
      Arizona Form  
2024 Resident Personal Income Tax Return (Short Form)     140A 

 

For information or help, call one of the numbers listed: 
Phoenix (602) 255-3381 
From area codes 520 and 928, toll-free (800) 352-4090 

Tax forms, instructions, and other tax information 
If you need tax forms, instructions, and other tax information, 
go to the department’s website at www.azdor.gov. 

Income Tax Procedures and Rulings 
These instructions may refer to the department’s income tax 
procedures and rulings for more information.  To view or print 
these, go to our website select the About tab on the home page 
and select Legal Research from the drop-down menu and then 
click on Procedures or Rulings from the drop-down menu.  
Using the Category box, select the tax type and then scroll down 
to find the Document ID or use the Search Keyword function to 
locate the document.  

Publications  
To view or print the department’s publications, go to our 
website select the About tab on the home page and select Legal 
Research from the drop-down menu and then click on 
Publications from the drop-down menu. 

Leave the Paper Behind - e-file! 
• Quicker Refunds 

• Accurate 
• Proof of Acceptance 
• Free ** 

No more paper, math errors, or mailing delays if you e-file!  
Get your refund quicker with direct deposit option.  
E-file today, pay by April 15, 2025, to avoid penalties and 
interest.  
E-file through an authorized IRS/DOR e-file provider or by 
using your personal computer and the Internet.  
Visit our website at www.azdor.gov for a listing of approved 
e-file providers and on-line filing sources.  
** For free e-file requirements, go to our website at 

www.azdor.gov.  

AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS:  Are you mailing 
your Arizona income tax return?  If you are mailing 
your return to the department, see page 14 for assembly order 
(form sequence) information. 

Who Can Use Form 140A? 
You can use Form 140A to file for 2024 if all of the following 
apply to you:  
• You (and your spouse if married filing a joint return) are 

both full year residents of Arizona. 
• Your Arizona taxable income is less than $50,000, 

regardless of your filing status. 
• You are a calendar year filer.   
• You are not making any adjustments to income. 

• You do not itemize deductions. 
• The only tax credits you will claim are: 

• the Family Income Tax credit; 
• the Dependent Tax credit; 
• the Property Tax credit; or 
• the Credit for Increased Excise Taxes. 

• You are not claiming estimated tax payments. 

NOTE:  You may subtract all of your active duty military pay 
included in your federal adjusted gross income, but you cannot 
do this on Form 140A.  To take this subtraction, you must file 
your 2024 return using Arizona Form 140.  For more 
information, see Form 140 instructions. 
If you received the 2024 Arizona Families Tax Rebate during 
the tax year and the rebate was included in your 2024 federal 
adjusted gross income, you may subtract the amount of the tax 
rebate you received from Arizona gross income.  To take this 
subtraction, you must file your 2024 return using Arizona  
Form 140.  For more information, see Form 140 instructions.   

Do You Have to File?  
Arizona Filing Requirements 

These rules apply to all Arizona taxpayers. 

You must file if you are: 
and your gross income is 
more than: 

• Single $14,600 
• Married filing joint $29,200 
• Married filing separate $14,600 
• Head of Household $21,900 
If you are an Arizona resident, you must report income from 
all sources, including out-of-state income.   

To see if you have to file, figure your gross income the same as 
you would figure your gross income for federal income tax 
purposes.  Then, you should exclude income that Arizona law 
does not tax.  Income Arizona law does not tax includes: 
• interest from U.S. Government obligations; 
• social security retirement benefits received under Title 

II of the Social Security Act; 
• benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act, tier 

1 or tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, railroad disability 
benefits reported on federal forms RRB-1099 and RRB-
1099-R, railroad unemployment benefits and railroad 
sickness payments paid by the Railroad Retirement 
Board; or 

• pay received for active service as a member of the 
Reserves, National Guard, or the U.S. Armed Forces; or 

• benefits, annuities and pensions as retired or retainer pay 
of the uniformed services of the United States.  If you are 
the surviving spouse of a deceased military veteran and are 
receiving payments from the uniformed services of the 
United States, you may exclude 100% of the payment you 
received.  If you are eligible to subtract (exclude) these 
payments, you must file Arizona Form 140.  In this case, do 
not file Form 140A.     
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NOTE:  Even if you do not have to file, you must still file a 
return to get a refund of any Arizona income tax withheld. 

Do You Have to File if You Are an American 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all of the following apply to you: 
• You are an enrolled member of an Indian tribe. 
• You live on the reservation established for that tribe. 
• You earned all of your income on that reservation. 
Enrolled members of American Indian tribes that must file a 
return may subtract wages earned while living and working on 
their tribe’s reservation.  If you are eligible to subtract these 
wages, you must file Arizona Form 140.  In this case, do not 
file Form 140A.  For more information, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 96-4, Income Taxation of Indians and Spouses.   

Do You Have to File if You Are the Spouse of an 
American Indian and You Are Not an Enrolled 
Indian? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements.  For 
more information on the tax treatment of spouses of American 
Indians, see the department’s ruling, ITR 96-4, Income 
Taxation of Indians and Spouses.   
Do You Have to File if You Are in the Military? 
You must file if you meet the Arizona filing requirements 
unless all the following apply to you: 
• You are an active duty member of the United States armed 

forces. 
• Your only income for the taxable year is pay received for 

active duty military service. 
• There was no Arizona tax withheld from your active duty 

military pay. 
If Arizona tax was withheld from your active duty military pay, 
you must file an Arizona income tax return to claim any refund 
you may be due from that withholding. 
You must also file an Arizona income tax return if you have any 
other income besides pay received for active duty military service. 
If you are an Arizona resident and you have to file an Arizona 
return, you should file using Form 140.  If you were an Arizona 
resident when you entered the service, you remain an Arizona 
resident, no matter where you are stationed, until you establish 
a new domicile.  
As an Arizona resident, you must report all of your income, no 
matter where you are stationed.  You must include your military 
pay, but using Form 140, you may subtract all pay received for 
active duty military service; to the extent it is included in your 
federal adjusted gross income. 

If you are not an Arizona resident but are stationed in Arizona, 
the following applies to you: 
• You are not subject to Arizona income tax on your military 

pay. 
• You must report any other income you earn in Arizona.  

Use Arizona Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income 
Tax Return, to report this income. 

For more information, see the department’s publication, 
Pub 704, Taxpayers in the Military.  

Determining Residency Status 
If you are not sure if you are an Arizona resident for state 
income tax purposes, we may be able to help.  See the 
department’s procedure, ITP 92-1, Procedure for Determining 
Residency. 
Residents 
You are a resident of Arizona if your domicile is in Arizona.  
Domicile is the place where you have your permanent home.  It 
is where you intend to return if you are living or working 
temporarily in another state or country.  If you leave Arizona 
for a temporary period, you are still an Arizona resident while 
gone.  A resident is subject to Arizona tax on all income no 
matter where the income is earned. 
Part-Year Residents 
If you are a part-year resident, you must file Arizona  
Form 140PY, Part-Year Resident Personal Income Tax Return. 
You are a part-year resident if you did either of the following 
during 2024: 
• You moved into Arizona with the intent of becoming a 

resident. 
• You moved out of Arizona with the intent of giving up your 

Arizona residency. 

NOTE:  If you are a part-year resident and married filing a joint 
return with your nonresident spouse, you must file Arizona  
Form 140NR, Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return.   
Nonresidents 
If you are a nonresident, you must file Arizona Form 140NR, 
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return. 

