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person  
as a dependent in box 10b, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent in box 11a.  You may not 
include the same person in both box 10b and box 11a. 
You must complete the qualifying parent and grandparent 
section (lines 11b and 11c) on page 1 (and Part 2 on page 4, if 
more space is needed) before you can total your exemptions for 
qualifying parents and grandparents.  Be sure to check the box 
on page 1 indicating you are completing page 4.     
A qualifying parent or grandparent may be any one of the 
following: 
• Your parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc. 
• If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent, 

grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc. 
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You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply: 
1. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent was 65 years 

old or older during 2021. 
2. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent lived in your 

principal residence for the entire taxable year. 
If your parent or grandparent died during the taxable year, 
this requirement will still be met if he or she lived with you 
for the entire part of the year in which he or she was alive.  
Temporary absences by the parent or grandparent for 
special circumstances, such as a hospital stay or care in a 
hospice facility, count as time lived in the taxpayer’s 
principal residence. 

3. You paid more than one-half of the support and 
maintenance costs of the parent or grandparent during the 
taxable year. 
To help you determine if you paid more than one-half of 
your parent or grandparent’s support during the taxable 
year, it is recommended that you review the department’s 
procedure, ITP 14-1, Procedure for Determining Support 
for Purposes of the Parents and Grandparents Exemption 
Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the 
worksheet.  Keep the worksheet for your records. 

4. The parent or grandparent required assistance with 
activities of daily living. 
The term “activities of daily living” means two or more of 
the following listed categories.  Activities of daily living 
include both basic activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living.  The categories of 
activities of daily living are: dressing, eating, ambulating, 
toileting, medicating and hygiene, shopping, 
housekeeping, managing personal finances, basic 
communication, food-preparation, and transportation. 

For more information regarding what the term “activities of 
daily living” means when determining an Arizona resident 
taxpayer’s eligibility for this exemption, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 14-3, "Activities of Daily Living" for the Purpose of 
the Exemption Allowed Under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C). 
To help you determine if your parent or grandparent required 
assistance with activities of daily living to meet this 
requirement, it is recommended that you review the 
department’s procedure, ITP 14-2, Procedure for Determining 
Whether a Parent or Grandparent Requires Assistance with 
Activities of Daily Living for Purposes of the Exemption 
Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the checklist.  
Keep the checklist for your records. 

Lines 11b and 11c 
For each qualifying parent and grandparent, enter the following 
information: 
a) first and last name; 
b) social security number; 
c) relationship to taxpayer; 
d) the number of months this person lived in your home; 
e) check this box if the person is age 65 or over; 
f) check this box if the person died in 2021. 

You may lose the exemption for qualifying parents and 
grandparents if you do not furnish this information.  Enter the 
total number of qualifying parents/grandparents in box 11a. 

Dependents - Boxes 10a and 10b 
Boxes 10a and 10b  
Boxes 10a and 10b identify the number of your qualifying 
dependents that are either under the age of 17 (box 10a) or age 
17 and over (box 10b).  This information is used to compute the 
allowable Dependent Tax Credit.  Include only those 
dependents in box 10a or 10b that you are using to compute the 
allowable Dependent Tax Credit claimed on line 49. 

NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent 
also qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person  
as a dependent in box 10b to compute the allowable Dependent 
Tax Credit or you may claim that person as a qualifying parent 
or grandparent in box 11a.  You may not include the same 
person in both box 10b and box 11a. 
Lines 10c through 10e 
You must complete the dependent information section (lines 
10c through 10e) on page 1 (and Part 1 on page 4, if more space 
is needed) for each person counted in either box 10a or 10b.  
Be sure to check the box on page 1 indicating you are 
completing page 4.     
You may claim only those individuals that qualify as your 
dependent for federal purposes.  For each qualifying individual, 
enter the following information: 
a)    first and last name; 
b) social security number; 
c) relationship to taxpayer; 
d) the number of months this person lived in your home; 

Temporary absences:  Your child or dependent is 
considered to have lived with you during periods of time 
when temporarily absent due to special circumstances such 
as:  illness, education, business, or vacation.  Your child is 
also considered to have lived with you during any required 
hospital stay following birth, as long as the child would 
have lived with you during that time but for the 
hospitalization. 

e) - check box 1 (for box 10a) if this person is under the age 
  of 17 or  
-  check box 2 (for box 10b) if this person is age 17 or over; 
and 

f) check the box if you did not claim this person on your 
federal return due to educational credits.  

NOTE:  If you did not claim a dependent who is a student on 
your federal return in order to allow the student to claim a 
federal education credit on the student’s federal return, you 
may still claim the dependent on your Arizona return.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 05-2, 
Will Arizona Allow a Dependent Exemption When a Taxpayer 
Does Not Claim Federal Exemption in Order to Claim the 
Education Credit? 
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You may lose the dependent tax credit if you do not furnish 
this information.  Enter the total number of dependents in 
box 10a and 10b. 

Totaling Your Income 
Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
You must complete your federal return before you enter an 
amount on line 12. You must complete a 2021 federal return to 
determine your federal adjusted gross income, even if you are 
not filing a federal return. 
Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting point 
to determine Arizona taxable income. Your federal adjusted 
gross income is your Arizona gross income. 

NOTE:  Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross income and 
not your federal taxable income. 
If the amount on line 12 is more than $75,000 ($150,000 if filing 
a joint return), you may need to make estimated payments.  See 
"Do You Need to Make Estimated Payments in 2022?" on page 4. 

Arizona Small Business Income Tax Return 
Beginning with tax year 2021, individuals may elect to report 
their small business income on Arizona Form 140-SBI, Small 
Business Income (SBI), for the small business income amount 
included in their federal adjusted gross income. 
An individual’s small business income is reported on federal 
Schedules B, C, D, E, F and Form 4797 (for amounts not 
included on Schedule D). 
For more information, see Form 140-SBI and instructions. 
How do I Elect to Report Small Business Income 
on Arizona Form 140-SBI?  
Taxpayers make the election by simply completing Form  
140-SBI reporting their small business income and including 
the completed form with their Arizona Form 140 tax 
returns, when filed.  

NOTE:  You must include Form 140-SBI with your Form 140, 
when filed.  If you do not include Form 140-SBI with your Form 
140, processing of your return may be delayed or your 
subtraction on line 13 may be denied.  See the Mailing 
instructions for the correct address when mailing both Form 
140 and Form 140-SBI.  

Modified Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
Line 13 - Small Business Income 
If you elect to report your small business income on Arizona 
Form 140-SBI, check the box on line 13 and enter the amount 
of small business income reported on Form 140-SBI, line 10. 

Complete lines 4 through 10 on Form 140-SBI to determine the 
amount to enter on line 13 (Form 140).   

If you are not making this election, enter “0” on line 13.  

Line 14 – Modified Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
Subtract line 13 from line 12.   
 

Additions to Income 
Line 15 - Non-Arizona Municipal Interest 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
Enter the amount of interest income from non-Arizona 
municipal bonds that you did not include as income on your 
federal return. 
You may exclude any expenses incurred to purchase or carry 
the obligation. Reduce the interest income by the amount of 
those expenses that you could not deduct on your federal return. 
If you received tax exempt interest from municipal bonds, keep 
a schedule listing the payors and the amount received from each 
payor for your records. You should also keep supporting 
documents for amounts received from Arizona municipal bonds 
that are exempt from Arizona income tax.  These may be items 
such as bank statements, brokerage statements, etc. 
Line 16 - Partnership Income Adjustment  
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
Complete line 16 if you received an Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1 and line 3 shows a difference between federal and 
state distributable income. 
If the difference reported on line 3 of your Form 165 Schedule 
K-1 is a positive number, enter that difference as an addition on 
line 16. 
NOTE:  If the difference reported on line 3 of your Form 165 
Schedule K-1 is a negative number, enter the difference on 27. 

Line 17 - Total Federal Depreciation 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here, make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
Enter the total amount of depreciation deducted on your federal 
return. If you make an entry here, you should also take a 
subtraction on line 26.  To figure how much you should subtract, 
see the instructions for line 26.   
Line 18 - Other Additions to Arizona Gross Income 
Use line 18 if any of the following special circumstances apply. 

NOTE:  If you are reporting any adjustment on line 18, complete 
the schedule on page 5 of your tax return, Additions to Arizona 
Gross Income, and include it with your return.   
If you are not reporting any adjustment on line 18, do not include 
page 5 with your return. 
You may either add (on line 18) or subtract (on line 36) items 
A and B, depending on your situation. 
A. Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 
If you file a separate Arizona return, you must report the 
following income on that return: 
• one-half of the community income from all sources, and 
• all of your separate income. 
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but separate 
Arizona returns, you must make sure that each separate return 
reflects the correct income. If you begin your Arizona return 
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with only the income that you earned during the year, you will 
have to adjust this income. 
If you file separate federal returns, each of your federal returns 
should already reflect the correct income. Since your separate 
Arizona returns will begin with the federal adjusted gross 
income, you will not have to adjust your income. 
If you adjust your income, keep a schedule for your records of 
how you figured your adjustment.  For more information, see 
the department’s publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers. 
B. Fiduciary Adjustment 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
A fiduciary uses Arizona Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 to report 
to you your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or 
estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 shows your share of the 
fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the amount 
reported on line 3 of your Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 is a 
positive number, include that amount on line 18. 

NOTE:  If the amount reported on line 3 of your Form 141AZ 
Schedule K-1 is a negative number, include that amount as an 
Other Subtraction on line 36. 

C. Ordinary Income Portion of Lump-Sum Distributions 
Excluded on Your Federal Return 
Make this adjustment if you use federal averaging for lump-sum 
distributions from your pension or profit-sharing plan. Arizona 
law does not provide for averaging. Enter the amount of the 
distribution that you treated as ordinary income on your federal 
return.  If you choose to treat the capital gain portion of the 
distribution as ordinary income, you must also include that 
amount.   
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-5, 
Arizona's Income Tax Treatment of the Capital Gain Portion of 
a Lump Sum Distribution from a Qualified Retirement Plan. 
D. Items Previously Deducted for Arizona Purposes 
Arizona statutes prohibit a taxpayer from deducting items more 
than once. If your Arizona taxable income includes items 
previously deducted for Arizona purposes, you must add such 
amounts to your Arizona gross income. 
E. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in 2021 

NOTE:  For items E, Fa and Fb; taxpayers that made the 
election to file an Arizona Small Business Income Tax Return 
in 2021, if the income required to be paid back under the claim 
of right is the type of income that would be included in lines 4 
through 9 of the 140-SBI return if the income were reported in 
2021, the adjustment should be made in the 140-SBI return.  All 
other claim of right adjustments should be made on the regular 
140 return. 

You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
• During 2021, you were required to repay amounts held 

under a claim of right. 
• The amount required to be repaid during 2021 was more 

than $3,000. 
• You took a deduction for the amount repaid on your 2021 

federal income tax return. 
If the above apply, include the amount deducted on your federal 
income tax return.  For more information on the Arizona claim 
of right provisions, see the department’s procedure, ITP 16-1, 
Procedure for Individuals Who Restore Substantial Amounts 
Held under a Claim of Right. 
F (a). Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in 
Prior Taxable Years 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
• During a year prior to 2021, you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
• You computed your tax for that prior year under Arizona's 

claim of right provisions. 
• A net operating loss or capital loss was established due to 

the repayment made in the prior year. 
• You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2021 
Arizona taxable income. 

• The amount of the loss carryover included in your federal 
income is more than the amount allowed to be taken into 
account for Arizona purposes. 

