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Claim for Unclaimed Property - Deceased Owner
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ARIZONA FORM
600B

Mail to:  Arizona Department of Revenue • Unclaimed Property Unit • PO Box 29026 • Phoenix, AZ  85038-9026
Email to: UnclaimedProperty@azdor.gov • This form requires a physical signature.

You must read page 2, which may be on the reverse side, before completing this form.
Arizona Property ID Number or a brief description of the property you are claiming 

Original Unclaimed Property Owner’s Name(s) 

Original Unclaimed Property Owner’s Social Security Number or Tax Identification Number(s) 

Original Unclaimed Property Owner’s Address as reported by the Holder 

Claimant’s Name 

Claimant’s Social Security Number  Claimant’s Date of Birth 

Email Address  Telephone Number 

Address where you would like correspondence, including payment, sent  

City or town  State  ZIP Code 

3. I understand that Arizona Form 17-5509 titled Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property is required to support my claim and allow for 
payment. I have included that executed and notarized claim with the evidence I am submitting.  Yes

3a. The Decedent has a valid Will as defined by  A.R.S. §§14-2501-2517?  Yes 

 No
If yes, attach a complete copy of the valid Will 
and Trust, if one is mentioned in the Will.

3b. An application for appointment of Personal Representative has  been granted or is pending?  Yes 

 No
If yes, only the assigned Personal 
Representative may claim. Attach a copy of 
your Letters of Office certified within 60 days.

3c. The value of the Decedent’s estate wherever located, less liens and encumbrances, is 
valued above seventy-five thousand  dollars ($75,000) at the date of their death or date of 
affidavit  pursuant to  A.R.S. §§14-3971(B)(2)(a)-14-3971(B)(2)(b)?

 Yes 

 No
If yes, the State of Arizona requires probate for 
this estate.  Once probate has been initiated 
the Section will release the property to the court 
appointed Personal Representative.

In consideration of the payment or delivery of unclaimed property as a result of this claim, I agree to indemnify the State of Arizona and hold it harmless for and 
from all claims and loss, cost, damages and expenses that the State of Arizona may sustain by reason of turning over the said property and by reason of its refusal 
hereafter to pays said property or any part thereof to any other person(s).  I agree that if, for any reason, it is fount that I am not entitled to payment I receive as a 
result of this claim or I receive a duplicate payment, I will return the funds to the Arizona Department of Revenue within 15 days of demand.  I swear and attest that 
all claims, assertions and signatures made in this claim are true and material and that all photocopies I have or will provide are the same as the original documents.  
Furthermore, I swear and acknowledge that any false statements made in this claim subjects me to penalties related to perjury and the subornation of perjury.
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Claimant’s Signature 	 	 Date 

	
Claimant’s Signature 	 	 Date 

 
STATE OF 	

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME THIS  	  DAY OF 	

20	 , BY:

	
PRINT NAME OF SIGNOR

(NOTARY SEAL)

	
NOTARY PUBLIC

Unclaimed Property Hotline:  (602) 364-0380 or outside the Phoenix area toll free: (877) 492-9957
For additional information see our website • www.azdor.gov/unclaimed-property
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This form should only be used to claim property on behalf of deceased owners.
If you are claiming property as the original owner (Form 600A), the agent of an entity (Form 600C) or as the agent of a living owner (Form 
600D), you must complete the appropriate form.
FORM INSTRUCTIONS
Section 1 of page 1
Regardless of how you answer this Section, we will do a complete search of our database to identify and work to return all 
unclaimed property belonging to the pertinent owner.

• In this section, we ask that you please provide the property ID or a brief description of the property you are claiming. It is not required to 
complete this section but we ask, if known, that you provide the property ID, if not known it is not required nor helpful information to collect 
this number. If you do not know the property ID number, but are looking for a specific lost asset, it is helpful to give us a brief description, 
such as, “Southwest Cactus Wren Federal Credit Union Money Order Check #1008 321 6587” or “IRA funds from employer Jackson and 
Lynch Welding”. Lastly, if you simply wish to collect all miscellaneous unclaimed property you may leave the section blank.