What if a Taxpayer Died? 
If a taxpayer died before filing a return for 2024 the taxpayer's 
spouse or personal representative may have to file and sign a 
return for that taxpayer.  A personal representative can be an 
executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge of the 
deceased taxpayer’s property. 
If the deceased taxpayer did not have to file a return but had tax 
withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund. 
The person who files the return should use the form the taxpayer 
would have used.  The person who files the return should print 
the word "deceased" after the decedent's name.  Also, enter the 
date of death after the decedent's name.  
If your spouse died in 2024, and you did not remarry in 2024 or 
if your spouse died in 2025 before filing a return for 2024, you 
may file a joint return.  If your spouse died in 2024, the joint 
return should show your spouse's 2024 income before death and 
your income for all of 2024.  If your spouse died in 2025, before 
filing the 2024 return, the joint return should show all of your 
income and all of your spouse's income for 2024.  Print "Filing 
as surviving spouse" in the area where you sign the return.  If 
someone else is the personal representative, he or she must also 
sign the return. 
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Are Any Other Returns Required? 
You may also have to file a fiduciary income tax return  
(Form 141AZ).  For details about filing a fiduciary income tax 
return, call the department at (602) 255-3381. 
Claiming a Refund for a Deceased Taxpayer 
If you are claiming a refund for a deceased taxpayer, you must 
complete Arizona Form 131, Claim for Refund on Behalf of 
Deceased Taxpayer.  Place the completed Form 131 on top of 
the front of the return. 

What Are the Filing Dates and Penalties? 

NOTE:  If the due date for an income tax or related payment 
falls on a weekend and/or legal holiday, the filing or payment 
is considered timely if filed or paid on the next business day and 
that business day is a day other than Saturday, Sunday or a 
legal holiday. 
When Should You File? 
Your 2024 calendar year tax return is due no later than 
midnight, April 15, 2025.   File your return as soon as you can 
after January 1, 2025, but no later than April 15, 2025.   

What if You Cannot File on Time? 
You may request an automatic 6-month extension if you know 
you will not be able to file on time. If you request an extension 
to file your 2024 calendar year tax return, your due date is 
October 15, 2025.  
NOTE: An extension does not extend the time to pay your 
income tax.  See the instructions for Arizona Form 204. 

To get a filing extension, you can either 
• Apply for a state extension.  To apply for a state extension, 

file Arizona Form 204 by April 15, 2025.  See Form 204 
for details.  You do not have to include a copy of the 
extension with your return when you file, but make sure 
that you check box 82F (above your name) on page 1 of 
the return.  If you must make a payment, use Arizona  
Form 204, or visit www.AZTaxes.gov to make an 
electronic payment. 

• Use your federal extension (federal Form 4868).  File your 
Arizona return by the same due date.  You do not have to 
include a copy of your federal extension with your return, 
but make sure that you check box 82F (above your name) 
on page 1 of the return. 

When Should You File if You Are a Nonresident 
Alien? 
As a Nonresident Alien, do not file Form 140A.  Use Form 140NR, 
Nonresident Personal Income Tax Return, to report your Arizona 
sourced income.  File Form 140NR-SBI if you elect to report your 
Arizona sourced small business income on the Small Business 
Income Tax Return.   See the instructions for Form 140NR for 
your filing due dates. 

What if You File or Pay Late? 
If you file or pay late, we will charge you interest and penalties 
on the amount you owe.  If the U.S. Post Office postmarks your 
2024 calendar year return by April 15, 2025, your return will 
not be late.  You may also use certain private delivery services 
designated by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to meet the 
“timely mailing as timely filed” rule.  For more information, see 
“Mailing Your Return” at the end of these instructions. 
Late Filing Penalty 
If you file late, we will charge you a late filing penalty.  This 
penalty is 4½% (.045) of the tax required to be shown on the 
return for each month or fraction of a month the return is late.  
This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of the tax found to be 
remaining due. 
Late Payment Penalty 
If you pay your tax late, we will charge you a late payment 
penalty.  This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the amount shown 
as tax for each month or fraction of a month for which the 
failure continues.  We charge this penalty from the original due 
date of the return until the date you pay the tax.  This penalty 
cannot exceed a total of 10% (.10) of the unpaid tax. 
Extension Underpayment Penalty 
If you file your return under an extension, you must pay 90% 
(.90) of the tax shown on your return by the return's original due 
date.  If you do not pay this amount, we may charge you a 
penalty.  This penalty is ½ of 1% (.005) of the tax not paid for 
each 30-day period or a fraction of a 30-day period.  We charge 
this penalty from the original due date of the return until the 
date you pay the tax.  This penalty cannot exceed 25% (.25) of 
the unpaid tax.  If we charge you the extension underpayment 
penalty, we will not charge you the late payment penalty under 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-1125(D). 

NOTE: If you are subject to two or more of the above penalties, 
the total cannot exceed 25%. 

Interest 
We charge interest on any tax not paid by the due date.  We will 
charge you interest even if you have an extension.  If you have 
an extension, we will charge you interest from the original due 
date until the date you pay the tax.  The Arizona interest rate is 
the same as the federal rate. 

When Should You Amend a Return? 
If you need to make changes to your return after you have filed, do 
not file a new return using Form 140A. You must file Arizona 
Form 140X, Individual Amended Income Tax Return. File your 
amended return after your original return has processed. Generally, 
you have four years to amend a return to claim a refund. 
If you amend your federal return for any year, you must also 
file a Form 140X for that year.  
If the IRS makes a change to your federal taxable income for 
any year, you must report that change to Arizona.  You must 
file Form 140X within 90 days of the final determination of the 
IRS.  You may use one of the following two options to report 
this change.  
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Option 1 
You may file a Form 140X for that year.  If you choose this 
option, you must amend your Arizona return within 90 days of 
the final determination of the IRS.  Include a complete copy of 
the federal notice with your Form 140X.  
Option 2 
You may file a copy of the final federal notice with the 
department within 90 days of the final determination of the IRS.  
If you choose this option, you must include a statement in which 
you must: 
1. Request that the department recompute your tax. 
2. Indicate if you agree or disagree with the federal notice. 
If you do not agree with the federal notice, you must also 
include any documents that show why you do not agree.   
If you choose Option 2, mail the federal notice and any other 
documents to: 

Individual Income Audit 
Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 29084 
Phoenix, AZ  85038-9084 

Line-by-Line Instructions 
Tips for Preparing Your Return 
• Make sure that you write your Social Security Number 

(SSN) on your return. 
• Complete your return using black ink. 
• You must round dollar amounts to the nearest whole 

dollar.  If 50 cents or more, round up to the next dollar; if 
less than 50 cents, round down.  Do not enter cents.   

• If you are mailing your return, see page 14 for assembly order. 
• You must complete your federal return before you can start 

your Arizona return. 
• Make sure you include your daytime telephone number. 

