The Arizona Department of Revenue has taken another step to deliver faster and more cost-effective tax service for Arizonans.
Beginning February 1, 2021, the department will stop mailing paper TPT returns to customers. Taxpayers receiving pre-populated Form TPT-EZ through the mail can file and pay at AZTaxes.gov or print the form at azdor.gov.
Failure to receive a form from the Department of Revenue does not relieve a business from filing and reporting transaction privilege tax.
Additionally, businesses with an annual TPT and/or use tax liability of $500 or more during the prior calendar year will be required to file and pay electronically starting in February 2021 for the January reporting period.
If the business’ estimated annual combined Arizona, county, and municipal TPT liability is less than $2,000, consider adjusting the filing frequency to annually. If the change to annual filing is made in 2020, the change will occur for the 2021 filing period. This reduces the possibility of delinquent returns and payments by decreasing the filing occurrences.
ADOR encourages business to register, file, and pay online for a number of reasons:
- Free, Safe, and Secure: Keeps sensitive information from being mailed to perhaps an old address.
- Convenience: Provides taxpayers 24/7 access to their previous electronically file returns and payments, which they can print and download.
- Save Money: Avoid late penalty fees and claim the increased accounting credit. Saves taxpayer money by using less paper, and reduces costs for printing, mailing, and postage.
- Easy Math: System calculates tax due, prompts accurate business codes and deduction codes, reducing errors, penalties, and tax notices.
With over 77% of the state’s TPT taxpayers filing online, it is time to enroll for the free service through AZTaxes.gov. ADOR processed over 1.5 million e-filed TPT returns safely and securely in 2019. Over 100,000 businesses registered online in fiscal year 2020.
ADOR is sending notices with future Form TPT-EZ mailings to inform affected taxpayers of this change. Additionally, businesses can subscribe to due date reminders and the latest announcements.
If someone doesn’t have a computer, they can request a copy by calling 602-255-3381 after February 1, 2021.
Thursday, October 15, 2020