Include the amount by which the loss carryover included in 
your federal adjusted gross income is more than the amount 
allowed for the taxable year under Arizona law. 
F (b).  Adjustment for Net Operating Loss Due to Claim of 
Right 
You must addback the adjustment for any net operating loss 
previously claimed that is related to the amount of your claim 
of right reported.   
G. Addition to S Corporation Income Due to Claiming Pass-
Through Credits 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
Shareholders of an S corporation who claim a credit passed 
through from an S corporation must make an addition to income 
for the amount of expenses disallowed by reason of claiming 
the credit. 
An S corporation that passes the following credits through to its 
shareholders must notify each shareholder of his or her pro rata 
share of the adjustment. You must include an amount on this 
line when claiming any of the following Arizona credits: 
• Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit (Form 312)  
• Pollution Control Credit (Form 315) 
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H. Adjusted Basis in Property for Which You Have Claimed 
a Credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
If you claim a credit on Form 338 for an investment in a 
qualified small business, you must adjust your basis in the 
investment by the amount of the credit claimed. You must 
report this difference in basis on the Arizona return that you file 
for the taxable year in which you sell or otherwise dispose of 
the investment. If you sold or otherwise disposed of the 
investment during the 2021 taxable year, include the amount by 
which the adjusted basis computed under the IRC with respect 
to that property exceeds the adjusted basis of the property 
computed under A.R.S. § 43-1074.02. 
I.  Nonqualified Withdrawals from 529 College Savings 
Plans   
You must make an addition to income if both of the following 
apply to you: 
• You received a nonqualified withdrawal from a 529 college 

savings plan.  
• You did not include the amount of the withdrawal in your 

federal adjusted gross income. 
The amount that you must include is the amount withdrawn, but 
no more than the difference between the amount of 
contributions subtracted in prior years and the amount added in 
any prior years. 
A nonqualified withdrawal is a withdrawal other than any of the 
following: 
• A qualified withdrawal, which is a withdrawal from an 

account to pay the qualified higher education expenses of 
the designated beneficiary of the account. 

• A withdrawal made as the result of the death or disability 
of the designated beneficiary of an account. 

• A withdrawal that is made on the account of a scholarship 
or allowance or payment described in IRC § 135(d)(1)(B) 
or (C), if received by the designated beneficiary, but only 
to the extent of the amount of this scholarship, allowance 
or payment. 

• A rollover or change of the designated beneficiary. 
J. Sole Proprietorship Loss of an Arizona Nonprofit 
Medical Marijuana Dispensary Included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   

NOTE:  A dual licensee that elects to operate on a for-profit 
basis does not qualify for a subtraction for the medical 
marijuana portion of its business.   

If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with the 
Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this state 
as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you are required 
to add the amount of the loss from the dispensary that is 
 

included in the computation of your federal adjusted gross 
income.  Include the amount of the loss. 

NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary 
is registered with the Arizona Department of Health Services as 
anything other than a sole proprietorship, this addition does not 
apply. 
In addition, a sole proprietorship of an Arizona dual licensee 
that has not elected to operate on a for-profit basis may subtract 
the portion of income included in federal adjusted gross income 
that is from the medical marijuana portion of the business.  
NOTE:  A dual licensee that elects to operate on a for-profit 
basis does not qualify for a subtraction for the medical 
marijuana portion of their business.   
K.  Federal Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryforward from 
Non-Arizona Sources Accrued While a Nonresident 
An individual cannot include a federal NOL carryforward 
deduction, incurred from non-Arizona sources while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident, in the Arizona taxable 
income of a return filed for a taxable year in which the taxpayer 
is an Arizona resident. 
Instead, the taxpayer must make an addition to Arizona gross 
income on the full-year Arizona resident return for the amount 
of the NOL carryforward deduction included in the taxpayer’s 
federal adjusted gross income.  For more information, see the 
department’s ruling, ITR 13-5, Can A Net Operating Loss 
Incurred as a Non-Resident Be Used to Offset Income In A Year 
In Which the Taxpayer Is A Resident? 

NOTE:  For a non-Arizona source loss incurred while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident, the taxpayer would not 
be allowed to amend a prior year resident Arizona income tax 
return to claim the NOL carry back deduction.  
L. Federal Capital Loss Carryforward Deduction Incurred 
from Non-Arizona Sources Prior to Arizona Residency 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   

An individual cannot include a capital loss carryforward 
deduction, incurred from non-Arizona sources while the 
taxpayer was an Arizona nonresident, in the Arizona taxable 
income of a return filed for a taxable year in which the taxpayer 
is an Arizona resident. Therefore, a capital loss incurred from 
non-Arizona sources while the taxpayer was an Arizona 
nonresident cannot be carried forward to a taxpayer's Arizona 
resident return when the loss carryover is reflected in the 
taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income. 
The taxpayer must make an addition to Arizona gross income 
on the full-year Arizona resident return for the amount of such 
capital loss carryforward deduction included in the computation 
of the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income. 
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 13-6, 
Can A Capital Loss Incurred as a Non-Resident Be Used to 
Offset Income In A Year In Which the Taxpayer Is A Resident? 
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M.  Americans with Disabilities Act - Access Expenditures 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the Small Business Income Tax Return. 
If you take a subtraction on line 36, Other Subtractions from 
Income (Item N), for the full amount of eligible business access 
expenditures paid or incurred during the taxable year to comply 
with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 or A.R.S Title 
41, chapter 9, article 8, you must make an addition to Arizona 
gross income for any amount that is included in the computation 
of federal adjusted gross income for the current year, plus any 
federally amortized amounts. 
N.  Amortization or Depreciation for Child Care Facility  
You may need to make an addition for depreciation or 
amortization if you elected to amortize the cost of a child care 
facility under Arizona law in effect before 1990 and you are still 
deducting amortization or depreciation for that facility on your 
federal income tax return. 
O.  Net Capital (Loss) from Exchange of One Kind of Legal 
Tender for Another Kind of Legal Tender  

NOTE:  If you elected to file the Arizona Small Business 
Income Tax Return, only claim the addition on this return if the 
net capital loss to which the addition relates was not moved to 
the Small Business Income Tax Return.    

To determine if you are required to make this addition to 
income, you must net all gains and (losses) from all exchanges 
of one kind of legal tender for another kind of legal tender, 
including amounts shown on Form 165 Schedule K-1,  
Form 120S Schedule K-1, and Form 141AZ Schedule K-1. 
Enter the amount of any net capital (loss) included in Arizona 
gross income for the taxable year that is derived from the 
exchange of one kind of legal tender for another kind of legal 
tender.  

NOTE:  If the amount from all sources results in a net capital 
gain from the exchange of one kind of tender for another kind 
of tender, enter that amount on  page 6, Other Subtractions from 
Arizona Gross Income”, item “R”.  

For the purposes of this paragraph: 
(a) "Legal tender" means a medium of exchange, including 
specie that is authorized by the United States Constitution or 
Congress for the payment of debts, public charges, taxes and 
dues. 
(b) "Specie" means coins having precious metal content. 
P.  Other Adjustments Related to Tax Credits 
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.   
You may also need to make an addition if you claimed certain 
tax credits. Call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions if you claimed any of the following: 
• Agricultural Water Conservation System credit (Form 312) 
• Pollution Control Credit. (Form 315) 
• Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit. (Form 325) 

Q.  Other Adjustments  
If you are making the small business election, do not make the 
addition here.  Make it on the 140-SBI tax return.    
Other adjustments may be necessary.  For example, you must 
addback expenses related to income that Arizona does not tax.  
If you have more than one Other Adjustment, add the amounts 
together and enter the total.   
R.  Total Other Additions to Arizona Gross Income 
Add all amounts from page 5 and enter the total on line 18. 
Line 19 - Subtotal 
Add lines 14 through 18 and enter the total. 
Subtractions from Income 
You may only subtract those items for which statutory authority 
exists. You cannot take a subtraction without such authority.    
You may not subtract any amount that is allocable to income 
excluded from your Arizona taxable income. 
If you have any questions concerning subtractions from income, 
call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these instructions. 
Lines 20 through 24 - Net Capital Gain or (Loss) 

NOTE:  For lines 20-24, if you elected to file the Arizona Small 
Business Income Tax Return, only claim the subtraction on this 
return if the net capital gain to which the subtraction relates 
was not moved to the Arizona Small Business Income Tax 
Return. 

If you have net capital gains or (losses) not related to small 
business income, enter those amounts on Form 140,  
lines 20-24.   
If you are not filing a small business income tax return, include 
all net capital gains or (losses) on Form 140, lines 20-24. 

NOTE:  If you enter an amount on line 20, you must complete 
lines 21 and 22.  If you are taking a subtraction on line 24 for 
any net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011, you must also complete line 23.  If you do 
not complete lines 20 through 23, you cannot take the 
subtraction on line 24. 
You may subtract 25% (.25) of any net long-term capital gain 
included in your federal adjusted gross income that is derived from 
an investment in an asset acquired after December 31, 2011.  
Complete the Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain 
Subtraction for Assets Acquired after December 31, 2011 at the 
end of these instructions to determine the allowable subtraction.  
Keep the worksheet for your records. 

NOTE:  If you do not have any net capital gain or (loss) to 
report, enter zero (0) on lines 20-22. 

Line 20 - Total Net Capital Gain or (Loss) 
If you reported a net capital gain or (loss) on your federal 
income tax return, enter the total net capital gain or (loss)   
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reported on the Capital Gain or (Loss) line on your federal 
return.  This amount should be included in your federal 
adjusted gross income. 
Line 21 - Total Net Short-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the total amount of net short-term capital gain or (loss) 
reported on federal Schedule D.  This amount should be 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
NOTE: If you are not required to report dividend distributions 
and/or short-term capital gains from mutual funds on federal 
Form Schedule D, do not include the short-term capital gain 
distributed by the mutual fund on line 21. 

Line 22 - Total Net Long-Term Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Enter the total amount of net long-term capital gain or (loss) 
reported on federal Schedule D.  This amount should be 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
If your net long-term capital gain (loss) is limited to an amount 
reported on Form 1099-DIV and you were not required to 
complete federal Schedule D, enter the amount shown on Form 
1099-DIV on line 22. 
Line 23 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain from Assets 
Acquired After December 31, 2011 
NOTE:  Only include net long-term capital gains on this line if 
it can be verified that the asset was acquired after December 31, 
2011.  If the date of acquisition cannot be determined, the asset 
is considered to have been acquired before January 1, 2012.  
For purposes of this line, an asset acquired by gift or 
inheritance is considered acquired on the date it was acquired 
by the gift-giver or the deceased individual. 
If you completed the worksheet at the end of these instructions, 
enter the amount from line 5 of the worksheet. 
If you did not complete the worksheet and you have no net long-
term capital gain from assets acquired after December 31, 2011, 
enter zero (0). 
Line 24 - Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction From 
Income for Assets Acquired After December 31, 2011 
Multiply the amount on line 23 by 25% (.25) and enter the 
result. 

CAUTION: If you take a subtraction for the net capital gain 
derived from investment in a qualified business (on line 25)  or  
the net capital gain from the exchange of one kind of legal 
tender for another kind of legal tender (on page 6, item R) that 
includes any long-term capital gain from an investment made 
after December 31, 2011, you cannot include that portion in 
your computation of the allowable subtraction on line 24 for 
any net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011 and included in federal adjusted gross 
income.  For more information, see the worksheet on page 29. 
1099-DIV:  If you received Form 1099-DIV issued from a fund 
Administrator and the 1099-DIV included long-term capital 
gains from the sale of assets within the fund (for example, a 
mutual fund) for the current tax year but the form did not 
include the acquisition date of each asset sold within the fund, 

you cannot verify that the long-term capital gain was from an 
asset acquired by the Fund was after December 31, 2011 for the 
purpose of the allowable subtraction on line 23.  In this case, 
you may want to contact the Fund Administrator and request to 
obtain the acquisition date of each asset sold within the fund.  If 
the Administrator does not provide you with the specific 
date(s), then those assets cannot be included on line 23. 
1099-B:  If you received Form 1099-B showing a capital gain 
or (loss) from the sale of your portion of a fund (for example a 
mutual fund), Form 1099-B would generally include your 
purchase date of the fund, including acquisition dates of assets 
included in your portion of the fund when reporting short-term 
or long-term capital gains or (losses).  In this case, you would 
know the specific date the asset was acquired and those assets 
may be included on line 23.   