Entering Your Name, Address, and SSN 
Lines 1, 2, and 3  
Enter your name, address, and SSN in the space provided.  If 
you are filing a joint return, enter your SSNs in the same order 
as your names.  If your name appears first on the return, make 
sure your SSN is the first number listed. 
If you are married filing separately, enter your name and SSN 
on the first line 1.  Enter your spouse’s name and SSN on the 
second line 1.  If you are a nonresident of the United States or 
a resident alien who does not have an SSN, use the individual 
taxpayer identification number (ITIN) the IRS issued to you. 
NOTE: Make sure your SSN is correct.  If you are filing a joint 
return, also make sure you list your SSNs in the same order 
every year. 
Make sure that you enter your SSN on your return.  Make sure 
that all SSNs are clear and correct.  You may be subject to a 
penalty if you fail to include your SSN.  It will take longer to 
process your return if SSNs are missing, incorrect, or unclear. 
Use your current home address.  The department will mail your 
refund or correspond with you at that address.  For a deceased 
taxpayer, see page 2 of these instructions. 

Foreign Addresses 
If you have a foreign address, enter the information in the 
following order:  city, province or state, and country.  Follow 
the country’s practice for entering the postal code.  Do not 
abbreviate the country name. 
Last Name(s) Used in Last 4 Prior Years 
If the last name that you or your spouse are using on this 
return is not the same as the last name you or your spouse 
used on returns filed in the last 4 years, enter any other last 
name(s) that you or your spouse used when filing your return 
during the last 4 years.  
Identification Numbers for Paid Preparers 
If you pay someone else to prepare your return, that person must 
also include an identification number where requested. 
A paid preparer may use any of the following: 
• his or her PTIN; 
• his or her SSN; or 
• the EIN for the business. 
A paid preparer who fails to include the proper identification 
number may also be subject to a penalty. 

Determining Your Filing Status 
The filing status that you use on your Arizona return may be 
different from that used on your federal return.   
Use this section to determine your filing status.  Check the 
correct box (4 through 7) on the front of Form 140A. 
If you qualify as married for federal purposes, you qualify as 
married for Arizona purposes and must file using the status of 
either married filing joint or married filing separate.   
If you are single you must file as single or if qualified you may 
file as head of household (see the instructions for box 5). 
Box 4 - Married Filing Joint Return 
If you are married and filing a joint return, check box 4. 
You may file a joint return if you were married as of 
December 31, 2024. It does not matter whether or not you 
were living with your spouse. You may file a joint return, even 
if you and your spouse filed separate federal returns. 
You may file a joint return if your spouse died during 2024 and 
you did not remarry in 2024.  See page 2 of these instructions 
for details. 
Form 140A is for full year residents only.  You may not file a 
joint Arizona income tax return on Form 140A if any of the 
following apply: 
• Your spouse is a nonresident alien (citizen of and living in 

another country). 
• Your spouse is a resident of another state. 
• Your spouse is a part-year Arizona resident. 
If filing a joint return with your nonresident spouse, you must 
file a joint return using Arizona Form 140NR.  See  
Form 140NR instructions. 
If filing a joint return with your part-year resident spouse, 
you must file a joint return using Arizona Form 140PY.  See 
Form 140PY instructions. 
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NOTE:  For more information, see the department’s ruling, 
ITR 14-1, Filing a Joint Tax Return When a Resident Spouse is 
Married to a Part-Year Resident or Nonresident.  

Box 4a - Injured Spouse Protection of Joint 
Overpayment 
Check box 4a only if you and your spouse are filing a joint 
return and you or your spouse qualify as an injured spouse and 
are requesting protection from application of any joint 
overpayment against the other spouse’s delinquencies or debts 
for back child support, court fees, and fees to counties, cities or 
educational institutions. The taxpayer (spouse) requesting 
injured spouse protection must have Arizona income with 
taxes withheld and reported on their own Form W-2 or 
Form 1099.  

NOTE:  You cannot use Form 203 to request protection from 
offset for past-due federal taxes.  You must contact the IRS.   
You must complete Arizona Form 203, Request for Injured 
Spouse Protection from Application of Joint Overpayment 
Against Spouse’s Delinquencies and Debts, and include that 
form with your tax return, when filed.  For more information, 
see the instructions for Form 203.  

Box 5 - Head of Household Return 
If you are filing as a head of household, check box 5.  Enter the name 
of the qualifying child or dependent in the space provided. 
You may file as head of household on your Arizona return, only 
if one of the following applies: 
• You qualify to file as head of household on your federal return. 
• You qualify to file as a qualifying widow or widower on 

your federal return. 
Box 6 - Married Filing Separate Return 
If you are filing a separate return, check box 6 and enter your 
spouse's name and SSN on the second line 1. 
If you were married as of December 31, 2024, you may choose 
to file a separate return.  You may file a separate return, even if 
you and your spouse filed a joint federal return. 
Arizona is a community property state.  If you file a separate 
return, you must figure how much income to report using 
community property laws.  Under these laws, a separate return 
must reflect one-half of the community income from all sources 
plus any separate income. 
When you file separate returns, you must account for 
community deductions and credits on the same basis as 
community income.  Both you and your spouse must either 
itemize or not itemize.  If one of you itemizes, you both must 
itemize.  If one of you takes a standard deduction, you both must 
take a standard deduction.  One of you may not claim a standard 
deduction while the other itemizes.  
If you and your spouse support a dependent child from community 
income, either you or your spouse may claim the dependent.  
Both of you cannot claim the same dependent on both returns. 
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-18, 
Income Reporting Requirements for Married Arizona Residents 
Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns, and 
ITR 93-19, Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits for Married 
Taxpayers Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax 
Returns. 

NOTE:  In some cases, you may treat community income as 
separate income.  For more information, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 93-22, When Community Income May Be Treated 
as Separate Income. 
If one spouse is a resident and the other spouse is not, other 
special rules may apply when filing a separate return.  For more 
information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 93-20, Income 
Reporting Requirements of Resident and Nonresident Spouses 
Who File Separate Arizona Individual Income Tax Returns; and 
publication, Pub. 200, Income Tax Issues Affecting Married and 
Divorced Taxpayers. 
Box 7 - Single Return 
If you are filing as single, check box 7. 
Use this filing status if you were single on December 31, 2024.  
You are single if any of the following apply to you: 
• You have never been married. 
• You are legally separated under a decree of divorce or of 

separate maintenance. 
• You were widowed before January 1, 2024, and you did 

not remarry in 2024, and you do not qualify to file as a 
qualifying widow or widower with dependent children on 
your federal return. 

NOTE:  If you got divorced during the year, see the 
department’s Individual Income Tax Ruling, ITR 14-2, 
Reporting Income, Deductions, Exemptions, and Withholding 
for Divorced Individuals for the Year of Divorce; and 
publication, Pub.  200, Income Tax Issues Affecting Married 
and Divorced Taxpayers, for help completing your return. 

Exemptions - Boxes 8, 9, and 11a 
Enter the number of exemptions you are claiming in boxes 8, 
9, and 11a. Do not put a check mark or “X”. You may lose 
the exemption if you put a checkmark or “X” in these boxes.   
Box 8 - Age 65 or Over  

NOTE:  If a taxpayer’s 65th birthday was January 1, 2025 
(born 1/1/1960), that person is considered to be age 65 at the 
end of 2024 for federal income tax purposes and likewise for 
Arizona income tax purposes. 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 8 if you were 65 or older in 2024 and not claimed as 
a dependent by another taxpayer. 

• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 8 if 
you were 65 or older and not claimed as a dependent by 
another taxpayer or your spouse was 65 or older in 2024 
and not claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer.  
 
Enter "2" in box 8 if both you and your spouse were 65 or 
older in 2024 and neither of you are claimed as a dependent 
by another taxpayer. 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, enter "1" in 
box 8 if you were 65 or older and not claimed by another 
taxpayer.  You cannot take an exemption for your spouse.  
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Your spouse, if 65 or older and not claimed by another 
taxpayer, may take this exemption on his/her own separate 
return. 

Box 9 - Blind 
If you or your spouse were partially blind as of  
December 31, 2024, you must get a statement certified by your 
eye doctor or registered optometrist that either: 
• You cannot see better than 20/200 in your better eye with 

glasses or contact lenses or 
• Your field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 
If your eye condition is not likely to improve beyond the 
conditions listed above, you can get a statement certified by 
your eye doctor or registered optometrist to that effect instead.  
You must keep the statement for your records. 
• If you are single or filing as head of household, enter "1" 

in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind.  
• If you are married filing a joint return, enter "1" in box 9 if 

you or your spouse is totally or partially blind.   
Enter "2" in box 9 if both you and your spouse are totally or 
partially blind, and your spouse meets the above criteria. 

• If you are married and filing a separate return, you may 
take an exemption for yourself if you are totally or partially 
blind.  You may only claim an exemption for your spouse 
if your spouse is (1) totally or partially blind, (2) has no 
Arizona adjusted gross income for the calendar year, and 
(3) is not the dependent of another taxpayer.   
Enter "1" in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind or 
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse 
meets the above criteria.   
Enter “2” in box 9 if you are totally or partially blind and 
your spouse is totally or partially blind and your spouse 
meets the above criteria.  

Box 11a - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 
NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent 
also qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person 
as a dependent in box 10b, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent in box 11a.  You may not 
include the same person in both box 10b and box 11a. 

You must complete the qualifying parent and grandparent 
section (lines 11b through 11d) on page 1 (and Part 2 on  
page 3, if more space is needed) before you can total your 
exemptions for qualifying parents and grandparents.  Be sure 
to check the box on page 1 indicating you are completing 
page 3.     
A qualifying parent or grandparent may be any one of the 
following: 
• Your parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc. 
• If married filing a joint return, your spouse’s parent, 

grandparent, or great-grandparent, etc. 
You may claim this exemption if all of the following apply: 
1. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent was 65 years 

old or older during 2024. 

2. The parent, grandparent, or great-grandparent lived in your 
principal residence for the entire taxable year. 
If your parent or grandparent died during the taxable year, 
this requirement will still be met if he or she lived with you 
for the entire part of the year in which he or she was alive.  
Temporary absences by the parent or grandparent for 
special circumstances, such as a hospital stay or care in a 
hospice facility, count as time lived in the taxpayer’s 
principle residence. 

3. You paid more than one-half of the support and 
maintenance costs of the parent or grandparent during the 
taxable year. 
To help you determine if you paid more than one-half of 
your parent or grandparent’s support during the taxable 
year, it is recommended that you review the department’s 
procedure, ITP 14-1, Procedure for Determining Support 
for Purposes of the Parents and Grandparents Exemption 
Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the 
worksheet.  Keep the worksheet for your records. 

4. The parent or grandparent required assistance with 
activities of daily living. 
The term “activities of daily living” means two or more of 
the listed categories which include both basic activities of 
daily living and instrumental activities of daily living.  The 
categories of activities of daily living are: dressing, eating, 
ambulating, toileting, medicating and hygiene, shopping, 
housekeeping, managing personal finances, basic 
communication, food-preparation and transportation. 

For more information regarding what the term “activities of 
daily living” means when determining an Arizona resident 
taxpayer’s eligibility for this exemption, see the department’s 
ruling, ITR 14-3, "Activities of Daily Living" for the Purpose of 
the Exemption Allowed Under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C). 
To help you determine if your parent or grandparent required 
assistance with activities of daily living to meet this 
requirement, it is recommended that you review the 
department’s procedure, ITP 14-2, Procedure for Determining 
Whether a Parent or Grandparent Requires Assistance with 
Activities of Daily Living for Purposes of the Exemption 
Allowed under A.R.S. § 43-1023(C) and complete the checklist.  
Keep the checklist for your records. 

Lines 11b through 11d 
For each qualifying parent and grandparent, enter the following 
information: 
a) first and last name; 
b) SSN; 
c) relationship to taxpayer; 
d) the number of months this person lived in your home; 
e) check this box if the person is age 65 or over; and 
f) check this box if the person died in 2024. 
You may lose the exemption for qualifying parents and 
grandparents if you do not furnish this information.  Enter 
the total number of qualifying parents/grandparents in box 11a. 
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Dependents - Boxes 10a and 10b 
Boxes 10a and 10b  
Boxes 10a and 10b identify the number of your qualifying 
dependents who are either under the age of 17 (box 10a) or age 
17 and over (box 10b).  This information is used to compute the 
allowable Dependent Tax Credit.  Include only those 
dependents in box 10a or 10b that you are using to compute the 
allowable Dependent Tax credit claimed on line 21.  

NOTE: If a person who is a qualifying parent or grandparent 
also qualifies as your dependent, you may include that person 
as a dependent in box 10b, or you may claim that person as a 
qualifying parent or grandparent in box 11a.  You may not 
include the same person in both box 10b and box 11a. 
Lines 10c through 10e 
You must complete the dependent information section (lines 
10c through 10e) on page 1 (and Part 1 on page 3, if more space 
is needed) for each person counted in either box 10a or 10b.  Be 
sure to check the box on page 1 indicating you are 
completing page 3.     
You may claim only those individuals who qualify as your 
dependent for federal purposes.  For each qualifying individual, 
enter the following information: 
a) first and last name; 
b) SSN; 
c) relationship to taxpayer; 
d) the number of months this person lived in your home; 

Temporary absences:  Your child or dependent is 
considered to have lived with you during periods of time 
when temporarily absent due to special circumstances such 
as illness, education, business, or vacation.  Your child is 
also considered to have lived with you during any required 
hospital stay following birth, as long as the child would 
have lived with you during that time but for the 
hospitalization. 

e) check box 1 (for box 10a) if this person is under the age 
   of 17 or  
check box 2 (for box 10b) if this person is age 17 or 
   over; and 

f) check the box if you did not claim this person on your 
federal return due to educational credits.  

NOTE:  If you did not claim a dependent who is a student on 
your federal return in order to allow the student to claim a 
federal education credit on the student’s federal return, you 
may still claim the dependent on your Arizona return.  
For more information, see the department’s ruling, ITR 05-2, 
Will Arizona Allow a Dependent Exemption When a Taxpayer 
Does Not Claim Federal Exemption in Order to Claim the 
Education Credit? 

You may lose the dependent tax credit if you do not furnish 
this information.  Enter the total number of dependents in 
box 10a or 10b. 

Totaling Your Income 
Line 12 - Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
You must complete your federal return before you enter an 
amount on line 12.  You must complete a 2024 federal return to 
figure your federal adjusted gross income.  You must 
complete a federal return even if you do not have to file a 
federal return. 
Arizona uses federal adjusted gross income as a starting point 
to determine Arizona taxable income.  Your federal adjusted 
gross income is your Arizona gross income. 
NOTE:  Be sure to use your federal adjusted gross income and 
not your federal taxable income. 

