The state of Arizona and its cities and towns continue to work together to achieve the goal of simplifying the manner in which taxpayers report and pay their transaction privilege tax (TPT). The Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) requires all licensed businesses to renew their Arizona TPT license. Failure to renew the license may be subject to penalties. See below for a list of applicable city fees.
Note: Businesses with more than one location will not receive a paper form for renewal and must renew their licenses online at AZTaxes.gov.
Mandatory requirement to file and pay electronically – Penalties for non-compliance
Taxpayers with an annual transaction privilege or use tax liability of $20,000 or more during the prior calendar year are required to file tax returns electronically (A.R.S § 42-5014) and make tax payments by Electronic Funds Transfer (A.R.S. § 42-1129). For tax periods beginning on January 1, 2019, the thresholds will lower to an annual transaction privilege or use tax liability of $10,000 or more. Failure to comply with the electronic filing and payment requirements may result in penalties.
How to renew your license on AZTaxes.gov
- Go to www.AZTaxes.gov.
- Log in using your username and password
- Click “License Renewal” in the ‘Action’ section of your Business List or select “License Renewal” on the left hand navigation bar.
(You will need the pertinent information for renewal, any changes, payment information, and your e-signature PIN.)
ADOR offers free taxpayer education tutorials, which may be accessed on the department’s website at azdor.gov/taxpayer-education/tpt-tutorials.
The license is valid for one calendar year, from January 1 through December 31 and businesses must renew annually by January 1. Even if you get licensed in late in the year, you still must renew your license in January. Business owners must pay their renewal fees when they submit their renewal. They can pay with e-check or ACH debit if they have that option set up on their account.
When renewed and paid in full, the new TPT license certificates are then generated for each business location on file and sent to the mailing address on file with the department within three to five days of processing the renewal. Businesses will receive one renewal notice per license from ADOR, regardless of the business location.
If a license has incorrect information, business taxpayers can make changes using the Business Account Update process.
Note: Businesses must make the applicable changes before renewing their licenses. They can update their account information on AZTaxes.gov, but should allow up to four hours for the update to appear on their accounts.
Those businesses required to register for TPT prior to operating, but fail to do so, may be subject to penalties. The penalty is 50% of the city renewal fee. Operating without proper licensing is a class 3 misdemeanor, depending on business activity.
Even if there is no renewal license fee, you must still renew your TPT license.
The Residential Rental renewal fee for Chandler, Phoenix and Scottsdale is $2 per jurisdiction.
Renewal License Fee Worksheet
|City/Town||Code||Renewal Fee|| ||City/Town||Code||Renewal Fee|| ||City/Town||Code||Renewal Fee|
|Apache Junction||AJ||$2.00|| ||Goodyear||GY||N/A|| ||Sahuarita||SA||N/A|
|Avondale||AV||N/A|| ||Guadualupe||GU||N/A|| ||San Luis||SU||N/A|
|Benson||BS||N/A|| ||Hayden||HY||N/A|| ||Scottsdale||SC||$50.00|
|Buckeye||BE||N/A|| ||Holbrook||HB||N/A|| ||Sedona||SE||N/A|
|Bullhead City||BH||N/A|| ||Jerome||JO||N/A|| ||Sierra Vista||SR||N/A|
|Camp Verde||CE||N/A|| ||Kearny ||KN||N/A|| ||Snowflake||SN||N/A|
|Carefree||CA||N/A|| ||Kingman||KM||N/A|| ||Somerton||SO||N/A|
|Casa Grande||CG||N/A|| ||Lake Havasu||LH||N/A|| ||South Tucson||ST||N/A|
|Cave Creek||CA||N/A|| ||Litchfield Park||LP||N/A|| ||Springville||SV||N/A|
|Chandler||CH||$2.00|| ||Mammoth||MH||N/A|| ||St. John||SJ||N/A|
|Chino Valley||CV||N/A|| ||Marana||MA||N/A|| ||Star Valley||SY||N/A|
|Clarkdale||CD||N/A|| ||Maricopa||MP||N/A|| ||Superior||SI||N/A|
|Clifton||CF||N/A|| ||Mesa||ME||$20.00|| ||Surprise||SP||N/A|
|Colorado City||CC||N/A|| ||Miami||MM||N/A|| ||Taylor||TL||N/A|
|Coolidge||CL||N/A|| ||Nogales||NO||N/A|| ||Tempe||TE||$50.00|
|Cottonwood||CW||N/A|| ||Oro Valley||OR||N/A|| ||Thatcher||TC||N/A|
|Dewey/Humboldt||DH||N/A|| ||Page||PG||N/A|| ||Tolleson||TN||N/A|
|Douglas||DL||$5.00|| ||Paradise Valley||PV||N/A|| ||Tombstone||TS||N/A|
|Duncan||DC||N/A|| ||Parker||PK||N/A|| ||Tucson||TU||$20.00|
|Eagar||EG||N/A|| ||Patagonia||PA||N/A|| ||Tusayan||TY||N/A|
|El Mirage||EM||N/A|| ||Payson||PS||N/A|| ||Wellton||WT||N/A|
|Eloy||EL||N/A|| ||Peoria||PE||$50.00|| ||Wickenberg||WB||N/A|
|Flagstaff||FS||$20.00|| ||Phoenix||PX||$50.00|| ||Willcox||WC||N/A|
|Florence||FL||N/A|| ||Pima||PM||N/A|| ||Williams||WL||N/A|
|Fountain Hills||FH||N/A|| ||Pinetop/Lakeside||PP||N/A|| ||Winkelman||WM||N/A|
|Fredonia||FD||N/A|| ||Prescott||PR||N/A|| ||Winslow||WS||N/A|
|Gila Bend||GI||N/A|| ||Prescott Valley||PL||N/A|| ||Youngtown||YT||N/A|
|Gilbert ||GB||N/A|| ||Quartzsite||QZ||N/A|| ||Yuma||YM||N/A|
|Glendale||GE||$35.00|| ||Queen Creek||QC||N/A|| || || || |
|Globe||GL||N/A|| ||Safford||SF||N/A|| || || || |
For further assistance on completing a license renewal through AZTaxes.gov, view our video tutorial.