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Summary of Arizona Taxes
This publication is for general information about 
Arizona taxes. For complete details, refer to the Arizona 
Revised Statutes and the Arizona Administrative 
Code.  In case of inconsistency or omission in this 
publication, the language of the Arizona Revised 
Statutes and the Arizona Administrative Code will 
prevail.

Personal Income Tax
Arizona’s personal income tax is levied on residents 
and on nonresidents earning income in Arizona. 
Taxpayers must file an Arizona income tax return if 
they meet Arizona’s filing threshold. The threshold 
amount(s) are based on the taxpayer’s filing status. 
These amounts apply to all taxpayers. To determine 
if you are required to file an individual income tax 
return for the current tax year, see the threshold 
amounts provided in the tax return instructions under 

Do you have to file?
The starting point for Arizona’s individual income 
tax computation for resident individuals is the federal 
adjusted gross income (Arizona gross income). This 
amount is then subject to certain additions and 
subtractions to arrive at Arizona taxable income. 
Since the starting point for the Arizona income tax 
computation for resident individuals is the federal 
adjusted gross income, income taxable for federal 
purposes will likewise be taxable for Arizona purposes, 
unless such income is specifically excludable under 
Arizona law.

All income earned or received while you are a resident 
(if taxable to the federal government) is taxable to 
Arizona with a few exceptions. The most common 
addition in arriving at Arizona taxable income is 
interest income from non-Arizona municipal bonds. 
The Resident Income Tax Return, Arizona Form 140, 
instructions contain a complete list of the additions to 
income.

Subtractions in arriving at Arizona taxable income 
include interest income received from United States 
government obligations, Social Security income 
received under Title II of the Social Security Act,
and railroad retirement benefits received from the 
Railroad Retirement Board under the Railroad 
Retirement Act. Arizona allows a subtraction of up to 

$2,500 for U.S. Government civil service and Arizona 
state or local pension income. Public retirement 
pensions from states other than Arizona do not qualify 
for this subtraction. Arizona also allows a subtraction 
of up to $3,500 for benefits, annuities and pensions 
received for retired or retainer pay of the uniformed 
services of the United States.

Arizona statutes also provide for either a standard 
deduction or itemized deductions. Arizona allows 
itemized deductions as claimed on the federal income 
tax return, plus a more liberal medical deduction. 
Since Arizona itemized deductions are tied to the 
federal itemized deductions, the amount of home 
mortgage interest and property taxes which can 
be deducted for federal purposes may likewise be 
deducted for Arizona purposes. If a taxpayer chooses 
not to itemize deductions, a standard deduction may 
be taken. These amounts are adjusted annually for 
inflation. If a taxpayer elects to take the standard 
deduction, the taxpayer may increase the standard 
deduction amount by 25% (.25) of the total amount of 
the taxpayer’s charitable deductions that would have 
been allowed if the taxpayer elected to claim itemized 
deductions on the federal tax return. The allowable 
increase is subject to certain limitations. See the 
individual income tax return for more information. 
Taxpayers filing Form 140A or 140EZ cannot increase 
the standard deduction amount.

Arizona also allows a property tax credit for low 
income, full year residents, age 65 or older, or recipients 
of Title 16 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) if they 
own or rent property upon which Arizona property 
tax is paid. For more information, please refer to the 
Arizona Form 140PTC, Property Tax Refund (Credit) 
Claim.

Arizona also allows a credit for the increased excise 
tax. Taxpayers must meet certain criteria for this 
credit. For more information, please refer to Arizona 
Form 140ET, Credit for Increased Excise Taxes.

Arizona Transaction Privilege Tax
Arizona transaction privilege taxes are imposed on 
persons engaged in certain business classifications, 
including retail sales. Some counties and most Arizona 
cities impose an additional transaction privilege tax. 
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Although the transaction privilege tax is usually 
passed on to the consumer, it is actually a tax on the 
vendor for the privilege of doing business in Arizona. 
The State of Arizona does not tax the sale of food for 
home consumption or drugs prescribed by a licensed 
physician or dentist.

Arizona Use Taxes
The State of Arizona imposes a use tax under A.R.S. 
§ 42-5155(A). The tax is imposed on any person who 
uses, stores, or consumes in Arizona any tangible 
personal property purchased from a retailer upon 
which tax has not been collected by the retailer. The 
person’s liability is not extinguished until the tax has 
been paid to this state. Some of the cities in Arizona 
may impose a use tax. 

General Property Taxes
Arizona does not have a property tax on household 
goods. Taxing jurisdictions set tax rates on the basis 
of the total assessed valuation within their boundaries 
and the amount of the levy to be raised. For additional 
information, contact the assessor’s office of the specific 
county you are seeking information.

Estate and Inheritance Tax
Federal law repealed the federal state death tax credit 
(upon which the Arizona estate tax was based) which 
effectively cancelled the Arizona estate tax. Following 
the federal repeal, the Arizona legislature repealed the 
Arizona estate tax provisions (Laws 2006, Ch. 262, §3). 
Arizona does not impose an inheritance or gift tax. An 
inheritance tax waiver is not required for decedents 
dying after 2004 as there is no possibility of tax due. 

Vehicle License Tax
Arizona charges a Vehicle License Tax (VLT) in lieu of 
a personal property tax on vehicles. The VLT is based 
on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer’s base 
retail price reduced by 16.25% for each year since the 
vehicle was first registered in Arizona. As of December 
1, 2000, the rate is calculated at $2.80 (new vehicles)/ 
$2.89 (used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed 
value. The Arizona Department of Transportation 
administers this tax. For additional information visit 
their website at azdot.gov or servicearizona.com.

For Additional Information, call:
Phoenix.............................................................. (602) 255-
3381
Toll free from area codes 520 & 928 ............. 800-352-
4090

Write
Arizona Department of Revenue  
Taxpayer Information & Assistance 

1600 W. Monroe 
Phoenix AZ 85007

Browse:
ADOR Website...................................... www.azdor.gov
Pay Online........................................ www.AZTaxes.gov
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