Exemptions – Lines 13 through 16 
Line 13 - Age 65 or Over 
Multiply the number you entered in box 8 by $2,100. 
Line 14 - Blind 
Multiply the number you entered in box 9 by $1,500. 
Line 15 - Other Exemptions 

NOTE:  If you take an Other Exemption for an individual on 
line 15, you cannot take an exemption for this individual as a 
qualifying parent/grandparent on line 16 or claim this 
individual for the dependent tax credit on line 21. In this case, 
do not include this individual as a dependent in Box 10b. 

You must complete page 3, Part 3, to compute your allowable 
Other Exemptions on line 15.  Be sure to enter the number of 
individuals listed in Part 3 in the box, 15E, on line 15. 
You may take an exemption in the amount of $2,300 for each 
of the following individuals.    
• A person who is age 65 or over (related to you or not) that 

does not qualify as your dependent on your federal return, 
but one of the following applies: 
1. In 2024, you paid more than one-fourth of the cost of 

keeping this person in an Arizona nursing care 
institution, an Arizona residential care institution, or 
an Arizona assisted living facility. Your cost must be 
more than $800. 

2. In 2024, you paid more than $800 for either Arizona 
home health care or other medical costs for the person. 

 If both 1 and 2 apply to the same person, you are limited to 
only one exemption of $2,300 for that person.  

Line 16 - Qualifying Parents and Grandparents 

NOTE:  If you take an exemption for an individual as a 
qualifying parent/grandparent on line 16 you cannot take an 
Other Exemption for the same individual on line 15 or claim 
this individual for the dependent tax credit on line 21. In this 
case, do not include this individual as a dependent in Box 10b.   
Multiply the number you entered in box 11a by $10,000. 



Arizona Form 140A 

8 

Line 17 - Arizona Adjusted Gross Income 
Subtract lines 13, 14, 15, and 16 from line 12.  If less than zero, 
enter “0”. 

Figuring Your Tax 
Line 18 - Standard Deduction 

If your filing status is: Your standard 
deduction is: 

• Single $14,600 
• Married filing joint  $29,200 
• Married filing separate $14,600 
• Head of Household $21,900 

NOTE:  A surviving spouse shall be considered as married at 
the close of the taxable year if his or her spouse died during 
the taxable year and the taxpayer would have been considered 
married at the date of the death of such spouse. If you and your 
deceased spouse would have filed a joint tax return for tax 
year 2024, enter $29,200 on line 18.  If you and deceased 
spouse would have filed separate tax returns for tax year 2024, 
enter $14,600 on line 18.   

Line 19 - Arizona Taxable Income 
Subtract line 18 from line 17 and enter the difference.  If less 
than zero, enter “0”.   
STOP!  You must file a Form 140 if your Arizona taxable 
income is $50,000 or more. 

Line 20 - Tax Amount 
Multiply line 19 by 2.5% (.025).  
Line 21 – Dependent Tax Credit 

NOTE:  If you claim an individual for the dependent tax credit 
on line 21, you cannot take an exemption for the same 
individual as a qualifying parent/grandparent on line 16 or as 
an Other Exemption on line 15. 

Taxpayers may claim a nonrefundable Dependent Tax Credit 
for certain qualifying dependents.   
For the purpose of the dependent tax credit, “dependent” means 
an individual that qualifies as a dependent for federal purposes.   
The tax credit is equal to:  
• $100 for each qualifying dependent who is under 17 years 

of age at the end of the taxable year. 
• $25 for each qualifying dependent who is at least 17 years 

of at age at the end of the taxable year. 

The allowable credit is reduced for single, head of household, 
and married taxpayers filing separate returns whose federal 
adjusted gross income (page 1, line 12) is more than $200,000; 
and for married taxpayers filing a joint return whose federal 
adjusted gross income is more than $400,000. 

Complete the following tables to compute your allowable 
Dependent Tax Credit. 

Table I 
(a) (b) 

 
(c) 

Credit 
amount 

(d)  
Multiply column 
(b) by column (c) 

1.   Enter number of 
dependents from 
page 1, box 10a….  $ 100 $                   .00 

2.   Enter number of 
dependents from 
page 1, box 10b….  $ 25 $                   .00 

3.  Credit amount before adjustment. Add 
     lines 1 and 2.  Enter total in column (d). $                   .00 

All taxpayers go to Table II. 

Table II 
If your filing status is single, married filing 
separate, or head of household; is your 
federal adjusted gross income on page 1, 
line 12 more than $200,000? 

 
Yes          No 

  
If your filing status is married filing joint, is 
your federal adjusted gross income on  
page 1, line 12 more than $400,000?  

Yes          No 

• If you answered “No”, you are not required to reduce the 
amount of credit computed in Table I.   
Enter the amount from Table I, line 3 on page 1, line 21. 

• If you answered “Yes”, you are required to reduce the 
amount of credit computed in Table I. 
Complete Table III or Table IV. 

Table III  
2024 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit 

For filing status:  single, married filing separate, or  
head of household 

1.  Enter your federal adjusted gross income  
     from page 1, line 12……………………. $                      .00 
2.  Federal adjusted gross income limit…… $         200,000.00 
3.  Subtract line 2 from line 1.  Enter the  
     difference……………………………….  
If the difference is greater than $19,000, 
STOP.  You cannot claim the dependent 
tax credit.   $                      .00 
4.  Enter amount from Table I, line 3, 
     column (d)…………………………….. $                      .00 
5.  Based on the amount on line 3, enter  
     the number from Table V.  For example: 
     if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90…….........  
6.  Multiply line 4 by line 5.  Enter the 
     result.  Also, enter the result on page 1, 
     line 21………………………………….   $                      .00 
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Table IV 
2024 Adjusted Dependent Tax Credit 

For filing status:  married filing joint 
1.  Enter your federal adjusted gross income 
     from page 1, line 12…………………….  $                      .00 
2.  Federal adjusted gross income limit….... $         400,000.00 
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1.  Enter the  
     difference……………………………….   
If the difference is greater than $19,000, 
STOP.  You cannot claim the dependent 
tax credit.   $                      .00 
4.  Enter amount from Table I, line 3,  
     column (d)……… $                      .00 
5.  Based on the amount on line 3, enter  
     the number from Table V.  For example: 
     if line 3 is $1,500, enter .90…….........                             
6. Multiply line 4 by line 5.  Enter the    
    result.  Also, enter the result on page 1,  
    line 21…………………………………..   $                      .00 

 
Table V 

If the amount on 
line 3 from Table 
III or Table IV is: 

Enter on 
line 5 

If the amount on 
line 3 from Table 
III or Table IV is: 

Enter on 
line 5 

$ 1 – 1,000 .95 $ 10,001 – 11,000 .45 
$ 1,001 – 2,000 .90 $ 11,001 – 12,000 .40 
$ 2,001 – 3,000 .85 $ 12,001 – 13,000 .35 
$ 3,001 – 4,000 .80 $ 13,001 – 14,000 .30 
$ 4,001 – 5,000 .75 $ 14,001 – 15,000 .25 
$ 5,001 – 6,000 .70 $ 15,001 – 16,000 .20 
$ 6,001 – 7,000 .65 $ 16,001 – 17,000 .15 
$ 7,001 – 8,000 .60 $ 17,001 – 18,000 .10 
$ 8,001 – 9,000 .55 $ 18,001 – 19,000 .05 

$ 9,001 – 10,000 .50 $ 19,001 and over  .00 
 

Line 22 – Family Income Tax Credit 
E-file software will let you know if you are 
eligible and will figure the credit for you. 

