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2009 Legislative Summaries 
 
The following is intended to give a brief summary of the 2009 tax-related legislation impacting the 
Department of Revenue (DOR) and not intended to discuss the details of any specific enactment.  
Detailed summaries of these bills can also be found at www.azleg.gov.  Please refer to the particular 
legislation for more definitive information. 
 
The general effective date for legislation is September 30, 2009.  All legislation will have this effective 
date unless otherwise noted in the summary. 
 
To go to the complete bill, click on the chapter number (hyperlink to Internet). 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Income Tax 
 

House Bill 2083 (Chapter 33 ) 
2009 tax corrections act 
 
See summary under Multiple Tax Types. 
 
 

Senate Bill 1185 (Chapter 2) 
Technical correction; disincorporation (NOW: 
conformity; internal revenue code) 
 
• SB 1185 updates Arizona’s definition of internal 

revenue code to include all Internal Revenue 
Code provisions that were in effect as of 
January 1, 2009. 

 
• Tax year 2008 includes all Internal Revenue 

Code provisions passed with retroactive federal 
effective dates between December 31, 2007 and 
December 31, 2008 which includes the 
Economic Stimulus Act of 2008, the Heartland, 
Habitat, Harvest and Horticulture Act of 2008, 
the Heroes Earning Assistance and Relief Tax 
Act of 2008, the Housing Assistance Tax Act of 
2008, the Emergency Economic Stabilization 
Act of 2008, and the Worker, Retiree, and 
Employer Recovery Act of 2008. 

 
• The following withholding percentages apply 

for the period from May 1, 2009 to December 
31, 2009: 
o Employees with annual wages less than 

$15,000 can elect to withhold 0%, 11.5%, 

21.9%, 26.5%, 28.8%, 35.7%, or 42.6% 
of federal withholding. 

o Employees with annual wages of $15,000 
or more can elect to withhold 0%, 21.9%, 
26.5%, 28.8%, 35.7%, or 42.6% of 
federal withholding. 

 
• The following withholding percentages apply 

for the period from January 1, 2010 to June 30, 
2010: 
o Employees with annual wages less than 

$15,000 can elect to withhold 0%, 10.7%, 
20.3%, 24.5%, 26.7%, 33.1%, or 39.5% 
of federal withholding. 

o Employees with annual wages of $15,000 
or more can elect to withhold 0%, 20.3%, 
24.5%, 26.7%, 33.1%, or 39.5% of 
federal withholding. 

 
• The 0% option is only available for those who 

had no state tax liability in the prior taxable year 
and expect to have no state tax liability for the 
current taxable year. 

 
• Beginning on July 1, 2010, Arizona’s 

withholding amounts will no longer be 
calculated as a percentage of federal 
withholding. Instead, state withholding will be 
determined based on withholding tables 
established by the Department of Revenue. 

 
• Effective on signature of the Governor (April 9, 

2009) 
 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0033.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0002.htm�
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House Bill 2286 (Chapter 80) 
Tax Credit; Charitable Organizations 
 
HB 2286 modifies the Arizona income tax credit for 
contributions to charities that provide assistance to 
the working poor.  The definition of the term 
“qualifying charitable organization” has been 
expanded to include organizations that provide 
qualifying services to chronically ill or physically 
disabled children who are Arizona residents.  
Taxpayers are no longer required to establish a 
baseline year in a year prior to the year in which the 
credit is claimed and the credit is restricted to 
taxpayer’s who itemize deductions for the taxable 
year. 
 
In order for an organization to receive contributions 
that qualify for the credit, the organization must 
verify it’s I.R.C. § 501(c)(3) tax exempt status or 
that it is a designated community action agency that 
receives community services block grant money, 
provide financial data concerning the prior year’s 
budget and the amount of that budget spent on 
services to Arizona residents who are TANF 
recipients, or who are low income Arizona 
residents, or who are chronically ill or physically 
disabled children, submit a statement that the 
organization will continue to spend at least 50% of 
its budget on low income Arizona residents, or 
Arizona residents that receive TANF, or chronically 
ill or physically disabled children.   
 
The department is required to review charitable 
organizations’ written certification and either 
approve the certification or disallow the 
certification.  All charities that have previously self-
certified must submit another written certification 
verifying that they meet the statutory certification 
requirements.  The department will review the 
certifications and will determine whether the 
organization is a qualifying organization.  If an 
organization fails to resubmit a certification, the 
organization will no longer be considered a 
qualifying organization and the department will 
remove that organization from its published list.  
However, if the organization later resubmits the 
information, it may be added to the list if the 

department determines that the organization 
qualifies. 
 
 

House Bill 2287 (Chapter 167 ) 
Tax Credits; Withholding Tax Reduction 
 
HB 2287 allows employees to request that their 
employer reduce their withholding by the amount of 
the tax credit the employee intends to claim for 
contributions to a school tuition organization, 
charitable organization or public school when filing 
the related tax return.  The employee must supply 
his employer with the name of the charitable 
organization that will be receiving the donation and 
the total amount he wishes to donate. 
 