Line 25 - Net Capital Gain from Investment in an 
Arizona Qualified Small Business 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
To take the subtraction for a net capital gain from investment in 
an Arizona qualified small business, you must net all gains and 
(losses) from investments in Arizona qualified small businesses, 
including amounts shown on Forms 165 Schedule K-1,  
120S Schedule K-1, and/or 141AZ, Schedule K-1. 
You may subtract the amount of any net capital gain included in 
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year derived from 
investment in a qualified small business as determined by the 
Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA) pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1518.  
To qualify for this subtraction, your investment in the qualified 
small business must have been made after the ACA certified the 
company as a qualified small business and before the 
company’s certification expiration date.  An investment made 
prior to certification or after the expiration of certification does 
not qualify for this subtraction.  See the ACA’s website, Small 
Business Incentives:  Angel Investment, for a list of certified 
businesses and their certification dates. 
On line 25, enter the amount of the allowable subtraction. 
Line 26 - Recalculated Arizona Depreciation 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
NOTE:  For more information and examples of how to 
calculate Arizona bonus depreciation, see the department’s 
procedure, ITP 16-2, Procedure for Individuals who Claim 
Federal and/or Arizona Bonus Depreciation.    

For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning 
before December 31, 2012, enter the total amount of 
depreciation allowable pursuant to IRC § 167(a) for the taxable 
year, calculated as if you had elected not to claim bonus 
depreciation for eligible properties for federal purposes. 
For assets placed in service during taxable years beginning 
from and after December 31, 2012 through December 
31, 2013, the amount of the subtraction for these assets depends 
on the method used to compute the depreciation for these assets. 
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For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning from 
and after December 31, 2013 through December 31, 2015, 
enter the total amount of depreciation allowable pursuant to 
IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year, calculated as if the bonus 
depreciation is 10% (.10) of the amount of federal bonus 
depreciation pursuant to IRC § 168(k). 
For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning from 
and after December 31, 2015 through December 31, 2016, 
enter the total amount of depreciation allowable pursuant to 
IRC § 167(a) for the taxable year, calculated as if the bonus 
depreciation is 55% (.55) of the amount of federal bonus 
depreciation pursuant to IRC § 168(k). 
For assets placed in service in taxable years beginning from 
and after December 31, 2016, enter the total amount of 
depreciation allowable pursuant to IRC § 167(a) for the taxable 
year, calculated as if the bonus depreciation had been the full 
amount (100%) of federal bonus depreciation pursuant to  
IRC § 168(k). 
Add all of the amounts together and enter the total on line 26. 
Line 27 – Partnership Income Adjustment 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Use this adjustment if you received an Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1, line 3 that shows a difference between federal 
and state distributable income. 
If the difference reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 165 
Schedule K-1 is a negative number, enter that difference on  
line 27.  Do not include a minus sign or use parentheses. 

NOTE:  If the difference reported on line 3, of your Arizona 
Form 165 Schedule K-1, is a positive number, enter that 
difference as an addition on line 16. 

Line 28 - Interest on U.S. Obligations 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Enter the amount of interest income from U.S. Government 
obligations included as income on your federal return. U.S. 
Government obligations include obligations such as savings 
bonds and treasury bills. You cannot deduct any interest or 
other related expenses incurred to purchase or carry the 
obligations. If such expenses are included in your Arizona gross 
income, you must reduce the subtraction by such expenses. If 
you are itemizing deductions on your Arizona return, you must 
exclude such expenses from the amount deducted. 
NOTE: Do not subtract interest earned on Fannie Mae (FNMA) 
or Ginnie Mae (GNMA) bonds since this interest is taxable by 
Arizona.  
For details, see the department's ruling, ITR 06-1, Obligations of 
the United States Government, Federal Agencies, and United 
States Territories. 
Do not subtract any amount received from a qualified pension 
plan that invests in U.S. Government obligations. Do not 
subtract any amount received from an IRA that invests in U.S. 
Government obligations. These amounts are not interest income. 

For details, see the department’s rulings, ITR 96-2, Pension 
Plan Distributions Derived from Investment in U.S. 
Government Obligations; and ITR 96-3, Distributions 
Comprised of Income Earned by the IRA. 
Line 29a - Exclusion for U.S. Government, Arizona 
State or Local Government Pensions 
If you received pension income from any of the sources listed 
below, subtract the amount you received or $2,500, whichever 
is less. Include only the amount you reported as income on your 
federal return. If both you and your spouse receive such pension 
income, each spouse may subtract the amount received or 
$2,500, whichever is less. 

NOTE:  Do not enter any subtraction for pension income 
received from retired or retainer pay of the Uniformed Services.  
The allowable subtraction for this pension type is entered on 
line 29b.   

Public pensions from the following sources qualify 
for this subtraction: 
• the United States Government Service Retirement and 

Disability Fund; 
• the United States Foreign Service Retirement and 

Disability System; 
• any other retirement system or plan established by federal law; 

NOTE: This applies only to those retirement plans 
authorized and enacted into the U.S. Code. This does not 
apply to a retirement plan that is only regulated by federal law 
(i.e., plans which must meet certain federal criteria to be 
qualified plans). 

• the Arizona State Retirement System; 
• the Arizona State Retirement Plan; 
• the Corrections Officer Retirement Plan; 
• the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System; 
• the Elected Officials' Retirement Plan; 
• a retirement plan established for employees of a county, 

city, or town in Arizona; and 
• an optional retirement program established by the Arizona 

Board of Regents under Arizona law, and an optional 
retirement program established by an Arizona community 
college district. 

NOTE: Public retirement pensions from states other than 
Arizona do not qualify for this subtraction. 

Line 29b – Exclusion for  Retired or Retainer Pay of 
the Uniformed Services of the United States 
Beginning with tax year 2021, if you received benefits, 
annuities and pensions as retired or retainer pay of the 
uniformed services of the United States, you may subtract 
100% of the amount you received.  If both you and your spouse 
each received such income, each spouse may subtract 100% of 
the amount received. 
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Line 30 - U.S. Social Security Benefits or Railroad 
Retirement Benefits 
Arizona does not tax the following: 
• Social Security benefits received under Title II of the 

Social Security Act.  
• Railroad retirement benefits received from the Railroad 

Retirement Board under the Railroad Retirement Act, tier 
1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad disability 
benefits reported on federal forms RRB-1099 and RRB-
1099-R, railroad unemployment benefits and railroad 
sickness payments paid by the Railroad Retirement Board.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling,  
ITR 16-1, Railroad Retirement Benefits, Railroad 
Disability Benefits, Railroad Unemployment Benefits and 
Railroad Sickness Payments. 

If you included such Social Security or railroad retirement 
benefits as income on your federal return, use line 30 to subtract 
this income. 

NOTE: Enter only the taxable amount (the amount that was 
subject to federal income tax). Do not include any amount that 
was not subject to federal income tax on line 30. 

Line 31 - Certain Wages of American Indians 
Enrolled members of American Indian tribes may subtract 
wages earned while living and working on their tribe's 
reservation. The federal government must recognize these 
tribes.  For more information, see the department’s ruling,  
ITR 96-4, Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses.  
Line 32 - Pay Received for Active Service as a Member 
of the Reserves, National Guard or the U.S. Armed 
Forces   
Members of the U.S. armed forces may subtract pay received 
for active duty military service.  Enter the amount of that 
income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
Members of the reserves or the National Guard may subtract 
pay received for active service as a reservist or as a National 
Guard member.  This includes pay received for weekend or 
two-week training periods. Enter the amount of that income 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
Military Technician (dual status) 
You may not subtract any income you received for full-time 
civil service employment as a “military technician (dual 
status).”  Compensation received by a “military technician (dual 
status)” for federal civil service employment for the National 
Guard or for the United States Reserves is not income received 
for active service as a National Guard member or a Reserve 
member, even though the employee may be required to wear a 
military uniform while at work.   
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 12-2, 
Compensation Received by a National Guard member or a 
member of the United States Reserves.  

 

NOTE:  You may not subtract pay received for active duty 
service as a member of the U.S. Public Health Service or 
NOAA.  For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 
10-1, Does the subtraction, for armed forces personnel, under 
A.R.S. § 43-1022 apply to Arizona residents who are active 
duty service members of the commissioned corps of the United 
States Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration? 

Line 33 - Net Operating Loss Adjustment 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Arizona did not adopt the special federal net operating loss rules 
for losses incurred during 2008 or 2009.  For Arizona purposes, 
you must deduct a net operating loss as if the loss was computed 
under IRC §172 in effect prior to the enactment of those special 
rules.  If you made an election to deduct your 2008 or 2009 
federal net operating loss under IRC § 172(b)(1)(H), you may 
have to enter an amount here.  Figure how much of the net 
operating loss carryforward would have been allowed as a 
deduction on your 2021 federal income tax return, if the 
election described in IRC § 172(b)(1)(H) had not been made in 
the year of the loss.  Enter the amount that exceeds the actual 
net operating loss carryforward that was deducted in arriving at 
federal adjusted gross income. 
NOTE:  This subtraction applies to only those individuals who 
made an election under the special federal net operating loss 
rules for 2008 and 2009.  Under the special rules for 2008 and 
2009, you could have elected to carry the net operating loss 
back for 3, 4 or 5 years instead of the normal 2 years.  This 
election would have been allowed under IRC § 172(b)(1)(H) as 
amended by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 
2009 or the Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance 
Act of 2009. 

Line 34 (Box 34a) - Contributions to 529 College 
Savings Plans 
You may subtract amounts you contributed directly to 529 
college savings plans during the taxable year on behalf of the 
designated beneficiary to the extent that contributions were not 
deducted in computing federal adjusted gross income. You may 
subtract the amount you contributed during the year up to a 
maximum of $2,000 per beneficiary ($4,000 for a married 
couple filing a joint return). If you are married filing separate 
returns, either you or your spouse may take the subtraction or 
you may divide it between you, but the total subtraction taken 
by both of you cannot be more than $4,000 per beneficiary. 
If you contribute more than $2,000 per beneficiary ($4,000 if 
married) during the year, your total subtraction is limited to 
$2,000 per beneficiary ($4,000 if married). 
For example: Jorge and Kate are married and have two 
children. During 2021, Jorge and Kate contributed $5,000 to a 
529 plan for Child 1 and $5,000 to a 529 plan for Child 2. Even 
though Jorge and Kate contributed a total of $10,000 during 
2021, they may subtract only $8,000 on their 2021 joint tax 
return. 
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You may take a subtraction for the following: 
• A contribution that you made during 2021 to a plan that 

existed before 2021.  
• A contribution that you made during 2021 to a plan 

established in another state.  
• A contribution that you made in 2021 to any 529 college 

savings plan. This could be a plan established for a child, 
grandchild, niece, nephew, or any other person for whom a 
plan has been established. 

You cannot take a subtraction for an amount transferred from 
one college savings plan to a different one (a rollover). 

Line 34 (Box 34b) - Contributions to 529A  
(ABLE) Accounts  
You may subtract amounts you contributed directly to a 529A, 
Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE), Account during the 
taxable year on behalf of the designated beneficiary if such 
contributions were not deducted in computing federal adjusted 
gross income. You may subtract the amount you contributed 
during the year up to a maximum of $2,000 per beneficiary 
($4,000 for a married couple filing a joint return.) If you are 
married filing separate returns, either you or your spouse may 
take the subtraction, or you may divide it between you, but the 
total subtraction taken by both of you cannot be more than 
$4,000 per beneficiary. 
If you contribute more than $2,000 per beneficiary ($4,000 if 
married) during the year, your total subtraction is still limited 
to $2,000 per beneficiary ($4,000 if married).  See the example 
under Line 34a.  
Line 34c  
Add the amounts in boxes 34a and 34b and enter the total on 
line 34c. 
Line 35  
Subtract lines 24 through 34c from line 19.  Enter the difference. 
Line 36 - Other Subtractions from Arizona Gross Income 
NOTE:  If you are reporting adjustments on 36, complete the 
schedule on page 6 of your tax return, Other Subtractions from 
Arizona Gross Income, and include it with your return.   
If are not reporting an adjustment on line 36, do not include page 
6 with your return. 
Use line 36 if any of the following special circumstances apply. 
Do not include on line 36 any amounts already excluded in 
the computation of your federal adjusted gross income. 
A. Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 
If you file a separate Arizona return, you must report the 
following income on that return: 
• one-half of the community income from all sources, and 
• all of your separate income. 
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but separate 
Arizona returns, you must make sure that each separate return 
reflects the correct income. If you begin your Arizona return 
with only the income that you earned during the year, you will 
have to adjust this income. 

If you file separate federal returns, each of your federal returns 
should already reflect the correct income. Since your separate 
Arizona returns will begin with the federal adjusted gross 
income, you will not have to adjust your income. 
If you adjust your income, keep a schedule for your records of 
how you figured your adjustment.  For more information, see 
the department’s publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues 
Affecting Married and Divorced Taxpayers. 
B. Arizona Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 - Fiduciary 
Adjustment 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
A fiduciary uses Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 to report to you 
your share of the fiduciary adjustment from the trust or estate.  
Line 3 of Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 shows your share of the 
fiduciary adjustment from the estate or trust. If the amount 
reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 141AZ Schedule K-1 
is a negative number, include that amount as an Other 
Subtraction on line 36. 
NOTE:  If the amount reported on line 3 of your Arizona Form 
141AZ Schedule K-1 is a positive number, enter that amount as 
an Other Addition on line 18. 
C. Federally Taxable Arizona Municipal Interest as 
Evidenced by Bonds 
Include the amount of any interest income received on 
obligations of the State of Arizona or any political subdivision 
of Arizona, as evidenced by bonds, that is included in your 
Arizona gross income. Do not enter any Arizona municipal 
interest that is exempt from federal taxation and not included in 
your federal adjusted gross income.  For more information, see 
the department’s ruling, ITR 15-1, Arizona Municipal Interest 
that is Included in Federal Adjusted Gross Income. 
D. Adoption Expenses 
You may take this subtraction only in the year the final adoption 
order is granted. Include the lesser of the total of the following 
adoption expenses or $3,000. When figuring your subtraction, 
you may include expenses incurred in prior years. 
The following expenses are qualified adoption expenses: 
• unreimbursed medical and hospital costs; 
• adoption counseling; 
• legal and agency fees; and 
• other nonrecurring costs of adoption. 
If you are married and filing separately, you may take the entire 
subtraction or you may divide the subtraction with your spouse.  
However, the total subtraction taken by both you and your 
spouse cannot exceed $3,000. 
E. Qualified Wood Stove, Wood Fireplace, or Gas-Fired 
Fireplace 
You may take a subtraction for converting an existing fireplace 
to one of the following: 
• a qualified wood stove; 
• a qualified wood fireplace; or 
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• a gas fired fireplace and non-optional equipment directly 
related to its operation. 

You may subtract up to $500 of the costs incurred for 
converting an existing fireplace on your property located in 
Arizona.  When you figure your subtraction, do not include 
taxes, interest, or other finance charges. 
A qualified wood stove or a qualified wood fireplace is a 
residential wood heater that was manufactured on or after July 
1, 1990, or sold at retail on or after July 1, 1992. The residential 
wood heater must also meet the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency's July 1990 particulate emissions standards. 
A qualified gas fired fireplace is any device that burns natural 
or liquefied petroleum gas as its fuel through a burner system 
that is permanently installed in the fireplace. The conversion of 
an existing wood burning fireplace to noncombustible gas logs 
that are permanently installed in the fireplace also qualifies as a 
gas fired fireplace. 
F. Claim of Right Adjustment for Amounts Repaid in Prior 
Taxable Years 

NOTE:  For taxpayers that made the election to file an Arizona 
Small Business Income Tax Return in 2021, if the income 
required to be paid back under the claim of right is the type that 
would be included in lines 4 through 9 of the 140-SBI return, 
the adjustment should be made in the 140-SBI return.  All other 
claim of right adjustments should be made on the regular 140 
return. 
You must make an entry here if all of the following apply: 
• During a year prior to 2021 you were required to repay 

amounts held under a claim of right. 
• You computed your tax for that prior year under Arizona's 

claim of right provisions. 
• A net operating loss or capital loss was established due to 

the repayment made in the prior year. 
• You are entitled to take that net operating loss or capital 

loss carryover into account when computing your 2021 
Arizona taxable income. 

• The amount of the loss carryover allowed to be taken into 
account for Arizona purposes is more than the amount 
included in your federal income. 

Include the amount by which the loss carryover allowed for the 
taxable year under Arizona law is more than the amount 
included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
G. Certain Expenses Not Allowed for Federal Purposes (due 
to claiming federal tax credits) 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
You may subtract some expenses that you cannot deduct on 
your federal return when you claim certain federal tax credits.  
These federal tax credits include the following: 
• the Federal Work Opportunity Credit; 
• the Empowerment Zone Employment Credit; 
• the credit for employer-paid social security taxes on 

employee cash tips; and 
• the Indian Employment Credit. 

If you received any of the above federal tax credits for 2021, 
include the portion of wages or salaries you paid or incurred 
during the taxable year equal to the amount of those federal tax 
credits you received. 
H. Qualified State Tuition Program Distributions 
If you are a beneficiary of a qualified state tuition program, you 
may subtract some of the amount distributed from the program 
for qualified education expenses. Include the amount of the 
distribution that you had to include in your federal adjusted 
gross income. A qualified state tuition program is a program 
that meets the requirements of IRC § 529. 
I. Installment Sale Income from Another State Taxed by the 
Other State in a Prior Taxable Year 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
You may subtract income from an installment sale if both of 
the following apply: 
• The income from the sale is subject to Arizona income tax 

in 2021. 
• You paid income tax to another state on that income in a 

prior tax year. 
Include the amount of such income that you included in your 
Arizona gross income for 2021. 
Do not include any amount that is subject to tax by both Arizona 
and another state in 2021. In this case, you may be eligible for 
a tax credit. See Arizona Form 309 for details. 
J. Agricultural Crops Given to Arizona Charitable 
Organizations 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Arizona law allows a subtraction for qualified crop gifts made 
during 2021 to one or more charitable organizations. To take 
this subtraction, all of the following must apply: 
• You must be engaged in the business of farming or 

processing agricultural crops.  
• The crop must be grown in Arizona. 
• You made your gift to a charitable organization located in 

Arizona that is exempt from Arizona income tax. 
The subtraction is the larger of the wholesale market price or 
the most recent sale price for the contributed crop.  The amount 
of the subtraction cannot include any amount deducted pursuant 
to IRC § 170 with respect to crop contribution that exceeds the 
cost of producing the contributed crop.   
To determine if your crop gift qualifies for this subtraction, see 
the department’s procedure, ITP 12-1, Establishing an Income 
Tax Subtraction for Agricultural Crops Contributed to 
Charitable Organizations. 
K. Basis Adjustment for Property Sold or Otherwise 
Disposed of During the Taxable Year 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
For property that is sold or otherwise disposed of during the 
taxable year by a taxpayer who has complied with the 



Arizona Form 140 

17 

requirement to add back all depreciation for that property on tax 
returns for all taxable years beginning from and after December 
31, 1999, include the amount of depreciation that has been 
allowed pursuant to IRC § 167(a) if the amount has not already 
reduced Arizona taxable income in the current or prior years. 
(Note: The practical effect of this is to allow a subtraction for 
the difference in basis for any asset for which bonus 
depreciation has been claimed on the federal return.) 
L.  Sole Proprietorship Income of an Arizona Nonprofit 
Medical Marijuana Dispensary Included in Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
NOTE:  If the Arizona nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary 
is registered with the Arizona Department of Health Services as 
anything other than a sole proprietorship, this subtraction does 
not apply. 
If you are registered as an Arizona sole proprietorship with the 
Arizona Department of Health Services to operate in this state 
as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, you may subtract 
the amount of the income from the dispensary that is included 
in the computation of your federal adjusted gross income.   
In addition, a sole proprietorship of an Arizona dual licensee 
that has not elected to operate on a for-profit basis may 
subtract the portion of income included in federal adjusted gross 
income that is from the medical marijuana portion of the 
business.  

NOTE: A dual licensee that elects to operate on a for-profit 
basis does not qualify for a subtraction for the medical 
marijuana portion of its business.   
M.  Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums 
You may subtract the amount of premium costs for long-term 
care insurance for qualified long-term care services.  
Qualified long-term care services are necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, curing, treating, mitigating, rehabilitative 
services, and maintenance and personal care services. 
You may take this subtraction only if you are not claiming 
itemized deductions for the taxable year.   
An individual who claims itemized deductions may not take 
this subtraction.  
N.  Americans with Disabilities Act - Access Expenditures   
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
A subtraction is allowed for eligible business access 
expenditures paid or incurred during the taxable year to comply 
with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 
1990 or A.R.S. Title 41, chapter 9, article 8 by retrofitting 
developed real property that was originally placed in 
service at least ten years before the current taxable year 
(A.R.S. §§ 43-1022 and 43-1024). 

“Eligible business access expenditures” include reasonable and 
necessary amounts paid or incurred to do any of the following: 
• Remove any barriers that prevent a business from being 

accessible to or usable by individuals with disabilities. 
• Provide qualified interpreters or other methods of making 

audio materials available to hearing-impaired individuals. 
• Provide qualified readers, taped texts, and other effective 

methods of making visually delivered materials available 
to individuals with visual impairments. 

• Acquire or modify equipment or devices for individuals 
with disabilities. 

• Provide other similar services, modifications, materials, or 
equipment. 

NOTE:  A taxpayer who has been cited for noncompliance with 
the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 or A.R.S. Title 41, 
chapter 9, article 8 by either federal or state enforcement 
officials is ineligible for a subtraction under this section for any 
expenditure required to cure the cited violation.  
O. Exploration Expenses Deferred before January 1, 1990 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Call one of the numbers on page 1 of these instructions if you 
deferred exploration expenses determined under IRC § 617 in a 
taxable year ending before January 1, 1990 and you have not 
previously taken a subtraction for those expenses. 
P.  Sole Proprietorship – Marijuana Establishment, Testing 
Facilities and Dual Licensees that Elected to Operate on a 
For-Profit Basis 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
A sole proprietorship or disregarded LLC (dual licensee) that 
takes the allowable subtraction for the income of an Arizona 
Nonprofit Medical Marijuana Dispensary (NMMD) under 
item “L”, cannot take this allowable subtraction. 
Enter the total amount of ordinary and necessary expenses 
related to the sales of adult use products reported on Arizona 
Schedule DFE, Disallowed Federal Expense Schedule for 
Marijuana Establishments, line 16.  Include this schedule 
(after page 6) with your tax return, when filed.   
Do not include Cost of Goods Sold or any other expenses 
already allowed to be deducted on your federal return in the 
total amount of expenses reported on this line. 

NOTE: Sole Proprietors and disregarded LLCs must contact 
the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) to make the 
election to operate on a for-profit basis.   
Q.  S Corporation Shareholders – Marijuana Establishment, 
Testing Facilities and Dual Licensees that Elected to 
Operate on a For-Profit Basis 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Enter the amount of your pro-rata share of ordinary and 
necessary expenses related to the sales of adult use products 
shown on your Form 120S Schedule K-1, line 7.  
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R. Net Capital Gain from Exchange of One Kind of Legal 
Tender for Another Kind of Legal Tender 
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI.  
To take this subtraction, you must net all gains and (losses) 
from all exchanges of kind of legal tender for another kind of 
legal tender including amounts shown on Forms 165 Schedule 
K-1, 120S Schedule K-1, and/or 141AZ, Schedule K-1. 
Enter the amount of any net capital gain included in Arizona gross 
income for the taxable year that is derived from the exchange of 
one kind of legal tender for another kind of legal tender.  