NOTE:  The family income tax credit will only reduce your tax 
and cannot be refunded. 

You may take this credit if your income does not exceed the 
maximum income allowed for your filing status.  You may 
qualify for this credit even if your parents can claim you as a 
dependent on their income tax return. 
• Complete Steps 1, 2, and 3 to see if you qualify for this credit. 
• If you qualify to take this credit, complete Worksheet II in 

Step 4. 
Step 1 

Enter the amount from Form 140A, page 
1, line 12.  $ 

Step 2 
Look at the following tables.  Find your filing status. 
• Use Table I if married filing a joint return. 
• Use Table II if head of household. 
• Use Table III if single or married filing a separate return. 

Step 3 
• Look at the column (a) labeled “number of dependents” 

and find the number of dependents you are claiming on 
Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, and claiming as a 
qualified parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided that 
person(s) qualifies as a dependent for federal purposes 

• Find the maximum income [in column (b)] for the number 
of dependents you are claiming.  

• Compare that income [the amount in column (b)] with the 
income listed in Step 1.  

If the amount entered in Step 1 is equal to or less than the 
maximum income allowed for the number of dependents you 
are claiming on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, you 
qualify to claim this credit.  To figure your credit, complete Step 4. 

Table I 
Married Filing Joint  

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 
10b, and claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided 
that person(s) qualifies as a dependent for 
federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income 

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $23,600 
• 3 $27,300 
• 4 or more $31,000 

 
Table II 

Head of Household 
Column (a) Column (b) 

Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 
10b, and claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, 
provided that person(s) qualifies as a 
dependent for federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income  

• 0 or 1 $20,000 
• 2 $20,135 
• 3 $23,800 
• 4 $25,200 
• 5 or more $26,575      

Table III 
Single or Married Filing Separate  

Column (a) Column (b) 
Number of dependents you are claiming 
on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a and 10b, 
and claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided 
that person(s) qualifies as a dependent for 
federal purposes. 

Maximum 
Income  

• 0 or more $10,000 
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Step 4 
If you qualify to claim the credit, complete Worksheet II. 

Worksheet II 
You must complete Steps 1 through 3 before you 

complete this Worksheet. 
1. Enter the number of dependents you 

entered on Form 140A, page 1, boxes 10a 
and 10b, and claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided 
that person(s) qualifies as a dependent 
for federal purposes. 

 

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the 
number 2.  If you checked filing status 5, 
6, or 7, enter the number 1. 

 

3. Add lines 1 and 2.  Enter the total.  

4. Multiply the number on line 3 by $40.  
Enter the result. $             .00 

5. If you checked filing status 4 or 5, enter 
$240 here.  If you checked filing status 6 
or 7, enter $120 here. $             .00 

6. Enter the lesser of line 4 or line 5.  Also, 
enter this amount on Form 140A, page 1, 
line 22. $             .00 

 
Line 23 - Balance of Tax 
Subtract lines 21 and 22 from line 20.  Enter the difference.  If 
less than zero, enter “0”. 

Totaling Payments and Credits 
Line 24 – 2024 Arizona Income Tax Withheld 
Enter the 2024 Arizona income tax withheld as shown on the 
Form(s) W-2 from your employer.  Include the Form(s) W-2 
after the last page of your return only if the form shows Arizona 
income tax withholding 
NOTE: You should receive your Form(s) W-2 no later than 
January 31.  If you did not receive a Form W-2 or you think 
your Form W-2 is wrong, contact your employer. 

Line 25 - 2024 Arizona Extension Payment (Form 204) 
Use this line to report the payment you sent with your 2024 
extension request (Arizona Form 204) or the electronic 
extension payment you made using www.AZTaxes.gov. 
Line 26 - Increased Excise Tax Credit 
You may claim this credit if you meet all of the following: 
• You must have an SSN that is valid for employment. 
• You meet the income threshold for your filing status.  
• If you are married filing a joint return or a head of 

household, you may claim this credit if the amount on  
Form 140A, line 12, is $25,000 or less.   

• If you are single or married filing a separate return, you may 
claim this credit if the amount on Form 140A, line 12, is 
$12,500 or less. 

• You are not claimed as a dependent by any other taxpayer. 
• You were not sentenced for at least 60 days of 2024 to a 

county, state, or federal prison.  

NOTE:  If you are filing a joint return with your spouse and 
your spouse was sentenced for at least 60 days during 2024 to 
a county, state, or federal prison, you may claim the Excise Tax 
Credit if you otherwise qualify to claim the credit, but you 
cannot claim the credit for your spouse.  If your spouse has a 
valid SSN, but you do not, neither you nor your spouse can 
claim this credit.  
For complete information on how incarceration affects this 
credit, see the department’s publication, Pub. 709, Excise Tax 
Credit - How Does Incarceration Affect Eligibility? 
If you are married filing a joint return, you may also claim a 
credit for your spouse if your spouse has either a valid SSN or 
an ITIN issued by the IRS.  
If you also claim a credit for qualifying children, your 
qualifying children must have either a valid SSN or an ITIN 
issued by the IRS.  To figure your credit, complete the 
following worksheet.   
NOTE:  Do not complete the following worksheet if you are 
claiming the property tax credit on Arizona Form 140PTC.  Use 
Form 140PTC to figure both the credit for increased excise 
taxes and the property tax credit.  
If you are claiming both the credit for increased excise taxes 
and the property tax credit, enter the increased excise tax credit 
from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 17, on line 26 and enter the 
property tax credit from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15, on 
line 27. 

Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Worksheet 
If you checked filing status 4 or 5, is the 
amount on Form 140A, line 12 $25,000 
or less? 
If you checked filing status 6 or 7, is the 
amount on Form 140A, line 12 $12,500 
or less?   

Check one 
Yes No 

If you checked no, STOP.  You do not qualify for this credit.  
If you checked yes, complete the worksheet on page 11.   
1. Enter the number of dependents you 

entered on Form 140A, boxes 10a and 
10b, and claiming as a qualified 
parent/grandparent in box 11a, provided 
that person(s) qualifies as a dependent 
for federal purposes.  Exclude any 
dependent that is not an Arizona 
resident. 

 

2. If you checked filing status 4, enter the 
number 2 here.  If you checked filing 
status 5, 6, or 7, enter the number 1 here. 

 

3. Add lines 1 and 2.  Enter the total………..  

4. Multiply the amount on line 3 by $25.  
Enter the result…………………………   $ 

5. Maximum credit………………………. $  100 00 
6. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 5 here 

and also on Form 140A, page 1, line 26... $   00 
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NOTE:  The credit cannot exceed $100 per household.  Do not 
claim this credit if someone else in your household has already 
claimed $100 of the credit.  If someone else in your household 
has claimed less than $100, you may claim the credit as long as 
all credit claims filed from your household do not exceed $100. 

Line 27 - Property Tax Credit 
You may claim the property tax credit if you meet all of the 
following: 
1. You were either 65 or older in 2024 or, if under age 65, you 

were receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI)  
Title 16 income from the Social Security Administration. 

NOTE:  SSI Title 16 income is not the normal Social Security 
disability. 
2. You were an Arizona resident for the full year in 2024. 
3. You paid property tax on your Arizona home in 2024.  You 

paid rent on taxable property for the entire year or you did 
a combination of both. 