• In the remaining questions in this section, you are required to provide the name of the individual you believe to be the owner and if known, 
the address, and tax ID number reported by the business or entity that remitted the property to the State of Arizona. If unknown, you may 
leave this Section blank.

Section 2 of page 1
It is very important that you complete this Section fully and accurately. You are required to provide us with your current or correct name and 
your current/correct contact information. If you provide an email address, we will provide you with a receipt of your claim with 15 to 20 business 
days of receipt; this information is no longer provided in hard copy. Providing an email address also expedites communication and helps us more 
efficiently serve you. The address that you record in this Section will be the address that payment will be sent to should your claim be approved.
Section 3 of page 1
Complete Arizona Form 17-5509 titled Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property and answer questions about the decedent’s estate. 
If you are acting as an heir-finder or locator, please see our website for instructions for filing on behalf of your client.
Section 4 of page 1
You must sign and date the form, we require a physical signature. In this section, please read the declarations carefully. There is a notary section 
under the signature, you may choose to have the form notarized or provide a legible photocopy of valid government issued photo identification; such as, a 
driver’s license or passport. If there are joint owners, they must also sign the claim form (see evidence requirements below for all joint owner exceptions).

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING EVIDENCE WITH THIS FORM:

You must provide proof of your identity as the claimant. Please provide a clear copy of official photo identification or have your signature 
on the claim form notarized. If your name has changed since the property was reported to the State of Arizona, you must provide verification 
of your name change, such as, a court order, marriage license or divorce decree.
You must provide proof of ownership. The Arizona Unclaimed Property Section does not release funds based on name similarity alone, 

must provide a match to another reported factor, most commonly social security number or match to the reported (not current) address.
• Provide proof that you lived at or received mail at the address reported to the State of Arizona as the last known address of the original 

owner. If you do not know what address was reported to the State of Arizona, you can complete an inquiry at www.missingmoney.com. 
Acceptable proof includes; the original financial instrument, a statement from the entity that originally held the asset, a canceled envelope 
addressed to you, a credit report, lease/mortgage, property/income tax documentation, school/military records, past government issued 
identification or utility bills/ statements. Please see our website: azdor.gov/unclaimed-property for a full list of acceptable proof. If you cannot 
find acceptable proof or do not know the reported address you may provide proof of your social security number and we will attempt to 
connect you to the reported address.

• Provide proof of your social security number. Providing your Social Security number (SSN) is optional. However, if you choose not to provide 
your SSN, there may be insufficient information available to determine whether you are the owner of the unclaimed property held by the 
Section and in some cases may result in your claim being denied. If you provide your SSN, the Section will only disclose it to employees 
involved in paying your claim and to the federal government as required by law.

An executed and notarized Arizona Form 17-5509 titled Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property is required for each decedent.
• If you answered yes to question 3a, you are required to provide a complete and un-redacted copy of decedents signed and valid Will and a 

copy of the Trust, if one is mentioned in the Will. In lieu of the entire Trust the section will accept your letters of acceptance as trustee or a 
Certificate of Trust, to prove you are the current trustee.

• If you answered yes to question 3b, you are required to provide your letters of office certified within the last 60 days.
• If you answered yes to question 3c, you must submit a court order, such as a Decree of Distribution naming you as a payee, or the court 

appointed Personal Representative must submit a claim.
Joint owners must file together unless:

• One of the owners is deceased. In this case, a copy of the joint owner’s death certificate is required.
• The owners are now divorced. In this case, a certified copy of the divorce decree and complete property settlement are required.
• The owners have lost contact. In this case, a notarized statement that confirms that the owners had no marital relationship, and have lost 

all contact is required.

Please be aware that each claim is unique and that once your claim is received, the Section may need to request additional information and will 
allow you an opportunity to provide the additional evidence rather than denying your claim. If you have any questions or cannot provide the 
evidence requested we recommend that you complete the claim form and submit the evidence, you can provide, along with a note 
explaining your circumstances. A claims specialist may be able to clarify and assist you with the evidence requirement.

Mail to:  Arizona Department of Revenue • Unclaimed Property Unit • PO Box 29026 • Phoenix, AZ  85038-9026
Email to: UnclaimedProperty@azdor.gov • This form requires a physical signature.

For additional information see our website • www.azdor.gov/unclaimed-property
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