NOTE:  If the amount from all sources results in a net capital 
(loss) from the exchange of one kind of tender for another kind 
of tender, enter that amount on page 5, Other Additions to 
Arizona Gross Income, item “O”.  
For the purposes of this subtraction: 

(a) "Legal tender" means a medium of exchange, including 
specie that is authorized by the United States Constitution or 
Congress for the payment of debts, public charges, taxes and dues. 
(b) "Specie" means coins having precious metal content. 
 S. Other Adjustments  
If you are making the small business election, do not take the 
subtraction here.  Take it on the 140-SBI tax return.  
Other adjustments may be necessary.  If an allowable 
adjustment is not listed above, enter that amount on this line.  If 
you have more than one Other Adjustment, add the amounts 
together and enter the total.   
T.  Total Other Subtractions from Arizona Gross Income 
Add all amounts from page 6 and enter the total on line 36. 
Line 37  
Subtract line 36 from line 35 and enter the difference. 
Exemptions - Lines 38 through 41 
Line 38 - Age 65 or Over 
Multiply the number in box 8 on the front of your return by 
$2,100 and enter the result. 
Line 39 - Blind 
Multiply the number in box 9 on the front of your return by 
$1,500 and enter the result. 
Line 40 - Other Exemptions 

NOTE:  If you take an “Other Exemption” for an individual on 
line 40, you cannot take an exemption for this individual as a 
qualifying parent/grandparent on line 41 or claim this 
individual for the dependent tax credit on line 49. In this case, 
do not include this individual as a dependent in Box 10b.  

You must complete page 4, Part 3 to compute your allowable 
Other Exemptions on line 40.  Be sure to enter the number of 
individuals listed in Part 3 in the box, 40E, on line 40. 

You may take an exemption in the amount of $2,300 for each 
of the following individuals:    
• A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not)  

if either of the following applies: 
1. In 2021, you paid more than one-fourth of the cost of 

keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care 
institution, an Arizona residential care institution, or 
an Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost must be 
more than $800.   

2. In 2021, you paid more than $800 for either Arizona 
home health care or other medical costs for the person.   

If both 1 and 2 apply to the same person, you are limited to 
only one exemption of $2,300 for that person. 

NOTE:  If a taxpayer’s 65th birthday was January 1, 2022 
(born 1/1/1957), that person would be considered to be age 65 
at the end of 2021 for federal income tax purposes and likewise 
for Arizona income tax purposes. 
• A stillborn child if the following apply: 

1. The stillbirth occurred during 2021. 
2. You received a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth 

from the Arizona Department of Health Services.  
3. The child would have otherwise been a member of 

your household. 
Enter the following in columns (a) through (d): 

a) The individual’s first and last name. If you are 
claiming an exemption for a stillborn child and the 
child was not named, enter “stillborn child” in place of 
a name. 

b) The individual’s SSN. If you are claiming an 
exemption for a stillborn child, enter the certificate 
number from the certificate of birth resulting in 
stillbirth. 

c) For those individuals age 65 or over:  
• Check box C1 if you paid more than one-fourth of 

the cost of keeping this person in an Arizona 
nursing care institution, an Arizona residential care 
institution, or an Arizona assisted living facility. 
Your cost must be more than $800 during the 
taxable year.  

• Check box C2 if you paid more than $800 for either 
Arizona home health care or other medical costs 
for the person during the taxable year. 

If you check both box C1 and box C2 for the same 
individual, you are limited to only one exemption of 
$2,300 for that individual. 

d) Check this box if claiming an exemptions for a stillborn 
child.  

Enter the total number of exemptions in box 40E on line 40. 
You may lose the exemption if you do not furnish this 
information.   
Multiply the number in box 40E by $2,300 and enter the result.  



Arizona Form 140 

19 

Line 41 - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 

NOTE:  If you take an exemption for an individual as a 
qualifying parent/grandparent on line 41, you cannot take an 
“Other Exemption” for the same individual on line 40, or claim 
this individual for the dependent tax credit on line 49.  In this 
case, do not include this individual as a dependent in Box 10b. 

Multiply the number in box 11a on the front of your return by 
$10,000 and enter the result. 
Line 42 - Arizona Adjusted Gross Income 
Subtract lines 38 through 41 from line 37.  If less than zero, 
enter zero (0). 

Figuring Your Tax 
Line 43 - Itemized Deductions or Standardized 
Deductions 
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or to 
itemize your deductions. Your Arizona income tax will be less 
if you take the larger of your standard deduction or your 
itemized deductions.  

When you e-file, the software completes the math 
for you. 

Your Itemized Deductions 
If you itemize your deductions, check box 43I. 
You may itemize deductions on your Arizona return even if you 
take a standard deduction on your federal return. For the most 
part, you may claim those deductions allowable as itemized 
deductions under the IRC.  In some cases, the amount allowed 
for some deductions may not be the same as the amount 
allowable for federal purposes. 
You may have to adjust the amounts shown on your completed 
federal Form 1040 Schedule A.   
See Arizona Form 140 Schedule A, Itemized Deduction 
Adjustments, to figure if you have to make any adjustments.   
To figure your itemized deductions, you must complete a 
federal Form 1040 Schedule A. Then, if required, complete 
Arizona Form 140, Schedule A, Itemized Deduction 
Adjustments. 
If you do not have to complete Form 140 Schedule A, Itemized 
Deduction Adjustments; enter the amount from federal Form 
1040 Schedule A, on Form 140, line 43.  You must include a 
copy of the completed federal Schedule A with your tax return.  

Your Standard Deduction 
If you take the standard deduction, check box 43S. 

If your filing status is: Your standard deduction is: 

• Single $12,550 
• Married filing joint $25,100 
• Married filing separate $12,550 
• Head of Household $18,800 

Line 44 - Increased Standard Deduction for Charitable 
Contributions 
A taxpayer may increase the allowable standard deduction 
amount equal to 25% (.25) of the total amount of a taxpayer’s 
charitable contributions that would have been allowed if the 
taxpayer elected to claim itemized deductions. 
To claim the increased standard deduction, you must complete 
Form 140, page 3, and include the completed page with your 
tax return, when filed.   
Be sure to check box 44C on line 44.  If you do not check this 
box and include a completed page 3 with your tax return, you 
may be denied the increased standard deduction. 
Line 45 - Arizona Taxable Income 
Subtract lines 43 and 44 from line 42 and enter the difference. 
If less than zero, enter “0”.  Use this amount to calculate your 
tax using Tax Tables X & Y or the Optional Tax Tables. 
Line 46a - Tax Amount 
Enter the tax from either Tax Tables X and Y or the Optional 
Tax Tables. If your taxable income is $50,000 or less, you may 
use the Optional Tax Table or Tax Tables X and Y.  If your 
taxable income is $50,000 or more, you must use Tax Tables X 
and Y. 
Line 46b  
Do not enter an amount on this line.   
Line 47 - Tax from Recapture of Credits from Arizona 
Form 301 
Enter the amount of tax due from recapture of the credits from 
Arizona Form 301, Part 2, line 30. 
Line 48 - Subtotal of Tax 
Add lines 46a and 47 and enter the total.  
Line 49 - Dependent Tax Credit 

NOTE:  If you claim an individual for the dependent tax credit 
on line 49, you cannot take an exemption for the same 
individual as a qualifying parent/grandparent on line 41 or as 
an “Other Exemption” on line 40. 

Taxpayers may claim a nonrefundable Dependent Tax Credit 
for certain qualifying dependents.   
For the purpose of the dependent tax credit, “dependent” means 
an individual that qualifies as a dependent for federal purposes.  
The tax credit is equal to:  
• $100 for each qualifying dependent who is under 17 years 

of age at the end of the taxable year. 
• $25 for each qualifying dependent who is at least 17 years 

of at age at the end of the taxable year. 

The allowable credit is reduced for single, head of household, 
and married taxpayers filing separate returns whose federal 
adjusted gross income (page 1, line 12) is more than $200,000; 
and for married taxpayers filing a joint return whose federal 
adjusted gross income is more than $400,000. 
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Complete the following tables to compute your 
allowable Dependent Tax Credit. 

Table I 
(a) (b) 

 
(c) 

Credit 
amount 

(d)  
Multiply column 
(b) by column (c) 

1.   Enter number of 
dependents from 
page 1, box 10a….  $ 100 $                      .00 

2.   Enter number of 
dependents from 
page 1, box 10b….  $ 25 $                      .00 

3.  Credit amount before adjustment. Add 
     lines 1 and 2.  Enter total in column (d). $                      .00 

All taxpayers go to Table II. 

  Table II 
If your filing status is single, married filing 
separate, or head of household, is your 
federal adjusted gross income on page 1, 
line 12 more than $200,000? 

 
Yes          No 

If your filing status is married filing joint, is 
your federal adjusted gross income on  
page 1, line 12 more than $400,000?  

Yes          No 

• If you answered “No”, you are not required to reduce the 
amount of credit computed in Table I.   
Enter the amount From Table I, line 3 on page 2, line 49. 

• If you answered “Yes”, you are required to reduce the 
amount of credit computed in Table I. 

Complete Table III or Table IV as applicable, then go 
to Table V. 

Table III 
2021 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit  

For filing status:  single, married filing separate, or  
head of household 

1.  Enter your federal adjusted gross  
     income from page 1, line 12…………… $                      .00 
2.  Federal adjusted gross income limit…… $         200,000.00 
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1.  Enter the  
     difference………………………………. 
If the difference is greater than $19,000, 
STOP.  You cannot claim the dependent 
tax credit.   $                      .00 
4.  Enter amount from Table I, line 3, 
     column (d) …………………………….. $                      .00 
5. Based on the amount on line 3, enter  
     the number from Table V.  For example:   
     if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90...................                             
6. Multiply line 4 by line 5.  Enter the 
     result.  Also, enter the result on page 2, 
     line 49…………………………………...  $                      .00 

 

Table IV 
2021 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit 
For filing status:  married filing joint 

1.  Enter your federal adjusted gross 
      income from page 1, line 12…………… $                      .00 
2.  Federal adjusted gross income limit….... $         400,000.00 
3.  Subtract line 2 from line 1.  Enter the  
     difference………………………………. 
If the difference is greater than $19,000, 
STOP.  You cannot claim the dependent tax 
credit.   $                      .00 
4.   Enter amount from Table I, line 3 
      column (d)……………........................... $                      .00 
5. Based on the amount on line 3, enter  
     the number from Table V.  For example:   
     if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90……………  
6. Multiply line 4 by line 5.  Enter the    
     result.  Also, enter the result on page 2,  
     line 49…………………………………..  $                      .00 

 

  Table V  
If the amount on 
line 3 from Table 
III or Table IV is: 

Enter  on 
line 5 

If the amount on 
line 3 from Table 
III or Table IV is: 

Enter on 
line 5 

$ 1 – 1,000 .95 $ 10,001 – 11,000 .45 
$ 1,001 – 2,000 .90 $ 11,001 – 12,000 .40 
$ 2,001 – 3,000 .85 $ 12,001 – 13,000 .35 
$ 3,001 – 4,000 .80 $ 13,001 – 14,000 .30 

 $ 4,001 – 5,000 .75 $ 14,001 – 15,000 .25 
$ 5,001 – 6,000 .70 $ 15,001 – 16,000 .20 

 $ 6,001 – 7,000 .65 $ 16,001 – 17,000 .15 
$ 7,001 – 8,000 .60 $ 17,001 – 18,000 .10 
$ 8,001 – 9,000 .55 $ 18,001 – 19,000 .05 

$ 9,001 – 10,000 .50 $ 19,001 and over  .00 

Line 50 - Family Income Tax Credit 

E-file software will let you know if you are 
eligible and will figure the credit out for you. 