4. If you lived alone, your total household income was under 
$3,751.  If you lived with others, the total household 
income was under $5,501.  To see what income is included 
in household income, see Arizona Form 140PTC 
instructions. 

Complete Form 140PTC to figure your credit.  Enter the 
amount from Form 140PTC, page 1, line 15.  Include  
Form 140PTC with your return. 

TAX TIP: To claim a property tax credit, you must file your 
claim or extension request by April 15, 2025.  You cannot claim 
this credit on an amended return if you file the amended return 
after the due date of your return. 

Figuring Your Tax Due or Overpayment 
Line 28 - Total Payments and Refundable Credits 
Add lines 24 through 27 and enter the total. 
Line 29 - Tax Due 
If line 23 is greater than line 28, you have tax due.  Subtract line 
28 from line 23 and enter the amount of tax due. Skip line 30. 
Line 30 - Overpayment 
If line 28 is greater than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28 
and enter the overpayment. 
Line 31 - 
Enter the amount of Tax Due from page 1, line 29 or the amount 
of Overpayment from line 30.  The amount entered cannot be a 
negative amount.   

Making Voluntary Gifts 
You can make voluntary gifts to each of the funds shown below.  
A gift will reduce your refund or increase the amount due with 
your return.  

NOTE: If you make a gift, you cannot change the amount of 
that gift later on an amended return. 

 

Line 32 - Solutions Teams Assigned to Schools Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Solutions Teams 
Assigned to Schools Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 32. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Assistance for Education Fund.  The 
Arizona Board of Education will distribute money to the 
Arizona Department of Education to fund solutions teams 
assigned to schools. 
Line 33 - Arizona Wildlife Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Wildlife 
Fund.  You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you 
send in additional money with your return, include that amount 
on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 33. 
Your gift to the Arizona Wildlife Fund helps protect wildlife in 
the state.  Many species like bald eagles, Apache trout, and 
black-footed ferrets benefit from your gifts to this fund.  Gifts 
are also used to improve areas for watching wildlife statewide.  
Line 34 - Child Abuse Prevention Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Arizona Child 
Abuse Prevention Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 34. 
Gifts go to the Arizona Child Abuse Prevention Fund.  This 
fund provides financial aid to community agencies for child 
5abuse prevention programs. 

Line 35 - Domestic Violence Services Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Domestic 
Violence Services Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 35. 
Gifts go to the Domestic Violence Services Fund. This fund provides 
financial aid to shelters for victims of domestic violence. 
Line 36 - Political Gift 
You may give some or all of your refund to a political party.  
You may also give more than your entire refund.  If you send in 
additional money with your return, include that amount on line 
46.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 36.   
If you donate to a political party, complete line 43.  Gifts go to 
one of the following political parties: 
• Democratic 
• Libertarian 
• Republican 
Line 37 - Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Neighbors 
Helping Neighbors Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 37. 
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Gifts go to the Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund.  This fund 
provides eligible recipients, with emergency aid in paying 
utility bills, conserving energy and weatherization. 
Line 38 - Special Olympics Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Special 
Olympics Fund.  You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 38. 
Gifts go to the Special Olympics Fund.  This fund helps provide 
programs of the Arizona Special Olympics. 
Line 39 - Veterans’ Donations Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Veterans’ 
Donations Fund.  You may also give more than your entire 
refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 39.   
Gifts go to the Veterans’ Donations Fund, which may be used for 
veterans in Arizona. 
Line 40 - I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the I Didn’t Pay 
Enough Fund.  You may also give more than your entire refund.  If 
you send in additional money with your return, include that amount 
on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to donate on line 40. 
Gifts that you make to the I Didn’t Pay Enough Fund will aid 
the state by going to the Arizona general fund. 
Line 41 - Sustainable State Parks and Roads Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Sustainable 
State Parks and Roads Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 41. 
Gifts that you make to the Sustainable State Parks and Roads 
Fund will aid the state to operate, maintain, and make capital 
improvements to buildings, roads, parking lots, highway 
entrances, and any related structure used to operate state parks. 
Line 42 – Spaying and Neutering of Animals Fund 
You may give some or all of your refund to the Spaying and 
Neutering of Animals Fund.  You may also give more than your 
entire refund.  If you send in additional money with your return, 
include that amount on line 46.  Enter the amount you want to 
donate on line 42. 
Gifts that you make to the Spaying and Neutering of Animals 
Fund will help to reduce pet overpopulation by sterilizing, at 
minimal or no cost, dogs and cats in this state, including those 
that are impounded and sterilized. 
Line 43 - Political Party 
If line 36 has an amount entered, check the box for the political 
party to which you wish to give.  You may select only one party.  
If you do not select a political party, the department will return 
the amount on line 36. 

Line 44 - Total Voluntary Gifts 
Add lines 32 through 42 and enter the total. 

Figuring Your Refund or Amount Owed 
Line 45 - Refund 
If line 31 is an overpayment, subtract line 44 from line 31.  
Enter your refund on line 45 and skip line 46. 
If less than zero, enter amount owed on line 46. 
If you owe money to any Arizona state agency, court, county, 
incorporated city or town, and certain federal agencies, your 
refund may go to pay some of the debt.  If so, the department 
will let you know by letter. 

TAX TIP:  If you change your address before you get your 
refund, let the department know.  Complete Form 822.  This 
form is available at:  azdor.gov/forms/other-forms.    

Direct Deposit of Refund 
Complete the direct deposit line if you want us to directly 
deposit the amount shown on line 45 into your account at a bank 
or other financial institution (such as a mutual fund, brokerage 
firm, or credit union) instead of sending a check.   

NOTE: Check the box on line 45A if the direct deposit will 
ultimately be placed in a foreign account.  If you check box 45A, 
do not enter your routing or account numbers.  We will not 
direct deposit your refund.  We will send you a check instead.  

Why Use Direct Deposit? 
• You will get your refund fast – even faster if you e-file! 
• Payment is more secure - there is no check to get lost. 
• It is more convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit your check. 
• It saves tax dollars.  A refund by direct deposit costs less to 

process than a check. 

NOTE: We are not responsible for a lost refund if you enter the 
wrong account information.  Check with your financial 
institution to get the correct routing and account numbers and 
to make sure your direct deposit will be accepted.  

Routing Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ROUTING 
NUMBER. 
The routing number must be nine digits.  The first 2 digits must 
be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32.  Otherwise, the direct 
deposit will be rejected and a check sent instead.  On the sample 
check above, the routing number is 250250025. 
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Your check may state that it is payable through a financial 
institution different from the one at which you have your 
checking account.  If so, do not use the routing number on that 
check.  Instead, contact your financial institution for the correct 
routing number to enter here. 
Account Number 
MAKE SURE YOU ENTER THE CORRECT ACCOUNT 
NUMBER. 
The account number can be up to 17 characters (both numbers 
and letters).  DO NOT include hyphens, spaces, or special 
symbols.  Enter the number from left to right and leave any 
unused boxes blank.  On the sample check above, the account 
number is 20202086.  Be sure not to include the check number. 

NOTE:  If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will be mailed 
instead.  
Line 46 - Amount Owed 
If line 31 shows a tax due, add lines 31 and 44.  Enter the 
amount you owe on line 46.  If you are making voluntary gifts 
on lines 32 through 42 in excess of your overpayment, enter the 
difference on line 46.  You may pay only with a check, 
electronic check, money order, direct debit through your 
software vendor or credit card. 
Check or money order 

NOTE:  Include your check or money order with your return.  
Please do not send cash.   

Make your check payable to Arizona Department of Revenue.  
Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check or 
money order.  The department cannot accept checks or money 
orders in foreign currency.  You must make payment in U.S. 
dollars.  It may take 2-3 weeks for your payment to process. 
The Department of Revenue may charge you $50 for a check 
returned unpaid by your financial institution. 
Electronic payment from your checking or savings 
account 
You can make an electronic payment from your checking or 
savings account to pay your balance due for 2024.  There is no 
fee to use this method.  To make an electronic payment, go to 
www.AZTaxes.gov and click on the “Make a Payment” link.  
Be sure to enter the correct routing number and account number 
for your checking or savings account.  You will be charged a 
$50 non-sufficient funds (NSF) fee if you provide an incorrect 
routing number or an incorrect account number.  Check with 
your financial institution to get the correct routing and account 
numbers.  
The “E-Check” option in the “Payment Method” drop-down 
box will debit the amount from the checking or savings account 
that you specify.  If you make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account, you will receive a confirmation 
number.  Please keep this confirmation number as proof of 
payment. 

NOTE: You may not make an electronic payment from your 
checking or savings account if the payment will ultimately be 
coming from a foreign account.  In this case, you must pay by 
check or money order.  

Credit card payment 
You can pay with your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or 
American Express credit card.  Go to www.AZTaxes.gov   and 
click on the “Make a Payment” link and choose the credit card 
option. This will take you to a third-party vendor site (provider).  
The provider will charge you a convenience fee based on the 
amount of your tax payment.  The provider will tell you what 
the fee is during the transaction; you will have the option to 
continue or cancel the transaction.  If you complete the credit 
card transaction, you will receive a confirmation number.  
Please keep this confirmation number as proof of payment. 
Installment Payments 
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 46 when you 
file, you may request to make monthly installment payments.  
All payment arrangements for individual income tax can be 
made online at www.AZTaxes.gov. Select the “Request A 
Payment Plan” option under the Individual Income section. If 
you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 46, you will be 
charged interest and may be charged a late payment penalty on the 
tax not paid by April 15, 2025.  To limit the interest and penalty 
charges pay as much of the tax as possible when you file. 
Sign Your Return 
You must sign your return.  If married filing a joint return, both 
you and your spouse must sign even if only one had income.  
Form 140A is not considered a valid return unless you sign it.  
If the return does not have the proper signatures, the department 
cannot send a refund check. 

Instructions Before Mailing 
• DO NOT STAPLE YOUR RETURN.   
• DO NOT STAPLE ANY SCHEDULE, FORM, OR 

PAYMENT TO YOUR RETURN. 
• Make sure your NAME is on the return. 
• Make sure your SSN is on your return. 
• Be sure you enter your daytime telephone number in the 

space provided on the front of your return. 
• Check to make sure that your math is correct.  A math error 

can cause delays in processing your return.   
• Check the boxes to make sure you filled in all required 

boxes. 
• If you requested a filing extension, make sure that you 

check box 82F (above your name) on page 1 of the return. 
• Sign your return and have your spouse sign, if filing jointly. 
• Write your SSN and tax year on the front of your check.  

Include your check with your return. 
• Do not send correspondence with your return. 
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Mailing Your Return 

TO AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS: 
• Assemble your tax return in the order shown below. 
• If mailing more than one tax return, please use separate 

envelopes for each return. 
If you are mailing your return, be sure to include Form 140A, pages 
1 and 2, and all other required forms. Make a copy of your return 
before mailing. Also make a copy of any forms and schedules that 
you are including with your return. Keep the copies for your 
records. Be sure that you mail the original and not a copy. 
Include Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-B, 1099-DIV,  
1099-G, 1099-INT, 1099-NEC, 1099-MISC and 1099-R, after 
the last page of your return only if the form shows Arizona 
income tax withholding. 

If you are mailing your return, place the pages in the following 
order: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Where Should I Mail My Return? 
If you are sending a payment, mail the return to  

Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 52016  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2016 

If you are expecting a refund, or owe no tax, or owe tax but 
are not sending a payment, mail the return to  

Arizona Department of Revenue  
PO Box 52138  
Phoenix, AZ  85072-2138 

Make Sure You put Enough Postage on the 
Envelope 
The U.S. Post Office or United States mail service must 
postmark your return or extension request by midnight 
April 15, 2025.  
The term "United States mail" includes any private delivery 
service designated by the United States Secretary of the 
Treasury pursuant to Internal Revenue Code § 7502(f) and the 
term “postmark" includes any date recorded or marked by any 
such designated delivery service. 

An income tax return that is mailed to the department is timely 
filed if it is delivered on or before its due date.  Additionally, if 
the envelope or wrapper containing the return sent through the 
United States mail bears a postmark of the United States mail 
and that tax return is delivered to the department after its due 
date that return will be considered timely filed if all of the 
following apply: 
1. The return was deposited in an official depository of the 

United States mail; 
2. The date of the postmark is no later than the due date; 
3. The return was properly addressed; and 
4. The return had proper postage.  
If the envelope or wrapper containing a return sent through the 
United States mail bears a private meter postmark made by 
other than the United States mail, the return is treated as timely 
filed if both of the following apply: 
1. The private meter postmark bears a date on or before the 

due date for filing; and 
2. The return is received no later than the time it would 

ordinarily have been received from the same point of 
origin by the same class of U.S. postage.  If the return is 
received by the department within five business days of 
the private meter postmark date the department will 
consider this requirement satisfied.  

You may also use certain private delivery services designated 
by the IRS to meet the “timely mailing as timely filed” rule. 
For more information, see the department’s ruling,  
GTR 16-1, Timely Filing of Income or Withholding Tax Returns 
Through the United States Mail. 
How Long to Keep Your Return 
You must keep your records as long as they may be needed for 
the administration of any provision of Arizona tax law.  
Generally, this means you must keep records that support items 
shown on your return until the period of limitations for that 
return runs out. 
The period of limitations is the period of time in which you can 
amend your return to claim a credit or refund or the department 
can assess additional tax.  A period of limitations is the limited 
time after which no legal action can be brought.  Usually, this 
is four years from the date the return was due or filed. 
In some cases, the limitation period is longer than four years.  
The period is six years from when you file a return if you 
underreport the income shown on that return by more than 25% 
(.25).  The department can bring an action at any time if a return 
is false or fraudulent, or you do not file a return.  To find out 
more about what records you should keep, get federal 
Publication 552. 

  

     Form 140PTC (if required) 

Form 131 (if required) 

Form 140A, page 3 (if required) 
 

Form 140A, page 2 

Form 140A, page 1 

Form 203 (if filing) 
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Where is My Refund? 
You can check on your refund by visiting www.azdor.gov or 
www.AZTaxes.gov and clicking on “Where’s my refund?”  or 
you may call one of the numbers listed on page 1 of these 
instructions.  Before you call, be sure to have a copy of your 
2024 tax return on hand.  You will need to know your SSN, 
your filing status, and your 5-digit ZIP Code.  

Contacting the Department 
Your tax information on file with the department is 
confidential.  If you want the department to discuss your tax 
matters with someone other than yourself, you must authorize 
the department to release confidential information to that 
person.  You may use Arizona Form 285 to authorize the 
department to release confidential information to your 
appointee.  See Form 285 for details. 
 


	You can use Form 140A to file for 2024 if all of the following apply to you:
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