Employers may or may not agree to honor the 
employee’s request.  If employers agree to honor 
the employee’s request, they will reduce the 
employee’s withholding by the amount requested by 
the employee, but not below zero, prorated over the 
rest of the employee’s taxable year.  If the employer 
agrees to reduce the employee’s withholding, the 
employer must make quarterly payments to the 
charitable organization on behalf of the employee 
and provide statements of withholding to the 
employee and the Department of Revenue on a 
calendar year basis or when employment 
terminates.  The employer is responsible and 
accountable to the charitable organization, 
employee and Department of Revenue for actually 
making the required payments. 
 
 
 

House Bill 2288 (Chapter 168 ) 
Premium tax credit; STO contribution 
 
See summary under Multiple Tax Types. 
 
 
 
 
Senate Bill 1373 (Chapter 116) 
Income tax returns; penalties 
 
SB 1373 precludes taxpayers from being subjected 
to penalties for filing an extension with less than 

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0080.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0167.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0168.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0116.htm�
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90% of the taxes paid and the penalties for failing to 
pay 100% of the amount of tax that is due. 
 
 

Senate Bill 1403 (Chapter 96) 
Renewable, high-wage industries incentives 
 
SB 1403 adds refundable corporate and individual 
income tax credits as well as special property tax 
rates for expanding or locating qualified renewable 
energy technology operations in Arizona. 
 
Renewable energy businesses are required to submit 
applications to the Arizona Department of 
Commerce (ADOC) for certification as a qualifying 
business to participate in the tax incentive program.  
The applicant must provide records of expenditures 
for qualifying investments and provide information 
regarding the amount of tax benefits claimed each 
year to ADOC.  The project may be subject to site 
visits by ADOC.  ADOC is required to perform 
audits to verify the applicant’s continuing 
compliance with tax incentive requirements. 
 
To qualify for individual and corporate income tax 
credit, a renewable energy business is required to 
make new capital investment in manufacturing or in 
regional, national or global business headquarters, 
pay a wage that equals or exceeds 125% of the 
median annual wage in this state for 51% or more of 
new full-time employees (FTE’s) at the qualifying 
facility and pay 80% or more of the premium for all 
FTE’s health insurance coverage. 
 
The income tax credit is a maximum of 10% of the 
taxpayer’s total capital investment if the capital 
investment ratio is a manufacturing facility that 
creates at least 1.5 FTE positions for each $500,000 
increment or a headquarters that creates at least 1 
FTE position for each $200,000 increment.  
Qualifying projects that do not meet this 
employment to capital investment ratio, the credit is 
10% of $500,000 per 1.5 new FTE positions in 
manufacturing facilities or $200,000 per 1 new FTE 
positions in headquarters.  The tax credits are 
refundable and the taxpayer is required to claim the 
credit in five equal installments over five 
consecutive taxable years. 
 

Seventy million per taxable year is eligible to be 
approved. Unclaimed tax credit amounts carry over 
to the next tax year.  
 
A capital investment of $25 million or more in 
facilities, equipment, land and infrastructure 
qualifies an eligible renewable energy operation 
certified by ADOC to be designated as class 6 
property with a 5% assessment ratio.  A qualifying 
headquarters or manufacturing facility is eligible to 
be classified as class 6 properties for 10 years if 
51% or more of the FTE’s are paid 125% to 199% 
of the annual median wage of this state or 15 years 
if 51% or more of FTE’s are paid 200% or more of 
the annual median wage of this state. Renewable 
energy businesses must provide annual 
documentation to the county assessor that the 
facility is engaged in renewable energy 
manufacturing or is a regional, national or global 
headquarters. 
 
 

House Bill 2001, Second Special 
Session, (Chapter 1) 
Scholarships; disabled or displaced students 
 
HB 2001 establishes a corporate income tax credit 
and insurance premium tax credit for contributions 
made to a school tuition organization (STO) that 
provides educational scholarships or tuition grants 
to disabled students and displaced students in a 
foster care program. 
 
Tax credits are limited to $5 million dollars in any 
fiscal year. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Transaction Privilege Tax/ 
Use Tax 

 

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0096.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/2s/laws/0001.htm�
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House Bill 2371 (Chapter 103) 
Tax credit; coal consumption (NOW: utilities; 
confidential information) 
 
HB 2371 allows the Department of Revenue (DOR) 
to provide the name and address of qualifying 
hospitals or health care organizations to utility 
companies for the purpose of verifying an 
exemption under the utilities classification of the 
transaction privilege tax. 
 