NOTE:  The family income tax credit will only reduce your tax 
and cannot be refunded. 
You may claim this credit if your income does not exceed the 
maximum income allowed for your filing status.   
• Complete Steps 1, 2, and 3 to see if you qualify for this 

credit. 
• If you qualify to claim this credit, complete Worksheet II 

in Step 4. 
  



Arizona Form 140 

21 

Step 1 

Worksheet I 
1.  Enter the amount from Form 140, line 42… $ 
2.  Enter the amount from 

Form 140, line 38. $ 
 

3.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 39. $ 

4.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 40. $ 

5.  Enter the amount from 
Form 140, line 41. $ 

6.  Add the amounts on lines 2 through 5. $ 
7.  If you elected to report your small business  
     income on Form 140-SBI, enter the 
    amount from Form 140, line 13………….. $ 
8.  Add lines 1, 6 and 7…………………......... $ 

Step 2 
Look at the following tables.  Find your filing status. 
• Use Table I if married filing a joint return. 
• Use Table II if head of household. 
• Use Table III if single or married filing separate return. 

Step 3 
• Look at column (a) and find the number of dependents you 

are claiming on Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and 
claiming as a qualified parent/grandparent in box 11a, 
provided that person(s) qualifies as a dependent for federal 
purposes. 

• Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the number 
of dependents you are claiming.  

• Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the 
income listed in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 8. 

If the amount entered in Step 1 on Worksheet I, line 8 is equal 
to or less than the maximum income allowed for the number of 
dependents you are claiming on Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a 
and 10b, you qualify to claim this credit.  To figure your credit, 
complete Step 4. 

 

Table I 
Married Filing Joint Return (cont. on next column) 

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and 
claiming as a qualified parent/grandparent in 
box 11a, provided that person(s) qualifies as 
a dependent for federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $23,600 
• 3 $27,300 
• 4 or more $31,000 

 
 

Table II 
Head of Household 

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming on 
Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and 
claiming as a qualified parent/grandparent in 
box 11a, provided that person(s) qualifies as a 
dependent for federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $20,135 
• 3 $23,800 
• 4 $25,200 
• 5 or more $26,575 

 

 

Table III 
Single or Married Filing Separate Return 

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming on 
Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and 
claiming as a qualified parent/grandparent in 
box 11a, provided that person(s) qualifies as a 
dependent for federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or more $10,000 

 
Step 4 

If you qualify to claim the credit, complete Worksheet II.   
Worksheet II  

Complete Steps 1 through 3 before you complete Worksheet II 

1. Enter the number of dependents you entered on 
Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and 
claiming as a qualified parent/grandparent in 
box 11a, provided that person(s) qualifies as a 
dependent for federal purposes. 

 

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the number 2 
here.  If you checked filing status 5, 6, or 7, enter 
the number 1 here. 

 

3.  Add lines 1 and 2.  Enter the total.  
4.  Multiply the amount on line 3 by $40.  Enter the 

result. $ 
5.  If you checked filing status 4 or 5, enter $240 

here.  If your checked filing status 6 or 7, enter 
$120 here.   $ 

6.  Enter the lesser of line 4 or line 5.  Also, enter 
this amount on Form 140, line 50. $ 
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Line 51 - Nonrefundable Credits - Arizona Form 301  

NOTE:  If you elect to report small business income on Form 
140-SBI, certain nonrefundable credits must be claimed on the 
small business tax return.  In this case, you must complete Form 
301-SBI to claim those credit(s).  See the credit form and 
instructions for which credits must claimed on the small 
business tax return.   
Exception:  Credit Form 309 is used to claim a tax credit on 
Form 140 for taxes paid to other states or countries on income 
not reported on Form 140-SBI.  Credit Form 309-SBI is used to 
claim a tax credit for taxes paid on small business income to 
another state or country.  See Form 309-SBI and instructions 
for more information.   

Complete line 51 if you claim any of the following credits on 
Form 140.  Also make sure that you complete and include Form 
301 and the appropriate credit form or forms with your return. 
Military Reuse Zone Credit The military reuse zone credit 
expired.  All credits that were properly established can be 
carried forward for the respective five year carryforward period.  
Use Form 306 to figure this credit.  
Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals 
You may qualify for this credit if you incurred qualified 
research expenses for research conducted in Arizona. Use Form 
308-I to figure this credit. Be sure to include only the 
nonrefundable portion on Form 140, line 51. 
Credit for Taxes Paid to Another State or Country You 
may qualify for this credit if you paid tax to Arizona and another 
state or country on the same income. Use Form 309 to figure 
your credit.  
Credit for Solar Energy Devices You may qualify for this 
credit if you installed a solar energy device in your residence 
located in Arizona. Use Form 310 to figure this credit. 
Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit You 
may qualify for this credit if you incurred expenses to purchase 
and install an agricultural water conservation system in 
Arizona. Use Form 312 to figure this credit. 
Pollution Control Credit You may qualify for this credit if 
you purchased depreciable property used in a trade or business 
to reduce or prevent pollution. Use Form 315 to figure this 
credit. 
Credit for Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs 
and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets The credit for 
solar hot water heater plumbing stub outs and electric vehicle 
recharge outlets has expired.  All credits that were properly 
established can be carried forward for the respective five year 
carryforward period.  Use Form 319 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Contributions to Qualifying Charitable 
Organizations You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to qualifying charitable organizations. Use 
Form 321 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Contributions Made or Fees Paid to Public 
Schools You may qualify for this credit if you made 

contributions or paid certain fees to public schools in Arizona. 
Use Form 322 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Contributions to Private School Tuition 
Organizations You may qualify for this credit if you made 
contributions to a school tuition organization that provides 
scholarships or grants to qualified schools. Use Form 323 to 
figure this credit. 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit You 
may qualify for this credit if you are involved in commercial 
agriculture and incurred expenses to purchase tangible personal 
property that is primarily used in your trade or business to 
control or prevent pollution. Use Form 325 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Donation of School Site You may qualify for 
this credit if you donated real property and improvements to a 
school district or a charter school for use as a school or as a site 
for the construction of a school. Use Form 331 to figure this 
credit. 
Credit for Employment by a Healthy Forest Enterprise 
You may qualify for this credit if you had net increases in 
qualified employment positions in a healthy forest enterprise. 
Use Form 332 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Employing National Guard Members You 
may qualify for this credit if you are an employer who has an 
employee who is a member of the Arizona National Guard if 
the employee is placed on active duty. Use Form 333 to figure 
this credit. 
Credit for Business Contributions by an S 
Corporation to School Tuition Organizations - 
Individual  S corporations that make qualifying contributions 
of $5,000 or more may pass-through the credit to its individual 
shareholders on a pro rata basis.  See Form 335-I for more 
information.  
Credit for Solar Energy Devices - Commercial and 
Industrial Applications The credit for installed solar energy 
devices for commercial, industrial, or other nonresidential 
applications located in Arizona has expired.  All credits that 
were properly established can be carried forward for the 
respective five year carryforward period.  Use Form 336 to 
figure this credit. 
Credit for Investment in Qualified Small Businesses. 
You may qualify for this credit if you made an investment in a 
qualified small business. Use Form 338 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Donations to the Military Family Relief Fund 
You may qualify for this credit if you made a cash contribution 
to the Arizona Military Family Relief Fund during the taxable 
year. Use Form 340 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Business Contributions by an S Corporation 
to School Tuition Organizations for Displaced 
Students or Students with Disabilities – Individual     
S corporations that make qualifying contributions of $5,000 or 
more may pass-through the credit to its individual shareholders 
on a pro rata basis.   See Form 341-I for more information. 
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Renewable Energy Production Tax Credit You may 
qualify for this credit if you produced electricity using a 
qualified energy resource. Use Form 343 to figure this credit. 
Credit for New Employment You may qualify for this credit 
if your business had a net increase in qualified employment 
positions.  Use Form 345 to figure this credit. 
Additional Credit for Increased Research Activities 
for Basic Research Payments You may qualify for this 
credit for qualified basic research payments for research 
conducted in Arizona.  Approval by the Department of Revenue 
is required prior to claiming this credit.  Use Form 346 to figure 
this credit. 
Credit for Contributions to Certified School Tuition 
Organization (for the amounts that exceed the 
allowable credit on AZ Form 323)  You may qualify for 
this credit if you made contributions to school tuition 
organization(s) that exceed the allowable credit amount on 
Arizona Form 323.  Use Form 348 to figure this credit. 
Credit for Contributions to Qualifying Foster Care 
Charitable Organizations You may qualify for this credit if 
you made contributions to qualifying foster care charitable 
organizations. Use Form 352 to figure this credit. 
Healthy Forest Production Tax Credit You may qualify 
for this tax credit if you meet all of the qualifications or receive 
a pass-through credit from a partnership or S Corporation.  All 
credits that were properly established can be carried forward for 
the respective five year carryforward period.  Use Form 353 to 
figure this credit.  
TOTAL CREDITS:  Compute your credit(s) on the 
appropriate form(s). Complete Arizona Form 301 and enter the 
amount from Form 301, Part 2, line 61 on Form 140, line 51.  
The total amount of credits on line 51 cannot reduce your tax 
below zero. These credits are nonrefundable credits. 
Include Form 301 and completed tax credit forms, along with 
any supporting documents, with your return. 
Line 52 - Balance of Tax 
Subtract lines 49, 50, and 51 from line 48.  Enter the difference.  
If the sum of lines 49, 50, and 51 is greater than line 48,  
enter zero (0). 

Totaling Payments and Refundable Credits 
Line 53 - 2021 Arizona Income Tax Withheld 
Enter the Arizona income tax withheld shown on Form(s) W-2 
from your employer(s). Also enter the Arizona income tax 
withheld shown on your Form(s) 1099-R (distributions from 
pensions, annuities, etc.). Do not include any income tax 
withheld for another state. Include Form(s) W-2 and/or  
1099-R after the last page of your return only if the form shows 
Arizona income tax withholding. 
NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than 
January 31.  If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you think 
your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer. 

Line 54 (Boxes a, b, and line 54c) - 2021 Arizona 
Estimated Tax Payments Including Amount Applied 
from Your 2020 Return and Arizona Claim of Right 
Use this line if you did any of the following: 
• made 2021 estimated income tax payments to Arizona or 
• applied any of your refund from your 2020 Arizona tax 

return to 2021 estimated taxes for Arizona or recomputed 
a prior year’s tax under Arizona’s Claim of Right 
provisions. 
You must also complete and include the Arizona Claim of 
Right-Individual form(s) with your income tax return.  If 
you fail to complete and include the form(s), the amount of 
your claim may be denied.  The form is available on the 
department’s website at www.azdor.gov. 

Box 54a:  Enter the total amount of estimated taxes paid and/or 
applied to your 2021 taxes. 
NOTE:  If you are married and made joint Arizona estimated 
tax payments for 2021, but are filing separate 2021 Arizona 
income tax returns, see the department’s ruling, ITR 02-3, 
Allocating Joint Estimated Payments to Separate Returns.  
Box 54b:  If you completed an Arizona Claim of Right-
Individual tax form, enter the amount from line 8. 
If you completed more than one claim of right form for the 
current taxable year, add all amounts on line 8 and enter the 
total in box 54b. 
NOTE:  For more information on Arizona's claim of right 
provisions, see the department’s procedure, ITP 16-1, 
Procedure for Individuals Who Restore Substantial Amounts 
Held Under a Claim of Right. 
Line 54c:   Add the amounts in box 54a and box 54b.  Enter 
the total on line 54c. 
Line 55 - 2021 Arizona Extension Payment (Form 204) 
Use this line to report the payment you sent with your 2021 
extension request (Arizona Form 204) or the electronic 
extension payment you made using www.AZTaxes.gov. 
Line 56 - Increased Excise Tax Credit 
You may claim this credit if you meet all of the following: 
• You must have a SSN that is valid for employment. 
• You meet the income threshold for your filing status, which 

means: 
• If you are married filing a joint return or a head of 

household, you may claim this credit if the amount on 
Form 140, page 1, line 12 is $25,000 or less.  

• If you are single or married filing a separate return, 
you may claim this credit if the amount on Form 140, 
page 1, line 12 is $12,500 or less. 

• You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer. 
• You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2021 to a 

 county, state, or federal prison. 
NOTE:  If you are filing a joint return with your spouse and 
your spouse was sentenced for at least 60 days during 2021 to 
a county, state or federal prison, you may claim the Excise Tax 
Credit if you otherwise qualify to claim the credit, but you 
cannot claim the credit for your spouse.  If your spouse has a 
valid SSN, but you do not, neither of you can claim this credit. 
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For more information on how incarceration affects this credit, 
see the department’s publication, Pub. 709, Excise Tax Credit - 
How Does Incarceration Affect Eligibility? 
If you are filing a joint return with your spouse, you may also 
claim this credit for your spouse if your spouse has either a valid 
SSN or an ITIN. 
If you also claim a credit for qualifying children, your 
qualifying children must have either a valid SSN or an ITIN. 
To figure your credit, complete the following worksheet. 

Do not complete the following worksheet if you are claiming the 
property tax credit on Arizona Form 140PTC. Use Form 
140PTC to figure both the credit for increased excise taxes and 
the property tax credit. 
If you are claiming both the credit for increased excise taxes and 
the property tax credit, enter the increased excise tax credit from 
Form 140PTC, page 1, line 17 on line 56, and enter the property 
tax credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15  
on line 57.  

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet 
If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is the amount 
on Form 140, line 12 $25,000 or less? 
If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is the amount 
on Form 140, line 12 $12,500 or less?  

Check One 
Yes No 

If you checked no, STOP. You do not qualify for this credit. If 
you checked yes, complete the worksheet. 

1. Enter the number of dependents you 
entered on Form 140, page 1, boxes 10a and 
10b, and are claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided 
that person(s) qualifies as a dependent for 
federal purposes.  Exclude any dependent 
that is not an Arizona resident.  

 

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the 
number 2 here. If you checked filing status 
5, 6, or 7, enter the number 1 here. 

 

3. Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total.  
4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by $25. Enter 

the result. $          
5. Maximum credit. $           100.00 
6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5 here and 

also enter on Form 140, line 56. $          

NOTE:  The credit cannot exceed $100 per household.  Do not 
claim this credit if someone else in your household has already 
claimed $100 of the credit. If someone else in your household 
has claimed less than $100, you may claim the credit as long as 
all credit claims filed from your household do not exceed $100. 
For more information, see the department’s publication, Pub. 709. 
Line 57 - Property Tax Credit 
You may claim the property tax credit if you meet all of the 
following: 
• You were either 65 or older in 2021 or, if under age 65, you 

were receiving SSI Title 16 income from the Social Security 
Administration. 

NOTE: SSI Title 16 income is not the normal Social Security 
disability. 

• You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2021. 
• You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2021, you 

paid rent on taxable property for the entire year, or you did 
a combination of both. 

• If you lived alone, your total household income was under 
$3,751.  If you lived with others, the total household income 
was under $5,501.  To see what income is included in 
household income, see the Form 140PTC instructions. 

Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit. Enter the amount 
from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15.  Include Form 140PTC with 
your return. 

TAX TIP: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your 
claim or extension request by April 18, 2022.  You cannot claim 
this credit on an amended return if you file the amended return 
after the due date of your return.   
Line 58 - Other Refundable Credits 
Enter the total amount of refundable credits you are claiming 
from any of the following: 
• Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals 

(Form 308-I) 
• Credit for Qualified Facilities (Form 349) 
If you enter an amount on this line, be sure you check the box 
or boxes to show which credit(s) you are claiming. Also, be sure 
to include the credit form(s) with your return. 
Credit for Increased Research Activities - Individuals 
(Form 308-I) 
A portion of this credit may be refundable.  You may qualify 
for the refundable increased research activities credit if you 
incurred qualified research expenses for research conducted in 
Arizona.  For more information about this credit, and to see 
whether you may claim a refund of this credit, see Arizona 
Form 308-I.  
You must include a copy of your “Certificate of Qualification” 
from the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA), Form 301, and 
Form 308-I with your return to claim this credit. 
If you are claiming a refund of the increased research activities 
credit from Form 308-I, enter the amount from Form 308-I, Part 
7, line 38. 
Credit for Qualified Facilities (Form 349) 
You may qualify for the refundable qualified facilities credit if 
you expanded or located a qualified facility in Arizona.  This 
credit is refundable in five equal installments.  Pre-approval and 
post-approval are required through the ACA.  For more 
information, see Arizona Form 349. 
You must include a copy of your “Certificate of Qualification” 
from the ACA and Form 349 with your tax return to claim this 
credit.  If you are claiming a refund of the qualified facilities 
credit from Form 349, enter the amount from Form 349, Part 8, 
line 20. 
If you are claiming more than one of the refundable tax 
credits, check the appropriate boxes and add the amounts from 
the credit forms together and enter the total on line 58.  You 
may use the table to figure the amount to enter on line 58. 
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2021 - Refundable Credit Worksheet 
1.  Enter the refundable credit from Form 

308-I, Part 7, line 38. 
 

2.  Enter the refundable credit from Form 
349, Part 8, line 20. 

 

3. Add the amounts on lines 1 and 2.   
Enter the total here and on line 58. 

 

Line 59 - Total Payments and Refundable Credits 
Add lines 53 through 58 and enter the total. 

Figuring Your Tax Due or Overpayment  
Line 60 - Tax Due 
If line 52 is larger than line 59, subtract line 59 from line 52 and 
enter the amount of tax due.  Skip lines 61, 62, and 63. 
Line 61 - Overpayment 
If line 59 is larger than line 52, subtract line 52 from line 59 and 
enter the difference.  Complete lines 62 and 63. 
Line 62 - Amount of Line 61 to Be Applied to 2022 
Estimated Tax 
If you want all or part of your overpayment applied to next 
year's estimated taxes, enter that amount on line 62. 

NOTE: If you apply any of the amount shown on line 61 to 
2022, you cannot use that amount to pay any tax that is later 
found to be due for 2021.  You also may not claim a refund for 
that amount until you file your 2022 return. 
Line 63 - Balance of Overpayment 
Subtract line 62 from line 61 to determine your overpayment 
balance before voluntary gifts and any estimated payment 
penalty. 

Making Voluntary Gifts 
You can make voluntary gifts to each of the following funds. A 
gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount due with 
your return. 
NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of 
that gift later on an amended return. 

Line 64 - Solutions Teams Assigned to Schools Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Solutions Teams 
Assigned to Schools Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 64. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund. The 
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money to the 
Arizona Department of Education to fund solutions teams 
assigned to schools. 

Line 65 - Arizona Wildlife Fund 

You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Wildlife 
Fund. You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you 
send in additional money with your return, include that amount 
on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 65. 
Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife in 
the state.  Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout and 
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund. Gifts 
are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife statewide.  
Line 66 - Child Abuse Prevention Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Child 
Abuse Prevention Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 66. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund. This fund 
provides financial aid to community agencies for child abuse 
prevention programs. 
Line 67 - Domestic Violence Services Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Domestic 
Violence Services Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 67. 
Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Services Fund. This fund 
provides financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic 
violence. 
Line 68 - Political Gift 
You may give some or all of your refund to a political party. 
You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you send in 
additional money with your return, include that amount on line 
80.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 68.  If you 
donate to a political party, complete line 75. 
Gifts go to one of the following political parties: 
• Democratic 
• Libertarian 
• Republican 

Line 69 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors 
Helping Neighbors Fund. You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 69. 
Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund.  This fund 
provides eligible recipients with emergency aid in paying utility 
bills, conserving energy, and weatherization. 
Line 70 - Special Olympics Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Special 
Olympics Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 70. 
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Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund. This fund helps provide 
programs of the Arizona Special Olympics. 
Line 71 - Veterans’ Donations Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’ 
Donations Fund. You may also give more than your entire 
refund. If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 71. 
Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be used 
for veterans in Arizona. 
Line 72 - I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the I Didn’t Pay 
Enough Fund. You may also give more than your entire refund.  
If you send in additional money with your return, include that 
amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to donate on  
line 72. 
Gifts that you make to the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid 
the state by going to the Arizona general fund. 
Line 73 - Sustainable State Parks and Roads Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Sustainable 
State Parks and Roads Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 73. 
Gifts that you make to the Sustainable State Parks and Roads 
Fund will aid the state to operate, maintain, and make capital 
improvements to buildings, roads, parking lots, highway 
entrances, and any related structure used to operate state parks. 
Line 74 – Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Spaying and 
Neutering of Animals Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 80.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 74. 
Gifts that you make to the Spaying and Neutering of Animals 
Fund will help to reduce pet overpopulation by sterilizing, at 
minimal or no cost, dogs and cats in this state, including those 
that are impounded and sterilized. 
Line 75 - Political Party 
If you entered an amount on line 68, check the box for the 
political party to which you wish to give. Select only one party. 
If you do not select a political party, the department will return 
the amount on line 68. 
Line 76 - Estimated Payment Penalty 

NOTE:  Do not complete Arizona Form 221, Underpayment 
of Estimated Tax by Individuals, if the amount on Form 140, 
line 53 is more than the amount on Form 140, line 52.  
An individual who fails to make the required estimated 
payments is subject to penalty on any estimated tax payment 
that is late or underpaid.  
Complete and include Form 221 to determine if any penalty is 
due.  Enter the total penalty from Form 221. 

If you report as a farmer or fisherman for federal purposes, 
you were not required to make estimated payments during 2021 
if the following apply: 
• You are a calendar year filer. You file your Arizona return 

by March 1, 2022.  You pay in full the amount stated on 
your return as owed.  

• You are a fiscal year filer.  You file your Arizona return by 
the first day of the third month after the end of your fiscal year. 
You pay in full the amount stated on your return as 
owed. 

If the above applies, check Box 772 on line 77 and do not 
complete Form 221. 
Line 77 - Box 771 through 773 
Box 771:  check if any of the following applies to you: 
1.  You checked the box on line 1 of Form 221. 
2. You completed the annualized income worksheet on 

Form 221. 
3. You elected to be treated as a nonresident alien on your 

federal income tax return. You made three estimated 
payment installments. Your first installment equaled 50% 
of the total of all of your required installments. 

Box 772:    check if you are an individual who, for federal 
 purposes, reports as a farmer or fisherman. 

Box 773:  check if you completed and are including Form 221. 

Line 78  
Add lines 64 through 74 and 76.  Enter the total. 

Figuring Your Refund or Amount Owed 
You can get your refund quicker when you  
e-file and use direct deposit. 

Line 79 - Refund 
Subtract line 78 from line 63. Enter your refund on line 79 and skip 
line 80.  If less than zero (0), enter the amount owed on line 80. 
If you owe money to any Arizona state agency, court, county, 
incorporated city or town, and certain federal agencies, your 
refund may go to pay some of that debt.  If so, the department 
will let you know by letter. 
Tax Tip: If you change your address before you get your 
refund, let the department know. Write to: Refund Desk, 
Arizona Department of Revenue, PO Box 29216, Phoenix,  
AZ 85038-9216.  Include your SSN in your letter. 

You must have made Arizona estimated income tax 
payments during 2021 if: 

Your filing status is: 

AND 
Your Arizona 
gross income 
for 2020 was 
greater than: 

AND 
Your Arizona 
gross income  
for 2021 was 
greater than: 

• Single $75,000 $75,000 
• Married filing joint $150,000 $150,000 
• Married filing separate $75,000 $75,000 
• Head of Household $75,000 $75,000 
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Direct Deposit of Refund 
Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly 
deposit the amount shown on line 79 into your account at a bank 
or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund, brokerage 
firm, or credit union) instead of sending you a check.  
NOTE: Check the box on line 79A if the direct deposit will 
ultimately be placed in a foreign account.  If you check box 79A, 
do not enter your routing or account numbers.  If this box is 
checked, we will not direct deposit your refund.  We will mail 
you a check instead.  

Why use Direct Deposit? 
• You will get your refund fast - even faster if you e-file! 
• Payment is more secure - there is no check to get lost. 
• It is more convenient - no trip to the bank to deposit your 

check. 
• It saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs less to 

process than a check. 

NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter the 
wrong account information.  Check with your financial 
institution to get the correct routing and account numbers and 
to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted. 

Routing Number MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE 
CORRECT ROUTING NUMBER 
The routing number must be nine digits. The first 2 digits must 
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct deposit 
will be rejected and a check will be mailed instead.  On the 
sample check, the routing number is 250250025. 

Your check may state that it is payable through a financial 
institution different from the one at which you have your 
checking account.  If so, do not use the routing number on that 
check. Instead, contact your financial institution for the correct 
routing number to enter. 
Account Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ACCOUNT 
NUMBER. 
The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers 
and letters).  DO NOT include hyphens, spaces, or special 
symbols.  Enter the number from left to right and leave any 
unused boxes blank.  On the sample check the account  
number is 20202086.  Be sure not to include the check number.  
If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will be mailed instead. 

Line 80 - Amount Owed 
Add lines 60 and 78. Enter the amount you owe on line 80. If 
you are making voluntary gifts on lines 64 through 74 in excess 
of your overpayment, enter the difference on line 80. You may 
pay the amount owed only with a check or money order, 
electronic check, or credit card. 
Check or money order 
NOTE:  Include your check or money order with your return.  
Please do not send cash. 
Make your check payable to Arizona Department of Revenue.  
Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check or 
money order.  The department cannot accept checks or money 
orders in foreign currency. You must make payment in U.S. 
dollars.  It may take 2-3 weeks for your payment to process. 
The Department of Revenue may charge you $50 for a check 
returned unpaid by your financial institution. 

Electronic payment from your checking or 
savings account 
You can make an electronic payment from your checking or 
savings account to pay your balance due for 2021. There is no 
fee to use this method. To make an electronic payment, go to 
www.AZTaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” link.  
Be sure to enter the correct routing number and account number 
for your checking or savings account.  You will be charged a 
$50 non-sufficient funds (NSF) fee if you provide an incorrect 
routing number or an incorrect account number.  Check with 
your financial institution to get the correct account and routing 
numbers. 

The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-down 
box will debit the amount from the checking or savings account 
that you specify. If you make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account, you will receive a confirmation 
number. Please keep this confirmation number as proof of 
payment. 

NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be 
coming from a foreign account.  In this case, you must pay by 
check or money order.  

Credit card payment 
You can pay with your American Express, Discover, Visa, or 
MasterCard.  Go to www.AZTaxes.gov and click on the “Make 
a Payment” link, and choose the credit card option.  This will 
take you to a third party vendor site (provider). The provider 
will charge you a convenience fee based on the amount of your 
tax payment. The provider will tell you what the fee is during 
the transaction; you will have the option to continue or cancel 
the transaction. If you complete the credit card transaction, you 
will receive a confirmation number. Please keep this 
confirmation number as proof of payment. 
Installment payments 
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 80 when you 
file, you may request to make monthly installment payments. 

http://www.aztaxes.gov/
http://www.aztaxes.gov/
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Complete Arizona Form 140-IA and mail the completed form 
to the address listed on Form 140-IA. Do not mail Form  
140-IA with your income tax return.  You may obtain 
Arizona Form 140-IA from our website.  If you cannot pay the 
full amount shown on line 80, you will be charged interest and 
may be charged a late payment penalty on the tax not paid by 
April 18, 2022.  To limit the interest and penalty charges pay as 
much of the tax as possible when you file your return. 

Sign Your Return 
You must sign your return. If married filing a joint return, both 
you and your spouse must sign even if only one had income. 
Form 140 is not considered a valid return unless you sign it.  
The department cannot mail a refund check without proper 
signatures on the return. 

Instructions Before Mailing 
• Do not staple your return.  Do not staple any 

 documents, schedules, or payment to your  return. 
• Make sure your NAME and SSN are is on the return.  
• Be sure you enter your daytime telephone number in the 

space provided on the front of your return.  
• Check to make sure that your math is correct. A math error 

can cause delays in processing your return. 
• Make sure you filled in all required boxes. 
• If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you 

check box 82F (above your name) on page 1 of the return. 
• Sign your return and have your spouse sign, if filing jointly. 
• Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check or 

money order.  Include your payment with your return. 
• Do not include correspondence with your return. 

Mailing Your Return 
Place pages in the order shown on the next column.  
• If you are filing Arizona Form 140-SBI, Small Business 

Income, place this form before Form 140.  
NOTE:  If you are filing Arizona Form 140-SBI, DO NOT 
MAIL THIS RETURN SEPARATELY.  Include this return 
with your Form 140 in the same envelope.   
• If you completed Arizona Schedule DFE, Disallowed 

Federal Expense Schedule for Marijuana Establishments, 
place after page 6. 

• If you are mailing your return, be sure to include Form 
140, page 1 and page 2, and all other required forms. 

• Include Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-B, 1099-DIV, 1099-G, 
1099-INT, 1099-NEC, 1099-MISC and 1099-R, after the 
last page of your return only if the form shows Arizona 
income tax withholding. 

• If you are mailing your return, make a copy before mailing.  
Also make a copy of any forms and schedules that you are 
including with your return.  Keep the copies for your 
records.  Be sure that you mail the original and not a copy. 

• If mailing more than one tax return, please use a separate 
envelope for each return. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Where Should I Mail My Return? 
If you are not filing Form 140-SBI and are including a 
payment with your Form 140 return, mail the return to:  

Arizona Department of Revenue 
PO Box 52016  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2016 

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax but 
are not including a payment, mail the return to: 

Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 52138  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2138 

 
If you are filing Form 140 and Form 140-SBI, the department 
will apply any overpayment from one return to the tax liability 
shown on the other return.  
• After applying the overpayment, if there is a net tax due 

and you are sending a payment mail both returns to: 
 Arizona Department of Revenue 
 PO Box 52016 
 Phoenix, AZ  85072-2016 

• After applying the overpayment, if there is a net refund 
mail both returns to: 

 Arizona Department of Revenue 
 PO Box 52138 
 Phoenix, AZ  85072-2138 

Copy of other State or 
Country return (if claiming 
Credit 309) 

Arizona Claim of Right 

Arizona Schedule A (if required) 

Form 301 and 301-SBI (if filing) 

Form 140PTC (if required) 
 

Form 140, pages 5 and 6 (if 
required)  

Form 140, page 4 (if required) 

Form 140, page 3 (if required) 

Form 140, pages 1 and 2 

Form 203 (if filing) 

Form 131 (if filing) 

 

Copy of federal 1040 Schedule A 

Credit Forms 308-I, 349 
(if required) 

 Nonrefundable Credit Forms) 
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Make Sure You Put Enough Postage on the 
Envelope 
The U.S. Post Office or United States mail service must 
postmark your return or extension request by midnight  
April 18, 2022.  
The term "United States mail" includes any private delivery 
service designated by the United States Secretary of the 
Treasury pursuant to IRC § 7502(f) and the term “postmark" 
includes any date recorded or marked by any such designated 
delivery service. 
An income tax return that is mailed to the department is timely 
filed if it is delivered on or before its due date.  Additionally, if 
the envelope or wrapper containing the return sent through the 
United States mail bears a postmark of the United States mail 
and that tax return is delivered to the department after its due 
date that return will be considered timely filed if all of the 
following apply: 
1. The return was deposited in an official depository of the 

United States mail; 
2.   The date of the postmark is no later than the due date; 
3.   The return was properly addressed; and 
4.   The return had proper postage.  
If the envelope or wrapper containing a return sent through the 
United States mail bears a private meter postmark made by 
other than the United States mail, the return is treated as timely 
filed if both of the following apply: 
1. The private meter postmark bears a date on or before the due 

date for filing; and 
2. The return is received no later than the time it would 

ordinarily have been received from the same point of origin 
by the same class of U.S. postage.  If the return is received 
by the department within five business days of the private 
meter postmark date, the department will consider the 
requirement satisfied. 

You may also use certain private delivery services designated 
by the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling, GTR 16-1, 
Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns Through 
the United States Mail. 

How Long to Keep Your Return 
You must keep your records as long as they may be needed for 
the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law. 
Generally, this means you must keep records that support items 
shown on your return until the period of limitations for that 
return runs out. 
The period of limitations is the period of time in which you can 
amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the department 
can assess additional tax. A period of limitations  
is the limited time after which no legal action can be brought.  
Usually, this is four years from the date the return was due or 
filed. 
In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years. 
The period is six years from when you file a return if you 
underreport the income shown on that return by more than 25% 
(.25). The department can bring an action at any time if a return 
is false or fraudulent, or if you do not file a return. To find out 
more about what records you should keep, review federal 
Publication 552. 

Where’s My Refund? 
You can check on your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov or 
www.AZTaxes.gov and clicking on “Where’s my refund?”  or 
you may call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions.  Before you call, be sure to have a copy of your 
2021 tax return on hand.  You will need to know your SSN, 
your filing status, and your 5-digit ZIP Code. 

Contacting the Department 
Your tax information on file with the department is 
confidential. If you want the department to discuss your tax 
matters with someone other than yourself, you must authorize 
the department to release confidential information to that 
person.  
You may use Arizona Form 285 to authorize the department to 
release confidential information to your appointee.  See 
Form 285 for details. 
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Worksheet for Net Long-Term Capital Gain Subtraction for Assets Acquired After December 31, 2011 
  2021 Original return               2021 Amended return 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
1. Enter the total net long-term capital gain or (loss) from assets acquired after December 

31, 2011 and included in federal adjusted gross income……………………………………………….  00 
2. Enter the amount of net long-term capital (loss) derived from the 

exchange of one kind of legal tender for another kind of legal tender 
from assets acquired after December 31, 2011, and included on the 
schedule, “Other Additions to Arizona Gross Income”,  on Form 140, 
page 5, item “O” ……………………………………………………………………………………..  00 

 

3. Enter the amount of net long-term capital gain derived from 
investment in qualified small business from assets acquired after 
December 31, 2011 and included in the subtraction on Arizona Form 
140, line 25……………………………………………………………………………………………..  00 

 

4. Enter the amount of net long-term capital gain derived from the 
exchange of one kind of legal tender for another kind of legal tender 
from assets acquired after December 31, 2011, and included on the 
schedule, “Other Subtractions from Arizona Gross Income”,  on 
Form 140, page 6, item “R”…………………………………………………………………….  00 

5.  (Line 1 + line 2) minus (line 3 + line 4).  Enter the difference…………………………………........  00 

• If the amount on line 5 is positive, you have a net long-term capital gain from assets acquired after December 31, 2011. 
Enter the amount on Form 140, line 23.   

• If the amount on line 5 is zero or negative, you do not qualify to take the allowable subtraction.   
Enter “0” on Form 140, line 23.   

 
 

IMPORTANT 
If you elected to file the Arizona Small Business Income Tax Return (Form 140-SBI), only claim 
the subtraction on this return if the net capital gain to which the subtraction relates was not 
moved to the Arizona Small Business Income Tax Return. 
• If you cannot determine the acquisition date of an asset, including mutual funds, the long-term capital gain 

from that asset does not qualify for the allowable subtraction.  For the purpose of the allowable subtraction, 
these assets are considered to have been acquired before January 1, 2012. 

• An asset acquired by gift or inheritance is considered acquired on the date if was acquired by  
gift-giver or the deceased individual.  

• If you receive Form(s) 165 Schedule K-1 from a partnership, 120S Schedule K-1 from an  
S Corporation, or 141AZ Schedule K-1 from an estate or trust, be sure to include those qualifying net  
long-term capital gain amounts in you computation.  

Do not include any short-term capital gains or (losses) in this worksheet. 
 