 

House Bill 2572 (Chapter 122) 
Sports authority districts 
 
Authorizes the Pima County Board of Supervisors 
to form a Sports Authority District and ask voters to 
approve taxing and bonding authority building and 
financing Cactus League and youth sports facilities 
in Pima County.  
 
The excise tax would be imposed on the following 
activities at the following rates: 
 

• Car rentals - .35% 
• Hotels/motels - .45% 
• Restaurants and bars - .25% 
• Amusements and sporting events - .35%  
• Retail activities - .15% 

 

Property Tax 
 

House Bill 2083 (Chapter 33 ) 
2009 tax corrections act 
 
See summary under Multiple Tax Types. 
 
 

House Bill 2314 (Chapter 169)  
Property valuation; telecommunications companies 
 
HB 2314 provides a method for reducing the 
personal property tax valuation of 
telecommunications companies by decreasing the 
minimum percent in the valuation tables from 20% 
to 10%. 
 
 

House Bill 2332 (Chapter 101) 
School; energy contracts 
 
HB 2332 stipulates that for property valuation 
purposes, grid-tied photovoltaic systems have no 
value and add no value to the property on which a 
system is installed. 
 
Qualified energy efficient building components, 
renewable energy equipment and combined heat & 
power systems also are considered to add no value 
to property.  Documentation must be provided to 
the County Assessor no later than six months before 
the issuance of the notice of full cash value, and 
must include actual acquisition and installation 
costs.  If the component is added after September 
30, the documentation is due to the County 
Assessor on or before March 31 of the initial 
valuation year. 
 
 

House Bill 2346 (Chapter 87) 
Charter schools; leased property 
 
HB 2346 classifies property that is leased to a 
nonprofit charter school if it used for educational 
purposes as class nine, with an assessment ratio of 
one percent of assessed value.  Only the property 
that is actually used by the nonprofit charter school 
for educational purposes is included as class nine. 
Property owners who lease to a nonprofit charter 
school must file an affidavit with the county 
assessor stating that the charter school will be the 
sole beneficiary of the change in property 
classification and that the lease rate is comparable 
to other tenants. 
 
 

Senate Bill 1421 (Chapter 118 ) 
Special districts; secondary levy limits: 
 
SB 1421 establishes levy limits on secondary 
property taxes for fire districts not to exceed $3.25 
per $100 of assessed valuation or an 8% increase 
over the amount levied in the preceding year plus 
any amounts attributable to annexations, whichever 
is less. 
   

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0103.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0122.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0033.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0169.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0101.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0087.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1R/laws/0118.htm�
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In a general election, voters may approve either a 
permanent override or a five-year temporary 
override if net assessed values decline by 20% or 
more over two consecutive years.  A permanent 
override would maintain the $3.25 tax rate limit but 
allow annual levies without reference to the levy in 
the preceding year.  A five-year temporary override 
would allow a tax rate to exceed $3.25 per $100 of 
assessed valuation but limit the levy to a 5% 
increase over the previous year’s actual levy. 
 
The Property Tax Oversight Commission (PTOC) is 
required to review the secondary property tax levy 
limits and tax revenues collected for all fire districts 
to determine violations.  Fire Districts must report 
to the PTOC the assessed value of all property 
annexed in the preceding year. A fire district may 
request a PTOC hearing to resolve disputes in the 
Commission’s findings.   
 

Multiple Tax Types 
 

House Bill 2083 (Chapter 33) 
2009 tax corrections act  
 
HB 2083 makes technical, conforming and 
clarifying changes to Arizona tax statutes. 
 
Provisions: 
• Clarify in multiple locations that the legal 

classification of property may be appealed, not 
simply the valuation of the property.  This 
includes appeals at the Assessor, County Board 
of Equalization and State Board of Equalization 
levels.  

 
• Correct punctuation and incorrect word in 42-

13053.  The word “or” is used in place of “of” 
making the statute confusing. 

 
• Clarify that a personal property appeal to the 

State Board of Equalization should be done 
according to Chapter 16, article 4, title 42.   

 
• Repeal obsolete session law. (2000, Chapter 84, 

Sections 8 through 18 of HB 2331, Laws 2005, 
Chapter 131, Section 8 of HB 2252).  

 

• Clarifies that the increase to the research and 
development tax credit approved in the ’08 
session applies to taxable years, rather than 
calendar years.  

 
• Makes other technical and conforming changes. 
 
This bill becomes effective on the general effective 
date, with a retroactive provision as noted. 
 
House Bill 2288 (Chapter 168 ) 
Premium tax credit; STO contribution 
 
HB 2288 allows insurers to take a tax credit against 
their insurance premium tax liability for donations 
to Student Tuition Organizations (STO). The sunset 
date of June 30, 2011 for the corporate income tax 
credit was eliminated, making the credit permanent. 
Originally capped at $10.0 million in FY 2007, the 
credit increases by 20% in each successive year. 

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0033.htm�
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/49leg/1r/laws/0168.htm�

